DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at least one charged” should be “at least one positively charged”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the anionic surfactant" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination, claim 6 will be interpreted as depending from claim 5.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation 1.0 wt% to 6.0 wt%, and the claim also recites 2.0 wt% to 4.5 wt% or from 2.5 wt% to 3.5 wt% which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. In those instances where it is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph should be made. The examiner should analyze whether the metes and bounds of the claim are clearly set forth [see MPEP 2173.05(d)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298).
Regarding claim 1: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses emulsion polymerization of monomers in the presence of nonionic emulsifiers [4:34-51], wherein monomer (II) containing no fluorine can be methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate and an alkyl (meth)acrylate [2:30-38] such as stearyl acrylate [2:39-53]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses Preparative Example 2 [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2] contains 134 g FA, 37 g StA (stearyl acrylate), 28 g VCl, 3.5g 2EHA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate), 1.8 g DAAM, 1.8 g topolene M, 10.3 g HS-220 (polyoxyethylene alkyl phenyl ether nonionic surfactant), 6.2 g LT-221 (polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate nonionic surfactant), 3.5 g LSH, 44 g DPM, 1.2 g APS (ammonium persulfate), and 330g water {corresponding to about: 13.6 t% StA; 4.9 wt% nonionic surfactants (corresponding to about 4 wt%); 0 wt% acid monomers; wt% based without water} [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose Prep. Ex. 2 containing methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate based on the invention of Yamana et al. (US ‘298), and would have been motivated to do so since Yamana et al. (US ‘298) suggests that the composition can contain methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate as the monomer (II) containing no fluorine [2:30-38]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17], wherein Prep. Ex. 2 contains ~ 18 wt% StA, based on 100% of copolymer A; ~ 13.7 wt% StA, based on composition without water [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose about 1.5 wt% to about 3.5 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate in the copolymer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 4 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol in the copolymer (corresponding to ~ 2.8 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol, based on composition without water), as Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 2-4, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298), when taken with Matsumura et al. (US 4,696,822).
Regarding claims 2-4, 8 and 10: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses emulsion polymerization of monomers in the presence of nonionic emulsifiers [4:34-51], wherein monomer (II) containing no fluorine can be methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate and an alkyl (meth)acrylate [2:30-38] such as stearyl acrylate [2:39-53]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses Preparative Example 2 [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2] contains 134 g FA, 37 g StA (stearyl acrylate), 28 g VCl, 3.5g 2EHA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate), 1.8 g DAAM, 1.8 g topolene M, 10.3 g Nonion HS-220 (polyoxyethylene alkyl phenyl ether nonionic surfactant; HLB of 16.2), 6.2 g Nonion LT-221 (polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate nonionic surfactant; HLB of 16.7), 3.5 g LSH, 44 g DPM, 1.2 g APS (ammonium persulfate), and 330g water {corresponding to about: 13.6 t% StA; 4.9 wt% nonionic surfactants (corresponding to about 4.5 wt%); 0 wt% acid monomers; wt% based without water} [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose Prep. Ex. 2 containing methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate based on the invention of Yamana et al. (US ‘298), and would have been motivated to do so since Yamana et al. (US ‘298) suggests that the composition can contain methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate as the monomer (II) containing no fluorine [2:30-38]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17], wherein Prep. Ex. 2 contains ~ 18 wt% StA, based on 100% of copolymer A; ~ 13.7 wt% StA, based on composition without water [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose about 1 wt% to about 5 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate in the copolymer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 4 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol in the copolymer (corresponding to ~ 2.8 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol, based on composition without water), as Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Matsumura et al. (US ‘822) provides evidence for Nonion HS-220 having a HLB of 16.2 [5:5-6]; Nonion LT-221 having a HLB of 16.7 [5:51-52].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298) as applied to claim 1 above, when taken with Matsumura et al. (US 4,696,822).
Regarding claim 9: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses the basic claimed resin [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses Nonion HS-220 (polyoxyethylene alkyl phenyl ether nonionic surfactant; HLB of 16.2) and Nonion LT-221 (polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate nonionic surfactant; HLB of 16.7) [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2].
Matsumura et al. (US ‘822) provides evidence for Nonion HS-220 having a HLB of 16.2 [5:5-6]; Nonion LT-221 having a HLB of 16.7 [5:51-52].
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298), when taken with Matsumura et al. (US 4,696,822).
Regarding claim 11: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses emulsion polymerization of monomers in the presence of nonionic emulsifiers [4:34-51], wherein monomer (II) containing no fluorine can be methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate and an alkyl (meth)acrylate [2:30-38] such as stearyl acrylate [2:39-53]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses Preparative Example 2 [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2] contains 134 g FA, 37 g StA (stearyl acrylate), 28 g VCl, 3.5g 2EHA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate), 1.8 g DAAM, 1.8 g topolene M, 10.3 g Nonion HS-220 (polyoxyethylene alkyl phenyl ether nonionic surfactant; HLB of 16.2), 6.2 g Nonion LT-221 (polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate nonionic surfactant; HLB of 16.7), 3.5 g LSH, 44 g DPM, 1.2 g APS (ammonium persulfate), and 330g water {corresponding to about: 13.6 t% StA; 4.9 wt% nonionic surfactants (corresponding to about 4.5 wt%); 0 wt% acid monomers; wt% based without water} [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose Prep. Ex. 2 containing methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate based on the invention of Yamana et al. (US ‘298), and would have been motivated to do so since Yamana et al. (US ‘298) suggests that the composition can contain methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate as the monomer (II) containing no fluorine [2:30-38]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17], wherein Prep. Ex. 2 contains ~ 18 wt% StA, based on 100% of copolymer A; ~ 13.7 wt% StA, based on composition without water [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose about 1 wt% to about 5 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate in the copolymer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 4 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol in the copolymer (corresponding to ~ 2.8 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol, based on composition without water), as Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses the composition can contain a cationic emulsifier, in an amount of 0.5 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight monomer [4:34-51]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included cationic emulsifier, in an amount of 0.5 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight monomer, based on the invention of Yamana et al. (US ‘298), and would have been motivated to do so since Yamana et al. (US ‘298) suggests that the composition can contain a cationic emulsifier, in an amount of 0.5 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight monomer [4:34-51]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02].
Matsumura et al. (US ‘822) provides evidence for Nonion HS-220 having a HLB of 16.2 [5:5-6]; Nonion LT-221 having a HLB of 16.7 [5:51-52].
Regarding claim 12: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses a cationic emulsifier, in an amount of 0.5 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight monomer [4:34-51] (5 wt% cationic emulsifier (per 100 wt% monomer) in Prep Ex. 2 would be ~ 1.7 wt% cationic emulsifier in the composition (including water).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298), when taken with Matsumura et al. (US 4,696,822) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Suzuki (US 2005/0106967).
Regarding claims 13-15: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses the basic claimed resin [as set forth above with respect to claim 11]; wherein Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses the addition of flame retardants to the stainproof treatment agent [5:15-20].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not disclose a specific flame retardant. However, Suzuki (US ‘967) discloses stainproof composition [abstract] comprising flame retardants [0070; 0108], such as aluminum hydroxide [0080; 0108] (instant claims 13-15) and boric acid [0080; 0108] (instant claim 16). Yamana et al. (US ‘298) Suzuki (US ‘967) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely the preparation of stainproof compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined aluminum hydroxide or boric acid, as taught by Suzuki (US ‘967) in the invention of Yamana et al. (US ‘298), and would have been motivated to do so since Suzuki (US ‘967) discloses flame retardants, such as aluminum hydroxide and boric acid for stainproof compositions [0070; 0080; 0108].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298).
Regarding claim 19: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses a method of emulsion polymerization of monomers in the presence of nonionic emulsifiers [4:14-51], wherein monomer (II) containing no fluorine can be methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate and an alkyl (meth)acrylate [2:30-38] such as stearyl acrylate [2:39-53]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses Preparative Example 2 [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2] contains 134 g FA, 37 g StA (stearyl acrylate), 28 g VCl, 3.5g 2EHA (2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate), 1.8 g DAAM, 1.8 g topolene M, 10.3 g HS-220 (polyoxyethylene alkyl phenyl ether nonionic surfactant), 6.2 g LT-221 (polyoxyethylene sorbitan monolaurate nonionic surfactant), 3.5 g LSH, 44 g DPM, 1.2 g APS (ammonium persulfate), and 330g water {corresponding to about: 13.6 t% StA; 4.9 wt% nonionic surfactants (corresponding to about 4.5 wt%); 0 wt% acid monomers; wt% based without water} [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose Prep. Ex. 2 containing methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate based on the invention of Yamana et al. (US ‘298), and would have been motivated to do so since Yamana et al. (US ‘298) suggests that the composition can contain methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate as the monomer (II) containing no fluorine [2:30-38]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17], wherein Prep. Ex. 2 contains ~ 18 wt% StA, based on 100% of copolymer A; ~ 13.7 wt% StA, based on composition without water [Prep. Ex. 2; 7:38-67; Table 4, Prep. Ex. 2]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not specifically disclose about 1 wt% to about 5 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol (meth)acrylate in the copolymer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 4 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol in the copolymer (corresponding to ~ 2.8 wt% methoxypolyethylene glycol, based on composition without water), as Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses monomer (II) repeating unit is present in an amount of 4 to 60 wt%, based on 100 wt% of the copolymer (A) [3:7-17]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298), when taken with Matsumura et al. (US 4,696,822) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Castelvetro, V.; De Vita, C.; Giannini, G.; Giaiacopi, S. J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 102, 3083 [IDS 3/6/24].
Regarding claim 20: Yamana et al. (US ‘298) discloses the basic claimed resin [as set forth above with respect to claim 19]; wherein Yamana et al. (US ‘298) anionic emulsifiers [4:34-51].
Yamana et al. (US ‘298) does not disclose seeding with from about 0.1 to about 0.25 wt% of an anionic emulsifier. However, Castelvetro et al. (J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 102, 3083) discloses seeded emulsion polymerizations [abstract] comprising seeding with 0.2 wt% of anionic surfactant sodium dodecyl sulfonate (SDS-0.2) (wt% based on total monomer) [§Expermental; Table 2]. Yamana et al. (US ‘298 Castelvetro et al. (J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 102, 3083) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely emulsion polymerizations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined seeding with 0.2 wt% of anionic surfactant sodium dodecyl sulfonate (SDS-0.2), as taught by Castelvetro et al. (J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 102, 3083) in the invention of Yamana et al. (US ‘298), and would have been motivated to do so since Castelvetro et al. (J. Appl. Polym. Sci. 2006, 102, 3083) discloses seeding with 0.2 wt% of anionic surfactant sodium dodecyl sulfonate (SDS-0.2) affords a highly monodisperse particle size distribution [abstract].
Double Patenting
Claims 2-6, 8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 and 7-8 of copending Application No. 18/689659 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed nonionic latex resin compositions substantially overlap in scope. While Application No. 18/689659 claims from about 4 wt% to 8 wt% of nonionic surfactant, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2-6 and 13 of copending Application No. 18/689601 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed paint composition of Application No. 18/689601 anticipates the instant claimed paint composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The combination of Yamana et al. (US 6,130,298) and Suzuki (US 2005/0106967) does not disclose citric acid or a gluconic acid sodium salt [instant claim 17]; does not disclose about 0.25 wt% to about 2.0 wt% of acid [instant claim 18] (ex. boric acid) with sufficient specificity.
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767