DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on July 30, 2026, wherein claims 6 and 9 are cancelled, claim 7 is amended and a new claim 14 is added.
Election/Restriction
Applicant elected, without traverse, Group II and compound species II-1d, wherein n is 4, R1 is H, R2 is CH3, having following structure (See instant spec [0177]), in the reply filed on 04/02/2026.
The elected species, compound II-1d is a compound of Formula II-1, wherein n is 4, R1 is H, R2 is CH3. Claims 11-13 remain withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
The elected species, compound II-1d, (CAS # 2919475-49-1, entered STN on April 06, 2023, see STN search note )
The search/examination was expanded to non-elected species Compound II-1b wherein n=2, R1 is H, R2 is CH3, which was rejected in last office action mailed on June 09, 2026. Other non-elected species remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. The non-elected species Compound II-1b and claim 7 remain rejected in this office action and the action made final.
Status of Claims
Claims 7-8 and 11-14 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 11-13 remain withdrawn.
Claims 7, 8 and 14 are currently under examination.
Priority
This instant application 18/689,852 filed 03/06/2024 is 371 of PCT/US2022/042814, filed September 07, 2022 which claims the priority of U.S. provisional application No. 63/241,543, filed September 08, 2021.
Specification
The amendment to the name of compound II-1d is acknowledged. Instant specification contain compounds having chiral centers/stereochemistry and lengthy names that are similar. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error for the chemical names and other errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Declaration
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 by Dr. Jen-Tse Joseph HUANG, filed on July 30, /2026 is fully considered. HUANG Declaration argues similar structure does not necessarily share similar utilities and “ even if a skilled artisan may be prompted to replace benzene ring in Ferguson compound 12 with pyridine as the Examiner alleged, yet the result is unpredictable as structure similarity does NOT guarantee function similarity”.
Please note instant claims are drawn to compounds wherein the intended use does not necessarily contribute to the structural limitation of the compound.
Regarding the unpredictability of structure-activity relationships, “Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385, 2019 USPQ2d 379681 (Fed. Cir. 2019) ("To be clear, we do not hold today that efficacy data is always required for a reasonable expectation of success. Nor are we requiring ‘absolute predictability of success.’"); Acorda Therapeutics, Inc. v. Roxane Lab., Inc., 903 F.3d 1310, 1333, 128 USPQ2d 1001, 1018 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("This court has long rejected a requirement of ‘[c]onclusive proof of efficacy’ for obviousness." (citing to Hoffmann-La Roche Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 748 F.3d 1326, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2014); PharmaStem Therapeutics, Inc. v. ViaCell, Inc., 491 F.3d 1342, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2007); Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1364, 1367–68 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (reasoning that "the expectation of success need only be reasonable, not absolute"))”. SEE MPEP 2143.02.I.
HUANG Declaration further argues that mHTT aggregate degradation is highly dependent on the precise structure of the Formula II-1 analog. Compounds II-la to II-ld all share the same general PROTAC architecture and differ primarily in the length of the linker, however, only compound II-lb exhibited strong and reproducible degradation activity toward HD-associated mHTT aggregates in the N2a cell studies, whereas compounds II-la and II-lc failed to show comparable activity in reducing mHTT aggregates under the tested conditions. As disclosed by instant Spec ( See Example 2 [0212]) , Compound II-1d reduced the expressed level of pTau by approximately 40% while Compound II-Ib exerted negligible effect on the degradation of pTau protein.
As discussed with the attorney on the record, Chih Huai Chiu, in the interview on September 11, 2023, Compound II-1d ( claim 8) exhibiting strong degrading activity for mHTT aggregate and pTau protein might be allowable. However, instant claim 7 is still drawn to compound of II-1 genus comprising different R1, R2 and combination thereof that are not tested. Since mHTT aggregate degradation is highly dependent on the precise structure of Formula II-1 as HUANG Declaration argues, compound of Formula II-1 genus is not allowable in absence of sufficient activity data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed on July 30, 2026 have been fully considered. Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks. The text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Applicant's arguments regarding 35 USC§103 rejection have been fully considered, but NOT persuasive.
Applicant argues the Degron moiety and the ethylene glyco units are linked by “-O(CO)NH- ” group in Ferguson compound 12, whereas in the present compound II-lb are linked by -NH-.
It’s noted there is error in Applicant’s recitation of linker group. It’s -OCH2(CO)NH- , not -O(CO)NH- group. A skilled artisan would have known amide group -CONH- and methylene amino group
-CH2-NH- are bioisosteres as evidenced by Patani (See page 3170).
The amide group -CONH- in Ferguson compound 12 could have been replaced by -CH2-NH- group which could be modified and attached to the Degron moiety
.
Thus, instant Compound II-1b is considered as obvious over Ferguson.
Applicant further argues that the utility of a compound is unpredictable based on HUANG Declaration.
Instant claims are drawn to compounds wherein the intended use does not necessarily contribute to the structural limitation of the compound. Regarding the unpredictability of structure-activity relationships, “Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385, 2019 USPQ2d 379681 (Fed. Cir. 2019). More importantly, Compound II-Ib exerted negligible effect on the degradation of pTau protein as disclosed by instant Spec, thus, not allowable.
Instant claim 7 is still drawn to compound of II-1 genus comprising different R1, R2 and combination thereof that are not tested. Since mHTT aggregate degradation is highly dependent on the precise structure of Formula II-1 as HUANG Declaration argues, compound of Formula II-1 genus is not allowable in absence of sufficient activity data.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (WO 2021/257650 A1) , in view of Patani et. al. (Chem. Rev., 1996, 96, page 3147–3176, Bioisosterism: A rational approach in drug design) and Amyvid (Florbetapir F18) label (2012).
Ferguson teaches bifunctional compound of formula I, that target at α-synuclein protein degradation for treating neurodegenerative diseases (e.g. Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s disease), wherein the targeting ligand TL represents a group that binds α-synuclein protein, a degron moiety that binds an E3 ubiquitin ligase, and a linker moiety that covalently connects the degron and the targeting ligand (See abstract, [0002]-[0003] , [0087], claims 1-22).
Ferguson teaches a variety of targeting ligand moiety, e.g. TL-1, TL-2, TL-3, TL-4, TL-5, (See [0003], [0036] , for example,
Ferguson teaches degron binds the E3 ubiquitin ligase which is cereblon (CRBN), e. g. D1-a to D1-i, etc. (See [0051]-0052]) wherein Y is NH or O.
Ferguson teaches variety of linker moiety, e. g. polyethylene glycol chain, alkylene chain or a bivalent alkylene chain, etc. at different length (See([0042], [0045], [0047]), for example,
Ferguson teaches embodiments that are similar to the core structure of instant compound of Formula II-1 except the pyridine ring (See [0041], [0049], [0055], page 24)
Ferguson teaches compounds species that are similar to instantly claimed compound, except the pyridine ring (See page 80, claim 17).
Ferguson collectively teaches core structure and compounds species that are similar to instantly claimed compounds.
The main difference of instant compounds and Ferguson compound is pyridine vs benzene ring.
Patani teaches CH2, NH, O are classic bioisosteres based on Grimm’s Hydride Displacement Law and Erlenmeyer’s definition of isosteres (See p. 3148-3149). Patani also teaches benzene, pyridine and thiophene are classical ring equivalent bioisosteres (See page 3158, left column).
Amyvid (Florbetapir F18) ( CAS# 956103-76-7, PubChem CID 24822371), having following structure comprising styrylpyridin-2-yl ethoxy moiety (See 11 Description), is approved by FDA in 2012 as positron emission tomography (PET) imaging ligand that binds to amyloid aggregates associated with Alzheimer disease and cognitive impair.
According to MPEP § 2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to explore more bifunctional α-synuclein protein degrader based on the collective teachings of Ferguson, together with structure similarity and bioisosteric modification as taught by Patani and general knowledge of neurodegenerative disease, and arrive at instantly claimed invention with reasonable expected success. Florbetapir comprises styryl-pyridin-2-yl ethoxy moiety
as ligand that binds to amyloid aggregation. A skilled artisan would be motivated to explore more alternative bifunctional compounds comprising
that are reasonably expected to bind with amyloid aggregates /target at α-synuclein aggregate for treating neurodegenerative disease.
For example, Ferguson compound 12 comprising polyethylene glycol linker moiety (n =2) could have been modified to instant non-elected compound II-1b (n=2), by replacing the benzene ring with pyridine and attaching the linker moiety directly to the degron moiety since Ferguson taught
(Y= NH) .
Instant non-elected compound II-1b ( n=2) could have been further modified to instant elected species, compound II-1d ( n= 4) by exploring longer polyethylene glycol linker as Ferguson teaches different length of linker moiety .
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIYUAN MOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628