DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/075802 filed 16 September 2022. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application EP21382841.1 filed 17 September 2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 26 May 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 11-30 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "NaCl." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 recites the limitation "carbonate ion." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yant et al. (US 4,740,212) in view of Rimpler et al. (US 6,103,950).
Yant teaches a process for bleaching wood pulp characterized by the use of hypochlorous acid in combination with chlorine dioxide (abstract). The solution of hypochlorous acid can have a pH ranging from 2-6 (col 2, lns 63-68). The amount of hypochlorous acid in the aqueous preparation is about 1-100 grams per liter of water (0.1-10%) and the amount of chlorine dioxide ranges from 0-95 wt% wherein an optional nitrogen-containing compound can be further included (col 3, lns 1-17; col 4, lns 42-45). The composition can also further comprise an optional halogen salt such as sodium chloride in amounts of 0-200 wt% of the acid (col 4, lns 49-53).
Regarding chlorites, by using more hypochlorous acid, in place of chlorine dioxide, the amount of chlorites, which are hazardous, is materially reduced (col 2, lns 37-45). As for chlorates which also are preferably minimized, Yant teaches that by using the solution of hypochlorous acid and chlorine dioxide as soon as possible will minimize chlorate formation and thus assure that the bleaching solution will contain an adequate amount of available chlorine (col 5, lns 3-11). In the examples, bleaching solutions are prepared wherein both the HOCl and the ClO2 range from 0-100% (col 7, lns 35-45).
Yant does not teach how to reduce chlorate formation.
Rimpler teaches that chlorate can be reduced to chlorine dioxide by chloride (col 3, lns 42-43).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the bleaching composition of Yant which comprises both HOCl and ClO2, and optionally comprises sodium chloride, wherein the motivation to limit or completely eliminate chlorite and chlorate ions is provided. Based on the broad ranges of 0-100% for both of the main agents being taught, any ratio between HOCl and the ClO2 would have been obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I). The skilled artisan would have been further motived to use larger amounts of HOCl than ClO2 based on the teaching that doing so results in less formation of hazardous chlorite ions. It would have been further obvious to include sodium chloride in any amount, relative to HOCl, of 0-200% wherein the inclusion thereof would necessarily result in a reduction or elimination of undesirable chlorate ions, as taught by Rimpler. As such, a theoretical aqueous composition comprising HOCl (0.4%), ClO2 (0.04%), and sodium chloride (1.0%) at a pH of 6 would have been obvious. The composition does not intentionally comprise any of chlorite ions, chlorate ions, or carbonate ions, however the presence of any of chlorite or chlorate ions is taught as desirably being as low as possible by increasing the amount of HOCl and using the mixed composition as soon as possible after preparation. As such, a value as close to 0, if not 0, of chlorite and chlorate ions would have been obvious.
Regarding instant claim 10, the prior art teaches a broad range of HOCl which overlaps with the claimed range and makes a value of, for example, 0.4% HOCl as obvious. By implementing the claimed amount of HOCl, the skilled artisan would necessarily prepare a composition that can be classified by the conductivity formula of instant claim 10. It is noted that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2112.01 (II)). The U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613