DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1a. Claims 15-17 are objected to as dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1a. 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows:
1b. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention contains non-statutory transitory subject matter in the respective claims.
Regarding Claim 20, the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed limitation “computer readable storage medium” in the claim, may include subject matter with transitory properties, such as online storage in cloud.
Applicant may amend the limitation in the claim to “non-transitory computer readable storage medium” to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2a. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak (US 20190215086 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Kwak discloses a method for CSI reporting in communication system.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Kwak discloses:
A method for feeding back channel state information (Fig 26), comprising:
performing sampling (Fig 26, Step 2640; see: [0130] … LTE also provides a codebook subsampling function for periodic CSI reporting) on initial channel information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2; Examiner’s Note: RI, wCQI, OMI1, … are initial channel information before sampling) to obtain check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information);
and feeding back the check information (Fig 26, Steps 2650, TRANSMIT FEEDBACK INFORMATION …).
Regarding Claim 2, Kwak discloses:
acquiring first type codebook information (Table 29, Codebook Types; see: [0169] … Type I CSI reporting can report the channel state to an eNB through RI, PMI, CQI, and CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) based on codebook as in LTE; Examiner’s Note: channel state information is encoded with a specific type of codebook, and functions as first type codebook information) according to the initial channel information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2, before sampling);
and feeding back the first type codebook information (Fig 26, Steps 2650, TRANSMIT FEEDBACK INFORMATION …).
Regarding Claim 3, Kwak discloses:
wherein, performing joint encoding (Table 10, Joint Codebook; see: [0131] … when the number of CSI-RS ports set by the eNB is 8, an RI and a PMI1 reported in a submode 1 of a PUCCH mode 1-1 can be jointly encoded as shown in Table 10 below) on the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the encoded sampled feedback objects may function as check information) and the first type codebook information (Table 29, Codebook Types; see: [0169] … Type I CSI reporting can report the channel state to an eNB through RI, PMI, CQI, and CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) based on codebook as in LTE; Examiner’s Note: channel state information is encoded with a specific type of codebook, and functions as first type codebook information) in a same coding block to obtain joint encoded information; and (Table 10, Joint Codebook; see: [0131] … when the number of CSI-RS ports set by the eNB is 8, an RI and a PMI1 reported in a submode 1 of a PUCCH mode 1-1 can be jointly encoded as shown in Table 10 below);
feeding back the joint encoded information (Fig 26, Steps 2650, TRANSMIT FEEDBACK INFORMATION …).
Regarding Claim 4, Kwak discloses:
wherein a feedback priority (Table 29, Codebook Types; see: [0237] Priority determination method 4: priority of CSI reporting and/or beam management information is determined according to the codebook type) of the check information is not higher than a feedback priority of the first type codebook information (see: [0268] In this manner, the Type II CSI reporting requires higher UE complexity than the Type I CSI reporting, and thus, contains more information. Therefore, by allowing the UE to prioritize the Type II CSI reporting, the eNB may acquire a larger amount of information. Examiner’s Note: first type codebook contains more information than check information, and has higher priority).
Regarding Claim 5, Kwak discloses:
wherein the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information) is fed back according to a first period (Fig 3, wCQI/PMI may functions as a first period), and the first type codebook information (Table 29, Codebook Types; see: [0169] … Type I CSI reporting can report the channel state to an eNB through RI, PMI, CQI, and CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) based on codebook as in LTE; Examiner’s Note: channel state information is encoded with a specific type of codebook, and functions as first type codebook information) is fed back according to a second period (Fig 3, sCQI may functions as a second period), the second period being less than the first period (see:
Examiner’s Note: the feedback timing is determined by subframe resource, less information occupies less resources and timing period).
Regarding Claim 6, Kwak discloses:
wherein the performing sampling (Fig 26, Step 2640; see: [0130] … LTE also provides a codebook subsampling function for periodic CSI reporting) on initial channel information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2; Examiner’s Note: RI, wCQI, OMI1, … are initial channel information before sampling) comprises at least one of:
performing sampling on the initial channel information at a port;
performing sampling (Table 12: see: [0134] As another example, when the number of CSI-RS ports set by the eNB is 8, a PMI2 reported in a PUCCH mode 2-1 can be subsampled as shown in Table 12 below) on the initial channel information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2; Examiner’s Note: RI, wCQI, OMI1, … are initial channel information before sampling) at a data stream (Examiner’s Note: CQI, PMI, … etc. are based on data stream, as known in the art);
performing sampling on the initial channel information at a subcarrier;
performing sampling on the initial channel information at a physical resource block;
performing sampling on the initial channel information at a time-domain sample point;
or performing sampling on the initial channel information at a beam.
Regarding Claim 7, Kwak discloses:
wherein the performing sampling (Fig 26, Step 2640; see: [0130] … LTE also provides a codebook subsampling function for periodic CSI reporting) on initial channel information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2; Examiner’s Note: RI, wCQI, OMI1, … are initial channel information before sampling) to obtain check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information) comprises:
performing sampling (Fig 26, Step 2640; see: [0130] … LTE also provides a codebook subsampling function for periodic CSI reporting) on the initial channel information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2; Examiner’s Note: RI, wCQI, OMI1, … are initial channel information before sampling) to obtain sampled information (see: [0130] … Because an amount of information that can be transmitted at one time through the PUCCH is limited, various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling);
and obtaining the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information based on sampling method) according to the sampled information (see: [0130] In addition, LTE also provides a codebook subsampling function for periodic CSI reporting; Examiner’s Note: sampling is based on provided sampling function).
Regarding Claim 8, Kwak discloses:
wherein the obtaining the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information based on sampling method) according to the sampled information (see: [0130] In addition, LTE also provides a codebook subsampling function for periodic CSI reporting; Examiner’s Note: sampling is based on provided sampling function) comprises at least one of:
the check information corresponding to the sampled information of the initial channel information on at least one port;
the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information based on sampling method) corresponding to the sampled information of the initial channel information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2; Examiner’s Note: RI, wCQI, OMI1, … are initial channel information before sampling) on at least one data stream (Examiner’s Note: CQI, PMI, … etc. are based on data stream, as known in the art);
the check information corresponding to the sampled information of the initial channel information on at least one subcarrier;
the check information corresponding to the sampled information on of the initial channel information at least one physical resource block;
the check information corresponding to the sampled information of the initial channel information on at least one time-domain sample point;
or the check information corresponding to the sampled information of the initial channel information on at least one beam.
Regarding Claim 9, Kwak discloses:
obtaining location information (see: [0083] Referring again to Table 1, QCL-CRS-info sets quasi co-location information for CoMP. CSI-IM config is used to set frequency and time position of CSI-IM for measuring interference. Examiner’s Note: CSI config include location or co-location information for coordinated multi-points (CoMP) interference) corresponding to the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information);
and feeding back the location information (Fig 26, Steps 2650, TRANSMIT FEEDBACK INFORMATION …).
Regarding Claim 10, Kwak discloses:
wherein the location information (see: [0083] Referring again to Table 1, QCL-CRS-info sets quasi co-location information for CoMP. CSI-IM config is used to set frequency and time position of CSI-IM for measuring interference. Examiner’s Note: CSI config include location or co-location information for coordinated multi-points (CoMP) interference) comprises at least one of:
a port index (see: [0080] … The number of ports of a corresponding CSI-RS is set through setting the number of antennas; Examiner’s Note: a plurality of ports and antennas implies port number or port index) of the sampled information at the initial channel information (see: [0130] … Because an amount of information that can be transmitted at one time through the PUCCH is limited, various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information);
a data stream index of the sampled information at the initial channel information;
a subcarrier index of the sampled information at the initial channel information;
a physical resource block index of the sampled information at the initial channel information;
a time-domain sample point index of the sampled information at the initial channel information;
or a beam of the sampled information at the initial channel information.
Regarding Claim 11, Kwak discloses:
wherein the check information is fed back (Fig 26, Steps 2650) through a physical control channel or a high layer signaling (see: [0130] … the periodic feedback of the UE is transmitted to the eNB via the PUCCH; Examiner’s Note: PUCCH is Physical Uplink Control Channel).
Regarding Claim 12, Kwak discloses:
receiving a network performance identifier (Fig 25, Steps 2610-2620; see: [0015] … The method includes transmitting CSI feedback configuration information to a terminal; identifying a CSI reporting to be performed based on the CSI feedback configuration information; Examiner’s Note: identifying performance information CSI implies an identifier);
and determining a feedback type of the channel state information according to the network performance identifier (Fig 25, Steps 2610-2620; see: [0015] … receiving the identified CSI reporting from the terminal. The CSI reporting is identified based on types of CSI reportings; Examiner’s Note: identifying performance information CSI implies an identifier and type).
Regarding Claim 13, Kwak discloses:
wherein the network performance identifier (Fig 25, Steps 2610-2620; see: [0015] … The method includes transmitting CSI feedback configuration information to a terminal; identifying a CSI reporting to be performed based on the CSI feedback configuration information) is indicated as a first-type codebook (Tables 11, PMI and codebook index; see: [0129] … the feedback information includes RI, PMI, and CQI; Examiner’s Note: see Table 11, network performance RI PMI mapping to various type of codebook index), and the feedback type of the channel state information (Fig 26, Steps 2610-2620; see: [0015] … receiving the identified CSI reporting from the terminal. The CSI reporting is identified based on types of CSI reportings) is determined to be the first-type codebook (see: Table 11, Relationship between the first PMI value and codebook index);
or the network performance identifier is indicated as a second-type codebook, and the feedback type of the channel state information is determined to be the second-type codebook.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3a. Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak (US 20190215086 A1) in view of Chen (US 20260012236 A1).
3b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Kwak discloses a method for CSI reporting in communication system.
Chen discloses a method for codebook sampling for CSI feedback.
3c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 14, Kwak discloses:
A method for processing feedback information (Fig 27), comprising:
receiving (Fig 27, Step 2730) check information (see: [0130] … Because an amount of information that can be transmitted at one time through the PUCCH is limited, various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information);
receiving (Fig 27, Step 2730) first type codebook information (Table 29, Codebook Types; see: [0169] … Type I CSI reporting can report the channel state to an eNB through RI, PMI, CQI, and CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) based on codebook as in LTE; Examiner’s Note: channel state information is encoded with a specific type of codebook, and functions as first type codebook information);
performing processing (Fig 27, Step 2730; see: [0318] In step 2730, the eNB receives feedback information from the UE at a predetermined timing; Examiner’s Note: eNB starts processing the feedback information as implied) on the first type codebook information to obtain verification information (see: [0015] … The CSI reporting is identified based on types of CSI reportings; Examiner’s Note: CSI identifier may function as verification information) corresponding to the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information);
and determining a network performance identifier (see: [0013] …. the CSI can be efficiently identified despite a limited amount of information being used for the CSI reporting; Examiner’s Note: CSI identifier may function as network performance identifier) according to the verification information (see: [0015] … The CSI reporting is identified based on types of CSI reportings; Examiner’s Note: CSI identifier may also function as verification information) and the check information (see: [0130] … various feedback objects, such as RI, wCQI, sCQI, PMI1, wPMI2, and sPMI2 may be transmitted on the PUCCH through subsampling; Examiner’s Note: the sampled feedback objects may function as check information).
Kwak discloses receiving feedback (Fig 27, Step 2730), but does not discloses receiving check information and first type codebook information separately and sequentially.
However, Chen discloses transmitting and receiving CSI reports separately based on the codebooks and reporting types:
receiving check information (Fig 4B, Report 1 RI; Table 1; see: [0029] If PUCCH mode 2-1 is selected in block 202, then block 207 generates report 1 comprising RI and a precoding type indicator (PTI));
receiving first type codebook information (Fig 4B, Report 2 W1/W2/CQI; Table 1; see: [0029] … If PTI=0, then block 210 generates report 2 comprising a wideband W1, …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Kwak’s method for CSI reporting in communication system with Chen’s method for codebook sampling for CSI feedback with the motivation being to improve spectral efficiency (Chen, [0006]).
Regarding Claim 18, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 14, and is rejected accordingly. Further, Kwak discloses I/O transceiver, processor and memory in control unit (Figs 28-29).
Regarding Claim 19, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 14, and is rejected accordingly. Further, Kwak discloses I/O transceiver, processor and memory in control unit (Figs 28-29).
Regarding Claim 20, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1 or 14, and is rejected accordingly. Further, Kwak discloses I/O transceiver, processor and memory in control unit (Figs 28-29).
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473