DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-11 and 20, in the reply filed on August 11, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 11, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osawa et al. (JP 2019172803). Note: A machine translation is being used for JP 2019-072803.
Considering Claim 1: Osawa et al. teaches a composition comprising a modified polyphenylene ether resin having terminal modification with styrene or methacrylate groups/unsaturated double bonds (¶0017) and an elastomer comprising a butadiene group (¶0015).
Considering Claims 3 and 5: Osawa et al. teaches the elastomer as preferably being a styrene butadiene copolymer/a polymer of Formula (7) (¶0015).
Considering Claim 7: Osawa et al. teaches the composition as comprising a solvent (¶0037).
Considering Claim 10 and 20: Osawa et al. teaches the ratio of the polyphenylene ether to the butadiene polymer as being 32:37 (Table 1).
Considering Claim 11: Osawa et al. teaches the ratio of the polymers to the solvent as being 45:55 (¶0037).
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osawa et al. (JP 2019172803) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the evidence of Chen et al. (ACS Omega, 2018, 3, 6031-6038).
Considering Claims 2 and 4: Osawa et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as shown above. Osawa et al. teaches the polyphenylene as being OPE-2St-1200 or SA-9000 (¶0017).
Chen teaches the structures of these polymers as being:
(Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osawa et al. (JP 2019172803) as applied to claim 7 above.
Considering Claims 8 and 9: Osawa et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as shown above.
Osawa et al. does not teach the claimed viscosity properties. However, viscosity is a well known property effecting the coatability of a film forming composition. As such, it would be considered by a person of ordinary skill in the art to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the viscosity properties through the amount of the solvent, and the motivation to do so would have been to control the coatability of the composition during film formation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saito et al. (WO 2021/010431) teaches a composition comprising an unsaturated terminal modified polyphenylene ether and a butadiene polymer (Abstract).
Osumi et al. (US 2022/0251376) teaches a composition comprising an an unsaturated terminal modified polyphenylene ether (¶0018) and a butadiene polymer (Abstract).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767