DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second layer being disposed on the cap top so as to cover only the cap top, or disposed on the cap top and a portion of the cap body close to a periphery of the cap top so as to cover the cap top and only the portion of the cap body close to the cap top without extending over the remainder of the cap body must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayes (US-5839592-A) in view of Hanafusa et al. (US-20160052678-A1).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 11-14, Hayes discloses a bottle cap (Fig. 5), comprising a cap (60) with a layered structure, wherein the cap comprises a first layer (62), a second layer (61) and a third layer (63), the first layer is an outer layer, the third layer is an inner layer, the second layer is an intermediate layer located between the first layer and the third layer (Fig. 5), and the second layer comprises at least one low oxygen-permeable barrier layer (col. 6, lines 37-38), wherein an oxygen transmission rate of the second layer is configured to be 0.0001-0.001cc/pkg*day and the barrier layer is manufactured as a EVOH copolymer film (col. 4, lines 31-40), wherein the cap comprises a cap top and a cap body, the cap top comprises the first layer, the second layer and the third layer, and the cap body comprises the first layer, and wherein the cap comprises a cap top and a cap body, and each of the cap top and the cap body comprises the first layer, the second layer and the third layer (Fig. 5), wherein the cap comprises a cap top and a cap body, and the second layer is disposed on the cap top and a periphery of a side of the cap body close to the cap top (Fig. 6), so that the second layer is adapted to cover a bottle mouth (68) to be covered, and a packaging bottle comprising a bottle body (68) and the bottle cap (60).
Hayes fails to teach the second layer is disposed on the cap top so as to cover only the cap top, or disposed on the cap top and a portion of the cap body close to a periphery of the cap top so as to cover the cap top and only the portion of the cap body close to the cap top without extending over the remainder of the cap body.
Hanafusa teaches that it is was known in the art to manufacture a bottle cap (1) with a cap top (2) and cap body (3) wherein a second layer (5) is disposed on the cap top so as to cover only the cap top, or disposed on the cap top and a portion of the cap body close to a periphery of the cap top so as to cover the cap top and only the portion of the cap body close to the cap top without extending over the remainder of the cap body (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the second layer with a different size, as taught by Hanafusa, in order to reduce the amount of material needed and since such a modification would have been a change in size of an existing component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Hayes discloses all the claimed limitations as shown above, and wherein portions of the bottle cap can have the claimed thickness (col. 8, lines 16-26), but fails to specifically teach the claimed thickness of the barrier layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the barrier layer with the claimed thickness, in order to adjust the barrier properties and in order adjust costs of the barrier layer. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 5, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes and Hanafusa in view of Gibbons et al. (US-4981739-A).
Hayes teaches that LDPE can be used for a layer (col. 4, lines 28-30) but fails to teach wherein the first layer and third layer are the same material.
Gibbons teaches that outer and inner layers can be manufactured from the same materials (col. 1, lines 47-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the layers to be the same material in order to adjust costs, use less materials, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes and Hanafusa in view of Nomula (US-20050127082-A1).
Hayes teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above, but fails to teach wherein the first layer is made of polyolefin.
Nomula teaches that that it is known in the art to manufacture a layer with polyolefin (par. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the first layer with polyolefin in order to adjust costs, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733