DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 6, 15-17, 23, 24 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to the claim(s), the prior art of record fails to disclose singly or in combination or render obvious all the limitations of the claim(s).
The closest prior art relating to Applicant' s claimed invention is:
US 20220141779 A1 Ren; Yuwei et al.
US 20050276313 A1 Horneman, Kari et al.
US 20200275458 A1 Khoryaev; Alexey et al.
Ren discloses that a user equipment may determine an automatic gain control parameter, for a group of downlink symbols associated with a base station, based at least in part on an automatic gain control resource included in the group of downlink symbols. The user equipment may perform, based at least in part on the automatic gain control parameter, automatic gain control for one or more data symbols included in the group of downlink symbols. Numerous other aspects are provided.
Horneman discloses that a receiver of a communication system includes means for receiving repetition-coded data. The receiver also includes means for generating symbol information from the received repetition-coded data. The receiver also includes means for storing symbol information over a predetermined period and means for making tentative symbol decisions by combining the stored symbol information.
Khoryaev discloses that a UE may select, from a plurality of short transmission time intervals (TTIs), a short TTI for a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) sidelink transmission by the UE. The short TTIs may occur within a legacy TTI. The short TTIs may be allocated for V2V sidelink transmissions by non-legacy UEs. The legacy TTI may be allocated for V2V sidelink transmissions by legacy UEs. The UE may transmit, in accordance with the legacy TTI, a legacy physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) to indicate, to legacy UEs, the V2V sidelink transmission by the UE. The UE may transmit, in accordance with the selected short TTI, a short PSCCH (sPSCCH) to indicate, to non-legacy UEs, the V2V sidelink transmission by the UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 25, 27, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220141779 A1 to Ren; Yuwei et al.
Re: Claim(s) 1, 25, 29, 30
Ren discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fig. 2 – 120 comprises 280 and 282):
receive an indication of a quantity of a first set of symbols for a slot (Figs. 4 and 5A and [0080-0084] - As shown in FIG. 5A, and by reference number 502, BS 110 may communicate with UE 120 by transmitting a group of downlink symbols to UE 120. The group of downlink symbols may be included in a full-duplex resource or a non-full-duplex resource associated with BS 110. The group of downlink symbols may include an AGC resource and one or more data symbols. The AGC resource may include a reference signal (e.g., an AGC reference signal (AGC-RS) and/or another type of reference signal), a repetitive data transmission of data that is transmitted in the one or more data symbols, and/or the like … In some aspects, BS 110 may indicate a configuration of the AGC resource to UE 120 … the configuration of the AGC resource may indicate whether a particular group of downlink symbols includes an AGC resource and/or one or more parameters for the AGC resource in the group of downlink symbols … The one or more parameters for the AGC resource may include a subcarrier spacing of the AGC resource (e.g., the subcarrier spacing of the AGC resource may be the same or different from the subcarrier spacing of the one or more data symbols), a transmit power of the AGC resource (e.g., the transmit power of the AGC resource may be the same or different from the transmit power of the one or more data symbols), a location of the AGC resource in the group of downlink symbols (e.g., an indication of the symbols that include the AGC resource), a length of the AGC resource (e.g., a quantity of symbols included in the AGC resource), a type of the AGC resource (e.g., whether the AGC resource includes an AGC-RS or a repetitive data transmission), a quasi-co-location (QCL) of the AGC resource (e.g., an indication of whether the AGC resource is QCL'ed with the one or more data symbols), and/or the like.);
and receive data in the first set of symbols and a second set of symbols in the slot, wherein the first set of symbols repeat data included in one or more symbols of the second set of symbols (Fig. 5C and [0081], [0092-0093] - As shown in Example 3 illustrated in FIG. 5C, the AGC resource may include a plurality of AGC symbols (e.g., full AGC symbols, less than full AGC symbols, and/or the like) in which repetitive data for a data symbol is transmitted (e.g., a full data symbol or a less than full data symbol). The plurality of AGC symbols may be located at the beginning of the group of downlink symbols (e.g., may be the first symbols in the group of downlink symbols) or another location in the group of downlink symbols. The plurality of full AGC symbols may be contiguous symbols or non-contiguous symbols. The plurality of AGC symbols may be adjacent to the data symbol associated with the repetitive data transmission. That is, the data that is to be transmitted in the plurality of AGC symbols may be a repetition of the data that is to be transmitted in the data symbol adjacent to the plurality of AGC symbols).
Ren further discloses:
a method corresponding to the UE of claim 1 (Figs. 5A-5D), as required by claim 25; and
non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 2 – 282), as required by claim 29.
Re: Claim(s) 5
Ren discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: perform automatic gain control using at least a portion of the first set of symbols (Examples 3-4 of Fig. 5C as well as [0092]-[0093]; the first set of symbols correspond to the symbols associated with the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, which is devoted for performing AGC).
Re: Claim(s) 7
Ren discloses wherein the first set of symbols includes the quantity, indicated by the indication, of first occurring symbols in the slot (Example 4 in fig. 5C as well as [0092]-[0093]; the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, includes the indicated quantity of two symbols, which correspond a) to the first two occurring symbols in the group of DL symbols, i.e., in the slot, shown in Example 4 of fig. 5C and b) to the two first occurring
symbols in the plurality of data symbols, i.e., the second set of symbols, shown in Example 4 of fig. 5C).
Re: Claim(s) 8
Ren discloses wherein the one or more symbols of the second set of symbols includes the quantity, indicated by the indication, of first occurring symbols in the second set of symbols in the slot (Example 4 in fig. 5C as well as [0092]-[0093]; the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, includes the indicated quantity of two symbols, which correspond a) to the first two occurring symbols in the group of DL symbols, i.e., in the slot, shown in Example 4 of fig. 5C and b) to the two first occurring
symbols in the plurality of data symbols, i.e., the second set of symbols, shown in Example 4 of fig. 5C).
Re: Claim(s) 9
Ren discloses wherein the indication indicates a repetition pattern for the first set of symbols in the slot (Example 4 in fig. 5C as well as [0082], [0084], [0093]). The indication of the repetition pattern corresponds to the signalling provided in the method of D1 in order to indicate the number of symbols in the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, and the repetition of data symbols, i.e., of symbols belonging to second set of symbols, in the AGC resource. This is the case since, for the setting shown in Example 4 of fig. 5C, the aforementioned signalling of the AGC resource allows to determine which data symbols, i.e., which symbols in the second set of symbols, are repeated in the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols).
Re: Claim(s) 10
Ren discloses wherein the repetition pattern indicates the one or more symbols in the second set of symbols for which the data is repeated in the first set of symbols (Example 4 in fig. 5C as well as [0082], [0084], [0093]). The indication of the repetition pattern corresponds to the signalling provided in the method of D1 in order to indicate the number of symbols in the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, and the repetition of data symbols, i.e., of symbols belonging to second set of symbols, in the AGC resource. This is the case since, for the setting shown in Example 4 of fig. 5C, the aforementioned signalling of the AGC resource allows to determine which data symbols, i.e., which symbols in the second set of symbols, are repeated in the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols).
Re: Claim(s) 12, 27
Ren discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the data, are configured to: receive, from a base station, a downlink communication, wherein the first set of symbols includes a first set of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) symbols in the slot, and wherein the second set of symbols includes a second set of PDSCH symbols in the slot (Figs. 4, 5A and 5C as well as [0064], [0080]-[0081] and [0092]-[0093]; the symbols of the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, correspond to repetitions of some of the plurality of data symbols, i.e., the second set of symbols, in the group of DL symbols, i.e., the slot, wherein the plurality of data symbols correspond to PDSCH symbols since they are sent from the BS in the DL).
Re: Claim(s) 13
Ren discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the quantity of the first set of symbols for the slot, are configured to :receive, from the base station, the indication of the quantity of the first set of symbols for the slot (Figs. 4 and 5A as well as [0080]-[0084]; the indication corresponds to the MAC-CE, RRC or DCI configuration message associated with the AGC resource, i.e. a first set of symbols, which includes parameters such as the quantity of symbols of the AGC resource in a group of DL symbols, i.e., a slot as the one shown in Fig. 4).
Re: Claim(s) 14
Ren discloses wherein the indication is included in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (DCI) (Figs. 4 and 5A as well as [0080]-[0084]; the indication corresponds to the MAC-CE, RRC or DCI configuration message associated with the AGC resource, i.e. a first set of symbols, which includes parameters such as the quantity of symbols of the AGC resource in a group of DL symbols, i.e., a slot as the one shown in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 11, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20050276313 A1 to Horneman, Kari et al.
Re: Claim(s) 2, 26
Ren discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren does/do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: perform radio frequency energy harvesting using the first set of symbols.
However, attention is directed to Horneman which discloses said limitation ([0010]-[0011] - receive repetition-coded data; generate symbol information from the received repetition-coded data; store symbol information over a predetermined period and to make tentative symbol decisions by combining the stored symbol information. The invention provides several advantages. In an embodiment of the invention symbol information is stored over a predetermined period (over a transmission time interval, for instance) which enables gathering signal energy of also in repetition coding repeated symbols. The quality of tentative decisions is improved because a greater amount of the energy of the transmitted signal can be collected and used in the decision-making. Additionally, remarkable savings in time-delay can be achieved. The Examiner notes that in other words, a symbol in the second set of symbols, is improved by gathering energy signal via the combination of one or more repetitions of said data symbol such as the AGC symbols which correspond to the first set of symbols).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Ren invention by employing the teaching as taught by Horneman to provide the ability for the repeated symbols to be used for gathering energy signal, i.e., for performing RF energy harvesting The motivation for the combination is given by Horneman ([0011]).
Re: Claim(s) 3, 26
Ren discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren does/do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: perform combined decoding of the one or more symbols of the second set of symbols and the first set of symbols.
However, attention is directed to Horneman which discloses said limitation ([0010]-[0011] - receive repetition-coded data; generate symbol information from the received repetition-coded data; store symbol information over a predetermined period and to make tentative symbol decisions by combining the stored symbol information. The invention provides several advantages. In an embodiment of the invention symbol information is stored over a predetermined period (over a transmission time interval, for instance) which enables gathering signal energy of also in repetition coding repeated symbols. The quality of tentative decisions is improved because a greater amount of the energy of the transmitted signal can be collected and used in the decision-making. Additionally, remarkable savings in time-delay can be achieved. The Examiner notes that in other words, a symbol in the second set of symbols, is improved by gathering energy signal via the combination of one or more repetitions of said data symbol such as the AGC symbols which correspond to the first set of symbols).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Ren invention by employing the teaching as taught by Horneman to provide the ability for the repeated symbols to be used for gathering energy signal, i.e., for performing RF energy harvesting The motivation for the combination is given by Horneman ([0011]).
Re: Claim(s) 11
Ren discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren does/do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: perform rate-matching for decoding across the second set of symbols.
However, attention is directed to Horneman which discloses said limitation (0032-0035 - Rate matching is used for matching the number of bits to be transmitted to the number of bits available in a single frame on a dedicated physical channel (DPCH) … By means of the rate-matching attribute and the transport format combination indicator (TCFI) the receiver can calculate the rate matching parameters used and perform an inverse operation (i.e. decode)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Ren invention by employing the teaching as taught by Horneman to provide the ability to decode via rate matching. The motivation for the combination is given by Horneman ([0011]).
Claim(s) 18-22, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20200275458 A1 to Khoryaev; Alexey et al.
Re: Claim(s) 18, 28
Ren discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren does/do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the data, are configured to: receive, from a transmitting UE, a sidelink communication, wherein the first set of symbols includes a first set of physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) symbols, and wherein the second set of symbols includes a second set of PSSCH symbols.
However, attention is directed to Khoryaev which discloses said limitation (Fig. 11 and [0159] - which disclose an application where the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, includes repetitions of a plurality of PSSCH symbols, i.e., a second set of symbols).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Ren invention by employing the teaching as taught by Khoryaev to provide the ability to transmit and receive the first and second set of symbols via PSCCH transmissions. The motivation for the combination is given by Khoryaev ([0003]).
Re: Claim(s) 19
Ren in view of Khoryaev discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the quantity of the first set of symbols for the slot, are configured to: receive, from the transmitting UE, the indication of the quantity of the first set of symbols for the slot (Figs. 4 and 5A as well as [0080]-[0084] – as analyzed in the rejection of claim 1).
Re: Claim(s) 20
Ren in view of Khoryaev discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren further discloses wherein the indication indicates a selection of a repetition pattern, from a plurality of configured repetition patterns, for the first set of symbols (Figs. 6A-6B as well as [0045], [0074], [0084] and [0098]-[00104]). The indication corresponds to the second communication of Fig. 6B, which is sent from a transmitter such as a UE in case the communication is performed from one UE to another UE as disclosed in [0045] and [0074] or a BS in case the communication is performed in the DL from a BS to a UE as disclosed in [0074]. As disclosed in Fig. 6B and [0101]-[0106], such a second communication occurs prior to the group of symbols, i.e., slot, for which the second communication selects one AGC parameter out of a plurality of AGC parameters pre-configured via a first communication as shown in Fig. 6A and [0098]-[0100]. Further, the aforementioned selection of an AGC parameter corresponds to the selection of repetition pattern since, as disclosed in [0084], the selected AGC parameter corresponds to information such as the location and quantity of the data symbols that are repeated in the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, of the first slot.).
Re: Claim(s) 21
Ren in view of Khoryaev discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren further discloses wherein the indication is included in at least one of a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) message, a PC5 medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC- CE), or sidelink control information (SCI) ([0082] - The configuration of the AGC resource may be indicated in a signaling communication, such as a radio resource control (RRC) communication, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communication, a downlink control information (DCI) communication, and/or the like.).
Re: Claim(s) 22
Ren in view of Khoryaev discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Ren further discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the quantity of the first set of symbols for the slot, are configured to: receive, from the transmitting UE, the indication of the quantity of the first set of symbols for the slot in another slot that is one or more slots prior to the slot (Figs. 6A-6B as well as [0045], [0074], [0084] and [0098]-[00104]). The indication corresponds to the second communication of Fig. 6B, which is sent from a transmitter such as a UE in case the communication is performed from one UE to another UE as disclosed in [0045] and [0074] or a BS in case the communication is performed in the DL from a BS to a UE as disclosed in [0074]. As disclosed in Fig. 6B and [0101]-[0106], such a second communication occurs prior to the group of symbols, i.e., slot, for which the second communication selects one AGC parameter out of a plurality of AGC parameters pre-configured via a first communication as shown in Fig. 6A and [0098]-[0100]. Further, the aforementioned selection of an AGC parameter corresponds to the selection of repetition pattern since, as disclosed in [0084], the selected AGC parameter corresponds to information such as the location and quantity of the data symbols that are repeated in the AGC resource, i.e., the first set of symbols, of the first slot.).
Conclusion
/KASHIF SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415