DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed amendments filed 09/21/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-11 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6655041 (Schmidt hereinafter) in view of FR 2475201 (Escande hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Schmidt teaches a conveyor system that discloses a conveyor system with a plurality of sections extending one behind the other in a conveying direction, for conveying passing boards to be dried in a plurality of levels per section (Figure 1 with Column 1 Lines 13-17); wherein conveying devices in the levels, the conveying devices being roller conveyors (Conveyors with endless chains 11 as seen in Figure 1); and a drive system (Drive 15 per Column 2 Line 66 through Column 3 Line 21) comprising a plurality of endless chains (Chains 11), at least one drive being assigned to each of the plurality of endless chains (Column 2 Line 66 through Column 3 Line 10).
Schmidt is silent with respect that the roller conveyors of all of the levels of a respective section are drivable by at least one single chain of the plurality of endless chains that engages over the levels of the respective section.
However, Escande teaches a multilayer conveyor drying system that discloses a plurality of roller conveyors of all of the levels of a respective section are drivable by at least one single chain of the plurality of endless chains that engages over the levels of the respective section (Figures 4 and 5 with drive E2 in Figure 4 and drive E-1 in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive system of Schmidt with the multiple levels of the conveyor being driven by a single drive to minimize the amount of drives needed to drive the conveyor belts.
Regarding claim 2, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that each section, or each plurality of sections has a single chain of the plurality of endless chains, and the single chain engages over the levels of the respective section or of the plurality of the sections in a zigzag or meandering manner (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation the single chain 9 shown in Figure 5 of Escande can be seen as a meandering manner).
Regarding claim 3, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that the single chain is equipped with at least one drive motor (Schmidt drive 15 and motors Ex of Escande).
Regarding claim 4, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that the plurality of endless chains includes a plurality of chains per section, and support rollers lying next to one another on a level are drivable by a single chain of the plurality of endless chains spanning levels (Schmidt Column 2 Line 66 through Column 3 Line 10 where adjacent levels of Schmidt are driven together).
Regarding claim 7, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that the plurality of endless chains are guided by chain slide rails (Rails 7 of Schmidt).
Regarding claim 10, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose a chain tensioning device is on each chain of the plurality of chains or on a master chain configured to drive the plurality of endless chains (Chain tensioner 24 of Schmidt).
Regarding claim 11, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 10 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that the chain tensioning device is mounted in a suspended manner (The chain tensioner 24 is mounted in a broadly interpreted suspended manner in Schmidt).
Regarding claim 12, Schmidt teaches a conveyor system that discloses
Schmidt is silent with respect to a conveyor system having a plurality of sections extending one behind the other in a conveying direction, for conveying passing boards to be dried in a plurality of levels per section (Figure 1 with Column 1 Lines 13-17); conveying devices in the levels, the conveying devices being roller conveyors (Endless chains 11 in Figure 1); and a drive system comprising a plurality of endless chains, at least one drive being assigned to each of the plurality of endless chains (Drive motor 15 per Column 2 Line 66 through Column 3 Line 21).
Schmidt is silent with respect to wherein the roller conveyors of all of the levels of a respective section are driven by a single chain of the plurality of endless chains that engages over all of the levels of the respective section, the single chain being driven by a motor.
However, Escande teaches a multilayer conveyor drying system that discloses a plurality of roller conveyors of all of the levels of a respective section are driven by a single chain of the plurality of endless chains that engages over all of the levels of the respective section (Figure 4 with single chain 12 driven by motor E2 driving those plurality of levels and Figure 5 with single chain 9 driven by motor E1), the single chain being driven by a motor (Motors E1 or E2 are a single motor for driving a plurality of endless chains). The resultant combination would utilize the single motor and driving chain as taught in Escande to drive all of the same direction and stacked endless chains of Schmidt to minimize the number of motors needed while making the progression of the boards uniform.
a plurality of roller conveyors of all of the levels of a respective section are drivable by at least one single chain of the plurality of endless chains that engages over the levels of the respective section (Figures 4 and 5 with drive E2 in Figure 4 and drive E-1 in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive system of Schmidt with the multiple levels of the conveyor being driven by a single drive to minimize the amount of drives needed to drive the conveyor belts.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6655041 (Schmidt) in view of FR 2475201 (Escande) and further in view of US 2017/0030645 (Hoffman hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 4 but are silent with respect that the plurality of endless chains per section are synchronizable with one another by a radio communication or the plurality of endless chains are drivable together via a master chain. Escande does teach the general control system used to control the drives Ex while showing the master chain in Figures 4 and 5.
However, Hoffman teaches a dryer control system that discloses a plurality of endless chains per section are synchronizable with one another by a radio communication (¶ 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of the dryer of Schmidt with the controller of Hoffman to allow for individual control of each chain while all being synchronized.
Regarding claim 6 (as best understood), Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 5 where the combination of Schmidt, Escande, and Hoffman would further disclose that the master chain is driven by at least one drive motor (Figure 5 of Escande with chain 9 and motor E1).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6655041 (Schmidt) in view of FR 2475201 (Escande) in view of US 2012/0246966 (Straetmans hereinafter) and further in view of US 2006/0220306 (Bottger hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the dryer is usable as a low-temperature dryer at temperatures below 150 °C.
However, Straetmans teaches a conveyor drywall dryer that discloses a low-temperature dryer at temperatures below 150 °C (¶ 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation temperature of Schmidt with the temperature settings of Straetmans to dry the target material at a desirable temperature.
Schmidt is silent with respect to support rollers of the roller conveyors are mounted on roller bearings.
However, Bottger teaches a conveyor roller system that discloses support rollers mounted with roller bearings (¶ 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conveyor rollers of Schmidt with the roller bearings of Bottger to minimize friction in the rollers of Schmidt.
Regarding claim 9, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Schmidt, Escande, Straetmans, and Bottger would further disclose that the roller bearings are ball bearings, deep groove ball bearings or needle roller and cage bearings (Ball bearings and needle rollers of Bottger in ¶ 37).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the combination of Schmidt (US 6655041) and Escande (FR 2475201) have been reviewed but are not found to be persuasive. Applicant amended the independent claim to further clarify the use of a single drive chain to drive each level of the endless chain conveyor system. Schmidt in Figure 1 shows a plurality of endless chains levels that are driven by a drive system but is relatively unclear on the structure of the drive system. The Escande reference is brought in to show that a plurality of levels of an endless chain conveyor system can be grouped together with a single drive chain and single motor (Figure 4 with drive E1 and chain 12 as well as Figure 5 with single drive motor E2 and drive chain 9). The resultant combination would utilize the single drive chain and motor of Escande to drive all of the stacked levels of endless chains in Schmidt in the same direction and at the same speed. Applicant argues that the presence of the other drives and drive chains of Escande would teach away from the instant application and the combination provided. However, the Escande reference clearly shows the use of a single drive chain amongst a plurality of levels driven in the same direction. Applicant is welcomed to further narrow their claims to preclude the use of the Escande reference by utilizing the “consisting of” language or amending further to overcome the current combination of Schmidt and Escande. However, at this time, the proposed amendments and arguments are not found to place the claims into allowable condition.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762