Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benkreira et al. (US 10,331,874) hereafter Benkreira.
1. Benkreira discloses a method of authorizing a user of a head mountable device (HMD), comprising:
displaying a first plurality of images on a private display of the HMD and a public display of an external computing device coupled to the HMD (figs. 1A-1C and corresponding text; see also col 8, lines 33-51);
detecting an enablement of an authentication mode for the user (col 8, 24-31, signal that indicates the ATM device has been validated);
in response, displaying a second plurality of images on the private display of the HMD, wherein the first plurality of images are displayed in different locations than the second plurality of images (fig 1D and corresponding text);
detecting user gestures indicating a selection of a sequence of images of the second plurality of images (col 8, line 32-col 10, 19); and
authorizing the user based on the selection of the sequence of images of the second plurality of images (col 9, 4-33, PIN matches).
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the second plurality of images comprises a series of numbers or symbols which are randomly placed each time the user is authenticated (figs. 1A-1D and corresponding text).
Claims 10 and 15 are similar in scope to claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale.
11. The XR system of claim 10, wherein the first series of images includes numbers or symbols located in different locations than the second series of images (col 8, line 52-col 9, line 3; see further col 8, line 32-col 10, 19).
12. The XR system of claim 10, wherein the first series of images are randomized each time the user of the HMD is authenticated (col 8, line 52-col 9, line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benkreira as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dow et al. (US 9,697,384) hereafter Dow.
2. Benkreira discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the HMD is tethered to the external computing device, and further comprising: the external computing device generating the first plurality of images to be displayed on the public display of the external computing device and the second plurality of images to be displayed on the private display of the HMD; and the external computing device transferring the second plurality of images to the HMD to be displayed on the private display of the HMD. However, in an analogous art, Dow discloses numeric keypad encryption for augmented reality devices including wherein the HMD is tethered to the external computing device, and further comprising: the external computing device generating the first plurality of images to be displayed on the public display of the external computing device and the second plurality of images to be displayed on the private display of the HMD; and the external computing device transferring the second plurality of images to the HMD to be displayed on the private display of the HMD (fig. 2, 208->212 and corresponding text). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Benkreira with the implementation of Dow in order to prevent attackers or cameras from determining the values of numeric keypad keys that were pressed (col 5, lines 26-34).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benkreira as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iyer et al. (US 2020/0380784) hereafter Iyer.
3. Benkreira discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the HMD comprises an All-In-One (AIO) headset and further comprising:the HMD generating the first plurality of images to be displayed on the public display of the external computing device and the second plurality of images to be displayed on the private display of the HMD; and the HMD transferring the first plurality of images to the external computing device to be displayed on the public display of the external computing device. However, in an analogous art, Iyer discloses a head mounted device may be an all-in-one device with enough compute power to operate untethered from any information handling system (para 33-34; fig 1C, shows local/edge/cloud compute in connection with HMD or discloses HMD as all-in-one). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify and/or substitute the implementation of Benkreira with the known finite number of implementations as disclosed by Iyer with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143.I.E).
Claim(s) 4-8, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benkreira as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Scavezze et al. (US 9,092,600) hereafter Scavezze.
4. Benkreira discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the HMD includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU) to detect the user gestures indicating the selection of the sequence of images of the second plurality of images. However, in an analogous art, Scavezze discloses user authentication on augmented reality display device including wherein the HMD includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU) to detect the user gestures indicating the selection of the sequence of images of the second plurality of images (fig. 2 and corresponding text; col 2, line 59-col 3, line 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Benkreira with the implementation of Scavezze in order to allow for greater options in selecting (col 2, line 59-col 3, line 4).
5. Benkreira and Scavezze disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the IMU includes a three degrees of freedom (3DoF) IMU to measure rotational movements performed by the user(Scavezze, col 10, line 61-col 11, line 7, gyroscope provides 3DoF).
6. Benkreira and Scavezze disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the IMU includes a six degrees of freedom (6DoF) IMU to measure rotational movements and translational movements performed by the user (Scavezze, col 10, line 61-col 11, line 7, gyroscope and accelerometer provide 6DoF).
7. Benkreira discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein detecting the user gesture comprising detecting a head gesture by the user of the HMD. However, in an analogous art, Scavezze discloses user authentication on augmented reality display device including wherein detecting the user gesture comprising detecting a head gesture by the user of the HMD (fig. 2 and corresponding text; col 2, line 59-col 3, line 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Benkreira with the implementation of Scavezze in order to allow for greater options in selecting (col 2, line 59-col 3, line 4).
8. Benkreira discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein detecting the user gesture comprising detecting a hand gesture by the user of the HMD. However, in an analogous art, Scavezze discloses user authentication on augmented reality display device including wherein detecting the user gesture comprising detecting a hand gesture by the user of the HMD (fig. 2 and corresponding text; col 2, line 59-col 3, line 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Benkreira with the implementation of Scavezze in order to allow for greater options in selecting (col 6, line 3-25). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Benkreira with the implementation of Scavezze in order to allow for greater options in selecting (col 2, line 59-col 3, line 4).
Claims 13 and 14 are similar in scope to claims 4-8 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439