DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to preliminary amendment filed on 3/10/2025, claims 1- 7 are cancelled and claims 9- 13 are added as new claims. Claims 9- 13 are pending for examinations.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed on 3/6/2024 and 8/27/205 are under compliance and has/have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0321285 A1), hereafter Mostafa.
Regarding claim 8, Mostafa teaches a terminal (see [0080].. the UE (i.e. a terminal) may be configured to monitor two linked CSS sets for decoding of a DCI associated with the CSS set type) comprising:
a receiver that receives a higher layer parameter including information related to a search space type and information related to search space set linking (see [0133].. A Type3-PDCCH (i.e. search space type) CSS set (i.e. common search space set) may be configured by SearchSpace (i.e. higher layer parameter) in PDCCH-Config in PDCCH-Config with SearchSpaceType=common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by interruption RNTI (INT-RNTI),…. now refer to see [0136].. Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE (i.e. higher layer parameter may include searchspaceID field and other parameters; see [0135]). Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS); now refer to [0137] For Type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level…; further see [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type i.e. this way search space type as well information related to search space set linking is configured from base station to terminal) ; and
a processor that, when a plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other are configured for a common search space by the higher layer parameter, controls monitoring of downlink control channel candidates corresponding to the plurality of search space sets (already discussed above in context with [0133, 0136] please refer to [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type),
wherein the plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other are not configured for a specific common search space set (see [0137] type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level (i.e. here type-3 CSS sets are not configured with a specific common search space set). For type 0, 0A, 1, and 2 PDCCH CSS sets, the SS identifier may be configured for each type separately (i.e. configured for a specific common search space set); see [0136] for reference Type0, 0A, 1, and 2-PDCCH CSS sets, the corresponding SearchSpaceID is configured for searchSpaceSIB1 (Type0), searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation (Type0A), ra-SearchSpace (Type1), and pagingSearchSpace (Type2) in the PDCCH-ConfigCommon message…..Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE. Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS)).
Regarding claim 9, Mostafa teaches as per claim 8, wherein the specific common search space set is configured by at least one of searchSpaceSIB1, searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation, ra- SearchSpace, and pagingSearchSpace; already discussed in claim 8’s citations see[0136]… Type0, 0A, 1, and 2-PDCCH CSS sets, the corresponding SearchSpaceID is configured for searchSpaceSIB1 (Type0), searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation (Type0A), ra-SearchSpace (Type1), and pagingSearchSpace (Type2) in the PDCCH-ConfigCommon message…... .
Regarding claim 10, Mostafa teaches as per claim 8, wherein the plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other correspond to a same search space type and a same downlink control information format; see [0131].. the wireless communications system 200 may support PDCCH repetitions, where each repetition is a PDCCH candidate. Two PDCCH candidates may carry the same DCI, and thus may be considered “linked.” The two linked PDCCH candidates may have the same aggregation level (same number of control channel elements), and the DCI payload transmitted using the two PDCCH candidates may be the same. UE 115-a may perform soft combining of multiple PDCCH candidates to decode the DCI. …; further see [0137] For Type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor....see [0236].. a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type.
Regarding claim 11, Mostafa teaches a radio communication method for a terminal (see [0080].. the UE (i.e. a terminal) may be configured to monitor two linked CSS sets for decoding of a DCI associated with the CSS set type), comprising:
receiving a higher layer parameter including information related to a search space type and information related to search space set linking see [0133].. A Type3-PDCCH (i.e. search space type) CSS set (i.e. common search space set) may be configured by SearchSpace (i.e. higher layer parameter) in PDCCH-Config in PDCCH-Config with SearchSpaceType=common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by interruption RNTI (INT-RNTI),…. now refer to see [0136].. Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE (i.e. higher layer parameter may include searchspaceID field and other parameters; see [0135]). Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS); now refer to [0137] For Type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level…; further see [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type i.e. this way search space type as well information related to search space set linking is configured from base station to terminal; and
when a plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other are configured for a common search space by the higher layer parameter, controlling monitoring of downlink control channel candidates corresponding to the plurality of search space sets (already discussed above in context with [0133, 0136] please refer to [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type),
wherein the plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other are not configured for a specific common search space set (see [0137] type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level (i.e. here type-3 CSS sets are not configured with a specific common search space set). For type 0, 0A, 1, and 2 PDCCH CSS sets, the SS identifier may be configured for each type separately (i.e. configured for a specific common search space set); see [0136] for reference Type0, 0A, 1, and 2-PDCCH CSS sets, the corresponding SearchSpaceID is configured for searchSpaceSIB1 (Type0), searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation (Type0A), ra-SearchSpace (Type1), and pagingSearchSpace (Type2) in the PDCCH-ConfigCommon message…..Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE. Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS)).
Regarding claim 12, Mostafa teaches a base station (see Fig. 2 #105-a as a base station; further see [0080].. the UE may be configured to monitor two linked CSS sets for decoding of a DCI associated with the CSS set type; further see [0233] base station) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits a higher layer parameter including information related to a search space type and information related to search space set linking (see [0133].. A Type3-PDCCH (i.e. search space type) CSS set (i.e. common search space set) may be configured by SearchSpace (i.e. higher layer parameter by base station) in PDCCH-Config in PDCCH-Config with SearchSpaceType=common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by interruption RNTI (INT-RNTI),…. now refer to see [0136].. Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE (i.e. higher layer parameter may include searchspaceID field and other parameters; see [0135]). Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS); now refer to [0137] For Type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level…; further see [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type i.e. this way search space type as well information related to search space set linking is configured from base station to terminal); and
a processor that configures, by the higher layer parameter, a plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other for a common search space (already discussed above in context with [0133, 0136] please refer to [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type),
wherein the plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other are not configured for a specific common search space set (see [0137] type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level (i.e. here type-3 CSS sets are not configured with a specific common search space set). For type 0, 0A, 1, and 2 PDCCH CSS sets, the SS identifier may be configured for each type separately (i.e. configured for a specific common search space set); see [0136] for reference Type0, 0A, 1, and 2-PDCCH CSS sets, the corresponding SearchSpaceID is configured for searchSpaceSIB1 (Type0), searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation (Type0A), ra-SearchSpace (Type1), and pagingSearchSpace (Type2) in the PDCCH-ConfigCommon message…..Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE. Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS)).
Regarding claim 13, Mostafa teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station (see Fig. 2, #105-a as a base station and 115-a as a UE; further see [0080].. the UE may be configured to monitor two linked CSS sets for decoding of a DCI associated with the CSS set type; further see [0233] base station), wherein the terminal comprises:
a receiver that receives a higher layer parameter including information related to a search space type and information related to search space set linking (see [0133].. A Type3-PDCCH (i.e. search space type) CSS set (i.e. common search space set) may be configured by SearchSpace (i.e. higher layer parameter) in PDCCH-Config in PDCCH-Config with SearchSpaceType=common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by interruption RNTI (INT-RNTI),…. now refer to see [0136].. Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE (i.e. higher layer parameter may include searchspaceID field and other parameters; see [0135]). Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS); now refer to [0137] For Type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level…; further see [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type i.e. this way search space type as well information related to search space set linking is configured from base station to terminal); and
a processor that, when a plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other are configured for a common search space by the higher layer parameter, controls monitoring of downlink control channel candidates corresponding to the plurality of search space sets (already discussed above in context with [0133, 0136] please refer to [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type), and
the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits the higher layer parameter (see [0133].. A Type3-PDCCH (i.e. search space type) CSS set (i.e. common search space set) may be configured by SearchSpace (i.e. higher layer parameter) in PDCCH-Config in PDCCH-Config with SearchSpaceType=common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by interruption RNTI (INT-RNTI),…. now refer to see [0136].. Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE (i.e. higher layer parameter may include searchspaceID field and other parameters; see [0135]). Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS)); and
a processor that configures, by the higher layer parameter, the plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other for the common search space (already discussed above in context with [0133, 0136] please refer to [0233] …The communications manager 1120 may support wireless communications at a base station in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. The search space set configuration interface 1125 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to a UE an indication that a first common search space set and a second common search space set are linked for repetition of a downlink control channel that includes downlink control information associated ….; further see [0234]… support transmitting the indication, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a control message that indicates that both the first common search space set and the second common search space set are linked and are to be monitored for the downlink control channel based on the downlink control information being associated….; further see [0236].. to support transmitting the control message, the search space set monitoring indication interface 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting a common physical downlink control channel configuration message (i.e. to terminal) that indicates that both a first index associated with the first common search space set and a second index associated with the second common search space set correspond to a same common search space set type),
wherein the plurality of search space sets that are linked to each other are not configured for a specific common search space set (see [0137] type-3 CSS sets or USS sets, PDCCH repetition may be configured and enabled by associating or linking two SS sets for the SS set configuration. In addition, the two linked SS sets may be configured with the same periodicity, offset, duration, number of monitoring occasions within a slot, SS set Type (CSS or USS), DCI formats to monitor, and/or the number of candidates for each aggregation level (i.e. here type-3 CSS sets are not configured with a specific common search space set). For type 0, 0A, 1, and 2 PDCCH CSS sets, the SS identifier may be configured for each type separately (i.e. configured for a specific common search space set); see [0136] for reference Type0, 0A, 1, and 2-PDCCH CSS sets, the corresponding SearchSpaceID is configured for searchSpaceSIB1 (Type0), searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation (Type0A), ra-SearchSpace (Type1), and pagingSearchSpace (Type2) in the PDCCH-ConfigCommon message…..Type3-PDCCH CSS set and USS sets may be directly configured in SearchSpace IE. Two or more SS sets may be configured for each of these PDCCH types (e.g., Type3 and USS)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Huang (US Pub. No. 2022/0369352 A1) teaches in [0142] For PDCCH repetition, support linking two SS sets by RRC configuration… [0144] When PDCCH repetition is monitored in two linked SS sets, the UE does not expect a third monitored SS set to be linked with any of the two linked SS sets. [0145] The two linked SS sets have the same SS set type (USS/CSS) [0146] The two linked SS sets have the same DCI formats to monitor [0147] For intra-slot PDCCH repetition, [0148] The two SS sets should have the same periodicity and offset (monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset), and the same duration [0149] For linking monitoring occasions across the two SS sets that exist in the same slot: [0150] The two SS sets have the same number of monitoring occasions within a slot and n-th monitoring occasion of one SS set is linked to n-th monitoring occasion of the other SS set.
[0151] When two SS sets are linked for PDCCH repetition, they do not contain individual PDCCH candidates. [0152] Note 1: For configuration of individual PDCCH candidates, a different SS set can be configured by network. [0153] Note 2: When one of the linked PDCCH candidates uses the same set of CCEs as an individual PDCCH candidate, and they both are associated with the same DCI size, scrambling, and CORESET.
Reference Ying et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0300827 A1) teaches in [0167] Here, the UE 102 may determine a PDCCH monitoring occasion(s) from the PDCCH monitoring periodicity, the PDCCH monitoring offset, and/or the PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. As described above, for example, for each search space set, DCI format 0_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-UL-RNTI) and/or DCI format 1_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-DL-RNTI) may be independently configured. For example, the PDCCH monitoring occasion(s) may be independently configured for DCI format 0_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-UL-RNTI) and/or DCI format 1_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-DL-RNTI). [0168] Here, for each search space set, DCI format 0_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-UL-RNTI) and/or DCI format 1_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-DL-RNTI) may be commonly configured. For example, the PDCCH monitoring occasion(s) may be commonly configured for DCI format 0_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-UL-RNTI) and/or DCI format 1_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-DL-RNTI). For example, the gNB 160 may configure for the UE 102 to monitor the PDCCH candidates for the DCI format 0_3, and, the UE 102 may monitor, based on the parameter(s) as described above, both of the DCI format 0_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-UL-RNTI) and/or DCI format 1_3 with CRC scrambled by new RNTI (e.g., L-RNTI, L-DL-RNTI); further see [0172- 0173].
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479