DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 03/07/2024. Claim(s) 1–12 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 3, “zone adjoining the second zone” appears to be a typographical mistake. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a device for generating energy” in claim 8, which has been interpreted to mean “photovoltaic system, wind power system, or a heat pump”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4, 7, & 9–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,659,975 to Bahner et al.
With regard to claims 1 & 9, Bahner discloses a dryer and its associated method of use for drying boards to be conveyed through the dryer in a plurality of sections (2, 3, 4, 5) extending one behind the other in the longitudinal direction and each having a plurality of levels (Fig. 1A; Col. 4, lines 61–65; Col. 7, lines 25–37), using a heating medium (11) at a temperature below 130° C. (Col. 9, lines 41–44; Col. 10, lines 39–47), wherein the boards are dried during the drying process in a first zone (3) in the longitudinal direction and in the conveying direction (1) of the boards with warm air flowing between the levels (Col. 9, line 61 – Col. 10, line 4), the boards can be heated to a temperature below 130° C. in a first zone (3) in the longitudinal direction and in the conveying direction (1) of the boards with warm air generated by a first heater in a section or in a first plurality of sections (2, 3, 4, 5) (Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 9; Col. 9, line 61 – Col. 10, line 4; ), and in that the air can be led out of the dryer through at least one first heat exchanger (18, 27) counter to the conveying direction (1) after the moisture has been absorbed from the boards (Col. 6, lines 18–20, 53–58).
With regard to claim 2, Bahner further discloses the at least first heat exchanger is formed by a first tube bundle in which moisture from the warm air, which has absorbed moisture from the boards as it flows through, can be condensed (Col. 4, line 66 – Col. 5, line 11; Col. 8, lines 29–47).
With regard to claims 3 & 10, Bahner further discloses the boards can be heated by a second heater in a second zone (4) which extends longitudinally after the first zone (3) and also comprises a single section or a second plurality of sections (Col. 3, lines 23–25; Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 9).
With regard to claim 4, Bahner further discloses the warm dryer air, after it has absorbed moisture from the boards in the first zone (3), can be deflected in the second zone (4) and can be led out of the dryer through the first heat exchanger (18, 27) (Col. 2, lines 59–61; Col. 6, lines 33–35).
With regard to claim 7, Bahner further discloses the dryer can be used as a low-temperature dryer at temperatures below 100° C (Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 6, line 9; Col. 9, line 61 – Col. 10, line 4; “approximately 100° C” includes temperatures below 100° C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5–6, 8, & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahner.
With regard to claims 5 & 11, Bahner further discloses during the drying process in a third zone (5) adjoining the second zone (4), and comprising a single section or a plurality of sections can be heated in the longitudinal direction by a third heater (11) with warm air flowing between the shelves against the conveying direction of the boards in one section or a plurality of sections (Col. 5, line 66 – Col. 7, line 9).
Bahner fails to disclose that the warm air can be led out of the dryer in the transport direction through at least one second heat exchanger after the absorption of moisture from the boards. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a second heat exchanger to recover additional heat, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
With regard to claim 6, Bahner, as modified in claim 5 above, further discloses the at least second heat exchanger is formed by a second tube bundle, in which moisture from the warm air, which has absorbed moisture from the boards when flowing through the third zone (5), can be condensed (Col. 4, line 66 – Col. 5, line 11; Col. 8, lines 29–47).
With regard to claim 8, Bahner fails to disclose a device for generating energy, the energy of which can be used to drive the boards to be dried through the dryer and/or to operate the fans and/or to heat the boards by heating means. Alternative energy generation sources, such as solar panels, wind farms, geothermal, etc. are old and well-known in the art for supplying power to apparatuses. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the dryer of Bahner with clean energy sources known in the art because such a combination would have had the added benefit of providing clean, reliable energy to power the apparatus.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahner in view of US 2003/0172547 to Shepard, II.
Bahner fails to explicitly disclose the warm air is passed through the dryer in a vortex shape by fans. Shepard, II teaches the use of a vortex blower, which would cause the warm air of the dryer of Bahner to take the shape of a vortex (¶ 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the dryer of Bahner with the vortex blower of Shepard, II because such a combination would have had the added benefit of increasing turbulence in the drying air, which would speed up the drying process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
June 29, 2026