DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed on 7/28/2026. A response to the restriction requirement filed on July 28, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are currently pending as per claims filed March 4, 2026. Claims 10-20 have been withdrawn from consideration by Applicants’ amendment filed on 3/4/2026. No claims were canceled or newly added. Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I, directed to an inducible promoter comprising STAT3, STAT5, AP-1 and a minimal promoter, e.g., claims 1-9 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration by Applicants, pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction requirement is deemed proper, maintained and made FINAL.
Therefore, claims 1-9 are under examination to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/RU2022/050279, filed 09/06/2022, which claims priority to Russian Application No. 2021126254, filed 09/07/2021.
The certified untranslated copy of the RUSSIAN FEDERATION 2021126254 09/07/2021 publication was filed on 3/6/2024.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Therefore, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is September 7, 2021.
Specification
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the specific arrangement of binding sites of transcription factors, specifically in the order of STAT3, STAT5 and AP-1, including the combined sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 13, does not reasonably provide enablement for the claimed genus of inducible promoter encompassing alternative STAT3, STAT5, and AP-1 binding-unit sequences, combinations, and arrangements in conjunction with a minimal promoter. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The criteria for enablement set out In re Wands, MPEP 2162.01(a), considers the following factors:
Breadth of the Claims
The claims are broadly directed to a broad genus of inducible promoters comprising STAT3, STAT5, and AP-1 transcription factor binding units in conjunction with a minimal promoter. The claimed scope is not limited to the specific order of STAT3-STAT5-AP-1 disclosed in SEQ ID NO: 13 but rather encompasses alternative binding-unit sequences and combinations thereof. The claims encompass sequences selected from the group of SEQ ID Nos: 10-12, whereas SEQ ID NO: 13 represents the disclosed combination of STAT3, STAT5 and AP-1 binding sequences. Thus, the claims encompass promoter embodiments beyond the combined sequence and are only enabling for the combined sequence disclosed in SEQ ID NO: 13.
State of Prior Art
The prior art demonstrates that transcriptional activity of a promoter is heavily influenced by the order of the binding sites for transcription factors, their positioning and spacing, and interactions between transcription factors bound to such sites.
Lerner et al. (Published: 2003. Genes Dev. 2003 Oct 15;17(20):2564-77. Cited in ISR filed March 6 2024) investigated the relationship between transcription-factor binding sites and transcriptional activity within the STAT3-dependent rat α2-macroglobulin promoter (pp. 2564, Abstract). Lerner reveals that increasing the spacing of the STAT3 and AP-1 sites by 5 bases suppressed transcription by roughly 60% (pp. 2567, left col, para 2). Therefore, Lerner establishes that promoter activity is dependent not merely upon the presence of transcription-factor binding sites, but also upon their particular spatial arrangement. Thus, it is evident that it is highly unpredictable how promoter elements will respond to even very minor sequences space changes.
Smith et al. (Published: 2013. Nat Genet. 2013 Sep;45(9):1021-1028. ) evaluated over 5000 synthetic regulatory elements (SREs) comprising combinations and arrangements of various transcription-binding sites and assessed their regulatory activity in HepG2 cells (pp. 1021, Abstract and pp. 1022, col 1, para 2). Smith specifically assessed that of 211 sets of SREs, 87 (41%) had a favorable permutation that resulted in significantly stronger increase in expression than an unfavorable mutation (pp. 1026, col 1, para 1). Further, some favorable mutations produced, on average, 2.8-fold higher expression than in unfavorable ones, with some pairs having as high as 6.8-fold higher expression (pp. 1026, col 1, para 1). Therefore, the prior art establishes that relative position and order of transcription-factor binding sites (e.g., SREs) within a promoter, can significantly impact transcriptional activity.
Accordingly, the arrangement of STAT3-STAT5-AP-1 does not necessarily establish that alternative orders or combinations encompassed by claims 1-9 would exhibit comparable inducible transcriptional activity.
Amount of Direction Provided by the Inventor
The Specification provides insufficient direction and guidance to enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to practice the full scope of the claimed invention, as the Specification only discloses a single permutation of the order of transcriptional binding sites (STAT3-STAT5-AP1) rather than the full scope of the claims. The Specification discloses STAT3, STAT5, and AP-1 binding sequences (para 0112-0117) and also a specific arrangement of the 3 binding sites, wherein they arranged from 5′ end to 3′ end one after the other in the following order: STAT3-STAT5-AP-1 (para 0117). The specification also discloses that the specific arrangement of STAT3-STAT5-AP-1 can be repeated from 1-40 or more times (para 0118).
Although the Specification provides specific embodiments to reproduce the general architecture of the inducible promoter, the Specification is silent on the specific functional consequences that arise when altering the order of the binding sites, number of repeats, and general spacing of binding sites encompassed broadly by the claims.
Presence or Absence of Working Examples
The Specification only provides working examples demonstrating the construction and use of a single inducible promoter system comprising the nucleotide of SEQ ID NO:13. .
Specifically, Example 1 describes the construction of a reporter plasmid vector encoding the firefly luciferase gene under the control a universal reporter construct comprising transcription factors STAT3, STAT5, AP-1 and a minimal promoter (para 0160). The Specification also discloses that the binding sites were structured as three repeats of the arrangement of the transcription factor binding sites (para 0161-0162). Subsequent Examples 2-11 employ the same reporter construct and describe its use in a reporter cell line (para 0181-0185), and reactivity to biological stimuli such as IL-10 (par a0172-0174).
However, these examples appear to only be enabling for one specific arrangement of transcription binding sites (STAT3-STAT5-AP-1) of SEQ ID NO:13, and do not provide working examples for the full scope of the claims. The Specification does not provide working examples for more than three repeats of the same reporter construct of SEQ ID NO:13, or alternative arrangements of STAT3, STAT5 and AP-1, or different spacing between each transcription binding site. As such, while the working examples establish the operability of a single reporter construct of SEQ ID NO: 13 wherein the binding sites of the transcription factors STAT3, STAT5 and AP-1 are arranged from 5′ end to 3′ end one after the other in the following order: STAT3-STAT5-AP-1 contiguously, the Specification provides limited working examples from which a skilled artisan could practice the full scope of the claims.
Further, SEQ ID NO: 13 consists of SEQ ID NO: 10, SEQ ID NO:11 and SEQ ID NO: 12 with SEQ ID NOs aligned contiguously in the order: SEQ ID NO: 10 – SEQ ID NO: 11 – SEQ ID NO: 12. Alignment of the three nucleotide sequences that establish SEQ ID NO: 13 is listed below.
Quantity of Experimentation Necessary
A person with ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably expect that other combinations or arrangements of STAT3, STAT5 or AP-1 would result in the same transcription activity as disclosed within the working examples. Although the Specification provides specific evidence for binding sites within the order of STAT3-STAT5-AP-1 of SEQ ID NO: 13 arranged from the 5’ to 3’ order, and that this regulatory element is repeated 3 times, the Specification is silent on the practice of other embodiments or iterations of these three binding sites and whether they have the same transcriptional activity as the single working example.
For instance, the Specification is silent on whether different SEQ ID NOs for STAT3 (e.g. SEQ ID Nos 1-3), STAT5 ((e.g. SEQ ID Nos 4-6) and AP-1 (e.g. SEQ ID Nos 7-9) all are compatible sequences to generate the reporter construct and hold the same characteristics as the singular working example. A skilled artisan would have to determine which sequences are most favorable when generating the reporter construct or which combinations of these 9 sequences can generate the inducible reporter construct displayed in the working examples.
Conclusion
In light of the unpredictability surrounding the claimed subject matter in the art and lack of adequate guidance in the Specification, one wishing to practice the presently claimed invention would be unable to do so without engaging in undue experimentation. It is especially noted that applicants provide no data, examples, figures, etc. demonstrating that other combinations of the three transcription factors (STAT3, STAT5, AP-1) could reasonably result in the generation of an inducible promoter with the same desired transcriptional activity disclosed in the working examples, and if this can be applied to the full scope of the claims.
Furthermore, the disclosure appears to only provide enablement sites of the transcription factors STAT3, STAT5 and AP-1 are arranged from 5′ end to 3′ end one after the other in the following order: STAT3-STAT5-AP-1, which is encompassed by SEQ ID: 13. Moreover, this example does not reasonably provide enablement for the broader scope of not only claim 1, but also claim 6, which requires the selection from the group of nucleotides sequences comprising SEQ ID NOs 10-12. A skilled artisan would require an undue amount of experimentation to determine if only one sequence selected from the group could provide the same individual promoter functionality.
In the absence of such information, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably require an undue quantity of experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
To the extent that the claims encompass an inducible promoter comprising binding sites of transcription factors STAT3, STATS and AP-1 and a minimal promoter arranged in any order or number , the following rejection applies.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappell et al. (Published: 2000. "STAT proteins play a role in tumor necrosis factor alpha gene expression" Shock 14(3):p 400-403), in view of Bednorz et al. (Endocrinology, Volume 152, Issue 5, 1 May 2011, Pages 1935–1947).
Regarding claim 1, Chappell teaches a luciferase reporter vector consisting of, inter alia, the binding sites for STAT3, STAT 5/6, activator protein-1 (AP-1), and tumor necrosis factor alpha (hereinafter, TNFalpha) (pp. 400, Abstract). Furthermore, Chappell teaches that the minimal promoter is the TNFalpha promoter (pp. 400, col 2, para 4).
However, Chappell does not explicitly disclose a minimal promoter.
Bednorz discloses a STAT5 reporter gene construct that comprises STAT5 binding site, and A minimal promoter (Figure 1). Moreover, Bednorz teaches that various genes influenced by the STAT5 binding site, therefore the reporter construct comprises a minimal promoter (CMVmin and TA minimal promoter) and a bare response element so the construct could be more applicable to different cell types (pp. 1944, col 2, para 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the reporter vector comprising the binding sites of STAT3, STAT5/6, AP-1, and TNFalpha promoter taught by Chappell, to further comprise a minimal promoter, as taught by Bednorz, to ensure that the reporter construct could be more applicable to different cell types. There would have been reasonable expectations of success in combining these teachings as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize to combine known elements in the art to give predictable results.
***
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappell et al. (Published: 2000. "STAT proteins play a role in tumor necrosis factor alpha gene expression" Shock 14(3):p 400-403), in view of Bednorz et al. (Endocrinology, Volume 152, Issue 5, 1 May 2011, Pages 1935–1947) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Lerner et al. (Published: 2003. Genes Dev. 2003 Oct 15;17(20):2564-77. Cited in ISR filed March 6 2024).
With regard to claim 1, the combined teachings of Bednorz and Chappell render obvious the claimed product, as iterated above in the 103 rejection the content of which is incorporated in claim 1.
However, Chappel fails to teach that the binding sites of transcription factor STAT3 is a nucleotide sequence selected from a group of nucleotide sequences consisting of SEQ ID NO: 3
Lerner teaches an α2-macroglobulin promoter, wherein the promoter comprises a STAT3 binding site with 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 3 (Figure 3 attached. Alignment attached below)
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the luciferase reporter vector consisting of, inter alia, the binding sites for STAT3, STAT 5/6, activator protein-1 (AP-1), and tumor necrosis factor alpha (hereinafter, TNFalpha), with a STAT3 binding site consisting of SEQ ID NO: 3 taught by Lerner, as Lerner discloses that the sequence is known as a STAT3 binding site, thereby predictably providing a binding site to said transcription factor. There would have been reasonable expectations of success in combining these teachings as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize to combine known elements in the art to give predictable results.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/KATRIEL BARCELLANO KASAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634