DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference number mentioned in the description: “32” as described in paragraph 104 of the published application. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification recites reference number “32” in paragraph 104, which is not shown in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 17-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, --the-- should be added after “within” in line 8; --elongate-- should be added before “fluid” in lines 13, 15, 22, and 23; “is” should be changed to --being-- in line 13; --the-- should be added before “tubular” in line 16; --an-- should be added before “outer” and after “or” in line 20, and before “equivalent” in line 21; “being” should be changed to --that is-- in line 21; --being-- should be added before “further” in line 22; --and-- should be added after “cavity;” in line 26; and --by the controllable energy source-- should be added after “cavity” in the last line (it is not clear if the controller is controlling the controllable energy source recited in line 10).
In claim 2, --the-- should be added after “and” in line 2.
In claim 4, “extend” should be changed to --extends-- in line 3; --an-- should be added before “equivalent” in line 4; “being” should be changed to --that is-- and --an-- should be added before “equivalent” in the last line.
In claim 5, “comprising” should be changed to --comprises-- in line 2; --elongate-- should be added before “fluid” in lines 7 and 9; and “provides” should be changed to --providing-- in line 10.
In claim 7, --the-- should be added before “elongate” in line 1; and “comprising” should be changed to --comprises-- in line 2.
In claim 8, “an” should be changed to --a-- throughout lines 3-4; and “being” should be changed to --that is-- in line 5.
In claim 10, “being” should be changed to --that is-- in line 2.
In claim 11, “brass or stainless” should be changed to --brass, stainless-- in line 3.
In claims 13, 14, and 17, “comprising” should be changed to --comprises-- in line 2.
In claim 18, “is utilizing a” should be changed to --utilizing the-- in line 2; --and--should be added after “element;” in line 11; “temperatures: o” should be changed to --temperatures,-- in lines 13-14; “use of” should be changed to --using-- in line 14; “these” should be changed to --the-- in line 15; and “calibrate” should be changed to --calibrating-- in the last line.
In claim 19, “comprising” should be changed to --comprises-- in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the term “preferably” in line 4 and the phrase “such as” in lines 5 and 20 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following “preferably” and “such as” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d); and it is not clear if the “fluid” recited in line 12 is referring to the liquid recited in line 7.
In claims 3 and 5, the term “preferably” in respective lines 3 and 9 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term “preferably” are part of the claimed invention.
In claim 9, the term “preferably” in lines 3 and 4 and the phrase “such as” in lines 3 and 4 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following “preferably” and “such as” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claims 11 and 13, the phrase “such as” in line 2 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following “such as” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claims 15, 17, and 18, the phrase “such as” in respective lines 3-4, 2-3, and 5 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following “such as” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected for being dependent on an objected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN209979097U to Jiang et al [hereinafter Jiang] (see the attached translation) in view of CN107101747A to Liu et al [hereinafter Liu] (see the attached translation) and CN111307337A to Gong et al [hereinafter Gong] (see the attached translation).
Referring to claim 1, Jiang discloses (figures 1, 2; paragraphs 2, 7, 8, 13, 14) a system for calibrating a temperature sensor, said system comprising:
said temperature sensor (13) comprising an elongate element having an electrical thermos element (for use by the temperature measuring instrument 12) (figure 2; paragraphs 7, 14);
a receptacle (1) comprising a wall that is closed at a lower end by a bottom (3) thereby defining an open-ended cavity (open at (2)) (figures 1, 2) configured to hold a liquid and to receive at least a part of said elongate element so that the first end is contained within cavity (figure 2; paragraphs 8, 13, 14);
a controllable energy source (6) configured to add to or remove heat from the cavity (paragraphs 7, 13, 14);
an elongate fluid directing element (5) (paragraphs 7, 13) having an upper end and a lower end, said fluid directing element (5) being arranged within the cavity and being dimensioned to provide an outer flow passage between an outer surface of the fluid directing element and an inner surface of tubular wall and an inner flow passage at an inner side of the elongate fluid directing element (figure 2), wherein the outer flow passage and the inner flow passage are in fluid communication at the upper end and at the lower end (figure 2; paragraph 7), and wherein the elongate fluid directing element (5) has a size that is less than an inner size of the receptacle wall (figure 2);
a controller configured to control the amount of heat added to or removed from the cavity (controls heater (6)) (paragraph 13).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose the thermos element being at the first end of the elongate element; the receptacle wall being a cylindrical tubular wall; the elongate fluid directing element being a cylindrical tubular element having an outer diameter or an equivalent diameter that is less than an inner diameter or equivalent inner diameter of the tubular wall; the fluid directing element further being configured to conduct heat in a longitudinal direction of the fluid directing element; and a reference thermos element arranged to sense the temperature within the cavity.
However, Liu discloses a system (figures 1, 4; paragraphs 4, 26, 32, 34) for calibrating a temperature sensor, wherein temperature sensor comprises a thermos element that is at a first end of an elongate metal element (which facilitates heat transfer to the thermos element) for detecting temperature changes; and wherein, when a temperature of a fluid in a cavity of a receptacle in which a reference thermos element is arranged to sense the temperature within the cavity and a thermos element are both submerged is at a constant temperature, a temperature measured by the reference thermos element and a temperature measured by the thermos element are compared, and a difference (error) between the temperature measurements is used to calibrate the thermos element (paragraph 26).
Furthermore, Gong discloses a system (figure 1; paragraphs 19, 35, 36, 41, 48) for calibrating a temperature sensor (14), wherein the system comprises a receptacle having a cylindrical tubular wall for assisting in providing a uniform fluid flow of a fluid therein.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thermos element of Jiang at the first end of the elongate element, as suggested by Liu, in order to facilitate heat transfer to the thermos element for detecting more accurate temperature measurements, and to provide Jiang with a reference thermos element that is arranged to sense the temperature within the cavity, as suggested by Liu, and in order to provide a reference temperature for calibrating the temperature sensor.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang so that the receptacle has a cylindrical tubular wall, as suggested by Gong, in order to assist in providing a uniform fluid flow of the fluid (liquid).
Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by making the elongate fluid directing element of Jiang so that it is a cylindrical tubular element having an outer diameter or an equivalent diameter that is less than an inner diameter or equivalent inner diameter of the tubular wall in order to assist in providing a uniform fluid flow of the fluid (liquid) in the receptacle, which Gong suggests is desirable; and since the shape of the elongate fluid directing element claimed by applicant is only considered to be obvious modifications of the shape or configuration of the elongate fluid directing element disclosed by Jiang as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration without any criticality is within the level of skill in the art since the particular shape claimed is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Lastly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by making the elongate fluid directing element of Jiang of a material that conducts heat in a longitudinal direction of the fluid directing element in order to provide a more uniform temperature field in the vertical direction, which Jiang suggests is desirable (paragraph 8).
Referring to claim 2, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 2, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Jiang explicitly disclosing that the controller is further configured to obtain measurements from the reference thermos element and the thermos element and provide a calibration for the thermos element on the basis of said measurements.
However, Liu further discloses that the system obtains measurements from the reference thermos element and the thermos element of the temperature sensor, and compares the temperature measurements obtained from the reference thermos element and the thermos element to calibrate the thermos element based on the comparison (paragraph 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by configuring the controller of Jiang to obtain measurements from the reference thermos element and the thermos element and provide a calibration for the thermos element on the basis of said measurements, as suggested by Liu, in order to calibrate the thermos element based on a comparison of the measurements.
Referring to claim 3, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 3, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Jiang discloses (figure 2) a stirrer (7) to promote a flow of fluid going upward in the outer flow passage and downward in the inner flow passage or vice versa, said stirrer (7) comprising a magnetic stirrer or a stirrer arranged on a shaft rotated by an electrical motor (paragraphs 7, 8, 13).
Referring to claim 4, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 4, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Jiang discloses (figures 1, 2) that said temperature sensor (13) comprises, at a position distal to the first end of the elongate element, a socket (member on the top of the elongate element located through (2) in figure 2) from which the elongate element extends, and wherein said socket has a thickness and a diameter or equivalent diameter that is larger than a diameter or equivalent diameter of the elongate element (figure 2).
Referring to claim 9, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 9, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein, in Jiang in view of Liu and Gong, the cylindrical tubular elongate fluid directing element having a thickness (figures 1, 2 of Jiang), but do not explicitly disclose that the elongate fluid directing element (5) has a wall thickness of larger than 2.0 mm, such as larger than 3.0 mm, preferably larger than 5.0 mm and smaller than 12.0 mm such as smaller than 10.0 mm and preferably a wall thickness of 9.00 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by making the elongate fluid directing element of Jiang in view of Liu and Gong so as to have a wall thickness of larger than 2.0 mm, larger than 3.0 mm, larger than 5.0 mm and smaller than 12.0 mm, smaller than 10.0 mm, and 9.00 mm in order to provide an elongate fluid directing element that fits a particular sized receptacle; and since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995).
Referring to claim 10, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 10, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Jiang discloses (figures 1, 2) that the elongate fluid directing element (5) has a height that is less than a height of the wall (tubular wall) of the receptacle (1).
Referring to claim 11, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 11, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Jiang disclosing the elongate fluid directing element (5) being made solely from aluminum, copper, brass, stainless steel, or a combination thereof.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by making the elongate fluid directing element of Jiang of a thermally conductive material in a longitudinal direction of the fluid directing element in order to provide a more uniform temperature field in the vertical direction, which Jiang suggests is desirable (paragraph 8).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by using solely aluminum, copper, brass, stainless steel, or a combination thereof as the thermally conductive material of the elongate fluid directing element of Jiang in order to provide a desired heat conductivity along the elongate fluid directing element; and since the particular type of material used to make the elongate fluid directing element claimed by the applicant is only considered to be the use of a “preferred” or “optimum” material out of a plurality of well-known thermally conductive materials that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide based on the intended use of applicant’s apparatus, i.e., suitability for the intended use of applicant’s apparatus. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), where the courts held that a selection of a material on the basis of suitability for intended use of an apparatus would be entirely obvious.
Referring to claim 12, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 12, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Jiang discloses that the elongate fluid directing element (5) is suspended in the center of the receptacle (figures 1, 2) but is silent as to how the elongate fluid directing element (5) is suspended in the center of the receptacle, thereby not explicitly disclosing that the elongate fluid directing element is suspended in the receptacle by a suspension element arranged in the receptacle.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by providing Jiang with a suspension element arranged in the receptacle to suspend the elongate fluid directing element in the center of the receptacle, as in Jiang (figures 1, 2).
Referring to claim 13, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 13, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Jiang is silent as to the type of thermos element, thereby not explicitly disclosing the electrical thermos element comprising a thermistor, a negative temperature coefficient resistor, or a positive temperature coefficient resistor.
However, Liu further discloses that an electrical thermos element comprising a thermistor, a negative temperature coefficient resistor, or a positive temperature coefficient resistor (resistance thermometer) can be calibrated using a reference (standard) thermos element (paragraph 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by using a thermistor, a negative temperature coefficient resistor, or a positive temperature coefficient resistor (resistance thermometer) as the electrical thermos element in Jiang since Liu suggests that it is desirable to calibrate a resistance thermometer using a reference thermos element; and since the use of the particular type of electrical thermos element claimed by the applicant is considered to be nothing more than a choice of engineering skill, choice, or design, because the use of the particular electrical thermos element claimed by the applicant is considered to be the use of numerous and known alternate types of electrical thermos elements that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide using routine experimentation in order to provide an electrical thermos element as already suggested by Jiang.
Referring to claim 14, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 14, as stated above with respect to claim 1, wherein Jiang is silent as to the type of thermos element, thereby not explicitly disclosing the electrical thermos element comprising a thermocouple.
However, Liu further discloses that an electrical thermos element comprising a thermocouple can be calibrated using a reference (standard) thermos element (paragraph 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by using a thermocouple as the electrical thermos element in Jiang since Liu suggests that it is desirable to calibrate a thermocouple using a reference thermos element; and since the use of the particular type of electrical thermos element claimed by the applicant is considered to be nothing more than a choice of engineering skill, choice, or design, because the use of the particular electrical thermos element claimed by the applicant is considered to be the use of numerous and known alternate types of electrical thermos elements that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide using routine experimentation in order to provide an electrical thermos element as already suggested by Jiang.
Referring to claim 15, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 15, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Jiang disclosing that the reference thermos element is arranged within the cavity at a position having substantially the same horizontal level at which the thermos element is arranged.
However, Liu discloses (figure 2; paragraphs 26, 27) that it is known to arrange a reference thermos element and a thermos element at substantially the same horizontal level within a cavity of a receptacle in order for the reference thermos element and the thermos element to experience the same depth and temperature to calibrate the thermos element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by arranging the reference thermos element of Jiang in view of Liu and Gong within the cavity at a position having substantially the same horizontal level at which the thermos element is arranged, as suggested by Liu, in order for the reference thermos element and the thermos element to experience the same depth and temperature to calibrate the thermos element.
Referring to claim 16, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 16, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Jiang disclosing that the elongate element, the elongate fluid directing element, and the tubular wall are co-axially arranged.
However, Gong further discloses (figure 1; paragraph 41) that the elongate element of the temperature sensor (14), an elongate fluid directing element (5), and a tubular wall of a receptacle (4) are co-axially arranged such that the flow of a fluid in the receptacle is symmetrical within the receptacle to provide a uniform flow structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong such that the receptacle of Jiang is such that the elongate element, the elongate fluid directing element, and the tubular wall of a receptacle are co-axially arranged, as suggested by Gong, in order to provide a uniform flow structure on the thermos element of the temperature sensor.
Referring to claim 17, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 17, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Jiang disclosing that the energy source comprises one or more ohmic heating element(s), Peltier element(s), a Stirling cooler, or combinations thereof as the energy source.
However, Gong further discloses (figure 1; paragraph 40) that a Stirling cooler (which can heat and cool) is used in the system for regulating the temperature of the fluid in the receptacle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong such that the energy source of Jiang comprises a Stirling cooler as the energy source, as suggested by Gong, in order to provide heating and cooling of the liquid in the receptacle as desired by a user.
Referring to claim 18, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a method of calibrating a temperature sensor, said method utilizing a system according to claim 1 (as stated above), wherein Jiang discloses (figures 1, 2; paragraph 14) the method comprising:
arranging the temperature sensor (13) in the cavity adding a fluid (liquid) into the cavity in an amount sufficient to submerge the elongate fluid directing element (5), the thermos element (of 13), and at least a section of the elongate element (figure 2);
controlling the energy source (6) to heat or cool the fluid in the cavity to one or more temperatures (balanced temperature), where the temperature(s) is(are) determined by the reference thermos element or the thermos element; and
when a thermal equilibrium (balanced temperature) is established in the fluid for said one or more temperatures, calibrating the temperature sensor based on said deviation.
Jiang does not disclose the fluid being silicon oil, water, cooking oil, or an oil approved for pharmaceutical use; and does not explicitly disclose determining, by using the thermos element and the reference thermos element, a deviation between these two temperatures, if any, and calibrating the temperature sensor based on said deviation.
However, Liu discloses determining, by using the thermos element and the reference thermos element, a deviation (error) between the temperatures, if any, measured by the reference thermos element and the thermos element, and calibrating the temperature sensor based on said deviation (paragraph 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method using the system of Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by having Jiang determine, by using the thermos element and the reference thermos element, a deviation (error) between the temperatures, if any, measured by the reference thermos element and the thermos element to calibrate the temperature sensor since Liu discloses that such determination is useful for calibrating the temperature sensor.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jiang in view of Liu and Gong stated above by using silicon oil, water, cooking oil, or an oil approved for pharmaceutical use as the fluid in Jiang in order to provide alternative fluids depending on the particular testing environment desired by a user; and since the particular type of fluid used is only considered to be the use of a “preferred” or “optimum” fluid out of a plurality of well-known fluids that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide based on the intended use of applicant’s apparatus, i.e., suitability for the intended use of applicant’s apparatus See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), where the courts held that a selection of a material (fluid) on the basis of suitability for intended use of an apparatus would be entirely obvious.
Referring to claim 19, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a method having all of the limitations of claim 19, as stated above with respect to claim 18, wherein Jiang discloses the calibration comprising determining a correction for the temperatures sensor (calibrating the temperature sensor), but does not explicitly disclose the correction being an arithmetic correction or a database storing deviations as a function of measured temperatures.
However, Liu discloses that the difference (error) between the temperatures measured by the reference thermos element and the thermos element are used to calibrate the temperature sensor (paragraph 26) (the temperature measured by the temperature sensor is compensated by the difference in the temperatures, which is an arithmetic correction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method using the system of Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by having Jiang provide the correction as an arithmetic correction, as suggested by Liu, in order to correct the temperature measured by the temperature sensor.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Liu and Gong, as stated above with respect to claim 1, and further in view of CN112304473A to Li et al [hereinafter Li] (see the attached translation).
Referring to claim 8, Jiang in view of Liu and Gong disclose a system having all of the limitations of claim 8, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for Jiang disclosing a basin arranged at the open end of the cavity, said basin comprising a bottom with a through going opening so that the basin is in fluid communication with the cavity, and a wall protruding upwardly from the bottom and having an internal diameter or equivalent diameter that is larger than the internal diameter or equivalent diameter of the open end of the cavity.
However, Li discloses (figure 1; paragraphs 10, 11, 22) a system for calibrating a temperature sensor, wherein the system comprises a basin (12) arranged at an open end of a cavity (11) of a receptacle, said basin (12) comprising a bottom with a through-going opening so that the basin (12) is in fluid communication with the cavity (11), and a wall protruding upwardly from the bottom and having an internal diameter or an equivalent diameter that is larger than an internal diameter or an equivalent diameter of the open end of the cavity (11) in order to hold an overflow of a liquid in the cavity when a temperature sensor is inserted into the cavity (paragraph 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang in view of Liu and Gong by providing Jiang with a basin arranged at the open end of the cavity, said basin comprising a bottom with a through-going opening so that the basin is in fluid communication with the cavity, and a wall protruding upwardly from the bottom and having an internal diameter or equivalent diameter that is larger than the internal diameter or equivalent diameter of the open end of the cavity, as suggested by Li, in order to hold an overflow of a liquid in the cavity when a temperature sensor is inserted into the cavity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and the objections set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the following in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims:
A system for calibrating a temperature sensor, wherein the temperature sensor is arranged with at least a part of a lower surface of the socket abutting said abutment surface to provide a thermal contact between the fluid directing element and the socket (claim 5).
Conclusion
The references made of record and not relied upon by the examiner are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure by disclosing calibration of a temperature sensor, but do not disclose the allowable subject matter stated above.
/MIRELLYS JAGAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
2/27/26