Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“at least one conductivity sensor” in line 2 of claim 23.
“a bearing area for rotatable mounting of the rope or cable guide pulley” in line 7 of claim 35.
“a ratio of a material thickness of the surface layer and a material thickness of the fabric layer in a radial direction of the insert element is in a range from 0.8 to 9; wherein the ratio is in a range of from 1 to 8; wherein the ratio is in a range of from 2 to 7” in claims 29-31.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 19-21, and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, lines 3-4, “a rope or cable” should read ---the rope or cable---.
In claim 21, line 2, “surface comparatively layer” should read
---surface layer comparatively---.
In claim 36, line 1, “an insert element for guiding a rope or cable” should read ---the insert element for guiding the rope or cable---.
In claim 36, line 4, “a surface layer” should read ---the surface layer---.
In claim 36, line 5, “vulcanization the indicator element” should read ---vulcanization of the indicator element---.
In claim 36, line 6, “a state of wear” should read ---the state of wear---.
In claim 19, “SBR, NR, NBR, EPDM, CSM, BR and FKM” should include acronyms. For example, “SBR” should recite ---styrene-butadiene rubber---.
In claim 20, “PE, PP, TPE, PA and PETP” should include acronyms. For example, “PE” should recite ---polyethylene---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 21-24, and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartholet (EP3620340A1).
Regarding claims 16-17, Bartholet discloses an insert element (3, 53k, 53m; Figure 3) for guiding a rope or cable (101) for a cableway installation, comprising: a surface layer (3) with a first surface layer side (3a) configured to come into contact with a rope or cable (101) to be guided, and a second surface layer side (side adjacent to reel body 2) opposite the first surface layer side (3a); and an indicator element (53k) arranged on and/or in the surface layer (3), wherein the indicator element (53k) is configured to indicate a state of wear of the insert element (3, 53k, 53m);
wherein the insert element (3, 53k, 53m) is formed in one piece.
Regarding claims 21, Bartholet discloses wherein the indicator element (53k, conductive wire) and the surface comparatively layer (3, plastic or rubber material) have different properties, including a different hardness, density, tear resistance, elongation at break, abrasion, rebound elasticity, compression set, tear propagation resistance, glass transition temperature, electrical conductivity and swelling.
Regarding claims 22-24, Bartholet discloses wherein the indicator element (53k, wire) comprises at least one of at least one thread;
at least one conductivity sensor (53, 53k) configured to detect a voltage applied to the rope or cable (101) passed through the insert element (3, 53k, 53m; page 9, ¶3);
wherein the indicator element (53k) comprises at least one wire.
Regarding claims 32-34, Bartholet discloses wherein the surface layer (3) has a guide region (3b; Figure 3) and two shoulder regions (left and right elevated regions on surface side 3a) adjacent to the guide region (3b) on the first surface layer side (3a) in a cross-section transverse to a rope or cable guide direction, wherein the guide region (3b) has a recess which is deepened by a recess spacing relative to at least one of the two shoulder regions, and wherein a ratio of a width of both shoulder regions in a cross-section transverse to the rope or cable guide direction and the recess spacing is in a range from 0.2 to 5; in a range of from 0.4 to 3; in a range of from 0.7 to 2.5 (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 35, Bartholet discloses a rope or cable guide pulley (1; Figure 3), comprising: an insert element (3, 53k, 53m) comprising a surface layer (3) with a first surface layer side (3a), configured to come into contact with a rope or cable (101) to be guided, and a second surface layer side (side adjacent to reel body 2) opposite the first surface layer side (3a); an indicator element (53k) arranged on and/or in the surface layer (3), wherein the indicator element (53k) is configured to indicate a state of wear of the insert element (3, 53k, 53m); and a bearing area (10, 11; Figure 1) for rotatable mounting of the rope or cable guide pulley (1).
Claim(s) 16-18, 21-22, 25, and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jones (US5019019A).
Regarding claims 16-18, Jones discloses an insert element (13, 15, 16, 18; Figures 1-4) for guiding a rope or cable for a cableway installation, comprising: a surface layer (13) with a first surface layer side (top surface of 13) configured to come into contact with a rope or cable to be guided, and a second surface layer side (bottom surface of 13) opposite the first surface layer side; and an indicator element (15) arranged on and/or in the surface layer (13), wherein the indicator element (15) is configured to indicate a state of wear of the insert element (13, 15, 16, 18);
wherein the insert element (13, 15, 16, 18) is formed in one piece;
wherein the indicator element (15) covers the second surface layer side at least partially (Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 21, Jones discloses wherein the indicator element (15, metal or metal mesh) and the surface comparatively layer (13, elastomeric material; column 2, line 50 – column 3, line 24) have different properties, including a different hardness, density, tear resistance, elongation at break, abrasion, rebound elasticity, compression set, tear propagation resistance, glass transition temperature, electrical conductivity and swelling.
Regarding claim 22, Jones discloses wherein the indicator element (15) comprises at least one of a fabric (column 3, lines 1-24).
Regarding claim 25, Jones discloses wherein the indicator element (15) is one of a plurality of indicator elements (15 and 18) distributed in a radial direction of the insert element (13, 15, 16, 18), and each indicator element (15 made of metal and 18 made of elastomeric material; column 3, lines 1-24 and column 4, lines 15-22) having different properties.
Regarding claims 32-34, Jones discloses wherein the surface layer (13) has a guide region (14; Figures 1-4) and two shoulder regions (left and right elevated regions on top surface side) adjacent to the guide region (14) on the first surface layer side in a cross-section transverse to a rope or cable guide direction, wherein the guide region (14) has a recess which is deepened by a recess spacing relative to at least one of the two shoulder regions, and wherein a ratio of a width of both shoulder regions in a cross-section transverse to the rope or cable guide direction and the recess spacing is in a range from 0.2 to 5; in a range of from 0.4 to 3; in a range of from 0.7 to 2.5.
Regarding claim 35, Jones discloses a rope or cable guide pulley, comprising: an insert element (13, 15, 16, 18) comprising a surface layer (13) with a first surface layer side (top surface of 13), configured to come into contact with a rope or cable to be guided, and a second surface layer side (bottom surface of 13) opposite the first surface layer side; an indicator element (15) arranged on and/or in the surface layer (13), wherein the indicator element (15) is configured to indicate a state of wear of the insert element (13, 15, 16, 18); and a bearing area (axle of hub 12; Figure 1) for rotatable mounting of the rope or cable guide pulley.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartholet.
Regarding claims 19, Bartholet discloses wherein the surface layer (3) comprises at least one of rubber or plastic (page 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert element of Jones to include the surface layer comprises at least one of SBR, NR, NBR, EPDM, CSM, BR and FKM in order to provide an soft and deformable surface to prevent or reduce damage and wear to the rope. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Bartholet teaches that the surface layer can be made of a type of rubber or plastic.
Claim(s) 20 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones.
Regarding claim 20, Jones discloses the above insert element and further teaches wherein the indicator element (15) comprises at least one of an elastomeric material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert element of Jones to include wherein the indicator element comprises of PE, PP, TPE, PA, or PETP in order to provide improvement of cost effectiveness, lightweight, high durability, and chemical resistance. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Jones further teaches that the insert element can be made of any elastomeric material such as polyurethane.
Regarding claims 26-28, Jones discloses wherein a ratio of a material thickness of the surface layer (13) and a material thickness of the indicator element (15) in a radial direction of the insert element (13, 15, 16, 18) is in a range smaller than 1 (Figures 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert element of Jones to include a ratio of a material thickness of the surface layer and a material thickness of the indicator element in a radial direction of the insert element is in a range from 0.01 to 0.7, a range from .07 to 0.5; and/or a range from 0.1 to 0.3 in order to allow sufficient wear of the surface layer and continuance of operation up to an allowable thickness. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 29-31, Jones discloses a fabric layer (fabric web 15) configured to absorb radial forces, wherein a ratio of a material thickness of the surface layer (13) and a material thickness of the fabric layer (fabric web 15) in a radial direction of the insert element (13, 15, 16, 18) is in a range smaller than 1 (Figures 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert element of Jones to include a ratio of a material thickness of the surface layer and a material thickness of the fabric layer in a radial direction of the insert element is in a range from 0.8 to 9; the ratio is in a range of from 1 to 8; the ratio is in a range of from 2 to 7 in order to allow sufficient wear of the surface layer and continuance of operation up to an allowable thickness of the surface layer and some of the fabric layer prior to stopping operation for replacement of the insert. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the experimental, optimum, or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Smith (US20150300959A1).
Regarding claim 36, Jones discloses the above insert and further teaches a method of manufacturing an insert element (13, 15, 16, 18) for guiding a rope or cable, the method comprising: providing the indicator element (15); applying the indicator element (15) in or on a surface layer (13); and wherein the indicator element (15) is configured to indicate a state of wear of the insert element (13, 15, 16, 18)., but fails to teach vulcanization of the indicator element and the surface layer.
Smith teaches a similar insert and further teaches the method of vulcanization of the indicator element (4; Figures 1-2) and the surface layer (3; ¶0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert element of Jones to include the method of vulcanization of the indicator element and surface layer in order to chemically bond the layers together to form a solid single piece and prevent detachment of the layers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654