DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the mother chain” in line 2 where the Examiner is unclear as to what mother chain is being referred back to due to improper antecedent basis. A review of the specification shows that the mother chain is referring back to the master chain introduced in claim 5. For examination purposes, the term “mother chain” of claim 6 will be treated as “master chain”.
Claim 8 recites “the support rollers” in line 2 where the Examiner is unclear as to what support rollers are being referred back to due to improper antecedent basis. A review of the claims and specification shows that the support rollers are introduced in claim 4 and the claim dependency was amended prior to examination to prevent multiple dependencies. For examination purposes, the phrase “the support rollers” will be treated as “[[the]] two support rollers”.
Claim 11 “the chain tensioner” in line 2 where the Examiner is unclear as to what chain tensioner is being referred back to due to improper antecedent basis. A review of the claims and specification shows that chain tensioner is introduced in claim 10 and the claim dependency was amended prior to examination to prevent multiple dependencies. For examination purposes, the phrase “the chain tensioner” will be treated as “[[the]] a chain tensioner”.
Claim 9 is rejected for being dependent from an unclear and indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6655041 (Schmidt hereinafter) in view of FR 2475201 (Escande hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Schmidt teaches a conveyor system that discloses a conveyor system with a plurality of sections extending one behind the other in the conveying direction for conveying passing boards to be dried in a plurality of levels per section (Figure 1 with Column1 Lines 13-17) with conveying devices arranged in the levels in the form of roller conveyors (Conveyors with endless chains 11 as seen in Figure 1), with a drive system (Drive 15 per Column 2 Line 66 through Column 3 Line 21), comprising a plurality of endless chains (Chains 11), at least one drive being assigned to each chain (Column 2 Line 66 through Column 3 Line 10).
Schmidt is silent with respect that the roller conveyors of all the levels of a respective section can be driven by at least one single chain which engages over the levels of the respective section.
However, Escande teaches a multilayer conveyor drying system that discloses a plurality of roller conveyors of all the levels of a respective section can be driven by at least one single chain which engages over the levels of the respective section (Figures 4 and 5 with drive E2 in Figure 4 and drive E-1 in Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive system of Schmidt with the multiple levels of the conveyor being driven by a single drive to minimize the amount of drives needed to drive the conveyor belts.
Regarding claim 2, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that in the case of a single chain per section or for a plurality of sections, this chain engages over the levels of the respective section or of the plurality of sections in a zigzag or meandering manner (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation the single chain 9 shown in Figure 5 of Escande can be seen as a meandering manner).
Regarding claim 3, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that the chain is equipped with at least one drive motor (Schmidt drive 15 and motors Ex of Escande).
Regarding claim 4, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that in the case of a plurality of chains, two support rollers lying next to one another on a level can be driven in each case by a single chain spanning levels (Schmidt Column 2 Line 66 through Column 3 Line 10 where adjacent levels of Schmidt are driven together).
Regarding claim 7, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that the chains are guided via chain slide rails (Rails 7 of Schmidt).
Regarding claim 10, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose a chain tensioning device is arranged for each chain or at least for each master chain (Chain tensioner 24 of Schmidt).
Regarding claim 11, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Schmidt and Escande would further disclose that the chain tensioning device is mounted in a suspended manner (The chain tensioner 24 is mounted in a broadly interpreted suspended manner in Schmidt).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6655041 (Schmidt) in view of FR 2475201 (Escande) and further in view of US 2017/0030645 (Hoffman hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 4 but are silent with respect that the chains per section can be synchronized with one another by a radio communication or in that the chains can be driven together via a master chain. Escande does teach the general control system used to control the drives Ex while showing the master chain in Figures 4 and 5.
However, Hoffman teaches a dryer control system that discloses chains per section can be synchronized with one another by a radio communication (¶ 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of the dryer of Schmidt with the controller of Hoffman to allow for individual control of each chain while all being synchronized.
Regarding claim 6 (as best understood), Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 5 where the combination of Schmidt, Escande, and Hoffman would further disclose that the master chain is driven via at least one drive motor (Figure 5 of Escande with chain 9 and motor E1).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6655041 (Schmidt) in view of FR 2475201 (Escande) in view of US 2012/0246966 (Straetmans hereinafter) and further in view of US 2006/0220306 (Bottger hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the dryer can be used as a low-temperature dryer at temperatures below 150 °C.
However, Straetmans teaches a conveyor drywall dryer that discloses a low-temperature dryer at temperatures below 150 °C (¶ 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation temperature of Schmidt with the temperature settings of Straetmans to dry the target material at a desirable temperature.
Schmidt is silent with respect that two support rollers are mounted via roller bearings.
However, Bottger teaches a conveyor roller system that discloses support rollers mounted with roller bearings (¶ 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conveyor rollers of Schmidt with the roller bearings of Bottger to minimize friction in the rollers of Schmidt.
Regarding claim 9, Schmidt’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Schmidt, Escande, Straetmans, and Bottger would further disclose that the rolling bearings are designed as ball bearings, deep groove ball bearings or needle roller and cage bearings (Ball bearings and needle rollers of Bottger in ¶ 37).
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762