CTNF 18/689,779 CTNF 88065 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 1. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 8, 11, 14, 16-17, 23-25 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2024/0032034 to Zheng et al. (hereinafter Zheng) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2024/0048346 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang) As to claims 1, 16, 27 and 29 , Zheng discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor (Zheng; Fig.12:1210); memory coupled with the processor (Zheng; Fig.12:1209 and 1210); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Zheng; [0348]-[0349]) to cause the apparatus to: receive control signaling that indicates a configuration of a plurality of communications schemes for uplink communications by the UE, the plurality of communications schemes comprising a frequency division multiplexing scheme, a time division multiplexing scheme, a spatial division multiplexing scheme, and a single transmission/reception point transmission scheme (Zheng; Fig.5:502; [0144]-[0151] shows and discloses Transmit first scheduling information and/or second scheduling information, where the first scheduling information is used to schedule a terminal in a case that the terminal reports transmission scheme switching capability information, the transmission scheme switching referring to switching between an SFN transmission scheme and other transmission schemes; and the second scheduling information is used to schedule the terminal in a case that the network-side device configures an SFN transmission scheme. The terminal uses a plurality of TRSs as QCL reference sources for joint processing and reception. The transmission scheme switching capability information includes one or more of the following: (1) first information, the first information being used to indicate whether the terminal supports dynamic switching between the SFN transmission scheme and a TRP transmission scheme; (2) second information, the second information being used to indicate whether the terminal supports dynamic switching between the SFN transmission scheme and a first transmission scheme, where the first transmission scheme includes one or more of the following: (a) frequency division multiplexing multi-TRP transmission scheme; (b) time division multiplexing multi-TRP transmission scheme; and (c) space division multiplexing multi-TRP transmission scheme. [0045]-[0046] discloses a plurality of search spaces can be configured in each CORESET, and the terminal monitors in the plurality of PDCCH search spaces. The configuration of a search space includes the aggregation level, periodicity, and offset for PDCCH monitoring (to determine a monitoring occasion) and the like. At a same moment, the terminal may need to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the plurality of CORESETs. The search space is further divided into a common search space (CSS) and a terminal-specific search space (UUSS). The USS is used to transmit control information related to downlink shared channel (DL-SCH), uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), and the like. Uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) is used to transmit uplink data which is known in the technology); receive downlink control information that schedules an uplink data message, wherein a switching arrangement between the plurality of communications schemes is indicated for the uplink data message by one or more of: the control signaling, the downlink control information, or the one or more sounding reference signal resource sets (Zheng; [0045]-[0046] discloses a plurality of search spaces can be configured in each CORESET, and the terminal monitors in the plurality of PDCCH search spaces. The configuration of a search space includes the aggregation level, periodicity, and offset for PDCCH monitoring (to determine a monitoring occasion) and the like. At a same moment, the terminal may need to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the plurality of CORESETs. The search space is further divided into a common search space (CSS) and a terminal-specific search space (UUSS). The USS is used to transmit control information related to downlink shared channel (DL-SCH), uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), and the like. Uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) is used to transmit uplink data which is known in the technology. Fig.5:502; [0144]-[0151] shows and discloses Transmit first scheduling information and/or second scheduling information, where the first scheduling information is used to schedule a terminal in a case that the terminal reports transmission scheme switching capability information, the transmission scheme switching referring to switching between an SFN transmission scheme and other transmission schemes; and the second scheduling information is used to schedule the terminal in a case that the network-side device configures an SFN transmission scheme. Here Zheng is applied for the 2 nd alternative the downlink control information. [0347] discloses the radio frequency unit sends downlink data received from a network-side device to the processor for processing, and in addition, sends uplink data to the network-side device); and transmit the uplink data message in accordance with the switching arrangement (Zheng; [0045]-[0046] discloses a plurality of search spaces can be configured in each CORESET, and the terminal monitors in the plurality of PDCCH search spaces. The configuration of a search space includes the aggregation level, periodicity, and offset for PDCCH monitoring (to determine a monitoring occasion) and the like. At a same moment, the terminal may need to perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the plurality of CORESETs. The search space is further divided into a common search space (CSS) and a terminal-specific search space (UUSS). The USS is used to transmit control information related to downlink shared channel (DL-SCH), uplink shared channel (UL-SCH), and the like. Uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) is used to transmit uplink data which is known in the technology. [0347] discloses the radio frequency unit sends downlink data received from a network-side device to the processor for processing, and in addition, sends uplink data to the network-side device). Zheng discloses of sending uplink data, but fails to discloses receive downlink control information that indicates one or more sounding reference signal resource sets associated with the uplink data message. However, Zhang discloses receive downlink control information that indicates one or more sounding reference signal resource sets associated with the uplink data message (Zhang; [0016]-[0017] discloses The RRC configuration can include a higher layer parameter configured as one of a plurality of specific values to indicate the transmission scheme. A first bit and a second bit of the DCI indication may be indicated as “00” or “01” to indicate the one Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource set is associated with the uplink transmissions. The first bit and the second bit of the DCI indication may be indicated as “10” or “11” to indicate that two SRS resource sets are associated with the uplink transmissions) It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teaching in order to indicate SRS resource sets associated with the uplink transmissions. As to claims 2, 17, 28 and 30, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Zheng-Zhang discloses wherein the instructions to receive the downlink control information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a switching indication field, wherein a value of the switching indication field indicates the switching arrangement between the plurality of communications schemes for the uplink data message (Zheng; Fig.5:502; [0144]-[0151] shows and discloses Transmit first scheduling information and/or second scheduling information, where the first scheduling information is used to schedule a terminal in a case that the terminal reports transmission scheme switching capability information, the transmission scheme switching referring to switching between an SFN transmission scheme and other transmission schemes; and the second scheduling information is used to schedule the terminal in a case that the network-side device configures an SFN transmission scheme). As to claims 8 and 23, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Zheng-Zhang discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine the switching arrangement and a communications scheme of the plurality of communications schemes for transmitting the uplink data message based at least in part on the value of the switching indication field, wherein each value of a plurality of values of the switching indication field indicates a respective switching arrangement of a plurality of switching arrangements and a respective communications scheme of the plurality of communications schemes for transmitting the uplink data message (Zheng; Fig.5:502; [0144]-[0151] shows and discloses Transmit first scheduling information and/or second scheduling information, where the first scheduling information is used to schedule a terminal in a case that the terminal reports transmission scheme switching capability information, the transmission scheme switching referring to switching between an SFN transmission scheme and other transmission schemes; and the second scheduling information is used to schedule the terminal in a case that the network-side device configures an SFN transmission scheme). As to claims 11 and 24, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Zheng-Zhang discloses wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a radio resource control message that indicates two or more sounding reference signal resource sets for the UE, wherein the radio resource control message indicates a communications scheme of the plurality of communications schemes for transmission of the uplink data message, and wherein transmitting the uplink data message is based at least in part on the communications scheme indicated via the radio resource control message (Zhang; [0016]-[0017] discloses The RRC configuration can include a higher layer parameter configured as one of a plurality of specific values to indicate the transmission scheme. A first bit and a second bit of the DCI indication may be indicated as “00” or “01” to indicate the one Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource set is associated with the uplink transmissions. The first bit and the second bit of the DCI indication may be indicated as “10” or “11” to indicate that two SRS resource sets are associated with the uplink transmissions). As to claims 14 and 25, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Zheng-Zhang discloses wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a medium access control-control element that indicates a communications scheme of the plurality of communications schemes for transmission of the uplink data message, wherein transmitting the uplink data message is based at least in part on the communications scheme indicated via the medium access control-control element (Zhang; [0017]; [0113] discloses The MAC CE activation can indicate that more than two SRS resource sets are associated with the uplink transmissions. A first bit and a second bit of the DCI indication may be indicated as “00” or “01” to indicate that one SRS resource set is associated with the uplink transmissions. The first bit and the second bit of the DCI indication may be indicated as “10” or “11” to indicate that two SRS resource sets are associated with the uplink transmission). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15, 18-22 and 26 are objected, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FAISAL CHOUDHURY whose telephone number is (571)270-3001. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8AM-6P.M. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached at 5712723905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/689,779 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/689,779 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/689,779 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/689,779 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/689,779 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/689,779 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/689,779 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478