DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 09/14/2026 responsive to the Office Action filed 04/13/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 14, 18 and 27 have been amended. Claim 17 has been canceled. Claims 36, 37 and 41-48 maintain withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15, 18, 19, 22, 27, 32, 36-37 and 41-48 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 and 14 have been amended to address the indefiniteness, thus the rejection of 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15, 17-19, 22, 27 and 32 under 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/14/2026 in pages 6-9 with respect to the rejection of claim 1 (including the limitation of the canceled claim 17) under 103 has been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “The ability to produce a molded ceramic composite material having such fine features is a surprising and unexpected outcome of the present invention. Contrary to the conclusory statement in the rejection, suggesting that it would have been obvious based on the cited references to mold such structures, Yu produced only a case for a mobile device which does not require the kind of fine features presently recited in claim 1.” (page 9)
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
Yu teaches a method for making a housing for a mobile communication device, and as an example thereof, Yu discloses preparation of a ceramic cellphone housing in the same field of endeavor (Pa [0002]-[0003]). Even though Yu generally mentions a housing for a mobile communication device in the embodiment, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that Yu’s method is capable of making a ceramic cellphone housing. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the cellphone has small protrusion features such as side buttons, thus one would have appreciated that Yu’s method is capable of making a ceramic cellphone housing having small protrusion features. Therefore, one would have found it obvious to form the predesigned mold having a negative surface and a positive surface having small features in order to manufacture a desired housing for a mobile communication device such as a cellphone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 10, 14, 15, 18 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2018/0370858) in view of Shores et al. (US 2020/0050119) and Zhang et al. (US 2018/0249593) (All of record).
With respect to claims 1 and 18, Yu teaches a process for manufacturing a molded ceramic composite material (“a method for making a housing for a communication device”, Pa [0024]), the process comprising:
(a) providing a preform having a first configuration and having two opposed surfaces, the preform comprising a ceramic composite material, the material comprising ceramic particles within a ceramic matrix (“making a flat sample from a zirconia ceramic material”, Pa [0026]; “the zirconia ceramic powder is added with a powder selected from a group consisting of yttrium oxide powder, titanium oxide powder, silicon oxide powder, and combinations thereof; the solvent is alcohol or toluene; the binder is B98, B76 or B79.”, Pa [0029]-[0036]);
(b) thermoforming the preform (“performing hot bending”, Pa [0027]), comprising the steps of:
(i) heating the preform in a mold to a temperature greater than a melting or softening temperature of the ceramic matrix and less than a melting or degradation temperature of the ceramic particles (“the hot bending is performed at a temperature in a range of 700-1000° C. for 0-5 min, preferably, under a pressure in a range of 0-1000N, such that a more compact ceramic structure can be obtained.”, Pa [0028]), and
(ii) applying a load to the mold, whereby the first configuration of the preform within the mold is converted to a second configuration to form the molded ceramic composite material (“performing hot bending under pressure when increasing or decreasing the temperature, so as to obtain a housing for a mobile communication device having a same profile as a profile of a mold cavity of the mold under comprehensive action of the temperature and pressure”, Pa [0027]).
Even though Yu does not explicitly teaches (c) cooling the molded ceramic composite material in the mold; and (d) removing the molded ceramic composite material from the mold, one would have found it obvious to perform these claimed steps in order to obtain the final product.
Yu further teaches in thermoforming step (b), placing the flat sample in a predesigned mold for a housing for a mobile communication device, performing hot bending under pressure when increasing or decreasing the temperature, so as to obtain a housing for a mobile communication device having a same profile as a profile of a mold cavity of the mold under comprehensive action of the temperature and pressure (Pa [0027]), but does not explicitly teaches that the mold comprises a negative surface and a positive surface, and each surface includes at least one surface feature having a feature size of about 1 mm or less in any dimension/ said feature size is about 200 μm or less in any dimension. However, one would have found it obvious to form the predesigned mold having a negative surface and a positive surface in order to manufacture a desired housing for a mobile communication device such as a cellphone.
Yu further teaches that at present, the maturely applied metal housing and nano-molding process cannot satisfy the needs for 5g signal, and a glass has a good transmittance for signals but low strength, and thus easily breaks when falling off and the ceramics have become the most promising housing material of the next generation (Pa [0002]), namely, Yu discloses a good transmittance for signals and good strength for the housing for a mobile communication device, but does not explicitly teach that the ceramic particles have a platelet configuration disposed in a parallel alignment transverse to a thickness direction extending between the two opposed surfaces of the first configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, fabricating three-dimensional objects out of a variety of materials, including polymers, metals and ceramics (Pa [0003]), Shores teaches that various physical properties of the composite material can be improved or manipulated via the alignment of anisotropic inclusions (e.g., fibers or other particles), thus creating a desired property that is unique from the surrounding matrix, in one embodiment, to improve structural characteristics of parts experiencing high mechanical loads, an inclusion with high tensile strength and stiffness can be aligned in the direction of principal stress (Pa [0006] and [0029]). Shores further teaches that an anisotropic inclusion alignment apparatus 330 includes any device, or component of a device, which actively or passively aligns anisotropic inclusions within a fluid, molten plastic, or powder matrix, including devices using electric fields, magnetic fields, ultrasound, vibration, and/or shearing to align the anisotropic inclusions (Pa [0038]), and the anisotropic inclusions are aligned with their long axis tangent to the curve of the tube, i.e., theta (in-plane) alignment (Pa [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yu with the teachings of Shores to align the inclusions with their long axis with in-plane alignment in order to improve structural characteristics of parts experiencing high mechanical loads.
Shores teaches that anisotropic inclusions are such as fibers or other particles (Pa [0006]), but is silent to a platelet configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, methods for the manufacture of thermal interfaces suitable for use in electronic devices, Zhang teaches aligning coated magnetic, thermally conductive particles in composites using both magnetic and vibrational means (Pa [0022]), and that the particles can be flakes, platelets, sheets (e.g., nanosheets), fibrous, rods, whiskers, tubes, or irregular in shape (Pa [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yu in view of Shores with the teachings of Zhang to provide the ceramic powder in the form of platelet in order to align the platelets with their long axis with in-plane alignment in order to improve structural characteristics of parts experiencing high mechanical loads, since it has been held that Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
With respect to claim 2, Yu as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that the step of providing the preform comprises (“step S1 includes”, Pa [0029]):
(a-1) providing a slurry comprising a plurality of the ceramic particles in a polymeric binder (“step S11, slurry mixing: mixing a zirconia ceramic powder, a solvent, and a binder to form a mixed slurry”, Pa [0030]);
(a-3) forming the slurry in a layer on a stage or in a preform mold, wherein the ceramic particles become aligned in the parallel alignment (“tape-casting the mixed slurry to obtain a monolayer base membrane band with a thickness of 0-1 mm, then making a plurality of laminated membrane bands with different thicknesses on the base membrane band by lamination”, Pa [0032]); and
(a-4) consolidating the polymeric binder to form a solid green body comprising the ceramic particles maintained in the parallel alignment (“isostatic pressing, and then cutting the membrane bands to form a plurality of laminated bodies with certain sizes”, Pa [0032]).
(a-5) debinding the solid green body at a first temperature at which the polymeric binder decomposes, leaving a ceramic body comprising the ceramic matrix and the ceramic particles (“step S131, debinding at a temperature in a range of 300-600° C. for 20-50 h”, Pa [0034]); and
(a-6) sintering the ceramic body at a second temperature greater than the first temperature, whereby the ceramic particles remain in the parallel alignment in the ceramic matrix (“step S132, sintering at a temperature in a range of 1200-1500° C. for 0-5 h with a heating rate of 0-5° C./min”, Pa [0035]).
Shores as applied in the combination regarding claim 1 above further teaches (a-2) vibrating the slurry to provide a suspension in which the slurry fluidizes (“an anisotropic inclusion alignment apparatus 330 includes any device, or component of a device, which actively or passively aligns anisotropic inclusions within a fluid, molten plastic, or powder matrix, including devices using …ultrasound, vibration… to align the anisotropic inclusions (Pa [0038]).
With respect to claim 6, Yu as applied to claim 2 above further teaches that the polymeric binder is a polymerizable resin, and wherein the polymerizable resin comprises thermoplastic polymer (“the binder is PVB1 or PVB2”, Pa [0016]; “the binder is B98, B76 or B79”, Pa [0031]).
With respect to claim 8, Yu as applied to claim 2 teaches that the zirconia ceramic powder is added with a powder selected from a group consisting of yttrium oxide powder, titanium oxide powder, silicon oxide powder, and combinations thereof; the solvent is alcohol or toluene; the binder is B98, B76 or B79 (Pa [0031]), but does not explicitly teach that the polymeric binder is an oxygen-donating material and wherein, in the consolidating step of (a-4), the polymeric binder donates oxygen for seeding an oxidation process at the ceramic particles.
Zhang as applied in the combination regarding claim 2 above further teaches that the flowable composition can comprise a thermoplastic polymer, and examples of thermoplastic polymers that can be used include poly(C1-6 alkyl)acrylates and poly(C1-6 alkyl)methacrylates (Pa [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yu with the teachings of Zhang to substitute poly(C1-6 alkyl)acrylates or poly(C1-6 alkyl)methacrylates for Yu’s binder for the purpose of forming the ceramic composite part, since it has been held that where the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)). In this modification, poly(C1-6 alkyl)acrylates or poly(C1-6 alkyl)methacrylates are oxygen-donating materials such that in the consolidating step of (a-4), the polymeric binder donates oxygen for seeding an oxidation process at the ceramic particles.
With respect to claim 10, Shores as applied in the combination regarding claim 2 above further teaches that the step (a-2) of vibrating the slurry occurs before the step of forming the slurry in the layer, during the step (a-3) of forming the slurry in the layer, after the step (a-3) of forming the slurry in the layer, or a combination thereof (“The print files or individual print instructions are then sent to a 3D printer control board 325, which interacts with the printer components, including an anisotropic inclusion alignment apparatus 330. This includes any device, or component of a device, which actively or passively aligns anisotropic inclusions within a fluid, molten plastic, or powder matrix, including devices using electric fields, magnetic fields, ultrasound, vibration, and/or shearing to align the anisotropic inclusions. Additional printer components may include motors, control apparatus for temperature 335 and material handling, and an apparatus 340 to consolidate the matrix material through polymerization, sintering, or other method.”, Pa [0038]).
With respect to claim 14, Yu as applied to claim 1 further teaches that in thermoforming step (b), the preform is heated to a temperature from about 400° C. to about 1000° C. (“the hot bending is performed at a temperature in a range of 700-1000° C.”, Pa [0028]).
With respect to claim 15, Yu as applied to claim 1 further teaches that in step (b) (ii) of applying the load, the load stress ranges from about 50 kPa to about to 100 MPa, or from about 500 kPa to 5 MPa. (“the hot bending is performed …under a pressure in a range of 0-1000N, such that a more compact ceramic structure can be obtained.”, Pa [0028]). In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
With respect to claim 22, Yu as applied to claim 1 further teaches that the zirconia ceramic powder is added with a powder selected from a group consisting of yttrium oxide powder, titanium oxide powder, silicon oxide powder, and combinations thereof; the solvent is alcohol or toluene; the binder is B98, B76 or B79 (Pa [0031]), but does not explicitly teach that the ceramic matrix comprises boron oxide, silicon dioxide, glass flake, silver coated glass flake, a lithium oxide-silica mixture, a magnesium oxide-silica mixture, or a combination thereof.
Zhang as applied in the combination regarding claim 1 above further teaches that the flowable composition can comprise a thermoplastic polymer, and examples of thermoplastic polymers that can be used include poly(C1-6 alkyl)acrylates and poly(C1-6 alkyl)methacrylates (Pa [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yu with the teachings of Zhang to substitute poly(C1-6 alkyl)acrylates or poly(C1-6 alkyl)methacrylates for Yu’s binder for the purpose of forming the ceramic composite part, since it has been held that where the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)). In this modification, poly(C1-6 alkyl)acrylates or poly(C1-6 alkyl)methacrylates are oxygen-donating materials such that silicon oxide powder turns to silicon dioxide by an oxidation process.
With respect to claim 32, Yu as applied to claim 1 further teaches that the molded ceramic composite material is configured as an encapsulant (“a housing for a communication device”, Pa [0024]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2018/0370858) in view of Shores et al. (US 2020/0050119) and Zhang et al. (US 2018/0249593) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rapidmade (“Thermoforming and Vacuum Forming Design for Manufacturing”, accepted on 08012020) (All of record).
With respect to claim 19, Yu as applied to claim 1 teaches thermoforming step (b) (“hot bending”) under pressure and temperature (Pa [0028]), but does not explicitly teach that the mold has a maximum draw ratio of feature height to feature width of about 1 to 1.
Rapidmade relates to thermoforming design for manufacturing and further teaches that when designing a part to be thermoformed, draw ratio, or the proportion of depth to the width of the part, is one of the most important considerations, the depth of any cavity cannot exceed a 4:3 ratio of depth to width, and for optimal results, we recommend keeping as close to a 1:1 ratio as possible (page 2, Draw Ratio).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yu with the teachings of Rapidmade to design the mold with the draw ratio of 1:1 for the purpose of optimal results of thermoforming.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2018/0370858) in view of Shores et al. (US 2020/0050119) and Zhang et al. (US 2018/0249593) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie et al. (US 2015/0232390) (All of record).
With respect to claim 27, Yu as applied to claim 1 further teaches placing the flat sample in a predesigned mold for a housing for a mobile communication device, performing hot bending under pressure when increasing or decreasing the temperature, so as to obtain a housing for a mobile communication device having a same profile as a profile of a mold cavity of the mold under comprehensive action of the temperature and pressure (Pa [0027]), but does not explicitly teaches that the molded ceramic composite material has a thickness from about 0.05 mm to about 10 mm, or from about 0.1 mm to about 3 mm.
In the same field of endeavor, a method for making a thin ceramic part for the exterior of a portable device, Xie teaches that the thin ceramic exterior part can have a thickness of about 0.6 mm to about 1.5 mm (Pa [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yu with the teachings of Xie to design the molded ceramic part with the thickness taught by Xie in order to make the thin ceramic part for the exterior of a portable device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742