Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first condenser… adjacent to, the recuperator” which is considered new matter as it is not supported by the originally filed specification. The term adjacent can be understood to having two components being very near to each other or even touching, which the specification does not have support for the recuperator and the first condenser being as the only showing appears to be that they are in the same overall loop.
Claim 14 recites “reducing, using first expander, and a second expander, a pressure of the heat source stream” which is considered new matter as the specification does not have support of expanding the heat source stream, only the fluid in the first working fluid circuit.
Claim 15 recites “a first condenser… adjacent to, the recuperator” which is considered new matter as it is not supported by the originally filed specification. The term adjacent can be understood to having two components being very near to each other or even touching, which the specification does not have support for the recuperator and the first condenser being as the only showing appears to be that they are in the same overall loop.
Claims 3-11, 16-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claims 1, 3-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first condenser… adjacent to, the recuperator” which is indefinite the use of the term adjacent with respect to the . The term adjacent can be understood to having two components being very near to each other or even touching but it is unclear in view of the specification what is required for the two components to be adjacent. For the purpose of examination, as long as they are in the same loop they can be considered adjacent.
Claim 14 recites “reducing, using a first expander and a second expander, a pressure of the heat source stream, the first expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed in series between the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger, the second expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed in series between the second heat exchanger and the recuperator” which is considered indefinite. The limitation requires expanding the heat source stream but then places the respective expanders in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and describes them with respect to components of the first working fluid circuit which is unclear how this would be possible with the heat source stream. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the expansion is of the first mass flow and not the heat source stream.
Claim 15 recites “a first condenser… adjacent to, the recuperator” which is indefinite the use of the term adjacent with respect to the . The term adjacent can be understood to having two components being very near to each other or even touching but it is unclear in view of the specification what is required for the two components to be adjacent. For the purpose of examination, as long as they are in the same loop they can be considered adjacent.
Claim 19 recites “a thermoelectric generator” which is considered indefinite as it is unclear how it relates to the “at least one thermoelectric generator”. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted to be the same thermoelectric generator, and that it is specifically locating the thermoelectric generator in the claimed invention.
Claims 3-11, 16-18, 20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
compression device in claim 3, understood to be a device which compresses or pressurizes a fluid,
The claims repeatedly use the terms upstream and downstream. Although not explicitly stated, as effectively recited and disclosed the first working fluid circuit is a closed loop, which means that every component is both upstream of every other component and downstream of every other component, which is how the claims are construed. This is consistent with applicant specification, see page 8.
The claims use the term “in thermal communication with” to describe multiple components that the fluid of the circuits are passing through. This limitation is understood that as long as the respective fluids pass through those components the working fluid circuits which have those fluids can be considered to be in thermal communication with those components.
The use of “in series” in the claims is understood to be that fluid that flows between the items referred to in the limitations flows in series between these components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freund (US PG Pub 20120102996), hereinafter referred to as Freund and Yang (CN212691727), hereinafter referred to as Yang.
With respect to claim 1, Freund (Figure 1) teaches an apparatus, comprising: a first working fluid circuit comprising a first working fluid (first cycle loop 102 containing CO2, paragraph 30);
a first heat exchanger in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit, the heat exchanger configured to transfer thermal energy from a heat source stream to the first working fluid within the first working fluid circuit (WHR boiler 118 heats stream 116 to become 120 against heat source which enters WHR boiler at 117 and leaves at 119, paragraph 31, where the passageway for stream 116 through WHR boiler is the first heat exchanger);
a recuperator in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit (intermediate recuperator 114 is downstream of WHR boiler with respect to stream 120, paragraph 32);
a first expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of the first heat exchanger (expander 122, paragraph 31)
a first condenser in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of, and adjacent to, the recuperator (from the recuperator the stream eventually passes to condenser evaporator 136, paragraph 33, which as the two components are in the first loop with fluid passing from the condenser/evaporator to the recuperator, they can be considered adjacent);
a second working fluid circuit comprising a second working fluid (loop 104 which is an absorption chiller cycle which has refrigerant, paragraph 34), the second working fluid circuit in thermal communication with the first condenser (the refrigerant of the second loop cools the condenser, paragraph 34);
a second condenser in thermal communication with the second working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of the first condenser (condenser 150 is downstream of 136 with respect to the output of 136 140 where it cools the fluid in the absorption cycle, paragraph 37);
and a third working fluid circuit comprising a third working fluid, the third working fluid circuit in thermal communication with the second condenser (the second cycle receives water or ambient air as a coolant stream at 149 and it leaves at 151, paragraph 37, which is also a working fluid circuit).
a first expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of the first heat exchanger (expander 122, paragraph 31)
Freund does not teach a second heat exchanger in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit, the second heat exchanger configured to transfer thermal energy from the heat source stream to the first working fluid within the first working fluid circuit such that the first expander is disposed in series between the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger, with a second expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed in series between the second heat exchanger and the recuperator.
Yang teaches that after a stream is heated in a boiler (paragraph 44) it is expanded in an intermediate high pressure cylinder of a turbine being heated again in the boiler (a heat exchanger can be seen in the figure where the fluid line passes from 3 to 4 via 2) to increase the superheat and then the stream can be expanded again in an intermediate pressure cylinder of the turbine (paragraph 36).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided in Freund a configuration where after first passing through the WHR boiler the stream (120) is expanded in a low pressure cylinder of a turbine (the low pressure cylinder is a first expander) before then being passed back through a passageway in the WHR boiler (which would be a second heat exchanger where it would be heated again by the stream 120 to 119) before it is then expanded again in another cylinder of the turbine (which would be a second expander) and then passing it to the recuperator (as that is what is downstream of the heating and expansion steps in Freund) based on the teaching of Yang since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing multiple stages of heating and expansion would be common knowledge in the art to increase recovery of energy from the stream passing through the boiler by multiple steps of heating and expansion.
With respect to claim 3, Freund as modified teaches a compression device in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed in series between the first condenser and the recuperator (pump 110, paragraph 30).
With respect to claim 4, Freund teaches a pump fluidly coupled to the second working fluid circuit, the pump configure to circulate the second working fluid within the second working fluid circuit (pump 46, paragraph 36).
With respect to claim 6, Freund teaches wherein the first and second expander each are configured to generate mechanical energy from expansion of the first working fluid therein (both expanders are part of a turbine, which expansion in a turbine generates mechanical energy), the apparatus the apparatus further comprising: a generator coupled to the expansion device to convert the mechanical energy to electrical energy (the expander 122 can be connected to a generator via a shaft, paragraph 32, which would convert mechanical energy of the shaft to electrical energy, which could result in either the overall turbine which has the two expanders being connected this way or just the part of the turbine that is expander 122 in the modification being connected this way).
With respect to claim 14, heating a first mass flow of a first working fluid in a heat exchanger fluidly coupled to and in thermal communication with a first working fluid circuit and a heat source stream (first cycle loop 102 containing CO2, paragraph 30, which is heated against heat source 117 in WHR boiler 118, paragraph 31) , wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer thermal energy from the heat source stream to the first mass flow of the first working fluid within the first working fluid circuit (WHR boiler 118 heats stream 116 to become 120 against heat source which enters WHR boiler at 117 and leaves at 119, paragraph 31, wherein the pathway for the fluid through the WHR boiler first heat exchanger);
transferring, via a recuperator, heat from the first mass flow downstream of the heat exchanger and upstream of a first condenser to the first mass flow downstream of the first condenser and upstream of the heat exchanger (intermediate recuperator 114 which heats the fluid from the reboiler 124 that is being recycled back to the condenser 136 with fluid coming from the condenser to the reboiler 112, paragraphs 31-33);
reducing, using a first expander a pressure of the first mass flow, the first expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid and disposed downstream of the first heat exchanger (expander 122, paragraph 31)
condensing the first mass flow of the first working fluid in a first condenser (the CO2 condenses in 136, paragraph 33);
condensing a second mass flow of a second working fluid of a second working fluid circuit in thermal communication with the first condenser, the second mass flow condensed using a second condenser in thermal communication with the second working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of the first condenser (coolant stream in absorption chiller cycle 104 is heated in condenser 136, paragraph 13 and is then condensed in condenser 150, paragraph 36;
conditioning, using a third mass flow of a third working fluid within a third working fluid circuit in thermal communication with the second condenser, the second mass flow of the second working fluid (water or ambient air which is the third working fluid passed into as 149 and leaves the condenser as 151 to condensed the stream 154 of the second working fluid, paragraph 37).
Heating the first mass flow of the first working fluid in a second heat exchanger also in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and a heat source stream, wherein the second heat exchanger is also configured to transfer thermal energy from the heat source stream (understood to be the first mass flow) to the first mass flow of the first working fluid circuit, wherein a second expander is also used to reduce the pressure of the first mass flow stream and the second expander such that the first expander is disposed ins series between the first exchanger and the second exchanger, the second expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed in series between the second exchanger and the recuperator.
Yang teaches that after a stream is heated in a boiler (paragraph 44) it is expanded in an intermediate high pressure cylinder of a turbine being heated again in the boiler (a heat exchanger can be seen in the figure where the fluid line passes from 3 to 4 via 2) to increase the superheat and then the stream can be expanded again in an intermediate pressure cylinder of the turbine (paragraph 36).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided in Freund a configuration where after first passing through the WHR boiler the stream (120) is expanded in a low pressure cylinder of a turbine (the low pressure cylinder is a first expander) before then being passed back through a passageway in the WHR boiler (which would be a second heat exchanger where it would be heated again by the stream 120 to 119) before it is then expanded again in another cylinder of the turbine (which would be a second expander) and then passing it to the recuperator (as that is what is downstream of the heating and expansion steps in Freund) based on the teaching of Yang since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing multiple stages of heating and expansion would be common knowledge in the art to increase recovery of energy from the stream passing through the boiler by multiple steps of heating and expansion.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freund/Yang and further in view of Lehar et al. (US PG Pub 20200248592), hereinafter referred to as Lehar.
With respect to claim 5, Freund does not teach a storage vessel fluidly coupled to the second working fluid circuit, the storage vessel configured to store the second working fluid.
Lehar (Figure 1) teaches in a refrigerant cycle with a liquid that a tank (40) can be provided (paragraph 45).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Lehar provided a tank in the second working fluid circuit of Freund since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing a tank in the second cycle would allow for what would be common knowledge in the art of regulating the amount of refrigerant in the circuit while also allowing for storage of refrigerant when it is not needed in the circuit to better regulate the circuit.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freund/Yang/Bahtia and further in view of Santini et al. (US PG Pub 20200191021), hereinafter referred to as Santini.
With respect to claim 7, Freund as modified teaches wherein the first and second expander each are configured to generate mechanical energy from expansion of the first working fluid therein (both expanders are part of a turbine, which expansion in a turbine generates mechanical energy), the compression device configured to compress the first working fluid for the recuperator (fluid is passed from 110 to the recuperator), the compression device configured to increase a pressure of the first working fluid (a pump pressurizes fluid)
Freund does not teach wherein the compression device is coupled to at least one of the first expander to relieve mechanical energy therefrom.
Santini teaches that expanders generate mechanical energy (paragraph 111) and some of the energy can be used to drive a pump (paragraph 114).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have used the two expanders of Freund to generate mechanical energy which mechanical energy can be used to drive the pump (110, which is the compression device) based on the teaching of Santini since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that expanders can be used to produce energy which can drive pumps which reduces the need for external energy for driving fluid in the system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freund/Yang and further in view of Schumann (US PG Pub 20210302076), hereinafter referred to as Schumann.
With respect to claim 8, Freund does not teach a thermoelectric generator in thermal communication with the first condenser.
Schumann teaches that a condenser body (100) can include a thermoelectric generator module (40) so that the temperature difference between the vapor and the cooling fluid causes the TEG module to generate electricity (paragraph 30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Schumann provided a thermoelectric generator in the first condenser (136) of Freund as modified since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the thermoelectric generator would allow for what would be common knowledge in the art of utilizing the temperature different between the fluids to be generate electricity that can be used or stored for when it is needed. Being in the condenser can be considered in thermal communication with the condenser.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freund//Yang/Schumann and Jaffrey (US PG Pub 20210262706), hereinafter referred to as Jaffrey.
With respect to claim 9, Freund does not teach a controller to control a mode of operation of the thermoelectric generator in response to a condition signal generated by a sensor configured to generate a measure representing a condition of the first working fluid.
Jaffrey teaches that a sensor can be provided at the inlet of a passage for refrigerant being cooled through condenser attached to a TEG (paragraph 70-71) which measured temperature can be used passed to a thermal management module and a power management module. Jaffrey teaches that is a temperature of a heat source is determined to be greater than the maximum operating temperature of the TEG the electric load can be disconnected to prevent the TEG from being damaged (paragraph 134) and that, it is taught that the temperature of a heat source can be monitored such that based on the temperature a controller can be used to electrically disconnect a TEG such that no power is generated (paragraph 143).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a controller with a sensor at an inlet of the fluid being cooled in the condenser of Freund as modified so that based on the teaching of Jaffrey temperature measurements of a fluid in the condenser can be used to control the TEG such that if the temperature is above a certain temperature, the TEG can be electrically disconnected by the controller to prevent damage to the TEG.
With respect to claim 10, Freund as modified teaches wherein the sensor is provided at an inlet of the first condenser (as modified the sensor is at an inlet of the first condenser).
With respect to claim 11, Freund as modified teaches wherein the thermoelectric generator is configured to generates electricity from the first working fluid (the thermoelectric generator as modified generates electricity using heat transfer involving the first working fluid in the first condenser).
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freund and further in view of Yang and Schumann and Jaffrey and Rite et al. (US PG Pub 20210270506)
With respect to claim 15, Freund teaches an apparatus including a first working fluid circuit comprising a first working fluid (first cycle loop 102 containing CO2, paragraph 30);
a first heat exchanger in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit, the heat exchanger to transfer thermal energy from a heat source stream to the first working fluid within the first working fluid circuit (WHR boiler 118 heats stream 116 to become 120 against heat source which enters WHR boiler at 117 and leaves at 119, paragraph 31, where the passageway for the fluid in the WHR boiler is the first heat exchanger);
a recuperator thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit (intermediate recuperator 114 is downstream of WHR boiler with respect to stream 120, paragraph 32);
a first expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of the first heat exchanger (expander 122, paragraph 31)
a first condenser in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of, and adjacent to, the recuperator (from the recuperator the stream eventually passes to condenser evaporator 136, paragraph 33, which as the two components are in the first loop with fluid passing from the condenser/evaporator to the recuperator, they can be considered adjacent);
a second working fluid circuit comprising a second working fluid (loop 104 which is an absorption chiller cycle which has refrigerant, paragraph 34), the second working fluid circuit in thermal communication with the first condenser (the refrigerant of the second loop cools the condenser, paragraph 34);
a second condenser fluidly in thermal communication with the second working fluid circuit and disposed downstream of the first condenser (condenser 150 is downstream of 136 with respect to the output of 136 140 where it cools the fluid in the absorption cycle, paragraph 37);
and a third working fluid circuit comprising a third working fluid, the third working fluid circuit in thermal communication with the second condenser (the second cycle receives water or ambient air as a coolant stream at 149 and it leaves at 151, paragraph 37, which is also a working fluid circuit).
Freund does not teach a second heat exchanger in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit, the second heat exchanger configured to transfer thermal energy from the heat source stream to the first working fluid within the first working fluid circuit such that the first expander is disposed in series between the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger, with a second expander in thermal communication with the first working fluid circuit and disposed in series between the second heat exchanger and the recuperator.
Yang teaches that after a stream is heated in a boiler (paragraph 44) it is expanded in an intermediate high pressure cylinder of a turbine being heated again in the boiler (a heat exchanger can be seen in the figure where the fluid line passes from 3 to 4 via 2) to increase the superheat and then the stream can be expanded again in an intermediate pressure cylinder of the turbine (paragraph 36).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided in Freund a configuration where after first passing through the WHR boiler the stream (120) is expanded in a low pressure cylinder of a turbine (the low pressure cylinder is a first expander) before then being passed back through a passageway in the WHR boiler (which would be a second heat exchanger where it would be heated again by the stream 120 to 119) before it is then expanded again in another cylinder of the turbine (which would be a second expander) and then passing it to the recuperator (as that is what is downstream of the heating and expansion steps in Freund) based on the teaching of Yang since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing multiple stages of heating and expansion would be common knowledge in the art to increase recovery of energy from the stream passing through the boiler by multiple steps of heating and expansion.
Freund does not teach a thermoelectric generator.
Schumann teaches that a condenser body (100) can include a thermoelectric generator module (40) so that the temperature difference between the vapor and the cooling fluid causes the TEG module to generate electricity (paragraph 30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Schumann provided a thermoelectric generator in the first condenser (136) of Freund as modified since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the thermoelectric generator would allow for what would be common knowledge in the art of utilizing the temperature different between the fluids to be generate electricity that can be used or stored for when it is needed.
Freund does not teach a controller to modulate and condition the working fluid that is part of the apparatus whereby to whereby to cause the controller to: regulate a mode of operation of at least one thermoelectric generator using a control signal received from a sensor, the control signal representing a condition of the first working fluid.
Jaffrey teaches that a sensor can be provided at the inlet of a passage for refrigerant being cooled through condenser attached to a TEG (paragraph 70-71) which measured temperature can be used passed to a thermal management module and a power management module. Jaffrey teaches that is a temperature of a heat source is determined to be greater than the maximum operating temperature of the TEG the electric load can be disconnected to prevent the TEG from being damaged (paragraph 134) and that, it is taught that the temperature of a heat source can be monitored such that based on the temperature a controller can be used to electrically disconnect a TEG such that no power is generated (paragraph 143) and the controller controls the system to operate in power generation mode when measured temperatures are less than a preset (paragraph 143).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided a controller with a temperature sensor at an inlet of the fluid being cooled in the condenser of Freund as modified so that based on the teaching of Jaffrey temperature measurements of a fluid in the condenser can be used to control the TEG such that if the temperature is above a certain temperature, the TEG can be electrically disconnected by the controller to prevent damage to the TEG and when the temperature lowers the TEG can be used to generate power again. The sensor is providing a signal representing the first working fluid.
Freund does not teach a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium encoded with the instructions for modulating and conditioning a working fluid, the instructions executable by a processor of the controller. Jaffrey does discuss the general concept of these limitations but does not specifically recite them as claimed (paragraph 146).
Rite teaches that a controller includes a processor and memory that executes the instructions from a non-transitory machine-readable medium on the memory to provide the functionality of the controller (paragraph 31).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the controller of Freund as modified to have had a processor and non-transitory machine-readable medium (memory) with instructions to provide the operation as claimed (which is modulating and conditioning of the working fluid at least at least through the use of the TEG as claimed) based on the teaching of Rite since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the controller with the processor and instructions on the memory would provide what would be common knowledge of a known way to for the controller to ensure the desired operations. This is understood such that any operations provided by the controller are from instruction encoded on the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium.
With respect to claim 16, Freund as does not teach wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to heat or cool respective ones of the first working fluid, the second working fluid and/or third working fluid.
Jaffrey teaches that a TEG can be operated by a controller such that if the temperature reaches a certain level it can be operated in a cooling mode to cool the heat source (paragraph 143).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have for the controller have also been operated (which would include instructions as claimed) based on the teaching of Jaffrey such that if the first working fluid has a temperature that was at a certain level the TEG was set to operate in a cooling mode to provide cooling to the condenser fluid.
With respect to claim 17, Freund as modified teaches further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the at least one thermoelectric generator to generate electrical energy (the controller regulates the operation of the thermoelectric generator including whether is generates electricity or not).
With respect to claim 18, Freund as modified teaches wherein the sensor is provided at an inlet of the first condenser (the sensor as modified is at an inlet the first condenser).
With respect to claim 19, Freund as modified teaches wherein the apparatus includes a thermoelectric generator in thermal communication with the first condenser (as modified this is the configuration).
With respect to claim 20, Freund as modified teaches a thermomechanical waste heat recovery system comprising the non- transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15 (the combination of the controller with the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium and the apparatus form a thermomechanical waste heat recovery system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-3, filed 10/12/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claim 15 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang. The claims were amended to specifically locate both the second heat exchanger and the first and second expanders, which limitations can be shown to be taught by Yang.
In view of the discussion in the examiner interview on October 2, 2026 as well as the remarks, page 1-2, the compression device as claimed is understood to not be limited to only a compressor but any device that is capable of providing compression or pressurization of a working fluid whether it is a gas or a liquid. The specification and drawing objections are withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763