DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/US22/41337 filed 24 August 2022. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim domestic priority to provisional application 63/246,035 filed 20 September 2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 16-25, in the reply filed on 1 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 and 26-117 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-117 are pending.
Claims 1-15, 20-21, and 26-117 are withdrawn.
Claims 16-19 and 22-25 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: The Applicant recites both rapeseed oil and canola oil, which are the same thing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The language of claim 18 is unclear and thus indefinite. Claim 18 recites “wherein the hydrophobic moiety is a moiety selected from the group consisting of unsubstituted or substituted alkyl, cycloalkyl, alkenyl, and aryl alcohols, wherein any of the beforehand mentioned groups may be with or without C6 heteroatoms, containing from about C6 to about C36 atoms, unsubstituted or substituted alkyl, cycloalkyl, alkenyl, and aryl amines, wherein any of the beforehand mentioned groups may be with or without heteroatoms, containing from about C6 to about C36 atoms, silicon-based compounds, and combinations thereof.” The emphasized portion is unclear as to what it is modifying or if it is adding additional components to the composition. For example, it is unclear if the silicon based compounds are a separate component or if they are part of a modification to the initial alcohol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Russell (US 4,075,145).
Russell teaches a water soluble, storage stable resin comprising a maleinised oil (interpreted as maleated) reacted with a polyol (abstract). The compositions are used as coating materials (col 1, lns 49-51). In one example dehydrated castor oil and soya oil were mixed with maleic anhydride and rosin under heat (col 4, lns 60-65). Next, to the reaction was added phthalic anhydride and glycerol for a polyesterification step (col 4, lns 65-68). The resulting compound is a reaction product of maleated soybean oil, resin and phthalic anhydride (hydrophobic moieties), and glycerol for use in a coating composition, thus anticipating instant claims 16 and 22-24.
Claims 16-18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by McGuiness et al. (US 2021/0238496).
McGuiness teaches a reaction product of maleated soybean oil (MAA SYBO) and C9-11 oxo alcohol (FOH-9) (pg 6, Table 1). The malerated soybean oil is shown as inherently comprising a glycerol moiety and unreacted maleated functionalities [0031]. The composition is mixed together and heated until the reaction is complete [0045]. The end product is useful as a lubricant and corrosion protectant in metalworking operations (aka industrial composition) [0002]. As such, claims 16-18 and 22-24 are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US 4,075,145) in view of Amos (Polymers 2021, 13, 1504, 1-22).
Russell teaches a water soluble, storage stable resin comprising a maleinised oil reacted with a polyol (abstract). The compositions are used as coating materials (col 1, lns 49-51). In one example dehydrated castor oil and soya oil were mixed with maleic anhydride and rosin under heat (col 4, lns 60-65). Next, to the reaction was added phthalic anhydride and glycerol for a polyesterification step (col 4, lns 65-68). The resulting compound is a reaction product of maleated soybean oil, resin and phthalic anhydride (hydrophobic moieties), and glycerol for use in a coating composition.
Russell does not teach wherein the reaction product comprises an unreacted maleated functionality.
Amos teaches the structure of maleated soybean oil (F) with a glycerol moiety wherein it is shown that at least one maleate unit is unreacted (Fig 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the coating composition of Russell, which comprises a reaction of maleated soybean oil, resin and phthalic anhydride (hydrophobic moieties), and glycerol. Based on the structure shown in Amos, it would have been obvious that at least one maleated functionality would be unreacted.
Claims 16-19 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGuiness et al. (US 2021/0238496).
McGuiness teaches a reaction product of maleated soybean oil (MAA SYBO) and C9-11 oxo alcohol (FOH-9) (pg 6, Table 1). In the broadest terms, the alcohol must have at least 2 carbon atoms [0015] or, more narrowly, may comprise a linear or branched C2-C18 alcohol [0034]. The malerated soybean oil is shown as inherently comprising a glycerol moiety and unreacted maleated functionalities [0031]. The composition is mixed together and heated until the reaction is complete [0045]. The end product is useful as a lubricant and corrosion protectant in metalworking operations (aka industrial composition) [0002].
McGuiness does not teach wherein the hydrophobic moiety is an alcohol as recited in claim 19.
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the industrial composition of McGuiness wherein the composition comprises the reaction product of a maleated soybean oil and a hydrophobic alcohol. The alcohol can be any alcohol comprising more than 2 carbons or a C2-C18 alcohol, therefore it would have been obvious to select an alcohol as recited in instant claim 19, such as heptanol. That being said, it would have been obvious to further explore alcohol selections and expand out to those with greater than 2 carbons, which would include the C20 alcohol, octyldodecanol. As such, claims 16-19 and 22-24 would have been obvious in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613