Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/19/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 03/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the steps of” should be changed to “steps of”.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a length of material into the cooling system of a rolling mill” should be changed to “a length of the material into the cooling system of the rolling mill”.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “wherein the second flow rate 30” should be changed to “wherein the second flow rate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Presently; claim limitation is: a transportation mechanism in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim limitation “a transportation mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim, Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-8 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the result" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “a second temperature sensor” render the claim indefinite because:
Claim 6 is depended from claim 5, and claim 5 is depended from claim 1; and none of claims 1 and 5 recites “a first temperature sensor”;
So, it is unclear why having “a second temperature sensor” without “a first temperature sensor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrejchenko (SU1357100A1).
Regarding claim 1, Andrejchenko discloses a method of cooling a material in a cooling system (fig.1: (2)) of a rolling mill using a cooling fluid (fig.1, paragraphs 0001-0090), the method comprising the steps of:
conveying, by a transportation mechanism, a length of material into the cooling system of a rolling mill (fig.1: movement of the rolled product toward the colling system (2) “corresponding to the transportation mechanism”);
measuring, by a sensor (fig.1: (4)), a speed of the length of material;
comparing (fig.1: a comparison unit (11)), by a control system, the measured speed to a setpoint speed, wherein the setpoint speed has a corresponding first flow rate (paragraphs 0006-0009 and 0030: flow rate) of the cooling fluid (paragraph 0030);
calculating (fig.1: a correction unit (12)), by the control system, a second flow rate (paragraph 0030: corrected flow rate) of the cooling fluid based on the comparison, wherein the second flow rate is different from the first flow rate (paragraphs 0033, 0054-0056 and 0088); and
applying, to the material in the cooling system, the cooling fluid at the second flow rate (paragraphs 0033, 0054-0056 and 0088).
Regarding claim 2, Andrejchenko discloses wherein the second flow rate comprises an adjustment value, wherein the adjustment value is the result of the comparison between the measured speed and the setpoint speed, and further wherein calculating the second flow rate comprises adding the adjustment value to the first flow rate to give the second flow rate (paragraphs 0006 and 0088; coolant flow rate controller (14)).
Regarding claim 3, Andrejchenko discloses wherein the adjustment value is a value which minimises a difference between a final temperature of the length of material after the length of material has exited the cooling system and a setpoint temperature (paragraphs 0006-0018; 0088 and 0090).
Regarding claim 4, Andrejchenko discloses wherein the method further comprises:
measuring, by a first temperature sensor (fig.1: (1)), an initial temperature of the length of material before the length of material has entered the cooling system;
comparing the measured temperature to a setpoint temperature;
calculating, by the control system, a third flow rate based on the comparison; and
combining the third flow rate with the second flow rate (paragraphs 0030, 0033, 0054-0056 and 0088: the required flow rate, the coolant flow rate controller and corrected flow rate).
Regarding claim 5, Andrejchenko discloses wherein calculating the first flow rate comprises:
receiving, by the control system, a set of initial conditions relating to the material;
modelling, by the control system and using the set of initial conditions, a cooling process of the material; and
calculating, by the control system, the first flow rate based on the modelled cooling process (paragraphs 0006 and 0009-0058, 0064-0077).
Regarding claim 6, Andrejchenko discloses wherein the modelling further comprises:
measuring, by a second temperature sensor, a final temperature of the length of material after the length of material has exited the cooling system;
comparing, by the control system, the measured final temperature to a predicted final temperature;
calculating, by the control system, a difference between the measured final temperature and the predicted final temperature;
modelling an enhanced cooling process of the material using the set of initial conditions and the difference;
calculating, by the control system, a fourth flow rate based on the modelled enhanced cooling process; and
combining the fourth flow rate with the second flow rate (paragraphs 0030, 0033, 0054-0056, 0088 and 0090; the required flow rate, the coolant flow rate controller and corrected flow rate).
Regarding claim 7, Andrejchenko discloses wherein the measuring, by a sensor, a speed of the length of material comprises measuring the speed of the length of material within the cooling system (paragraphs 0008 and 0064 and 0090).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrejchenko (SU1357100A1) in view of Tachibana (US20100218578A1).
Regarding claim 8, Andrejchenko does not disclose wherein the second flow rate comprises a plurality of flow references and the cooling system comprises a plurality of spray headers, and wherein the step of applying the cooling liquid at the second flow rate comprises:
applying, to the material by each of the plurality of spray headers, the cooling fluid according to the corresponding flow reference of said spray header.
Tachibana teaches a method of cooling a material in a cooling system of a rolling mill using a cooling fluid (abstract); he cooling system comprises a plurality of spray headers (fig.1: (5)) (paragraph 0017).
Both of the prior arts of Andrejchenko and Tachibana are related to a method of cooling a material in a cooling system of a rolling mill using a cooling fluid;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Andrejchenko to have a plurality of spray headers as taught by, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having wherein the second flow rate comprises a plurality of flow references and the cooling system comprises a plurality of spray headers, and wherein the step of applying the cooling liquid at the second flow rate comprises: applying, to the material by each of the plurality of spray headers, the cooling fluid according to the corresponding flow reference of said spray header.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725