DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ACTUATOR HAVING A REDUCED LOGITUDINAL DIMENSION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi et al. (JP 2019187028; IDS; 028’) in view of Tamura et al. (US 2015/0038277; 277’), and further in view of Hiroshi et al. (JP 2004166481; IDS; 481’).
In claim 1, 028’ teaches (Fig. 1-2) an actuator (1) comprising: an electric motor (2); a first gear (51) disposed on an output shaft (14) of the electric motor (2); a second gear (52) magnetically interacting with the first gear (31) to cooperate with the first gear (51) and transmit a rotation of the output shaft (14) as a decelerated rotation; a worm (32) extending in a direction parallel to the output shaft (14), the second gear (51) being disposed on one end side of the worm (32) in a direction of extension of the worm (32); a worm wheel (54) meshed with the worm (32) and situated on a same side as the output shaft (14) relative to the worm (32); and a control board (40) for controlling the electric motor (22), the control board (40) being situated between the electric motor (2) and the worm wheel (54).
028’ does not teach wherein the first gear is meshed with the second gear, and the control board including a connector for an external connection.
However, 277’ teaches (Fig. 1-3) an actuator (A) having a first gear (31B) meshed with the second gear (33B).
Therefore in view of 277’, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to transmit rotation from the output shaft to the worm (277’; [0061]).
481’ further teaches (Fig. 1-2) an actuator (1) having a control board (13) including a connector (19) for an external connection.
Therefore in view of 481’, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a structure such that the actuator can be connected to electrical circuit components (481’; Page 10; NPL English Translation).
In claim 2, 028’ as modified teaches the actuator of claim 1; furthermore 028’ teaches wherein the control board (33) is situated such that a board surface of the control board (33) faces the output shaft (14), and wherein a power supplier (39; as taught by 481’) configured to supply a brush with an electric power and a sensor (44) configured to sense a rotation of the electric motor (2) are mounted on a part of the control board facing the output shaft (14).
In claim 3, 028’ as modified teaches the actuator of claim 2; furthermore 028’ teaches wherein the control board (33) is situated on a side opposite to the worm (32) across the output shaft (14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tanaka et al. (US 2018/0248448) teaches a motor having a speed reduction mechanism with paired surface parts.
Ozaki et al. (US 2013/0285492) teaches an axial direction of a worm wheel defined as a motor short-transverse direction, and a plane orthogonal to the motor short-transverse direction defined as a motor flat plane.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834