DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19, 21, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In dependent claims 16 and 23 each recites, “the flexible member is indirectly movable along the…..”. Contrary to applicant’s claims the specification at paragraph 00025 recites, “the flexible member can be coupled to the support structure indirectly via the actuator bank”.
This is new matter.
The rest of the claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10-19, 21, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Tobey (US 8414246).
Regarding Claim 1, Tobey discloses a snake robotic device (robot body 30, snake arms 100, Fig. 8) comprising:
a support structure (60, 80, 320, platform 300; figs. 2-4; col. 7, lines 31- 57; col. 15, lines 2-11) comprising an actuator bank (platform 300 housing actuator motors 140, drive system motor 340; col. 7, lines 38-43; col 8, lines 3-10);
a flexible member (skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; the snake arm is shown in a flexed orientation) comprising a proximal end coupled to the support structure (platform 300; fig. 2; col. 7, lines 31- 57) and a distal end (Fig. 1 shows snake arms 100 with proximal ends, closest to robot body 30 and distal ends, furthest from the body);
joints including at least a first joint and a second joint (one or more respective joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3) located within an interior chamber of the flexible member (skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; the snake arm is shown in a flexed orientation), the first joint located at a first distinct portion of the flexible member and the second joint located at a second distinct portion of the flexible member (each of the one or more respective joints 120 and plates 110 are located at a respectively distinct portion of the flexible member, Figs. 1-3);
actuators including at least a first actuator and a second actuator (actuator motors 140, drive system motor 340; Figs. 2-4; see also Col., 8, lines 6-12, "...130 or 140 may include motor driven cables, wires, tendons..."} housed in the actuator bank (platform 300 housing actuator motors 140, drive system motor 340; col. 7, lines 38-43; col 8, lines 3-10; also see skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; Col. 8, lines 3-44, citing, "...130 or 140, which are engaged between the separate elements and act on those elements to produce motions or forces..............");
tendons including at least a first tendon and a second tendon (Col., 8, lines 6-12, "...130 may include motor driven cables, wires, tendons..."), each of the tendons comprising a first end connected to and terminating at a respective one of the actuators (Fig. 3 shows tendons 130 connected to actuator 140 at the bottom of the drawing, denoting the proximal end and terminating at the furthest plate 110 on the right side of the drawing) and a second end connected to and terminating at a respective one of the joints located at the respective distinct portion of the flexible member (Col. 8, lines 33-37, "Segments actuators 130 and/or 140, wires or cables are free to slide through the intermediate segment plate elements 110 while the force is being applied and terminated at the target segment end elements 110. This allows the target segments actuators 130 and/or 140 to move only the targeted segment.") such that actuation of the one or more actuators causes a resulting movement in the flexible member (Col. 8, lines 1-44); and
a controller configured to transmit via a medium of connectivity at least one control signal to the one or more actuators [Col. 11, lines 52-55; col. 15, lines 36-51; Communication methods between the chassis and platform for data and commands can be of any type, such as wired, optical or wireless (such as, e.g., radio wave or IR connections.)],
wherein:
the provision of the actuator bank separate from the flexible member provides for degrees of freedom of flexibility for the snake robotic device dependent upon any number of the actuators (col. 8, lines 1-19, lines 40-44),
at least one of the joints is connected to two of the tendons, the second end of each of the two tendons terminating at a different location on the same joint of the at least one of the joints, providing bidirectional movement control (col. 8, lines 3 to col. 9, line 35; Fig. 3 shows tendons 130 connected such that at least one of the joints is connected to two of the tendons, the second end of each of the two tendons terminating at a different location on the same joint of the at least one of the joints, providing bidirectional movement control), and
the snake robotic device is configured such that one or more additional joints are addable to the interior chamber to increase degrees of freedom of flexibility of the snake robotic device (one or more additional joints of each of the one or more respective joints 120 are addable to the interior chamber to increase degrees of freedom of flexibility of the snake robotic device, Figs. 1-3; col; 7, lines 58 to col. 8, lines 19).
Regarding Claim 3, Tobey discloses the snake robotic device of claim 1, wherein:
the first joint has e a first joint and a second joint has at least one aperture (Fig. 3; Fig. 3 shows 6 joint 120 and plate 110 sections; also see open passageways 180); and
the first tendon passes through the aperture of the first joint the second end of the first tendon is coupled to the second joint (Fig. 3 shows tendon 130 passing through multiple plate holes/passageways 180 and terminating at the last plate on the distal end).
Regarding Claim 4, Tobey discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the second end the second tendon is coupled to the first joint (Fig. 3 shows at least 2 tendon/actuator sections, coupled at a first joint/plate 120/110; the end at the first joint can be a second end).
Regarding Claim 10, Tobey discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the actuator bank is configured to move along the support structure {rotary platform 300, Fig. 4; the platform rotates relative to robot 30, see Col. 14, line 55 to Col. 15, line 11); and
the flexible member further comprises a sensor selected from a group consisting of a microscope, a biopsy probe, a color sensor, and a motion sensor (col. 1, lines 61 to col. 2, lines 15; col. 13, lines 46 to col. 14, line 20).
Regarding Claim 11, Tobey discloses the device of claim 1, wherein at least the one or more actuators are located within the interior chamber (Fig. 3 shows the actuators 140 inside the snake arms and the chamber formed by the skin 190).
Regarding Claim 12, Tobey discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the flexible member further comprises one or more sensors configured to monitor a condition within a physical environment in which the distal end of the flexible member is located (Col. 12, lines 49-54, "Sensors mated to the end effector can also be changed or exchanged, to allow for the detailed investigation of an item of interest, such as a gas detector or radiation sensor. End effector uses include such tasks as robot self repair, tool use, or for inspection under a car looking for explosives.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Tobey discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the one or more sensors are further configured to collect a sample within the physical environment in which the distal end of the flexible member is located (Col. 12, lines 49-54, gas detector or radiation sensor).
Regarding Claim 14, Tobey discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one control signal causes one or more of the one or more actuators to alter a length of at least one tendon in the one or more tendons from the second end of the at least one tendon to the one or more actuators (Col. 8, lines 33-37, "Segments actuators 130 and/or 140, wires or cables are free to slide through the intermediate segment plate elements 110 while the force is being applied and terminated at the target segment end elements 110. This allows the target segments actuators 130 and/or 140 to move only the targeted segment.").
Regarding Claim 15, Tobey discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the flexible member is further configured to deform in response to at least a portion of the flexible member colliding with at least a portion of a physical environment (col. 16, lines 49-66) in which the flexible member is located (Col. 15, lines 32-35; col. 8, lines 33-37, citing, "...as well as collision avoidance of objects, such as when the arm navigates a convoluted path around obstacles.").
Regarding Claim 16, Tobey discloses a snake robotic device comprising:
a support structure (60, 80, 320, platform 300; figs. 2-4; col. 7, lines 31- 57; col. 15, lines 2-11) comprising one or more actuators (actuator motors 140, drive system motor 340; col. 7, lines 38-43; col 8, lines 3-10);
a flexible member (snake arms 100, Fig. 8) comprising a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end indirectly coupled (arms 100 are coupled to robot 30 via rotary platform 300, Fig. 1; mobile robot with a rotary platform 300 usable for attaching and manipulating a snake arm 100, Col. 5, lines 20-22; actuators and controls of the snake arm 100 can be located on the rotating platform 300, Col. 5, lines 24-25, Fig. 2) to the support structure (Fig. 1 shows snake arms 100 with proximal ends, closest to robot body 30 and distal ends, furthest from the body), the distal end configured to interact with a physical environment (Col. 12, lines 49-54, "Sensors mated to the end effector can also be changed or exchanged, to allow for the detailed investigation of an item of interest, such as a gas detector or radiation sensor. End effector uses include such tasks as robot self repair, tool use, or for inspection under a car looking for explosives.");
one or more joints (one or more respective joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3) located within an interior chamber of the flexible member (skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; the snake arm is shown in a flexed orientation), each respective joint located at a respectively distinct portion of the flexible member (each of the one or more respective joints 120 and plates 110 are located at a respectively distinct portion of the flexible member, Figs. 1-3);
one or more tendons (Col., 8, lines 6-12, "...130 may include motor driven cables, wires, tendons..."), each of the one or more tendons comprising a first end connected to and terminating at a respective actuator (Fig. 3 shows tendon 130 connected to actuator 140 at the bottom of the drawing, denoting the proximal end and terminating at the furthest plate 110 on the right side of the drawing) of the one or more actuators and a second end connected to and terminating at a respective joint of the one or more joints located at the respective distinct portion of the flexible member (Col. 8, lines 33-37, "Segments actuators 130 and/or 140, wires or cables are free to slide through the intermediate segment plate elements 110 while the force is being applied and terminated at the target segment end elements 110. This allows the target segments actuators 130 and/or 140 to move only the targeted segment."), such that actuation of the one or more actuators causes a resulting movement in the flexible member (Col. 8, lines 1-44);
a controller configured to transmit at least one control signal to the one or more actuators (col. 15, lines 36-64, citing, “In various exemplary embodiments, the remote Internet operation can be used for teleoperation tasks…….”; Col. 11, lines 52-55, citing, "Communication methods between the chassis and platform for data and commands can be of any type, such as wired, optical or wireless, such as, e.g., radio wave or IR connections.”);
wherein:
the one or more actuators (actuator motors 140, drive system motor 340; Figs. 2-4; see also Col., 8, lines 6-12, "...130 or 140 may include motor driven cables, wires, tendons...") are configured to maneuver at least a portion of the flexible member (skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; Col. 8, lines 3-44, citing, "...130 or 140, which are engaged between the separate elements and act on those elements to produce motions or forces..............");
provision of the one or more actuators separate from the flexible member provides for degrees of freedom of flexibility for the snake robotic device dependent upon any number of actuators (col. 8, lines 1-19, lines 40-44);
the flexible member is indirectly movable along the support structure (skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; the snake arm is shown in a flexed orientation movable along the support structure); and
the snake robotic device is configured such that one or more additional joints of the one or more joints are addable to the interior chamber to increase degrees of freedom of flexibility of the snake robotic device (one or more additional joints of each of the one or more respective joints 120 are addable to the interior chamber to increase degrees of freedom of flexibility of the snake robotic device, Figs. 1-3; col; 7, lines 58 to col. 8, lines 19).
Regarding Claim 17, Tobey discloses the device of claim 16, wherein a first joint of the one or more joints (Fig. 3 shows 6 joint 120 and plate 110 sections) has one or more apertures, and wherein a first tendon of the one or more tendons passes through a first aperture (open passageways 180, Fig. 3) of the one or more apertures (Fig. 3 shows tendon 130 passing through multiple plate holes/passageways 180 and terminating at the last plate on the distal end).
Regarding Claim 18, Tobey discloses the device of claim 17, wherein a second tendon of the one or more tendons passes through a second aperture of the one or more apertures (Fig. 3 shows at least 2 tendon/actuator sections, coupled at a first joint/plate 120/110; the end at the first joint can be a second end).
Regarding Claim 19, Tobey discloses the device of claim 18, wherein a second joint, wherein a second end of the first tendon is coupled to a second joint of the one or more joints (Fig. 3 shows tendon 130 passing through multiple plate holes/passageways 180 and terminating at the last plate on the distal end).
Regarding Claim 21, Tobey discloses the device of claim 17, further comprising:
at least one sensor coupled to the flexible member, wherein one or more of the at least one sensor is configured to transmit a signal via a sensor control line that passes through a third aperture of the one or more apertures (Col. 12, line 45, hollow passageways 180 for a camera or other sensor/effector).
Regarding Claim 23, Tobey discloses a snake robotic device comprising:
a support structure (60, 80, 320, platform 300; figs. 2-4; col. 7, lines 31- 57; col. 15, lines 2-11) comprising actuators (actuator motors 140, drive system motor 340; col. 7, lines 38-43; col 8, lines 3-10) and a spool (Fig. 4 shows the snake arms 100 stowed around the circumference of the inner “spool” on the robot body 30; see also Col. 2, lines 41-44, "...curl around the platform for a compact storage mode...").
a flexible member (snake arms 100, Fig. 8) comprising a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end indirectly coupled to the support structure (Fig. 1 shows snake arms 100 with proximal ends, closest to robot body 30 and distal ends, furthest from the body), the distal end configured to interact with a physical environment (Col. 12, lines 49-54, "Sensors mated to the end effector can also be changed or exchanged, to allow for the detailed investigation of an item of interest, such as a gas detector or radiation sensor. End effector uses include such tasks as robot self repair, tool use, or for inspection under a car looking for explosives."), and the flexible member is indirectly movable along the support structure (skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; the snake arm is shown in a flexed orientation movable along the support structure);
joints (joints 120 and plates 110, Fig. 3; col. 7, lines 64 to col. 8, lines 19) located at the distinct portions of the flexible member (skin 100, 190, joints 120 and plates 110, Figs. 1-3; the snake arm is shown in a flexed orientation) and within an interior chamber of the flexible member 100, each joint comprising apertures (see apertures or hollow passage ways 160, 180, through which tendons 130 go through; fig. 3; col. 8, lines 15-19; Col. 12, line 45);
tendons (Col., 8, lines 6-12, "...130 or 140 may include motor driven cables, wires, tendons..."), each tendon comprising a first end connected to and terminating at a respective actuator of the actuators (Fig. 3 shows tendon 130 connected to actuator 140 at the bottom of the drawing, denoting the proximal end and terminating at the furthest plate 110 on the right side of the drawing; actuators could also be locates on several plates 110) and a second end connected to and terminating at a respective joint of the joints (Col. 8, lines 33-37, "Segments actuators 130 and/or 140, wires or cables are free to slide through the intermediate segment plate elements 110 while the force is being applied and terminated at the target segment end elements 110. This allows the target segments actuators 130 and/or 140 to move only the targeted segment."), such that actuation of the respective actuator causes resulting movements in the flexible member via actuation of the respective joint (Col. 8, lines 1-44);
a controller configured to transmit control signals to the actuators (col. 15, lines 36-64, citing, “In various exemplary embodiments, the remote Internet operation can be used for teleoperation tasks…….”; Col. 11, lines 52-55, citing, "Communication methods between the chassis and platform for data and commands can be of any type, such as wired, optical or wireless, such as, e.g., radio wave or IR connections.”); and
at least one sensor coupled to the flexible member and configured to transmit a signal via a sensor control line, wherein each sensor control line passes through a respective aperture the joints (col. 8, lines 15-19; Col. 12, line 45, hollow passageways 180 for a camera or other sensor/effector);
wherein each tendon passes through a respective aperture (180; col. 8, lines 15-19; Col. 12, line 45; fig. 3) of each joint positioned between a respective actuator and the respective joint to which the tendon is connected (Fig. 3 shows tendon 130 passing through multiple plate holes/passageways 180 and located between a respective actuator 140 and the respective joint, wherein joint is formed by units 110, 120, 160);
wherein the spool comprises an inner diameter and outer diameter configured to wind circumferentially about the inner diameter and receive at least a portion of the flexible member disposed circumferentially about the outer diameter (Fig. 4 shows the snake arms 100 stowed around the circumference of the inner “spool” on the robot body 30; see also Col. 2, lines 41-44, "...curl around the platform for a compact storage mode...");
wherein the spool is further configured to deploy at least a portion of the flexible member disposed circumferentially about the outer diameter by rotating circumferentially about the inner diameter (Fig. 4 shows the snake arms 100 stowed around the circumference of the inner "spool" on the robot body 30; see also Col. 2, lines 41-44, "...curl around the platform for a compact storage mode...”);
wherein the snake robotic device is configured such that one or more additional joints of the one or more joints are addable to the interior chamber to increase degrees of freedom of flexibility of the snake robotic device (one or more additional joints of each of the one or more respective joints 120 are addable to the interior chamber to increase degrees of freedom of flexibility of the snake robotic device, Figs. 1-3; col; 7, lines 58 to col. 8, lines 19); and
wherein provision of all of the actuators in the support structure separate from the flexible member provides for the degrees of freedom of flexibility for the snake robotic device dependent upon any number of actuators (col. 8, lines 1-19, lines 40-44).
Regarding Claim 25, Tobey discloses the device of claim 23, further comprising an actuator bank housing the one or more actuators (platform 300 housing actuator motors 140, drive system motor 340; col. 7, lines 38-43; col 8, lines 3-10); i.e. actuators and controls of the snake arm 100 can be located on the rotating platform 300, Col. 5, lines 24-25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants amendments have overcome the 112 rejections.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not read on the claims. Applicant particularly argues that, “Tobey never teaches that separating actuators from the flexible member provides for degrees of freedom dependent upon any number of actuators. This functional relationship is absent from Tobey. Claims 16 and 23 are further patentably distinct as each requires provision of all of the actuators separate from the flexible member”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, the claims do not call or suggest “separating actuators from the flexible member” as insisted by the applicant.
The applicant further argues that the prior art, Tobey does not disclose adding or addable joints enabling post assembly…., etc. The examiner respectfully disagrees, the claims do not call or suggest adding or addable joints enabling post assembly, emphasis added. Applicant is arguing about limitations not recited in the claims. The prior art teaches added joints, that is a joint is added to the joint at the bottom, another joint is added to a previous joint, etc.
Applicant further argues that the prior art, Tobey does not disclose a cloud-based network, or a Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth, but admits on the other hand that Tobey teaches discloses generic communication modalities including wired, optical, or wireless (radio/IR) communication and mentions Internet-based operation. As such based on applicant’s own admission Tobey teaches at least internet communications i.e. a cloud-based networking, or Wi-Fi, or Bluetooth.
In addition, contrary to applicant’s remarks, Tobey discloses two tendons terminating at two different locations on the same joint, see Tobey fig. 3.
Contrary to applicant’s remarks Tobey discloses a variety of sensors including at least one of the sensors recited in claim 10.
The prior art reads on the claims.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657