DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The 12/11/2025 amendment to the Specification is acceptable and has been entered.
Response to Arguments
The 12/09/2025 amendment to claims 21 and 22 adding “non-transitory” have overcome the 35 U.S.C.§ 101 rejection of claims 21-22 in the 09/16/2025 Office Action.
The 12/09/2025 amendment to claims 4-5, 12-13 has overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 4-5, 12-13 in the 09/16/2025 Office Action.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to additionally claim the limitations of claim 6 (now canceled) and the limitations of claim 8 (now canceled). Claim 8 (and 1) were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Go et al. (U.S. 2023/0147639) in the 09/16/2025 Office Action. Claim 6 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (U.S. 2023/0147639) in view of Manolakos et al. (U.S. 2022/0060307). In the same Office Action.
Instant claims 9 and 19 have been amended (12/09/2025) in a corresponding and/or similar matter.
In this Office Action, amended claim 1 (also amended claim 9 and 19) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (U.S. 2023/0147639) in view of Manolakos et al. (U.S. 2022/0060307).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 (page 10 of 13 through page 12 of 13) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Go et al. do not disclose the claimed “switching, by the terminal, to a target antenna or antenna port mode;…wherein the target antenna or antenna port mode is an antenna or antenna port mode supported by the antenna switching capability information, or an antenna switching configuration supported by the antenna switching capability information” specifically argues that Go configures an SRS resource set or configures one or multiple SRS resource sets for antenna switching…As can be seen, Go does not directly configure the target antenna of antenna port mode to which the terminal needs to switch; instead, it configures the SRS resource set. Therefore, Go fails to disclose the additional features.
The Examiner has reviewed the cited reference to Go et al. and respectfully disagrees.
For example, [0163], lines 1-3 of [0167], and the last sentence of [0168] disclosing a terminal transmits SRS(s) on SRS resource(s) by using a different transmission antenna and [0169]”…configured with an antenna SRS resource and/or SRS resource set configured for antenna switching…”. From the above, it is understood that SRS (resource) transmission is performed using a different transmission antenna in other words using antenna switching. [0170] discloses an example where a terminal has a capability of “1T2R” a first SRS resource is associated (and transmitted) from an antenna port that is different than an SRS (antenna) port of a second SRS resource.
[0171] discloses capability 2T4R, [0172] discloses capability 1T4R.
The approximate middle of [0176], [0240], [0255] (cited by Applicant in the Remarks) discloses “perform SRS antenna switching…”
Lines 1-12 of [0261] disclose “For example, it is assumed that a terminal has reported an antenna switching-related capability as “1T6R”, and a base station performs a configuration for an SRS resource set/SRS resource based on the report. In this case, when configuring 6 SRS resources of 1-port having 1 symbol in one SRS resource set (i.e., when 6 SRS resources are configured in one SRS resource set, and each SRS resource is configured to be transmitted in one symbol with one SRS port), 6 SRS symbols and 5 gap symbols may be required for a terminal to complete antenna switching based on the corresponding configuration”. Emphasis added.
[0302]-[0308] are also relevant, describing the base station which receives the capability information, signaling configuration information related to SRS (including antenna switching, [0304], [0306]-[0308].
(Examiner has cited reference to Abdelghaffar et al. (U.S. 2022/0353032) in the relevant prior art section, to help understand concepts relating to terminal antenna switching as related to SRS transmission. For example, Figure 4 illustrates SRS (resource) transmissions for a “2T4R” configuration, a “1T2R” configuration and a “2T2R” configuration, with switching between the configurations)).
Regarding the claimed “wherein the supporting capability for switching between antennas or antenna ports comprises one of: supporting a transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching; supporting a receive antenna or receive antenna port switching; and supporting the transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching and the receive antenna or receive antenna port switching.” It is admitted in the Office Action that Go et al. do not disclose the above limitation and the reference to Manolakos et al. is relied upon.
Applicant points to at least [0062], [0066], [0070] of Manolakos et al. and states “As can be seen, Manolakos provides support for transmitting sounding reference signal (SRS) using "x" antenna ports over a total of "y" antennas, which neither involves supporting capability for switching between antennas or antenna ports, nor involves the receive antenna or receive antenna port switching. Therefore, Go-Manolakos fails to disclose the additional features.”
The Examiner has carefully reviewed the Manolakos et al. reference and respectfully disagrees. The “1T4R” configuration of [0062] means that for purposes of antenna switching, the UE can use up to four antennas with a single antenna port, or is capable of performing an SRS transmission using 1 antenna port over a total of 4 antennas.
The left column of the table in [0070] indicates UE SRS transmission with antenna-switching capability and the right column explains the supported TX (antenna) port switching.
For example, the t1r2 capability supports t1r1 or t1r2 transmission, 1 transmission out of 1 antenna or 1 transmission (at a time) out of 2 antennas (note that 1T2R (t1r2) is shown in Fig. 4, 400-b of Abdelghaffar et al. cited in the relevant prior art).
For example, t1r4 capability supports t1r1 or t1r2 or t1r4 transmissions. Capability t4r4 supports t1r1, t2r2 or t4r4 transmissions. Capability t2r4 supports t1r1, t1r2, t2r2 or t2r4 transmissions (note that 2T4R (t2r4) is shown in Fig. 4, 400-a of Abdelghaffar et al. cited in the relevant prior art).
Certain of the supported entries (left column) of Manolakos et al., support a transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching (for example t2r4 supports the listed configurations including switching between t1r2 and t2r2, switching between a number of transmit antennas).
t1r4 supports the listed configurations including switching between t1r4 and t1r2, receive antenna switching. Another example, t2r4 supports a receive antenna or receive antenna port switching for a switch between the supported t2r2 and t2r4); and supporting the transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching and the receive antenna or receive antenna port switching (t4r4 supports switching between t4r4 and t2r2, Another example, t2r4 supports a switch between t1r2 and t2r4).
For at least the above reasons, amended claims 1, 9 and 19 are rejected again under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (U.S. 2023/0147639) in view of Manolakos et al. (U.S. 2022/0060307).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (U.S. 2023/0147639) in view of Manolakos et al. (U.S. 2022/0060307).
With respect to claim 1, Go et al. disclose:
A capability information reporting method, comprising: reporting, by a terminal, antenna switching capability information to a network device (e.g. refer to Fig. 8, where the terminal capability information S801 includes or is related to an antenna switching capability information, lines 1-3 of [0296] and refer to Embodiment 1 (for example, description starting at [0196], [0200] panel switching and antenna switching disclosed. [0300]-[0301]). Alternatively, refer to Fig. 9, step S901, “terminal capability information related to antenna switching of a terminal” in [0326]. Lines 1-4 of [0008], [0174]-[0176] the xTyR corresponds to antenna switching capability of the UE, at least [0200]-[0202] there is hierarchy of panel switching xTpyRp and indicated antenna switching xTyP (indicated panel and antenna capability), [0249]-[0256], [0273], [0277]. Fig. 8 and S801 are described in [0296]-[0298], [0301]. Fig. 9 and S901 are described in [0324]-[0329]);
and switching, by the terminal to a target antenna or antenna port mode
(refer to Fig. 8, SRS transmission S804 or refer to Fig. 9, Transmit SRS S904, SRS transmission involves switching to a target antenna or antenna port mode (refer to at least the approximate last third of [0168] “…terminal may transmit an SRS on each designated SRS resource by using a different transmission antenna and the above-described guard period may be configured between each resource;”, [0169]-[0173], at least Example S1, S2, S3 involve transmission of SRS using antenna switching, (switching to a target antenna), additionally refer to lines 1-12 of [0261], “1T6R” where 6 SRSs are transmitted with 5 gaps needed between them to implement antenna switching (switching between the 6 antennas to transmit a respective one SRS, [0301]-[0304], [0321], [0330]-[0334], [0349]. Also refer to the approximate middle of [0176] “A base station may configure an SRS resource set and/or resource for antenna switching corresponding to a capability of a UE and indicate a UE to transmit an SRS…”);
wherein the antenna switching capability information indicates a supporting capability of the terminal for switching between antennas or antenna ports (refer to the portions of Go et al., already cited above regarding the claimed “antenna switching capability”);
wherein the target antenna or antenna port mode is an antenna or antenna port mode supported by the antenna switching capability information
(e.g. lines 1-12 of [0261], “1T6R” where 6 SRSs are transmitted with 5 gaps needed between them to implement antenna switching (switching between the 6 antennas to transmit a respective SRS, [0301]-[0304], [0330]-[0334], also refer to Example S1 in [0170] describing SRS transmission with antenna switching for 1T2R, Example S2 of [0171] describing SRS transmission with antenna switching for 2T4R, Example S3 SRS transmission with antenna switching for 1T4R “different antenna port”) or an antenna switching configuration (interpreted to correspond to antenna switching and refer to the portions of Go et al. already cited above) supported by the antenna switching capability information (e.g. capability information of [0169], antenna switching capability per panel or integrated antenna switching capability for panels as described in detail in [0200]-[0202], [0249]-[0251], [0301]).
With respect to claim 6, Go et al. do not expressly disclose, wherein the supporting capability for switching between antennas or antenna ports comprises one of: supporting a transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching; supporting a receive antenna or receive antenna port switching; and supporting the transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching and the receive antenna or receive antenna port switching.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos et al. disclose: a supporting capability for switching between antennas or antenna ports ([0062], [0066], Rel 15 table and [0070] table) comprises one of: supporting a transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching (t2r4 supports switching to t1r2 (from t2r2) or switching to t2r2 from t1r2)); supporting a receive antenna or receive antenna port switching (switch from t1r4 to t1r2 or t1r1 (entry t1r4)); and supporting the transmit antenna or transmit antenna port switching and the receive antenna or receive antenna port switching (switching from t4r4 to t1r1 or t2r2 (entry t4r4)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Go et al. based on the cited teachings of Manolakos et al. and use the table of [0070] to indicate specific antenna (Tx, Rx or Tx and Rx antennas) switching corresponding to the supporting capabilities of: 2T4R (corresponds to t2r4 of Manolakos et al.), 1T4R (t1r4), and 4TR4 (t4ra) of Go et al. ([0169] [0176]) according to a table used by a network to configure a terminal for SRS transmission.
With respect to claim 2, modified Go et al. disclose: wherein reporting, by the terminal, the antenna switching capability information to the network device comprises: reporting, by the terminal, the antenna switching capability information corresponding to at least one panel to the network device (e.g. refer to [0198], [0200] “1Tp2Pp”…may be indicated for each Rx panel.”, [0201] “per-panel), “1T2R is supported for a first panel and “1T4R” is supported for a second panel.” [0249] antenna switching capability for one panel or across multiple panels, lines 1-2 of [0250], [0253] capability (antenna switching capability” report “for one panel (or a single-panel terminal) or “…for multiple panels )or a multi-panel terminal”, [0255] “single-panel terminal”, [0273], [0301] “xTyR” report…for each panel or the number of panels related to the “xTyR” report, [0329]).
With respect to claim 3, modified Go et al. disclose: wherein the terminal comprises n panels ([0249] n= 1 or n is a number corresponding to multiple panels, [0201] discloses 2 Rx panels, [0254], [0273]), and reporting, by the terminal, the antenna switching capability information corresponding to at least one panel to the network device comprises: reporting, by the terminal, n pieces of antenna switching capability information to the network device, wherein the n pieces of antenna switching capability information are in one-to-one correspondence with supporting capabilities for switching between antennas or antenna ports corresponding to the n panels ([0201] refer to the example of indicating antenna switching capability for (Rx) panel 0 and (Rx) panel 1), lines 1-2 of [0250],[0301] “XTyR” report individually performed per panel) and wherein n is a positive integer greater than zero.
With respect to claim 4, modified Go et al. disclose: wherein the terminal comprises n panels (refer to at least [0249]-[0250], [0253] “multiple panels”, [0202], [0277] refer to the disclosed “integrated xTyR for a total of panels”), and reporting, by the terminal, the antenna switching capability information corresponding to at least one panel to the network device comprises: reporting, by the terminal, first antenna switching capability information ([0251] “an integrated “xTyR” of an entire panel”, [0208] “report…integrated capability…”, lines 8-9 of [0277] “…or integrated “xTyR” for a total of panels”) to the network device, wherein the first antenna switching capability information indicates supporting capabilities for switching between antennas or antenna ports corresponding to the n panels together (refer to the disclosed “integrated”), and wherein n is a positive integer greater than one (the disclosed panels of Go et al., is understood to correspond to a number of panels n , n being a positive integer greater than 1).
With respect to claim 5, Go et al., wherein the terminal comprises n panels (refer to at least [0249]-[0250] “multiple panels”, [0253], “multiple panels”, [0202], [0277] refer to the disclosed “integrated xTyR for a total of panels”), and reporting, by the terminal, the antenna switching capability information corresponding to at least one panel to the network device comprises: reporting, by the terminal, second antenna switching capability information to the network device, wherein the second antenna switching capability information indicates supporting capability for switching between antennas or antenna ports corresponding to any one of the n panels ([0277] refer to the disclosed “integrated xTyR” for a total of panels, lines 1-3 of [0200] 2 Rx panels and “1T2R” is indicated for each of the Rx panels), wherein the supporting capability for switching between antennas or antenna ports corresponding to each of the n panels is identical (e.g. refer to lines 1-3 of [0200] identical “1T2R” antenna switching capability reported for each Rx panel), and wherein n is a positive integer greater than 1 (refer to the disclosed “each RX antenna panel”, or the integrated “xTyR” for a total of panels”, panels is interpreted as corresponding to n panels, n being an integer greater than 1).
With respect to claim 7, modified Go et al., disclose: wherein the antenna switching capability information is carried in terminal capability information (refer to at least S801 of Fig. 8, lines 1-4 of [0008], [0297]-[0298]. Alternatively, refer to Fig. 9, step S901, “terminal capability information related to antenna switching of a terminal” and at least [0326]-[0329]).
With respect to claim 21, refer to the rejection of claim 1 above and at least [0010] refer to the disclosed “non-transitory computer-readable medium” storing at least one instruction (corresponds to the claimed at least one piece of program code), executable by at least one processor (controls a device to perform operations as described in at least [0010] and the portions cited in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claims 9-13, 15 are rejected based on the rationale used to reject claims 1-5, 7 above and from the point of view of the base station of Fig. 8 (or Fig. 9) which performs the “receiving” and “sending” steps claimed in claim 9.
Claim 19 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 1 above and refer to the terminal of Fig. 8 and refer to [0011], or first device 100 of Fig. 11, [0379], [0381] in particular the approximate middle part of [0381] “For example, a memory 104 may store a software code including commands for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 102 or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts disclosed in the present disclosure”).
With respect to claim 20, claim 20 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 9 above and refer to at least [0382] device 200, “For example, a memory 204 may store a software code including commands for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 202 or for performing description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts disclosed in the present disclosure”).
With respect to claim 22, claim 22 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 9 above and additionally refer to [0393] for example refer to “…performing a feature described in the present disclosure may be stored in a storage medium or a computer-readable storage medium and a feature described in the present disclosure may be implemented by using a computer program product including such a storage medium. A storage medium may include a high-speed random-access memory such as DRAM, SRAM, DDR RAM or other random-access solid state memory device…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Elshafie et al. (U.S. 2023/0055394) refer to the antenna groupings of Fig. 3, and the methods of Fig. 4, 13-16.
Abdelghaffar et al. (U.S. 2022/0353032) entire document is relevant. Figure 4 illustrating SRS transmission with antenna switching for capabilities of 2T4R, 1T2R, and 2T2R (and switching between capabilities) is replicated below.
Liu et al. (U.S. 2023/0209571) refer to at least section 3. Antenna Port and Antenna Switching [0134]-[0142] and Table 1-4 explaining the meaning of terminal device capability.
Wang et al. (U.S. 2023/0275629) this reference was cited in the previous Office Action.
Refer to Figure 4 explaining the concept of a UE supporting a 2T4R capability. The UE transmits UL with 2 antennas and receives DL with 4 antennas. UE sounding (SRS transmission) is performed in accordance with antenna switching out of the 4 available receive or total) antennas.
Figures 5A-9B disclose different examples of SRS transmissions according to a 4T6R capability.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
SOPHIA VLAHOS
Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/SOPHIA VLAHOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633 2/17/2026