DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “time stamp generation units” in claim 2 and “synchronization unit” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160011654).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses:
An image sensor, comprising:
a pixel array comprising a plurality of pixel circuits (event generation elements 120 in an array, par. 66 and Fig. 2), wherein each pixel circuit comprises a photoelectric conversion element (photodiode of each pixel, par. 66), wherein each pixel circuit is configured to output a pixel event signal (output and event signal in response to sensing of a light changing event, par. 66), and wherein each pixel circuit is associated with one of n pixel groups, with n being an integer number> 4 (groups of 1 x 4, 2 x 2, 4 x 1, 16 x 1, 8 x 2, 2 x 8, or 1 x 16, and integer number of groups that is more than 4, par. 75-77 and Figs. 3A-3E); and
readout circuits, wherein each readout circuit is configured to receive the pixel event signals of one of the pixel groups and to output group event/address data, wherein the group event/address data contains a time stamp and identifies pixel circuits outputting an active pixel event signal (grouping unit 111, first arbiter 921, second arbiter 922, and communication unit 940, where grouping unit 111 includes a first generator 411, a second generator 412, through a k-th generator 413, where the first generator 411 may generate a group event signal when an event occurs in the first group 121, and likewise, the second generator 412 may generate a group event signal when an event occurs in the second group 122, and the k-th generator 413 may generate a group event signal when an event occurs in the k-th group 123, par. 78 and Fig. 4A, and where when an event occurs in a group 910, a first group event signal may be generated by a first grouping unit 931, and a second group event signal may be generated by a second grouping unit 932, and the first arbiter 921 may output a first address of the group 910, and a second arbiter 922 may output a second address of the group 910, and a data output unit 933 may output data of the group 910, and communication unit 940 may apply a first address and a second address of a group in which an event occurs to an address bus, and apply data of the group in which an event occurs to a data bus, and communication unit 940 may further output timestamp information when applying the first address, the second address, and data of the group in which an event occurs to the address bus and the data bus, par. 149-151 and Figs. 1, 4A, 4C, and 9).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses:
a serial interface circuit configured to receive the group event/address data from the readout circuits and to generate serial event/address data (communication unit 940 may transmit a first address, a second address, and data of a group in which an event occurs to an external device using serial communication, par. 155).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further discloses:
a multiple bus interface configured to pass the group event/address data to a complementary bus interface (a first address, a second address, and data of a group are transmitted through an address bus and a data bus, par. 155).
Regarding claim 8, Lee further discloses:
pixel circuits of each pixel group are arranged side- by-side in a rectangular part of the pixel array (groups of pixels are side by side in an array, par. 75-76 and Figs. 3A-3E).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses:
pixel circuits of the pixel groups are interleaved with each other (groups of pixels are side by side in an array, par. 75-76 and Figs. 3A-3E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160011654) in view of Kennedy et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210126025).
Regarding claim 14, Lee is silent with regards to each pixel circuit includes an intensity readout circuit. Kennedy discloses:
each pixel circuit includes an intensity readout circuit (photodiodes 14 can be used to perform asynchronous event image capture, determine instantaneous intensity, par. 108).
As can be seen in par. 164 this is advantageous in that combined simultaneous multi sensor image capture can be achieved. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include each pixel circuit includes an intensity readout circuit.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses:
An image sensor, comprising:
a pixel array comprising a plurality of pixel circuits (event generation elements 120 in an array, par. 66 and Fig. 2), wherein each pixel circuit comprises a photoelectric conversion element (photodiode of each pixel, par. 66), wherein each pixel circuit is configured to output a pixel event signal (output and event signal in response to sensing of a light changing event, par. 66), and wherein each pixel circuit is associated with one of n pixel groups, with n being an integer number> 4 (groups of 1 x 4, 2 x 2, 4 x 1, 16 x 1, 8 x 2, 2 x 8, or 1 x 16, and integer number of groups that is more than 4, par. 75-77 and Figs. 3A-3E); and
readout circuits, wherein each readout circuit is configured to receive the pixel event signals of one of the pixel groups and to output group event/address data, wherein the group event/address data contains a time stamp and identifies pixel circuits outputting an active pixel event signal (grouping unit 111, first arbiter 921, second arbiter 922, and communication unit 940, where grouping unit 111 includes a first generator 411, a second generator 412, through a k-th generator 413, where the first generator 411 may generate a group event signal when an event occurs in the first group 121, and likewise, the second generator 412 may generate a group event signal when an event occurs in the second group 122, and the k-th generator 413 may generate a group event signal when an event occurs in the k-th group 123, par. 78 and Fig. 4A, and where when an event occurs in a group 910, a first group event signal may be generated by a first grouping unit 931, and a second group event signal may be generated by a second grouping unit 932, and the first arbiter 921 may output a first address of the group 910, and a second arbiter 922 may output a second address of the group 910, and a data output unit 933 may output data of the group 910, and communication unit 940 may apply a first address and a second address of a group in which an event occurs to an address bus, and apply data of the group in which an event occurs to a data bus, and communication unit 940 may further output timestamp information when applying the first address, the second address, and data of the group in which an event occurs to the address bus and the data bus, par. 149-151 and Figs. 1, 4A, 4C, and 9).
Lee is silent with regards to the image sensor being a time-of-flight module. Kennedy discloses:
an image sensor being a time-of-flight module (array 14 has photodiodes 16 and SPADs 16 that facilitate the capture of 3D image data, including both intensity and distance information, where SPADs 18 facilitate the collection of time of flight information and photon counting, while photodiodes 14 can be used to perform asynchronous event image capture, determine instantaneous intensity (such that camera 10 may, is desired, output instantaneous intensity and hence function essentially as a traditional camera) and determine time-integrated intensity, par. 108).
As can be seen in par. 164 this is advantageous in that combined simultaneous multi sensor image capture can be achieved. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include image sensor being a time-of-flight module.
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160011654).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses in par. 149-151 that communication unit 940, communicating with an external device, may further output timestamp information when applying the first address, the second address, and data of the group in which an event occurs to the address bus and the data bus. Lee is silent with regards to a memory circuit configured to receive data from the readout circuits and to store the data. Official Notice is taken that it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include storing transmitted data from readout circuits of an image sensor in a memory. This is advantageous in that the image sensor data can be viewed later. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a memory circuit configured to receive data from the readout circuits and to store the data.
Regarding claim 10, Lee further discloses:
color filter elements configured to filter light impinging on the photoelectric conversion elements, and each of the pixel groups is associated with one of the color filter type (event-based vision sensor may sense a color of a light changing event, par. 66).
Lee is silent with regards to first, second, third, and fourth color filter elements, wherein at least one of the second, third, and fourth color filter elements has a different color filter type than the first color filter elements. Official Notice is taken that it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include first, second, third, and fourth color filter elements, wherein at least one of the second, third, and fourth color filter elements has a different color filter type than the first color filter elements. This is advantageous in that color filter patterns, such as Bayer RGB (red, blue, green) can be utilized to interpolate full color images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include first, second, third, and fourth color filter elements, wherein at least one of the second, third, and fourth color filter elements has a different color filter type than the first color filter elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests time stamp generation units, wherein each time stamp generation unit is configured to generate a time stamp and to pass the time stamp to one of the readout circuits, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and parent claim.
Claims 3 and 4 depend on claim 2 and therefore are objected to.
Regarding claim 11, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests connection lines electrically connecting the pixel circuits and the readout circuits, wherein the connection lines of pixel circuits associated with different pixel groups are formed in different wiring planes, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and parent claims.
Regarding 12, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests pixel event signals include a row request signal, wherein each readout circuit comprises a row control circuit, and wherein the row control circuit is configured to receive the row request signals of one pixel group and to pass row addresses of pixel group rows with active row request signals to a row address bus, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and parent claim.
Regarding claim 13, no prior art could be located that teaches or fairly suggests pixel event signals include a high event signal and a low event signal, wherein each readout circuit comprises a column control circuit, and wherein each column control circuit is configured to receive the high event signals and the low event signals of one pixel group and to pass column addresses of pixel group columns with active high event signal or active low event signal to a column address bus, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim and parent claim.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS G GILES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639