DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a winding stage” and “a feed mechanism” in claim 1; “a bending tool” in claim 8; “a heating stage” in claim 10; and “an output stage” and “a guide element” in claim 11.
Regarding the winding stage, the limitation recites a generic placeholder (i.e., “a winding stage”) modified by functional language (i.e., “for engaging with a wire and deforming the wire to coil windings”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as the winding stage 110 which is described as a series of bending tools (P. 5, Lns. 15-32 and Figs. 1 and 2) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding a feed mechanism, the limitation recites a generic placeholder (i.e., “a feed mechanism”) modified by functional language (i.e., “to feed the wire to the winding stage”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as feeding stage 120 which is described as at least two driven rollers (P. 5, Ln. 34 through P. 6, Ln. 9; Fig. 1) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the bending tool, the limitation recites a generic placeholder (i.e., “bending tool”) modified by functional language (i.e., “engages the wire at positions set according to a geometry of the coil springs to be produced”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as bending tools 115 which are described as any bending tool that may be driven by a mechanism (P. 5, Lns. 15-32; Figs. 1 and 2) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the heating stage, the limitation recites a generic placeholder (i.e., “a heating stage”) modified by functional language (i.e., “heat the wire”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as heating stage 140 which is described as a series of heaters 141 that may be induction or electrical heaters (P. 7, Lns. 24-36 and Fig. 1) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the output stage, the limitation recites a generic placeholder (i.e., “an output stage”) modified by functional language (i.e., “for transferring the coil springs”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as output stage 150 which is described as a transport mechanism that may be a magnetic carrier (P. 8, Lns. 1-9 and Fig. 1) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the guide element, the limitation recites a generic placeholder (i.e., “a guide element”) modified by functional language (i.e., “for guiding movement of the deformed wire”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as guide element 155 which is described as a V-shaped surface (P. 8, Ln. 35 through P. 9, Ln. 4) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,978,434 to Huon.
Regarding claim 1, Huon teaches a mechanism for producing coil springs, the mechanism comprising:
a winding stage 5, 6 for engaging with a wire and deforming the wire to coil windings as the wire moves through the winding stage 5, 6 (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lns. 33-41);
a feed mechanism 1A configured to feed the wire to the winding stage 5, 6 (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lns. 33-41); and
a rotary cutter 3 configured to cut the deformed wire into portions forming separate coil springs, wherein the rotary cutter 3 comprises a blade which is driven for rotation about a stationary rotation axis (Fig. 1; Col. 4, Lns. 11-16 and 37-42),
wherein the blade comprises a protrusion configured to engage between two coil windings of the deformed wire and separate the two coil windings as the blade rotates (Examiner Annotated Fig. 1; Col. 4, Lns. 11-16, 37-42 and 52-58; as shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 1 below, the blade 3 includes a protrusion extending beyond the edge of the disk 3A and the cited portions of the specification describe the disk rotating which would result in the protrusion on the back portion being capable of engaging the coil windings between portions that have been cut by the blade on the opposite end of the disk).
Regarding claim 2, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the feed mechanism is configured to maintain a constant speed of feeding the wire while the rotary cutter cuts the deformed wire (Col. 5, Lns. 6-12; the speed of the components may be constant, i.e., the feed mechanism is capable of maintaining a constant speed of feeding the wire).
Regarding claim 3, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), further comprising: a mandrel 4 for cooperating with the blade to cut the wire (Figs. 1-2 and 5-8; Col. 3, Lns. 47-49 and Col. 4, Lns. 59-60).
Regarding claim 4, Huon teaches the mechanism of claim 3 (Fig. 1) wherein a position of the mandrel 4 relative to the rotation axis is adjustable (Figs. 1-2 and 5-8; Col. 3, Lns. 47-49; as the end of the mandrel 4 is “half-moon shaped,” the position of the end of the mandrel relative to the rotation axis of the blade is adjusted based on the rotation of the mandrel with the moon shaped portion of the mandrel being closer or further from the axis of rotation based on the rotation of the mandrel, and it is noted that Fig. 1 shows the end of the mandrel closer to the disk 2 and Fig. 2 shows the end of the mandrel away from disk 2, i.e., the mandrel has rotated between these two figures).
Regarding claim 5, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 1 (Fig. 1) wherein a position of the rotary cutter 3 relative to the winding stage is adjustable (Col. 4, Lns. 28-34; the cutter 3 may be moved to other side of the bending tools to form coils spiraling in the opposite manner).
Regarding claim 7, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the blade 3 is formed on a terminal surface of a shaft portion 3A driven to rotate about the rotation axis (Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), wherein the winding stage comprises at least one bending tool 5, 6 which engages the wire at positions set according to a geometry of the coil springs being produced (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lns. 52-56), wherein the winding stage is configured to maintain engagement of the at least one bending tool 5, 6 with the deformed wire while the rotary cutter 3 cuts the deformed wire (Fig. 1; as shown in Fig. 1, the bending tool 6 would still be bending the deformed wire when the blade cuts the wire).
Regarding claim 14, Huon teaches a method of producing coil springs (Fig. 1), the method comprising:
feeding a wire to a winding stage 5, 6 (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lns. 33-41);
engaging the wire in the winding stage 5, 6 to deform the wire to coil windings as the wire moves through the winding stage (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lns. 33-41); and
by a blade 3 rotating about a stationary rotation axis, cutting the deformed wire into portions forming separate coil springs (Fig. 1; Col. 4, Lns. 11-16 and 37-42),
wherein the blade comprises a protrusion configured to engage between two coil windings of the deformed wire and separate the two coil windings as the blade rotates (Examine Annotated Fig. 1; Col. 4, Lns. 11-16, 37-42, and 52-58; as shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 1, the blade 3 includes a protrusion extending beyond the edge of the disk 3A and the cited portions of the specification describe the disk rotating which would result in the protrusion on the back portion being capable of engaging the coil windings between portions that have been cut by the blade on the opposite end of the disk).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huon in view of US 2021/0323047 A1 to Furuse.
Regarding claim 9, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 8 (Fig. 1).
Huon fails to explicitly teach wherein the least one bending tool is driven to move the wire to a position in which the rotary cutter cuts the deformed wire.
Furuse teaches a coiling machine including a winding stage having bending tools 13, 14 and wherein the least one bending tool 13, 14 is driven to move the wire to a position in which the rotary cutter 23 cuts the deformed wire (Figs. 1-2 and 4; Paras. [0033] and [0041]-[0042]; the bending tools are driven by the drives 61, 62, and the driving force moves the wire towards the positioned where the cutter 23 cuts the wire).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the coiling mechanism of Huon to include the bending tools being driven as taught by Furuse so that the bending tools may exert a force on the wire as it is being bent as well as allowing the bending tools to be moved to different positions depending on the operation of the machine.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huon in view of US 2016/0243607 A1 to Takahashi.
Regarding claim 10, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Huon fails to explicitly teach a heating stage configured to heat the wire before feeding into the winding stage.
Takahashi teaches a coil forming mechanism further comprising: a heating stage 20 configured to heat the wire before feeding into the winding stage 30 (Fig. 1; Para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the coiling mechanism of Huon to include a heating stage as taught by Takahashi so that the wire entering the winding stage is heated to a temperature that makes it easier to form into a desired shape.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huon in view of US 2019/0168287 A1 to Spinks.
Regarding claim 11, Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 1 (Fig. 1), an output stage for transferring the coil springs from the mechanism, wherein the output stage comprises a guide element 2 (Figs. 3 and 5; Col. 3, Lns. 50-62; the mechanism outputs the wire away from the system via the flat 2A of the disk 2 which directs the coiled wire away, as shown in Figs. 3 and 5 which also show the flat 2A has a V-shape).
Huon fails to explicitly teach for the guide element provides guiding movement of the deformed wire in the winding stage and towards a transport mechanism because Huon fails to teach a transport mechanism.
Spinks teaches a winding system including a transport mechanism to which the coiled wire is output (Fig. 1; Paras. [0003] and [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the coiling mechanism of Huon to include a transport mechanism in the output stage as taught by Spinks so that the finished coils may be transported from the system to a location where they may be packaged, used or otherwise finished.
Regarding claim 12, modified Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 11 (Fig. 1), wherein the transport mechanism comprises at least one magnetic carrier for engaging with the deformed wire and moving the coil spring from the winding stage (Spinks, Fig. 1; Paras. [0003] and [0047]; modified Huon includes the transport mechanism of Spinks, which is a magnetic carrier for engaging with the finished coil and moving it from the system).
Regarding claim 13, modified Huon teaches the mechanism according to claim 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the output stage is configured to cause engagement of the at least one magnetic carrier with the deformed wire before the deformed wire is cut by the rotary cutter to release the coil spring being produced (Spinks, Fig. 1; Paras. [0003] and [0047]; modified Huon includes the transport mechanism of Spinks, which is a magnetic carrier and “engagement” is interpreted as the magnetic carrier is positioned to receive the deformed wire which the magnetic carrier is capable of doing as it is positioned to receive the wire when it is cut).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks dated July 2, 2026 with respect to the objections to the specification and claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and remarks regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach the blade comprises a protrusion as recited in both the system and method claims. Remarks, PP. 7-11. In particular, Applicant highlights the operation of the protrusion in the embodiment disclosed in the specification and discusses the wire cutting operation in Huon, specifically the manner in which the disc 2, beveled region 2A on the disc and the cutting tool 3 work together. Id. These arguments have been carefully considered and they are not persuasive. For the sake of clarity, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1 has been provided in the rejection to show the position of the protrusion on the blade. The system and method claims both recite “the blade comprises a protrusion configured to engage between two coil windings of the deformed wire and separate the two coil windings as the blade rotates,” i.e., the protrusion on the blade is configured to perform the function recited and there are no method steps requiring this process to occur or any further discussion of the structure of the protrusion in the system claims. Huon teaches the blade 3 is coupled to a rotating disc 3A, and the blade has a cutting portion extending off of the end of disc in the front portion of the blade while a protrusion extends off of the end of the disc at the back portion of the blade (Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1). Huon describes the disc 3A rotating during the wire forming process, thus, after the wire has been cut by the tip of the blade 3, the protrusion of the blade would interact with the wire after the disc 3A has rotated 180 degrees. Accordingly, the protrusion of the blade 3 is capable of engaging the between two coil windings of the deformed wire and separate the two coil windings as the blade rotates because the protrusion would be engaging the wire as it is being coiled and after it has been cut, i.e., it would be engaging deformed wire at an area between two coil windings. Applicant’s arguments regarding the claimed protrusions function in the disclosed embodiment, e.g., separating two coplanar windings (Remarks, PP. 8-9), are not commensurate in scope with the claim language and therefore these arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 8 September 2026