DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
_______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LISAUSKAS et al. (US 2015/0374030) in view of KUERSTEINER et al. (EP 3021698 B1).
With respect to claim 1, LISAUSKAS et al. discloses a cigarette filter tow (Abstract; Title) formed of a plurality of lyocell fibers (Paragraphs [0012], [0060], [0064], [0109]) and a binder to bond the fibers together (Paragraphs [0007]-[0031]). LISAUSKAS et al. does not explicitly disclose that the filter has the claimed hardness.
KUERSTEINER et al. discloses smoking article having a paper wrapper, tobacco rod and filter segment (Paragraphs [0001]-[0003]). The filter segment is designed to provide an improved sensor experience for consumers (Paragraph [0007]). This is done by providing a “hardness” of 90% or more (Paragraphs [0009]-[0012]) when measured by a DD60A densimeter manufactured by Borgwaldt GmbH, Germany (e.g., the same device being claimed), and equation hardness(%)= Dd/DS * 100 (Paragraph [0012]-[0019]). The tested segment is tested across the center of the segment (Paragraph [0081]; Figure 5) (e.g., airflow-direction central part)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the filter of LISAUSKAS et al. with a hardness of 90% or more as taught by KUERSTEINER et al. so as to improve the user sensory experience.
With respect to claim 2, KUERSTEINER et al. discloses smoking article having a paper wrapper, tobacco rod and filter segment (Paragraphs [0001]-[0003]). The filter segment is designed to provide an improved sensory experience for consumers (Paragraph [0007]). This is done by providing a “hardness” of 90% or more (Paragraphs [0009]-[0012]) when measured by a DD60A densimeter manufactured by Borgwaldt GmbH, Germany (e.g., the same device being claimed), and equation hardness(%)= Dd/DS * 100 (Paragraph [0012]-[0019]). The tested segment is tested across the center of the segment (Paragraph [0081]; Figure 5) (e.g., airflow-direction central part)
While KUERSTEINER et al. does not explicitly disclose that the hardness remains above 80 % even under the claimed conditions, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to ensure that the hardness of the filter is 90% or more under all conditions (including the claimed conditions) so that the user is always provided with an improved sensory experience.
With respect to claim 3, KUERSTEINER et al. discloses smoking article having a paper wrapper, tobacco rod and filter segment (Paragraphs [0001]-[0003]). The filter segment is designed to provide an improved sensor experience for consumers (Paragraph [0007]). This is done by providing a “hardness” of 90%, and up to 94% (Paragraphs [0009]-[0012]) when measured by a DD60A densimeter manufactured by Borgwaldt GmbH, Germany (e.g., the same device being claimed), and equation hardness(%)= Dd/DS * 100 (Paragraph [0012]-[0019]). The tested segment is tested across the center of the segment (Paragraph [0081]; Figure 5) (e.g., airflow-direction central part)
The “hardness” is the resistance to deformation. Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to prevent a collapse of 6% or more (e.g., amount of deformation due to having a hardness of 94%) as taught by KUERSTEINER et al. under any conditions (including the claimed condition) so that the user is always provided with an improved sensory experience.
______________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LISAUSKAS et al. (US 2015/0374030) in view of KUERSTEINER et al. (EP 3021698 B1) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of BURKE et al. (US 2011/0162667).
With respect to claim 4, LISAUSKAS et al. does not explicitly disclose that the binder includes polyester. BURKE et al. discloses a tobacco smoke filter (Abstract; Title). The binder within the filter is composed of a polyester binder (Paragraphs [0038] and [0039]) in order to hold the filter in its molded shape (Paragraph [0023] and [0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the binder of LISAUSKAS et al. as a polyester, as taught by BURKE et al. so as to hold the fibers of the filter together.
With respect to claim 9, BURKE et al. discloses that the binders comprises 1-99 wt% of the filter (Abstract; Paragraph [0025]).
_________________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LISAUSKAS et al. (US 2015/0374030) in view of KUERSTEINER et al. (EP 3021698 B1) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of UCHIDA et al. (US 2009/0246525).
With respect to claim 10, LISAUSKAS et al. does not explicitly disclose that the binder also includes hydroxypropyl methylcellulose. UCHIDA et al. discloses a cigarette filter (Paragraph [0053]). The binder also includes hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (Paragraph [0044]) in order to bond individual fibers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to also provide hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as the binder of LISAUSKAS et al., as taught by UCHIDA et al. for the purposes of binding the fibers together.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 5, BURKE et al. does not disclose that the polyester is a copolymer of an aromatic monomer and an aliphatic monomer, per se.
With respect to claim 6, the art does not identify the particular viscosity of the binder, per se, in addition to the binder being the claimed polyester.
With respect to claim 11, the art does not disclose the claimed ratio, per se.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745