DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 03/06/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-11, 13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by NPL, XP006063629; Lee et al. Title: Energy harvesting discontinuous reception (DRX) mechanism in wireless powered cellular networks; Source: IET TECHNOLOGY; Date: 2017-09-28, pages: 2206-2213.
As of claim 1, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) device (abstract: user equipment) comprising: a memory storing computer readable instructions; and processing circuitry configured to execute the computer readable instructions (chapter 1, abstract and page 2206, introduction: The loT devices adopting the RF based energy harvesting circuits receive energy from nearby base stations in a wireless powered cellular network) to cause the device to, obtain connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration from a Radio Access Network (RAN) node (page 2207, Section 2: DRX mechanism in LTE: the duration of the long DRX cycle is a multiple of the duration of the short DRX cycle is configured, the maximum number of the repetitions for the short DRX cycles is set the value of the short DRX cycle timer which corresponds to device obtains connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration from a Radio Access Network (RAN) node),
the CDRX configuration including a plurality of adaptive energy harvesting (EH) CDRX configuration settings ([Fig. 1], page 2207-2208, Section 3: proposed DRX mechanism: IoT device with energy harvesting capability, the DRX parameters to design are the duration of the short DRX cycle (Ts) and the duration of long DRX cycle and the expiration value of the short DRX cycle timer (K) and the expiration value of the on-duration timer(M) which corresponds to adaptive energy harvesting (EH) CDRX configuration settings),
the plurality of adaptive EH CDRX configuration settings including at least a desired EH CDRX energy threshold value, and a short CDRX timer threshold value (page 2207, section 3: harvested energy compared with the consumed energy Ec (=desired EH CDRX energy threshold value) and page 2207, section 2, DRX mechanism in LTE: the maximum number of the repetitions for the short DRX cycles is set the value of the short DRX cycle timer corresponds to threshold value),
determine whether a current stored energy capacity equals or exceeds the desired EH CDRX energy threshold value at a start of an ON duration of a CDRX cycle (page 2207- 2208, section 3: proposed DRX mechanism: the PDCCP message to notify the packet arrivals during sleep period is received by the beginning of the DRX cycle ,the IoT device harvests energy during short DRX cycle (Ts), if the harvested energy is greater that the consumed energy Ec during Ts the IoT device holds the value of the short DRX cycle timer k , page 2208 discloses the user equipment receives the PDCCH message form eNodeB at the on-durations of UE which is short DRX cycle),
determine EH CDRX settings based on results of the determining whether the current stored energy capacity equals or exceeds the desired EH CDRX energy threshold value and the plurality of adaptive EH CDRX configuration settings ([Fig. 1] the EH CDRX settings, pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: the IoT device harvests energy during short DRX cycle (Ts), if the harvested energy is greater that the consumed energy Ec during Ts the IoT device holds the value of the short DRX cycle timer k), and
transmit at least one EH CDRX message to the RAN node based on the determined EH CDRX settings (pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: transmit energy in the channels designed for uplink transmission to transmit the information of IoT devices which corresponds to transmit EH CDRX message to the RAN node).
As of claim 10, Lee discloses a method of operating a user equipment (UE) device, the method comprising: obtaining connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration from a Radio Access Network (RAN) node (chapter 1, abstract and page 2206, introduction: The loT devices adopting the RF based energy harvesting circuits receive energy from nearby base stations in a wireless powered cellular network, page 2207, Section 2, DRX mechanism in LTE: the duration of the long DRX cycle is a multiple of the duration of the short DRX cycle is configured, the maximum number of the repetitions for the short DRX cycles is set the value of the short DRX cycle timer which corresponds to device obtains connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration from a Radio Access Network (RAN) node),
the CDRX configuration including a plurality of adaptive energy harvesting (EH) CDRX configuration settings ([Fig.1], page 2207-2208, Section 3: proposed DRX mechanism: IoT device with energy harvesting capability, the DRX parameters to design are the duration of the short DRX cycle (Ts) and the duration of long DRX cycle and the expiration value of the short DRX cycle timer (K) and the expiration value of the on-duration timer(M) which corresponds to adaptive energy harvesting (EH) CDRX configuration settings),
the plurality of adaptive EH CDRX configuration settings including at least a desired EH CDRX energy threshold value, and a short CDRX timer threshold value (page 2207, section 3: harvested energy compared with the consumed energy Ec (=desired EH CDRX energy threshold value) and page 2207, section 2, DRX mechanism in LTE: the maximum number of the repetitions for the short DRX cycles is set the value of the short DRX cycle timer corresponds to threshold value),
determining whether a current stored energy capacity equals or exceeds the desired EH CDRX energy threshold value at a start of an ON duration of a CDRX cycle (page 2207- 2208, section 3: proposed DRX mechanism: the PDCCP message to notify the packet arrivals during sleep period is received by the beginning of the DRX cycle ,the IoT device harvests energy during short DRX cycle (Ts), if the harvested energy is greater that the consumed energy Ec during Ts the IoT device holds the value of the short DRX cycle timer k , page 2208 discloses the user equipment receives the PDCCH message form eNodeB at the on-durations of UE which is short DRX cycle);
determining EH CDRX settings based on results of the determining whether the current stored energy capacity equals or exceeds the desired EH CDRX energy threshold value and the plurality of adaptive CDRX configuration settings ([Fig.1] shows the EH CDRX settings, pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: the IoT device harvests energy during short DRX cycle (Ts), if the harvested energy is greater that the consumed energy Ec during Ts the IoT device holds the value of the short DRX cycle timer k); and
transmitting at least one EH CDRX message to the RAN node based on the determined EH CDRX settings (pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: transmit energy in the channels designed for uplink transmission to transmit the information of IoT devices which corresponds to transmit EH CDRX message to the RAN node).
As of claim 19, Lee discloses a radio access network (RAN) node comprising: a memory storing computer readable instructions; and processing circuitry configured to execute the computer readable instructions (page 2206, Section 1: Introduction eNodeB (=a radio access network (RAN) node) and a memory and a processing circuitry are the inherent property of the RAN node) to cause the node to, transmit connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration to at least one energy harvesting (EH) user equipment (UE) device (chapter 1, abstract and page 2206, introduction: The loT devices adopting the RF based energy harvesting circuits receive energy from nearby base stations in a wireless powered cellular network, page 2207, Section 2, DRX mechanism in LTE: the duration of the long DRX cycle is a multiple of the duration of the short DRX cycle is configured, the maximum number of the repetitions for the short DRX cycles is set the value of the short DRX cycle timer which corresponds to network node transmit connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration to the energy harvesting (EH) user equipment (UE) device),
the CDRX configuration including a plurality of adaptive energy harvesting (EH) CDRX configuration settings ([Fig. 1], page 2207-2208, Section 3: proposed DRX mechanism: IoT device with energy harvesting capability, the DRX parameters to design are the duration of the short DRX cycle (Ts) and the duration of long DRX cycle and the expiration value of the short DRX cycle timer (K) and the expiration value of the on-duration timer(M) which corresponds to adaptive energy harvesting (EH) CDRX configuration settings),
the plurality of adaptive EH CDRX configuration settings including at least a desired EH CDRX energy threshold value, and a short CDRX timer threshold value (page 2207, section 3: harvested energy compared with the consumed energy Ec (=desired EH CDRX energy threshold value) and page 2207, section 2, DRX mechanism in LTE: the maximum number of the repetitions for the short DRX cycles is set the value of the short DRX cycle timer corresponds to threshold value); and
receive at least one EH CDRX message from the at least one EH UE device (pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: RAN node receives energy in the channels designed for uplink transmission to receive the information of IoT devices which corresponds to receive at least one EH CDRX message from the at least one EH UE device), the at least one EH CDRX message indicating EH CDRX settings determined based on at least a current stored energy capacity of the at least one EH UE device ([Fig. 1] the EH CDRX settings, pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: the IoT device harvests energy during short DRX cycle (Ts), if the harvested energy is greater that the consumed energy Ec during Ts the IoT device holds the value of the short DRX cycle timer k), the desired CDRX energy threshold value and the plurality of adaptive CDRX configuration settings ([Fig. 1] the EH CDRX settings, pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: harvested energy is compared with the consumed energy Ec (=the desired CDRX energy threshold).
As of claims 2 and 11, rejection of claims 1 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Lee further disclose the plurality of adaptive EH CDRX configuration settings further includes a short CDRX cycle extension threshold value (see [Fig. 1], pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: IoT devices increase the timer K that provides the IoT device with additional short DRX cycles such as the harvested short DRX cycles , page 2208, IoT device treats the third and fourth DRX cycles as a HS-cycles (J=2) (=short CDRX cycle extension threshold); and
the device is further caused to, initialize a value of a short CDRX cycle extension variable ((see Fig. 1b, pages 2207, Section 2: the UE initializes the value of the short DRX cycle timer to one); and in response to the current stored energy capacity equaling or exceeding the desired EH CDRX energy threshold value, increment the value of the short CDRX cycle extension variable (pages 2207-2007, the amount of harvested energy (=stored energy capacity) is greater that of the consumed energy it is obvious that increment the value of the short CDRX cycle extension variable),
determine whether the value of a short CDRX cycle extension variable equals the short CDRX cycle extension threshold value (page 2208, IoT device treats the third and fourth DRX cycles as a HS-cycles (J=2) (=short CDRX cycle extension threshold or variable); and
transmit a first EH CDRX message to the RAN node, the first EH CDRX message indicating a start of a EH short CDRX cycle (pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: Short DRX cycle begins).
As of claims 4 and 13, rejection of claims 1 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Lee further discloses the plurality of adaptive EH CDRX configuration settings further includes an early short CDRX cycle termination threshold value (pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: expiration value of the short DRX cycle timer (k)); and
the device is further caused to determine the EH CDRX settings by, in response to the current stored energy capacity equaling or exceeding the desired EH CDRX energy threshold value, resetting an early short CDRX cycle termination variable (pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: Short DRX cycle timer increases from two to three (=resetting)).
As of claims 8 and 17, rejection of claims 1 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Lee further discloses the device is further caused to: transmit at least one of the first EH CDRX message, a second EH CDRX message, a third EH CDRX message, or any combinations thereof, as an Uplink Control Information (UCI) message, the UCI message including a 1-bit flag indicating the determined EH CDRX settings (pages 2207-2208, Section 3, proposed DRX mechanism: IoT device harvests energy all the times while receive the downlink information and transmit information (harvests energy CRRX settings) in uplink channel).
As of claims 9 and 18, rejection of claims 1 and 10 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Lee further discloses the device further comprises: at least one energy harvesting device; and at least one battery configured to store energy obtained by the at least one energy harvesting device (chapter 1, abstract and page 2206, introduction: The loT devices (=energy harvesting device) adopting the RF based energy harvesting circuits receive energy from nearby base stations in a wireless powered cellular network).
As of claim 20, rejection of claim 19 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Lee further discloses the node is further caused to: transmit the CDRX configuration to a plurality of EH UE devices connected to the node (pages 2207-2208: the DRX parameters by utilising the harvesting capability of loT devices (=plurality of EH UE devices).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, 12, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the Applicant rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3 and 12, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “resetting the value of the short CDRX cycle extension variable; incrementing a value of a short CDRX timer variable; determining whether the incremented value of the short CDRX timer variable equals the short CDRX timer threshold value; and starting a long CDRX cycle based on the results of the determining whether the incremented value of the short CDRX timer variable equals the short CDRX timer threshold value” with the claimed invention as a whole.
As to claim 5 and 14, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “determining whether the incremented value of the early short CDRX cycle termination variable equals the early short CDRX cycle termination threshold value; and transmitting a second EH CDRX message to the RAN node based on results of the determining whether the incremented value of the early short CDRX cycle termination variable equals the early short CDRX cycle termination threshold value, the second EH CDRX message indicating a stop to the short CDRX cycle timer” with the claimed invention as a whole.
As to claim 6 and 15, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “a value of the early short CDRX cycle termination threshold value is less than the value of the short CDRX timer threshold value” with the claimed invention as a whole.
As to claim 7 and 16, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “determine the EH CDRX settings by determining whether the current stored energy capacity equals or exceeds the desired EH CDRX energy threshold value and the early long CDRX cycle termination threshold value at a start of an ON duration of a long CDRX cycle, and transmit a third EH CDRX message to the RAN node indicating an end of the long CDRX cycle” with the claimed invention as a whole.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471