Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 & 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. This Office Action is a second non-final rejection. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 2, 4-9, 11-16, 18, &20 do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 17, &18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jing et al (US 20220163868 A1, hereinafter, "Jing").
Regarding Claim 1, Jing teaches an information processing system, comprising: circuitry configured to: determine a refresh rate of a display (Jing, Step S1, [0031], ln. 1, "In step S1, the refresh time of the to-be-compensated screen is determined.") configured such that a light emission cycle of a pixel of the display corresponds to an exposure time of an imaging device, wherein the imaging device is configured to image the display (Jing, Step S3, [0039], "In step S3, the exposure time is sent to the camera of the compensation device, such that the camera may shoot the to-be-compensated screen based on the exposure time."); generate, based on the determined refresh rate, a first control signal to drive the pixel of the display such that the light emission cycle of the display corresponds to the exposure time of the imaging device (Jing, [0034], ln. 2-3. "…the nominal refresh rate of the display screen may be adjusted according to screen material..."); and output the first control signal (Jing, [0037], ln. 1-2, "In practice, the TE signal is equivalent to a synchronization signal").
Regarding Claim 2, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Jing teaches the circuitry is further configured to generate the first control signal to drive the pixel of the display such that the exposure time becomes an integral multiple of the light emission cycle of the display (Jing, [0040], ln. 6-8, "Therefore, in the embodiments, the exposure time is adjusted to N times the refresh time of the to-be-compensated screen, wherein N is a positive integer.").
Regarding Claim 17, Jing teaches an information processing method. comprising: determining a refresh rate of a display configured such that a light emission cycle of a pixel of the display corresponds to an exposure time of an imaging device (Jing, Step S3, [0039], "In step S3, the exposure time is sent to the camera of the compensation device, such that the camera may shoot the to-be-compensated screen based on the exposure time."); generating, based on the determined refresh rate, a first control signal for driving the pixel of the display such that the light emission cycle of the display corresponds to the exposure time of the imaging device, wherein the imaging device is for imaging the display (Jing, [0034], ln. 2-3. "…the nominal refresh rate of the display screen may be adjusted according to screen material..."); and outputting the first control signal (Jing, [0037], ln. 1-2, "In practice, the TE signal is equivalent to a synchronization signal").
Regarding Claim 18, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 17 as noted above. Jing teaches generating the first control signal for driving the pixel of the display such that the exposure time becomes an integral multiple of the light emission cycle of the display (Jing, [0040], ln. 6-8, "Therefore, in the embodiments, the exposure time is adjusted to N times the refresh time of the to-be-compensated screen, wherein N is a positive integer.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Fujiwara (US 20200351428 A1, hereinafter, "Fujiwara").
Regarding Claim 4, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Fujiwara teaches a first acquisition unit configured to acquire the exposure time of the imaging device (Fujiwara, Fig. 10, [0101], ln. 3-4, "…the exposure time setting unit 101 acquires an exposure time SS2_n with the second exposure time determination method [step S26]."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Fujiwara with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to use a control unit to acquire the exposure time of a camera.
Claims 5, 15, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Sugiyama et al (WO 2018164105 A1, hereinafter, "Sugiyama").
Regarding Claim 5, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Sugiyama teaches an input unit configured to acquire that acquires a first video signal that is displayed on the display (Sugiyama, Fig. 1, pg. 2, para. 6, ln. 6-7, "The controller 20 and the driver 30 drive the display panel 10 based on the video signal Din and the synchronization signal Tin input from the outside."), wherein the display includes a plurality of display units (Sugiyama, Fig. 15, pg. 9, para. 6, ln. 1-2, "…the display panel 10 may be a tiling display including a plurality of cells 10B…"); a division unit configured to divide the first video signal into a plurality of second video signals that is displayed on each display unit of the plurality of display units of the display (Sugiyama Fig. 15, pg. 9, para. 6, ln. 5-6, "…the controller 20 controls each driver 30 on the assumption that the plurality of cells 10B are one display panel."); and an output unit configured to output a signal and the plurality of second video signals to the each display unit, wherein the signal indicates the refresh rate (Sugiyama Fig. 15, pg. 9, para. 7, ln. 1-2, "the controller 20 and the driver 30 simultaneously drive each cell 10B line-sequentially while shooting the display panel 10…"). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Sugiyama with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to acquire a video signal from a plurality of display units, divide the signal into a plurality of second signals, output a signal and the plurality of second signals to indicate a refresh rate.
Regarding Claim 15, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Sugiyama teaches the display further includes a plurality of pixels of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged in a matrix, and the plurality of pixels includes the pixel of the display (Sugiyama, pg. 2, para 8, ln. 1-2, "The display panel 10 has a plurality of pixels 11 arranged in a matrix over the entire pixel area of the display panel 10."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Sugiyama with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to arrange a plurality of LEDs in a matrix and include the pixel of the display.
Regarding Claim 16, , Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Sugiyama teaches the imaging device is further configured to image based on a rolling shutter system (Sugiyama, Fig. 6-8, pg. 6, para. 4, ln. 1, "…the exposure of the camera is a rolling shutter system."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Sugiyama with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to use a rolling shutter system.
Claims 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Sugiyama and Von Braun (WO 2020053416 A1, hereinafter, "Von Braun").
Regarding Claim 6, Jing and Sugiyama teach the limitations of dependent Claim 5 as noted above. Von Braun teaches the circuitry is on a first device, the input unit, the division unit, and the output unit are on a second device different from the first device, and the circuitry is further configured to output the first control signal to the second device to drive the pixel of the display (Von Braun, Fig. 4, ln. 22-24, "Fig. 4 shows an alternative embodiment for implementing the method of the present invention where a dedicated processing unit 56 having a housing 57 is used to receive the master-clock signal via line 50 and the camera-actuation signal via line 52 from a dedicated remote control 51."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Von Braun with those of Jing and Sugiyama because it is well known in the art to put control signal circuitry on one device and the input unit, division unit, and output unit on a second device.
Regarding Claim 7, Jing and Sugiyama teach the limitations of dependent Claim 5 as noted above. Von Braun teaches the circuitry, the input unit, the division unit, and the output unit are on a same device, and the circuitry is further configured to output the first control signal to the each display unit to drive the pixel of the display (Von Braun, Fig. 5, pg. 10, para. 4, ln. 32-35, "Fig. 5 schematically describes a further embodiment of the present invention where the internal camera actuator 61 is used to trigger the camera-actuation signal. Accordingly, the input unit 53 of digital photography camera P has only to be adapted to receive the master-clock signal M via line 50 at input 60."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Von Braun with those of Jing and Sugiyama because it is well known in the art to put control signal circuitry, the input unit, division unit, and output unit all on the same device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Zhang (US 20190005862 A1, hereinafter, "Zhang").
Regarding Claim 8, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Zhang teaches the pixel of the display is configured to be driven based on the determined refresh rate (Zhang, [0028], ln. 1-3, "an output module, configured to output a first control signal with a frequency being the target frame rate to a gate driving circuit, to cause the gate driving circuit to scan pixel units of the display panel according to the target frame rate."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to drive pixels based on a determined refresh rate.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Sugiyama and Kim et al (US 20150312461 A1, hereinafter, "Kim").
Regarding Claim 9, Jing teaches the limitations of Claim 2 as noted above. Sugiyama teaches the imaging device that includes a pixel configured to accumulate electric charge corresponding to incident light (Sugiyama, Fig. 2, pg. 2, last paragraph, ln. 1, "FIG. 2 shows an example of the circuit configuration of each pixel 11. "). Sugiyama does not teach the circuitry is further configured to: set the exposure time of the imaging device such that the light emission cycle of the display corresponds to the exposure time of the imaging device; generate, based on the set exposure time, a second control signal to drive the pixel of the imaging device, and output the second control signal to the imaging device to drive the pixel of the imaging device. However, Jing teaches the circuitry is further configured to: set the exposure time of the imaging device such that the light emission cycle of the display corresponds to the exposure time of the imaging device (Jing, Step S2, [0038], ln. 1, "In step S2, the exposure time is determined as N times the refresh time."). Kim teaches generate, based on the set exposure time, a second control signal to drive the pixel of the imaging device, and output the second control signal to the imaging device to drive the pixel of the imaging device (Kim, Fig. 13, [0179], ln. 2-8, "…a second control signal TA2 may control a transfer gate TXa2 connected to the photoelectric conversion element GrPD2…control signals TA1 to TA4 output from the exposure time control circuit, e.g., the row driver 520 of FIG. 13, may independently control exposure time of each of two photoelectric conversion elements included in each of the pixels disposed in a first row."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Sugiyama, Jing, and Kim with those of Sugiyama because it is well known in the art to configure a pixel to accumulate an electric charge corresponding to incident light, configure circuitry to set the exposure time of a camera such that the light emission cycle of a display corresponds to the exposure time of the camera, and generate and output a second control signal to the camera based on the exposure time.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Sugiyama, Kim, and Zhang.
Regarding Claim 10, Sugiyama, Jing, and Kim teach the limitations of dependent Claim 9 as noted above. Zhang teaches an acquisition unit configured to acquire the refresh rate of the display (Zhang, [0030] ln. 1, "…an adjusting submodule, configured to acquire a preset pixel refresh rate Fc." Examiner's note: neither the spec nor the drawings denote a "second" acquisition unit of any kind, so the prior art reference does not either.). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with those of Sugiyama, Jing, and Kim because it is well known in the art to use an acquisition unit to acquire a display refresh rate.
Regarding Claim 11, Sugiyama, Jing, and Kim teach the limitations of dependent Claim 9 as noted above. Zhang teaches the circuitry and the imaging device are on a same device (Zhang, Fig. 4A, [0116], ln. 1-4, "In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the acquiring module, the determining module, the adjusting module (including the acquiring submodule, the calculating submodule and the adjusting submodule) and/or the output module include codes and programs stored in the memory; and the processor may execute the codes and programs to achieve some or all functions as mentioned above."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with those of Sugiyama, Jing, and Kim because it is well known in the art to put circuitry and a camera on a same device.
Regarding Claim 12, Sugiyama, Jing, and Kim teach the limitations of dependent Claim 9 as noted above. Zhang teaches the circuitry and the imaging device are on different devices (Zhang, Fig. 4A, [0117], ln. 1-4, "In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the acquiring module, the determining module, the adjusting module (including the acquiring submodule, the calculating submodule and the adjusting submodule) and/or the output module may be specialized hardware devices and are used for implementing some or all functions as mentioned above."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with those of Sugiyama, Jing, and Kim because it is well known in the art to put circuitry and a camera on different devices.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Von Braun.
Regarding Claim 13, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Von Braun teaches an exposure start time of the imaging device is synchronized with a display start time of the display (Von Braun, pg. 2, para. 5, ln. 20-22, "A camera is used to record a scene of the event including the physical display such as a signboard and a control system is used to synchronize the camera and the signboard."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Von Braun with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to synchronize start times of camera exposure and display with one another.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Sugiyama and Onuma (US 20200412898 A1, hereinafter, "Onuma").
Regarding Claim 14, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Sugiyama teaches the display is configured to emit light by a passive matrix drive system (Sugiyama, pg. 2, para 8, ln. 1-2, "The display panel 10 has a plurality of pixels 11 arranged in a matrix over the entire pixel area of the display panel 10."). Sugiyama does not teach a passive matrix. However, Onuma teaches a passive matrix (Onuma, [0020], ln. 4-5 , "The display device 20 of the present embodiment is an organic electro-luminescence (EL) display device in which a passive matrix driving system is employed."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Sugiyama and Onuma with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to configure a display to emit light by a passive matrix drive system and use a passive matrix.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing in view of Kim.
Regarding Claim 20, Jing teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 18 as noted above. Jing teaches setting the exposure time of the imaging device such that the light emission cycle of the display corresponds to the exposure time of the imaging device (Jing, Step S3, [0039], "In step S3, the exposure time is sent to the camera of the compensation device, such that the camera may shoot the to-be-compensated screen based on the exposure time."). Jing does not teach generating, based on the set exposure time, a second control signal for driving a pixel of the imaging device, and outputting the second control signal. However, Kim teaches generating, based on the set exposure time, a second control signal for driving a pixel of the imaging device, and outputting the second control signal (Kim, Fig. 13, [0179], ln. 2-8, "…a second control signal TA2 may control a transfer gate TXa2 connected to the photoelectric conversion element GrPD2…control signals TA1 to TA4 output from the exposure time control circuit, e.g., the row driver 520 of FIG. 13, may independently control exposure time of each of two photoelectric conversion elements included in each of the pixels disposed in a first row."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jing and Kim with those of Jing because it is well known in the art to set camera exposure time to correspond with the light emission cycle and, based on exposure time, generate and output a second control signal for driving a pixel of the camera.
Conclusion
/STEVEN DANIEL BARRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638