Status of Claims
2. This communication is responsive to the amendment filed on July 27, 2026. Claims 2-7, 10, 12-13 were previously cancelled. Claims 11 and 14 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1, 8-9, 11 and 14-19 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
3. The IDS submitted on 07/02/26 has been entered and considered by the Examiner.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
4. In response to Applicant’s arguments, with regard to independent claims and their dependent claims filed on 07/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that although Duan discloses in paragraph 94 1T6R, 2T8R and 4T8R, Duan does not explicitly disclose the other antenna switching configuration combinations as recited in the independent claims (e.g.,2T8R/4T8R/1T8R/2T8R/1T6R/4T8R…). Examiner respectfully disagrees, because first in paragraph 94 Duan provides some examples of reporting antenna switching capabilities. Second Duan discloses in paragraph 103: in some implementations, the number of RX antenna ports included in the report is greater than 4 and in some other implementations, the number of TX chains included in the report is greater than 4. Duan further discloses in paragraph 104: when located at the cell center, the UE supports wideband DL transmissions (such as on 4 or more RX antennas) and reports greater antenna switching capabilities and when located at the cell edge, the UE supports only narrowband DL transmissions (such as on 1 or 2 RX antennas) and reports more limited antenna switching capabilities. In other words, the discloser of Duan (not limited to 1T6R, 2T8R and 4T8R antenna switching capabilities) reports many antenna switching capabilities by utilizing Tables 1-2. Third note that a coordinator is missing in some of the items (e.g., item C) of claim 1 under classified as 6: 1T6R [and/or?] 2T6R and item C) of claim 1 under classified as 8: 1T8R, 2T8R [and/or?] 4T8R).
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive as the cited references disclose all the limitations as claimed in the independent claims and their dependent claims, thus the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the Applicant regards as the invention.
Since in claim 14 between the limitations “wherein each of the transmitting channel…” (page 10, line 12) and “wherein in the case that the number of antennas…” (page 10, line 13) a coordinator (e.g., and, or) is missing, it is not clear whether the limitations (“wherein…” clauses) in claim 14 is referring to all limitations or just one of them; similar issue in line 14 of page 12. Hence, renders claim 14 indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
I. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
II. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
III. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
IV. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
8. Claims 1, 8-9, 11 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 2021/0112498 A1 –Cited Earlier) and in view of Shi (US 2022/0369214 A1 –Cited Earlier).
Regarding claims 14-19, 8-9, 11 & 1, Duan teaches a terminal (Figure 12: 1200, Paragraph 137: the wireless communication device 1200 is any of the base stations 102 or 310 described with reference to Figures 1 and 3, respectively & Figure 13: 1300, Paragraph 140: the wireless communication device 1300 is any of the UEs 104 or 350 described with reference to Figures 1 and 3, respectively), comprising: a processor (Figure 3: “Processor” & Paragraph/s 138/141: non-transitory instructions/code); and a memory storing computer programs executable by the processor (Figure 3: “Memory”); wherein the processor is configured to (Figure 3: “Processor”): determine an antenna switching configuration combination supported by capability of the terminal according to a target classification principle (Figure 10A: 1002 “determining an antenna switching capability of a user equipment (UE), the antenna switching capability representing a number of receive (RX) antenna ports of the UE” & Paragraph 94: 1T6R/2T8R), wherein the target classification principle comprises a classification principle of a number of antennas or a classification principle of a number of antenna ports (Paragraph 121: a number of RX antenna port… 1, 2 or 4), and wherein the processor is further configured to determine that the capability of the terminal supports the antenna switching configuration combination at least comprising 6 or 8 receiving antennas according to the target classification principle (Paragraph 121: the number of RX antenna ports of the UE is equal to 6 or 8), wherein in a case that the number of antennas is classified as 6, the antenna switching configuration combination only supported by the capability of the terminal at least comprises one or more of the following A)-B) items: [Claim 1: A) two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 2T6R); B) four transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 4T6R);] A) one transmitting channel and six receiving channel (Table 1: 1T6R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 2T6R); and B) one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 1: 1T6R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 2T6R), four transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 4T6R), wherein each of the transmitting channels and the receiving channels in the A)-B) items corresponds to an antenna or an antenna port (Paragraph 121: the number of RX antenna ports of the UE is equal to 6 or 8), wherein the number of antennas is classified as 6 (Paragraph 121: the number of RX antenna ports of the UE is equal to 6 or 8), and the antenna switching configuration combination supported by the capability of the terminal at least comprises one or more of the following A)-E) items: A) one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), one transmitting channel and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T4R), one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 1: 1T6R); B) one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), two transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 2T4R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 2T6R); C), one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), one transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T4R), one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 1: 1T6R), two transmitting channel and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 2T4R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 2T6R); D) four transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 4T6R); E) one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), one transmitting channel and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T4R), one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 1: 1T6R), two transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 2T4R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 2T6R), four transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 1: 4T6R); or in a case that the number of antennas is classified as 8, the antenna switching configuration combination only supported by the capability of the terminal at least comprises one or more of the following A)-E) items: [Claim 1: A) one transmitting channel and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 1T8R)]; A) one transmitting channel and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 1T8R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R); B) one transmitting channel and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 1T8R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R), four transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 4T8R); C) one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 2: 1T6R), one transmitting channel and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 1T8R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R), four transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 4T8R); D) one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 2: 1T6R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 2: 2T6R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R), four transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 4T8R); and E) one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 2: 1T6R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 2: 2T6R), one transmitting channel and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 1T8R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R), four transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 4T8R), wherein the number of antennas is classified as 8 (Paragraph 121: the number of RX antenna ports of the UE is equal to 6 or 8), and the antenna switching configuration combination supported by the capability of the terminal at least comprises one or more of the following A)-E) items: A) one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), one transmitting channel and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T4R), one transmitting channel and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 1T8R); B) one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), two transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 2T4R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R); C) one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), two transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 2T4R), one transmitting channel and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T4R), one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 2: 1T6R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 2: 2T6R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R); D) four transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 4T8R); E) one transmitting channel and two receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T2R), one transmitting channel and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 1T4R), one transmitting channel and six receiving channels (Table 2: 1T6R), one transmitting channel and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 1T8R), two transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 75: 2T4R), two transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 2: 2T6R), two transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 2T8R), four transmitting channels and six receiving channels (Table 2: 4T6R), four transmitting channels and eight receiving channels (Table 2: 4T8R). Although Duan in Figure 10A Step 1006 teaches receiving from the UE sounding reference signal (SRS) that includes 1, 2, 4 or more ports, Duan does not explicitly disclose send terminal capability reporting information to a network device, the terminal capability reporting information being configured to represent the antenna switching configuration combination supported by the capability of the terminal; one transmitting channel and one receiving channel, two transmitting channels and two receiving channels, four transmitting channels and four receiving channels; and one transmitting channel and one receiving channel, two transmitting channels and two receiving channels, four transmitting channels and four receiving channels. In a related field of endeavor, Shi discloses send terminal capability reporting information to a network device, the terminal capability reporting information being configured to represent the antenna switching configuration combination supported by the capability of the terminal (Figure 1: 110/120, Figure 2: S210 “A first terminal device sends a first UE capability, where the first UE capability indicates at least one antenna switching capability supported by the first terminal device; at least part of the at least one antenna switching capability supports that the first terminal device has more than 4 receiving antennas”, Paragraph 69: an antenna switching capability determined according to a predetermined rule & Paragraph 187: 1T6R/2T8R). Shi further discloses one transmitting channel and one receiving channel (Paragraph 121: 1T1R), two transmitting channels and two receiving channels (Paragraph 150: 2T2R), four transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 193: 4T4R). Shi also discloses one transmitting channel and one receiving channel (Paragraph 121: 1T1R), two transmitting channels and two receiving channels (Paragraph 150: 2T2R), four transmitting channels and four receiving channels (Paragraph 193: 4T4R). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duan’s determined TX/RX antenna to include 1T1R, 2T2R and 4T4R as in Shi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to improve receiving capability, Paragraph 4.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, SAM K. AHN can be reached on (571) 272-3044. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SHAWKAT M ALI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633