DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 13, 15-17, 19-30 are pending and under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15-17, 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhejiang (CN110577460A; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 03/07/2024) and Tianjin (CN109574812A); as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 03/07/2024) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Zhejiang discloses method of making perfluorolefin oligomer of claims 16 and 17 with carbon atoms>7 comprising oligomerization reaction of HFP or HFP with other fluoro-containing olefin raw material in presence of catalyst metal fluoride salt with example of KF and a cocatalyst with examples of crown ether, 18-crown ether 5, 18-crown ether 6, wherein ratio of catalyst to catalyst is 0.1-10:1, preferably 0.5-2:1 in a solvent with example of DMF, acetonitrile, etc., at temperature of 30-80C, such as 50, 70C for time period, such as 1.5h and HFP: metal fluoride as 20-2000:1, 100-1000:1, 1:0.012 (encompass ratio of raw material : metal catalyst of the instant claims, such as 20:1, i.e., 1:0.5 and also encompass that cocatalyst is not higher than 10% of the raw material) (entire article).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Zhejiang discloses method of making perfluorolefin oligomer of claims 16 and 17 with carbon atoms>7 comprising oligomerization reaction of HFP or HFP with other fluoro-containing olefin raw material in presence of metal fluoride salt with example of KF in a solvent with example of DMF, acetonitrile, etc., at temperature of 30-80C, such as 50, 70C for time period, such as 1.5h and HFP: metal fluoride as 1:0.012 (entire article), but fails to teach the process with TFE, TFE oligomers or HFP oligomers and give example with time for reaction as 2-12hrs; specific 18crown 6 or 18 crown 5 of the instant claims.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference of oligomerization reaction of HFP with TFE, TFE oligomers or HFP oligomers etc.- Zhejiang discloses method of making perfluorolefin oligomer of claims 16 and 17 with carbon atoms>7 comprising oligomerization reaction of HFP or HFP with other fluoro-containing olefin raw material in presence of catalyst metal fluoride salt with example of KF and a cocatalyst with examples of crown ether, 18-crown ether 5, 18-crown ether 6, wherein ratio of catalyst to catalyst is 0.1-10:1, preferably 0.5-2:1 in a solvent with example of DMF, acetonitrile, etc., at temperature of 30-80C, such as 50, 70C for time period, such as 1.5h and HFP: metal fluoride as 20-2000:1, 100-1000:1, 1:0.012 (encompass ratio of raw material : metal catalyst of the instant claims, such as 20:1, i.e., 1:0.5 and also encompass that cocatalyst is not higher than 10% of the raw material). Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that HFP may undergo oligomerization with other fluoro-containing olefin raw material, such as TFE, TFE oligomers or HFP oligomers etc. Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that other fluoro-containing olefin raw material in reaction taught by the cited prior art may be substituted with another fluoro-containing olefin. Thus, the cited prior art meets limitation of the instant claims.
This deficiency is further cured by Tianjin.
In the same field of endeavor, Tianjin teaches a method of making perfluorolefin oligomer of claims 16 and 17 with carbon atoms>7 comprising oligomerization reaction of HFP and/or HFP dimer, trimer; TFE and HFP; HFP and TFE dimer (perfluorobutene) (0025, 0026, 0041-0046, 0058-0069) in presence of metal fluoride salt with example of KF and a cocatalyst ammonium salt or phase transfer catalyst, crown ether, with examples 4-aminobenzyl-15-crown-5 etc., (same ethers as in the instant claims 28 and 30) of in a solvent with example of DMF, acetonitrile, etc., at temperature of 30-50C, for time period, such as 10h (entire article).
Thus, based on the guidance provided by Zhejiang and Tianjin, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that HFP may undergo oligomerization with other fluoro-containing olefin raw material, such as TFE, TFE oligomers or HFP oligomers etc. Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that other fluoro-containing olefin raw material in reaction taught by Zhejiang may be substituted with another fluoro-containing olefin, such as taught by Tianjin. Thus, the cited prior art meets limitation of the instant claims.
With regards to the above difference of time of reaction- Thus, based on the guidance provided by Zhejiang and Tianjin, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that reaction time may vary from 1.5hr-10hr depending on starting material and desired yield of final product. Further, differences in concentration, temperature, and the like, will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, it is noted that all of the recited reaction parameters are recognized as result-effective variables, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
With regards to the above difference of specific 18crown 6 or 18 crown 5 of the instant claims- Zhejiang teaches using cocatalyst crown ether with examples of 18-crown ether 5, 18-crown ether 6, and Tianjin teaches using cocatalyst ammonium salt or phase transfer catalyst, crown ether, with examples 4-aminobenzyl-15-crown-5 etc. Thus, based on the guidance provided by Zhejiang and Tianjin, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that reaction time may be carried out with crown ether 18-crown ether 5, 18-crown ether 6 or crown ether taught by Tianjin 4-aminobenzyl-15-crown-5 etc.
Thus, the cited prior art meets limitation of the instant claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, method of making perfluorolefin oligomer of claims 16 and 17 with carbon atoms>7 comprising oligomerization reaction of HFP or HFP with other fluoro-containing olefin raw material in presence of catalyst metal fluoride salt with example of KF and a cocatalyst with examples of crown ether, 18-crown ether 5, 18-crown ether 6, wherein ratio of catalyst to catalyst is 0.1-10:1, preferably 0.5-2:1 in a solvent with example of DMF, acetonitrile, etc., at temperature of 30-80C, such as 50, 70C for time period, such as 1.5h and HFP: metal fluoride as 20-2000:1, 100-1000:1, 1:0.012 (encompass ratio of raw material : metal catalyst of the instant claims, such as 20:1, i.e., 1:0.5 and also encompass that cocatalyst is not higher than 10% of the raw material). Tianjin teaches a method of making perfluorolefin oligomer of claims 16 and 17 with carbon atoms>7 comprising oligomerization reaction of HFP and/or HFP dimer, trimer; TFE and HFP; HFP and TFE dimer (perfluorobutene) (0025, 0026, 0041-0046, 0058-0069) in presence of metal fluoride salt with example of KF and a cocatalyst ammonium salt or phase transfer catalyst, crown ether, with examples 4-aminobenzyl-15-crown-5 etc., (same ethers as in the instant claims 28 and 30) of in a solvent with example of DMF, acetonitrile, etc., at temperature of 30-50C, for time period, such as 10h.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that time period for reaction may be adjusted depending on the desired yield of the product and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying such parameters is prima facie obvious because an ordinary artisan would be motivated to develop an alternative process for economic reasons or convenient purposes from a known individual reaction steps, and to arrive at applicants’ process with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is within the scope to modify the process through a routine experimentation.
Response to arguments
Applicants’ remarks and amendments filed on September 24, 2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicants’ argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623