Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant submitted prior art 3GPP R1-21070529 to 3GPP in view of U.S. Publication No US 2023/0131882 to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin)
As to claims 1, 10 and 14, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second UE, a request for inter-UE coordination information based on a first SOURCE ID and a first DESTINATION ID (3GPP; Section 2.3; 2.4); and
transmitting, to the second UE, the inter-UE coordination information based on a second SOURCE ID and a second DESTINATION ID (3GPP; Section 2.3; 2.4),
wherein the transmission of the inter-UE coordination information is triggered by the request or a condition other than the reception of the request (3GPP; Section 2.3; 2.4 discloses UE-B sends request, and the UE-A transmits the inter-UE coordination information upon the received request. In case of resource reselection, UE-A can generate and send the coordination information when the UE-A recognizes that UE-B’s resource(s) are overlapping with another SL transmission or are not suitable for UE-A’s reception. After the inter-UE coordination information is triggered, UE-A would transmit the information in the earliest selected resources of the UE-A, or UE-A would trigger resource (re)selection procedure for transmitting the information. Here 3GPP is applied for the 1st alternative triggered by the request),
3GPP discloses unicast transmission between UE A and UE B, but fails to disclose the request includes information related to at least one of i) a resource selection window, ii) a priority, iii) a number of sub-channels and/or iv) a resource reservation period. However, Lin discloses
wherein, based on the first SOURCE ID and the first DESTINATION ID being related to a unicast (Lin; [0045] discloses for a sidelink (SL) operating scenario where a first UE (Rx-UE) 101 communicates over the SL interface with a second UE (Tx-UE) 102 using broadcast, unicast or groupcast transmission, and at the same time receives SL transmissions coming from a third UE 103, which may or may not be in SL communication range with the second LIE (Tx-UE) 102 but the third UE 103 could be participating in a same gmupcast communication session with the first UE 101 and the second UE 102) :
the request includes information related to at least one of i) a resource selection window, ii) a priority, iii) a number of sub-channels and/or iv) a resource reservation period (Lin; [0041]; Fig.5:512 discloses he sidelink data traffic and transmission related information is provided as a part of UE assistance information (UEAI) and/or SCI to the first UE. In some embodiments, the sidelink data traffic and transmission related information comprises at least one of the followings: a packet priority or layer 1 priority information for a transport block (TB) or a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) to be transmitted. Here Lin is applied for the 2nd alternative priority), and
wherein, based on the inter-UE coordination information being based on the triggering by the condition, the second DESTINATION ID is selected among DESTINATION IDs defined for the transmission of the inter-UE coordination information triggered by the condition (This limitation is dependent on the 2nd alternative of the 3rd limitation (i.e. trigger by a condition). 3rd limitation is rejected based on the 1st alternative (i.e. trigger by a request) and therefore this limitation is not considered here)
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide service based on the priority.
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, 3GPP-Lin discloses wherein, based on the unicast, the first SOURCE ID and the first DESTINATION ID are set to a third SOURCE ID and a third DESTINATION ID (Lin; [0045] discloses for the proposed cooperated resource selection methods, the first UE 101 additionally performs sensing/monitoring of sidelink resource usage (e.g., SL-Tx and resource reservation 106 from the third UE 103) on a SL resource pool (RP) in order to determine and provide one or more candidate/preferred resources 107 to the second UE 102)
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, 3GPP-Lin discloses wherein the third SOURCE ID and the third DESTINATION ID are determined among pre-defined SOURCE IDs and DESTINATION IDs for the transmission of the request (3GPP; Section 2.3; 2.4)
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, 3GPP-Lin discloses wherein the second SOURCE ID is set to the first DESTINATION ID, and the second DESTINATION ID is set to the first SOURCE ID (3GPP; Section 2.3; 2.4).
As to claims 5, the limitation is dependent on the 2nd alternative of the 3rd limitation (i.e. trigger by a condition). 3rd limitation is rejected based on the 1st alternative (i.e. trigger by a request) and therefore this limitation is not considered here
As to claims 7, the limitation is dependent on the 2nd alternative of the 3rd limitation (i.e. trigger by a condition). 3rd limitation is rejected based on the 1st alternative (i.e. trigger by a request) and therefore this limitation is not considered here
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, 3GPP-Lin discloses wherein the DESTINATION IDs defined for the transmission of the inter-UE coordination information triggered by the condition include DESTINATION IDs available for the first UE, wherein the DESTINATION IDs available for the first UE include DESTINATION IDs already used by the first UE in sidelink transmission (3GPP; Section 2.3; 2.4.
Conclusion
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478