DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 3 and 5-6.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the outer surface, inner surface and second surface must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the claim states “the second surface of the lock button away from the pressing portion is provided with a fixing rib adapted to the fixing groove”. It is unclear if the “second surface” is a new structure not previously claimed or if the surface is an attempt to rename a previously claimed surface. If the second surface is a distinct surface from the inner and outer surfaces the limitation lacks antecedent basis. If the second surface is a previously claimed surface the Examiner would suggest amended the claims to use consistent terminology. The expedited prosecution the Examiner best understands the second surface to be the same surface as the inner surface.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites the “second surface” also contained in claim 5 and is rejected as indefinite for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (CN 207509381 U) in view of Winnard (US 2021/0187710 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jia teaches an electro-thermal knife (Jia, Figs. 1-2, P. 0004), comprising: a knife body (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 2 (Jia) below) and a knife holder (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 2 (Jia) below); wherein a front end of the knife body is provided with a knife head (Jia, Figs. 1-2, 8).
Jia does not teach an angle adjusting mechanism; wherein the other end of the knife body is rotatably connected to the knife holder via an angle adjusting structure; a first groove is provided on one side of an end of the knife body away from the knife head, a first lug and a second lug are symmetrically provided on the top end of the knife holder, a through-hole is provided at the center of the first lug, and a plurality of limiting slots are arranged on an inner surface of the first lug facing the second lug and surround the through-hole, wherein the angle adjusting structure comprises a lock button and an elastic piece, the lock button comprises an outer surface facing toward the first lug and an inner surface opposite to the outer surface, the outer surface of the lock button provided with a pressing portion and a plurality of limiting ribs uniformly surrounding the pressing portion, wherein the end of the knife body away from the knife head is arranged between the first lug and the second lug, one end of the elastic piece is arranged in the first groove, the other end of the elastic piece is connected to an inner surface of the lock button, the outer surface of the lock button provided with the limiting ribs is coupled with the inner surface of the first lug, the pressing portion of the lock button is arranged in the through-hole, and the limiting ribs of the outer surface of the lock button are connected to the limiting slots of the inner surface of the first lug.
Winnard teaches an angle adjusting device (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B) comprising: a body (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 30), a holder (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 12) and an angle adjusting mechanism (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 14a); wherein a front end of the body (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 18) is provided with a head (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 16a) and the other end of the body is rotatably connected to the holder (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 12) via an angle adjusting structure (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 14a); a first groove (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 36) is provided on one side of an end of the body away from the head, a first lug (Winnard, Figs. 4-6B, 20a) and a second lug (Winnard, Figs. 4-6B, 20b) are symmetrically provided on the top end of the holder, a through-hole (Winnard, Fig. 5, 22) is provided at the center of the first lug, and a plurality of limiting slots (Winnard, Fig. 5, 26) are arranged on an inner surface of the first lug facing the second lug and surround the through-hole (Winnard, Fig. 5, 20a and 22), wherein the angle adjusting structure (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 14a) comprises a lock button (Winnard, Figs. 1 and 3-6B, 40a) and an elastic piece (Winnard, Figs. 4-6B, 60), the lock button comprises an outer surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 6A (Winnard) below) facing toward the first lug (Winnard, Figs. 4-6B, 20a) and an inner surface opposite to the outer surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 6A (Winnard) below), the outer surface of the lock button provided with a pressing portion (Winnard, Figs. 4-5, 42) and a plurality of limiting ribs (Winnard, Figs. 4-5, 46) uniformly surrounding the pressing portion, as the outer surface and inner surface are not defined by the instant specification the broadest reasonable interpretation applies both the terms outer and inner are relative terms and no frame of reference is provided the outer surface may be any surface or surfaces on the exterior of the lock button while the inner surface may be any surface or surfaces enclosed by a portion of the locking button and opposite the outer surface or any surface at least opposite the outer surface as required by claim 1, wherein the end of the body (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 30) away from the head (Winnard, Figs. 1-6B, 16a) is arranged between the first lug and the second lug (Winnard, Figs. 3-6B, 32), ne end of the elastic piece is arranged in the first groove (Winnard, Figs. 6A-6B, 36 and 60), the other end of the elastic piece is connected to an inner of the lock button (Winnard, Figs. 6A-6B, 40a and 60), the outer surface of the lock button provided with the limiting ribs (Winnard, Figs. 4-5, 46) is coupled with the inner surface of the first lug, the outer surface of the lock button provided with the limiting ribs (Winnard, Figs. 4-5, 46) is coupled with the inner surface of the first lug (Winnard, P. 0021), the pressing portion of the lock button is arranged in the through-hole (Winnard, Fig. 6A, 22 and 42), and the limiting ribs of the outer surface of the lock button (Winnard, Figs. 4-5, 46) are connected to the limiting slots of the inner surface of the first lug (Winnard, Fig. 5, 26, and P. 0022). Such an angle adjusting mechanism allows for the device to be adjusted into multiple positions (Winnard, P. 0014).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the electro-thermal knife taught by Jia to include an angle adjusting mechanism like that taught by Winnard as doing so allows for the device to be adjusted into multiple positions.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (CN 207509381 U) in view of Winnard (US 2021/0187710 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang (US 7,370,423 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Jia in view of Winnard teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 1.
Jia in view of Winnard does not teach wherein a fixing groove is provided in the first groove, a fixing rib adapted to the fixing groove is provided on the inner surface of the lock button away from the pressing portion, and the fixing rib is adapted to be connected to the fixing groove.
Huang teaches an angle adjustment mechanism featuring a button (Huang, Figs. 1-3, 60), wherein a fixing groove (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Huang) below) is provided in the first groove (Huang, Figs. 2-4, 22), a fixing rib (Huang, Figs. 2-3, 62) adapted to the fixing groove is provided on the inner surface of the lock button away from the pressing portion, and the fixing rib is adapted to be connected to the fixing groove (Huang, Col. 3, lines 9-27). Such structures help retain and prevent rotation of the button during pivoting of the head.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the first groove to include a fixing groove and the button to include a complementary fixing rib like those taught by Huang as such features help to retain the button and prevent the button from rotating while pivoting the tool head.
Regarding claim 4, Jia in view of Winnard teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 1, wherein the elastic piece (Winnard, Figs. 4-6B, 60) is a spring (Winnard, Figs. 4-6B, 62, P. 0024).
Jia in view of Winnard does not teach wherein a spring limiting seat is provided at the center of the bottom surface of the first groove and one end of the spring is provided in the spring limiting seat.
Huang further teaches a first groove (Huang, Figs. 2-4, 22) wherein a spring limiting seat (Huang, Figs. 3-4, 25) is provided at the center of the bottom surface of the first groove and one end of the spring is provided in the spring limiting seat (Huang, Col. 3, lines 28-36). This helps to bias the spring against the button and ensures the limiting ribs are engaged. This is an alternative to Winnard which includes two buttons with a spring between the two buttons, however both the arrangement taught by Winnard and the arrangement taught by Huang both allow for the selective pivoting of the head when the button is depressed and locking the head in position when not depressed.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the first groove to include a spring limiting seat like that taught by Huang as such a feature allows for the button to be pressed and returned to its initial position without a second button.
Regarding claim 5, Jia in view of Winnard teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 4.
Jia in view of Winnard does not teach wherein the spring limiting seat is provided with a first notch, an end of each section of the spring limiting seat at the first notch is respectively provided with an extension extending towards the first groove, a fixing groove is formed between the two connected extensions at the first notches, and the second surface of the lock button away from the pressing portion is provided with a fixing rib adapted to the fixing groove. However, Huang teaches that it is known in the art of pivots for the button to have ribs (Huang, Fig. 3, 62 and 65) adapted to a groove (Huang, Fig. 3, 22 and 72) with the structure as claimed only the grooves taught by Huang are not located on the spring limiting seat. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the lock button and spring limiting seat taught by Jia in view of Winnard and Huang to include a fixing groove in the spring limiting surface and a fixing fib adapted to the fixing groove
Regarding claim 6, Jia in view of Winnard teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 4, wherein a second groove (Jia, Figs. 6A-6B, 48) is provided at the center of the second surface of the lock button away from the pressing portion, and one end of the spring connected to the lock button is provided in the second groove (Jia, Figs. 6A-6B, 48 and 62).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (CN 207509381 U) in view of Winnard (US 2021/0187710 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rapp et al. (US 2013/0178296 A1) and Velderman et al. (US 2019/0273421 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jia in view of Winnard teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 1, wherein a heat dissipation fan (Jia, Fig. 1, 4) is provided in an external power supply (Jia, F1ig. 1, 6) with a plurality of heat dissipation holes (Jia, Fig. 2, 5) to cool the electrical components (Jia, P. 0009).
Jia in view of Winnard does not teach wherein a heat dissipation fan is provided in an end of the knife body located between the first lug and the second lug, and a plurality of heat dissipation holes are provided on an outer housing of the end of the knife body.
Rapp teaches a device (Rapp, Figs. 1 and 8-16, 900) wherein a heat dissipation fan (Rapp, Fig. 11, 913) is provided in an end of a body (Rapp, Fig. 11, 902) located between a first lug and a second lug (Rapp, Fig. 11, 903b).
Velderman teaches a hand held tool (Velderman, Figs. 1-17, 100) wherein a heat dissipation fan (Velderman, Figs. 3-4, 6-8 and 13-16, 130) is provided in an end of a body (Velderman, Fig. 3, 102a and 102b) and a plurality of heat dissipation holes (Velderman, Fig. 3, 140) are provided on an outer housing of the end of the body.
The combination of the teachings of Jia, Rapp, and Velderman show that a person of ordinary skill in the art would position a heat dissipation fan and accompanying heat dissipation holes where ever desirable to cool a device. Further Rapp shows that it is known in the art of pivoting bodies to place a heat dissipation inside of the pivoting body between the pivot lugs. As such it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the heat dissipation fan and plurality of heat dissipation hole taught by Jia in view of Winnard that such the fan and holes were arranged in any desirable location where cooling is needed as such a rearrangement of part requires only a basic level of skill for a worker in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). As the prior art of Jia, Rapp, and Velderman show that a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to put cooling elements like holes or fans in proximity to components that generate heat and that these components may be located in different parts of the device there is clear motivation in the art to provide cooling for elements of the device inside the body.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (CN 207509381 U) in view of Winnard (US 2021/0187710 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of White (US 1,279,807 A).
Regarding claim 8, Jia in view of Winnard teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 1.
Jia in view of Winnard does not teach wherein a wire binding buckle is provided on a side of the second lug facing the first lug, and a wire inlet hole is provided on a side of the end of the knife body adjacent to the wire binding buckle.
White teaches an angle-adjustable holder (White, Fig. 1, b) wherein a wire binding buckle (White, Fig. 6, I) is provided on a side of a lug facing another lug (White, Fig. 1, b), and a wire inlet hole (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 6 (White) below) is provided on a side of the end of the body adjacent to the wire binding buckle. Such structures help to prevent wire strain and undesired bending or twisting (White, Pg. 1, lines 43-62)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the second lug taught by Jia in view of Winnard to include a wire binding buckle and wire inlet hole like those taught by White as such structure helps to prevent wire strain and undesirable bending of the wire.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (CN 207509381 U) in view of Winnard (US 2021/0187710 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harrison et al. (US 2011/0010951 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jia in view of Winnard teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 1.
Jia in view of Winnard does not teach a support comprising a connecting rod and a support plate, wherein one end of the connecting rod is fixedly connected to the knife body, the other end of the connecting rod extends towards the knife head, and the end thereof is provided with a support plate arranged perpendicular relative to the knife head.
Harrison teaches a support (Harrison, Figs. 1-9, 30) comprising a connection rod (Harrison, Figs. 1-9, 34) and a support plate (Harrison, Figs. 1-9, 38), wherein one end of the connecting rod is fixedly connected to a body (Harrison, Figs. 1 and 9, 34 and 14), the other end of the connecting rod extends towards a head (Harrison, Figs. 1 and 9, 34 and 26), and the end thereof is provided with a support plate (Harrison, Figs. 1 and 9, 98) arranged perpendicular relative to the head (Harrison, Figs. 1 and 9, 98 and 26). Such supports help to provide increased stability for the device while cutting (Harrison, P. 0002).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder taught by Jia in view of Winnard to include a support like that taught by Harrison as such support helps to provide increased stability for the device while cutting.
Regarding claim 10, Jia in view of Winnard and Harrison teaches the electro-thermal knife with an angle-adjustable knife holder according to claim 9, wherein an end of the support plate (Harrison, Figs. 1 and 9, 98) adjacent to the head (Harrison, Figs. 1 and 9, 26) is provided with a second notch (Harrison, Figs. 1 and 9, 142) through which the head passes.
Response to Arguments
The applicant asserts that the amendments to claim 1 overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 obviousness type prior art rejection of record. The Examiner disagrees but as the applicant has amended the claim the Examiner has updated the prior art rejections of record to account for the amended limitations. The applicant’s assertion regarding what constitutes the outer surface and inner surface are not supported by the instant disclosure. The specification does not include any specifics about either limitation or the drawings do not include a reference to either limitation. The claim also does not set forth any relative structural limitations for these limitations other than the inner surface being opposite the outer and that the outer surface faces the first lug. As such the Examiner must apply the broadest reasonable interpretation to the limitations, which is much broader than what the applicant asserts. The common definition of outer is situated farther out, being away from a center, situated or belonging on the outside while the common definition of inner is situated farther in, being near a center, hidden or obscure. As such, any external surface or the entirety of the lock button may be an outer surface while any surface that could be considered on an interior and opposite or at least opposite the outer surface may be an inner surface. Therefore the lock button with its outer surface and inner surface read on the claimed limitations. Hence, the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724