DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-11 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furuhata (US 2013/0116919).
Regarding claim 1:
Furuhata teaches A voice output device (navigation apparatus 101) comprising:
a memory (105) configured to store instructions; and
a processor (CPU 104) configured to execute the instructions to:
set a plurality of utterance points and a plurality of utterance contents for the plurality of utterance points, based on a route a destination of a vehicle (route guidance and hazard location warnings, see at least ¶0004, ¶0034, ¶0056-0057, ¶0064);
determine whether or not a first voice output corresponding to a first utterance content at a first utterance point among the plurality of utterance points and a second voice output corresponding to a second utterance content at a second utterance point among the plurality of utterance points overlap at least partly, based on a speed of the vehicle traveling along the route (see at least ¶0065, ¶0045, ¶0109); and
perform processing for preventing overlap of the first voice output and the second voice output, based on a priority set in advance, when it is determined that the first voice output and the second voice output overlap (see at least Fig. 9, S905, ¶0111).
Regarding claim 2:
Furuhata further teaches wherein, when the speed of the vehicle traveling along the route exceeds a speed value obtained by a predetermined calculation method, the processor determines that the first voice output corresponding to the first utterance content at the first utterance point among the plurality of utterance points and the second voice output corresponding to the second utterance content at the second utterance point among the plurality of utterance points overlap at least partly (see at least ¶0087-0088).
Regarding claim 6:
Furuhata further teaches wherein the priority is set such that, among the first utterance point and the second utterance point, one voice output corresponding to the utterance content of one guidance point closer to the guidance point ahead of the vehicle on the route is preferentially performed (see at least Fig. 7, priority calculation formula).
Regarding claim 7:
Furuhata further teaches wherein the processor performs, as the processing for preventing the overlap based on the priority, processing for stopping another voice output corresponding to the utterance content of another utterance point farther from the guide point at a timing when the one voice output is started, among the first utterance point and the second utterance point (see at least ¶0111).
Regarding claim 8:
Furuhata further teaches wherein the priority is set so that the voice output of information important for moving the vehicle along the route is preferentially performed (see at least Fig. 4).
Regarding clam 10:
Furuhata teaches A voice output method comprising:
setting a plurality of utterance points and a plurality of utterance contents for the plurality of utterance points, based on a route to a destination of a vehicle (route guidance and hazard location warnings, see at least ¶0004, ¶0034, ¶0056-0057, ¶0064);
determining whether or not a first voice output corresponding to a first utterance content at a first utterance point among the plurality of utterance points and a second voice output corresponding to a second utterance content at a second utterance point among the plurality of utterance points overlap at least partly, based on a speed of the vehicle traveling along the route (see at least ¶0065, ¶0045, ¶0109); and
performing processing for preventing overlap of the first voice output and the second voice output, based on a priority set in advance, when it is determined that the first voice output and the second voice output overlap (see at least Fig. 9, S905, ¶0111).
Regarding clam 11:
Furuhata teaches a non-transitory computer-readable program executed by a voice output device comprising a computer, the program causing the computer to:
set a plurality of utterance points and a plurality of utterance contents for the plurality of utterance points, based on a route to a destination of a vehicle (route guidance and hazard location warnings, see at least ¶0004, ¶0034, ¶0056-0057, ¶0064);
determine whether or not a first voice output corresponding to a first utterance content at a first utterance point among the plurality of utterance points and a second voice output corresponding to a second utterance content at a second utterance point among the plurality of utterance points overlap at least partly, based on a speed of the vehicle traveling along the route (see at least ¶0065, ¶0045, ¶0109); and
perform processing for preventing overlap of the first voice output and the second voice output, based on a priority set in advance, when it is determined that the first voice output and the second voice output overlap (see at least Fig. 9, S905, ¶0111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuhata.
Regarding claim 3:
Furuhata teaches the limitations as in claim 2 above.
Furuhata further teaches determining the speed value, but does not teach the specifics of determining the speed value.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the navigation system and method as taught by Furuhata with the well-known technique of determining a speed by dividing a relevant distance by the appropriate time since this is a well-understood mathematical relation, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a straightforward means for determining the relationship between the amount of time available to produce the utterances and the speed of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuhata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otani et al. (US 2010/0268453).
Regarding claim 5:
Furuhata teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Furuhata does not explicitly teach setting utterance points based on a traveling speed.
Otani teaches a system and method of providing audio navigation guidance including wherein a plurality of utterance points are set as positions indicating timings capable of performing the voice outputs corresponding to the plurality of utterance contents without overlap in the vehicle that is assumed to travel at a speed equal to or lower than a predetermined speed (see at least Fig. 5, 9-10, ¶0010-0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the navigation voice output system and method as taught by Furuhata with the technique of determining an utterance output timing based on the speed of the vehicle as taught by Otani in order to ensure that information is provided in a timely manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuhata as applied to claim 1 above in view of Saito et al. (US 2007/0094029).
Regarding claims 4 and 9:
Furuhata teaches the limitations as in claims 1 and 8 above.
Furuhata does not explicitly teach shortening utterances.
Saito teaches a system and method of speech synthesis, including determining when a plurality of utterances would overlap and shortening at least one of the first utterance content and the second utterance content (see at least abstract, ¶0040-0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the navigation voice output system and method as taught by Furuhata with the technique of shortening utterances to prevent overlap as taught by Saito in order to allow all necessary information to be presented in sufficient time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619