DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakao et al. (hereinafter Nakao, JP 2015-043682 A).
For claim 1, Nakao discloses a rotating machine control device (Figs. 1 and 3 of Nakao disclose a rotating machine control device 1—see Nakao, Figs. 1 and 3, paragraph [0001]) comprising:
an inverter that applies a voltage to a rotating machine (Fig. 3 of Nakao discloses an inverter 40 that applies a voltage to a rotating machine PM – see Nakao, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0046] and [0057]);
a current detector that detects a rotating machine current which is a current that flows through the rotating machine, and that is provided in the inverter (Fig. 3 of Nakao discloses a current detector 45 that detects a rotating machine current which is a current that flows through the rotating machine PM, and that is provided in the inverter40 – see Nakao, Fig. 3, paragraph [0061]), and
a controller that outputs a voltage command value which is a command value of the voltage to the inverter, based on a control command of the rotating machine (Figs. 3-4 of Nakao disclose a controller 52 (5) that outputs a voltage command value (Vd, Vq/Vu, Vv, Vw) which is a command value of the voltage to the inverter 40, based on a control command TR of the rotating machine MP – see Naka, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [0066], [0075]-[0076] and [0077], lines 1-3), wherein
the controller (52(5)) has:
a torque current command value generator that calculates a torque current command value based on the control command (Fig. 4 of Nakao discloses a torque current command value generator 64 that calculates a torque current command value Iq based on the control command TR—see Nakao, Fig. 4, paragraph [0070]);
a weakened field current command value generator for calculating a weakened field current command value (Fig. 4 of Nakao disclose a weakened field current command value generator 66, 67 for calculating a weakened field current command value id – see Nakao, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0072]-[0073]), and
a voltage command value calculator that calculates the voltage command value based on the torque current command value and the weakened field current command value (Figs. 3-4 of Nakao disclose a voltage command value calculator 65 that calculates the voltage command value (Vd, Vq/Vu, Vv, Vw) based on the torque current command value Iq and the weakened field current command value Id – see Nakao, Fig. 4, paragraph [0071]), and
the weakened field current command value generator outputs a first weakened field current command value as the weakened field current command value, where the first weakened field current command value restricts a modulation rate of the inverter to a first threshold value such that the current detector is capable of detecting at least two phases of the rotating machine current (Figs. 3-4 of Nakao disclose the weakened field current command value generator outputs a first weakened field current command value as the weakened field current command value, where the first weakened field current command value ΔId restricts a modulation rate Mf of the inverter 40 to a first threshold value “the reference modulation factor” such that the current detector 45 is capable of detecting at least two phases of the rotating machine current – see Nakao, Figs. 3-4, paragraphs [0071]-[0075], [0094], [0098]-[0099] and [0108]).
For claim 2, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 1, wherein the inverter (Fig. 3, inverter 40) comprises:
a switching element located in an upper arm and a switching element located in a lower arm (Fig. 3 of Nakao discloses a switching element (42a/42b/42c) located in an upper arm and a switching element (42d/42e/42f) located in a lower arm – see Nakao, Fig. 3, paragraph [0059]), and
the current detector is provided in series with the switching element located in the upper arm and/or the switching element located in the lower arm, or provided in series with a DC bus voltage (Fig. 3 of Nakao discloses the current detector 45 which is provided in series with the switching element (42a/42b/42c) located in the upper arm and/or the switching element located in the lower arm, or the switching element (42d/42e/42f) located in the lower arm—see Nakao, Fig. 3, paragraph [0061]).
For claim 3, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 2, wherein
the current detector detects three phases of the rotating machine current, and is provided in series with the switching element located in the lower arm of each phase of the inverter (Fig. 3 of Nakao discloses the current detector 45 which detects three phases of the rotating machine current, and is provided in series with the switching element (42d/42e/42f) located in the lower arm of each phase of the inverter 40 – see Nakao, Fig. 3, paragraph [0061], and
the first threshold value is set to the modulation rate of the inverter, such that the current detector is capable of detecting three phases of the rotating machine current (Fig. 3-4 , 10 and 12 of Nakao disclose the first threshold value “the reference modulation factor” is set to the modulation rate Mf of the inverter 40, such that the current detector 45 is capable of detecting three phases of the rotating machine current – see Nakao, Figs. 3-4, 10 and 12; paragraphs [0071]-[0075], [0094], [0098]-[0099] and [0108]).
For claim 4, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 1, wherein
the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4, the weakened field current command value generator 66,67) calculates the first weakened field current command value based on a rotational speed of the rotating machine and the DC bus voltage of the inverter (see Nakao, Fig. 12, paragraph [0108]-[0109]).
For claim 5, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 1, wherein
the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4, the weakened field current command value generator 66,67) calculates the first weakened field current command value based on a modulation rate obtained from the voltage command value corresponding to the rotating machine current (see Nakao, Fig. 4, paragraph [0072]).
For claim 8, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 1, wherein
the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4 of Nakao, the weakened field current command value generator 66, 67) restricts the first weakened field current command value when a rotational speed of the rotating machine is less than a threshold value (see Nakao, Figs. 4 and 12, paragraphs [0068], [0071]-[0073] and [0108]. It is noted that when driving the motor PM can be perform at a constant torque (see Nakao, paragraph [0064], lines 6-7, speed at the first region A1 is less than a threshold value as shown in Fig. 12).
For claim 9, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 1, wherein
the controller outputs a second weakened field current command value that restricts the modulation rate of the inverter to a second threshold value that is restricted to a sinusoidal PWM wave modulation range, when the first weakened field current command value reaches a restricted value (see Nakao, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0078] and [0099]).
For claim 11, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 9, wherein
the weakened field current command value generator calculates the second weakened field current command value based on a rotational speed of the rotating machine and a DC bus voltage of the inverter (see Nakao, Fig. 12, paragraph [0108]-[0109]).
For claim 12, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according claim 9, wherein
the weakened field current command value generator calculates the second weakened field current command value based on a modulation rate obtained from the voltage command value corresponding to the rotating machine current (see Nakao, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0072] and [0099]).
For claim 15, Nakao discloses the rotating machine control device according to claim 9, wherein
the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4 of Nakao, the weakened field current command value generator 66, 67) restricts the second weakened field current command value when a rotational speed of the rotating machine is less than a threshold value (see Nakao, Figs. 4 and 12, paragraphs [0068], [0071]-[0073], [0099] and [0108]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao et al. (hereinafter Nakao, JP 2015-043682 A) in view of Nakamura et al. (hereinafter Nakamura, us 2020/0353973 A1).
For claim 6, Nakao discloses all limitation as applied to claim 1 above. Nakao discloses the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4 of Nakao, the weakened field current command value generator 66,67) which is silent for restricting the first weakened field current command value when overheat protection control is applied to at least one location in the rotating machine control device. However, Nakamura discloses weakened field current command value generator which restricts the first weakened field current command value when overheat protection control is applied to at least one location in the rotating machine control device (Figs. 5-6 and 8-9 of Nakamura disclose weakened field current command value generator 521 which restricts the first weakened field current command value Id_w1* when overheat protection control is applied to at least one location in the rotating machine control device – see Nakamura, Figs. 5-6 and 8-9, paragraphs [0054]-[0058] and [0067). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nakao to incorporate teaching of Nakamura for purpose of reducing damages components of motor control system due to overheat.
For claim 7, Nakao discloses all limitation as applied to claim 1 above. Nakao discloses the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4 of Nakao, the weakened field current command value generator 66,67) which is silent for restricting the first weakened field current command value when a failure is detected in at least one location of the rotating machine control device. However, Nakamura discloses weakened field current command value generator which restricts the first weakened field current command value when a failure is detected in at least one location of the rotating machine control device (Figs. 5-6 and 8-9 of Nakamura disclose weakened field current command value generator 521 which restricts which restricts the first weakened field current command value when a failure is detected in at least one location of the rotating machine control device – see Nakamura, Figs. 5-6 and 8-9, paragraphs [0072]-[0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nakao to incorporate teaching of Nakamura for purpose of increasing reliability of motor control system.
For claim 13, Nakao discloses all limitation as applied to claim 9 above. Nakao discloses the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4 of Nakao, the weakened field current command value generator 66,67) which is silent for restricting the second weakened field current command value when overheat protection control is applied to at least one location in the rotating machine control device. However, Nakamura discloses weakened field current command value generator which restricts the first weakened field current command value when overheat protection control is applied to at least one location in the rotating machine control device (Figs. 5-6 and 8-9 of Nakamura disclose weakened field current command value generator 521 which restricts the second weakened field current command value Id_w1* when overheat protection control is applied to at least one location in the rotating machine control device – see Nakamura, Figs. 5-6 and 8-9, paragraphs [0054]-[0058] and [0067]-[0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nakao to incorporate teaching of Nakamura for purpose of reducing damages components of motor control system due to overheat.
For claim 14, Nakao discloses all limitation as applied to claim 9 above. Nakao discloses the weakened field current command value generator (Fig. 4 of Nakao, the weakened field current command value generator 66,67) which is silent for restricting the second weakened field current command value when a failure is detected in at least one location of the rotating machine control device. However, Nakamura discloses weakened field current command value generator which restricts the first weakened field current command value when a failure is detected in at least one location of the rotating machine control device (Figs. 5-6 and 8-9 of Nakamura disclose weakened field current command value generator 521 which restricts which restricts the first weakened field current command value when a failure is detected in at least one location of the rotating machine control device – see Nakamura, Figs. 5-6 and 8-9, paragraphs [0072]-[0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nakao to incorporate teaching of Nakamura for purpose of increasing reliability of motor control system.
For claim 16, Nakao discloses an electric power steering device (see Nakao, Figs. 1 and 3-4, paragraph [0104]). Nakao is silent for disclosing detail of motor control system including motor PM for electric power steering device comprise
a torque detector that detects a steering torque of steering;
a rotating machine that generates a steering assist torque to the steering, and
the rotating machine control device according to claim 1 (same as explanation in claim 1 above) which controls a drive of the rotating machine according to the steering torque detected by the torque detector.
However, Nakamura disclose detail of motor control system including motor PM for electric power steering device (Fig. 1 of Nakamura discloses a steering system 90 including a motor 80 for an electric power steering device 8 -- see Nakamura, Fig. 1, paragraph [0022]-[0023]) comprises:
a torque detector that detects a steering torque of steering (Fig. 1 of Nakamura discloses a torque detector 94 that detects a steering torque of steering 91,92 – see Nakamura – Fig. 1, paragraph [0024]);
a rotating machine that generates a steering assist torque to the steering (Fig. 1 of Nakamura discloses a rotating machine 80 that generates a steering assist torque to the steering 91,92 – see Nakamura, Fig. 1, paragraph [0026]), and
the rotating machine control device according to claim 1 (same as explanation in claim 1 above) which controls a drive of the rotating machine according to the steering torque detected by the torque detector (see Nakamura, Figs. 1 and 4, paragraphs [0024] and [0041]-[0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Nakao to incorporate teaching of Nakamura for purpose of controlling an electric power steering device accurately.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846