DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 6.9.26. Claims 15-34 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made minor amendment to the independent claim 1 to address claim objection which is now withdrawn, and added new dependent claims 29-34 which will be examined below. Previous arguments have been responded to in Advisory Action dated 6.3.26 and no further arguments are presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-18, 20,24-25, 30-31, 32,34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Klein (US20200044520A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Klein discloses (Figs 1-2, 4-7) a rotor shaft (12) for a rotor (12) of an electric machine (1), wherein the electric machine is a current-energized electric synchronous machine [Abstract discloses slip ring therefore machine is synchronous], the rotor shaft comprising:
a shaft part (12,121) that extends in an axial direction (AA) along a rotation axis (AA) of the rotor, and that comprises:
a rotor body region (121r) for disposal in a rotor body in a central opening (12o) of the rotor body (12r) of the rotor;
a support element (121s) which follows in the axial direction (AA); and
one or more grooves (62g,63g are stepped groves from longitudinal grooves 62,63 Para 0033) that run in the axial direction (AA) from a connecting region (121c) of the shaft part (121) to the support element (121s), wherein the one or more grooves traverse a bearing face (Be,59 face in Fig 2) (Taking Fig 2, Fig 7 and Para 0033 together shows bus bars 54,53 lying in the groove 62,63 and below bearing Be,59 in Fig 2) and ;
a slip ring module (50) having a base element (slip ring module body including 59, 61) having one or more slip rings (51,52), wherein the slip ring module is disposed on the support element (121s) of the shaft part; and
one or more electrically conducting module lines (53,54) which extend from the corresponding one or more slip rings (51,52) within the corresponding one or more grooves (62,63) of the shaft part to the connecting region (121c) of the shaft part; and
the bearing face (Be,59 face in Fig 2) for mounting the rotor shaft, which is disposed on the shaft part (121) and/or on the slip ring module, wherein the bearing face in terms of the axial direction (AA) is disposed between (Fig 2, Be,59 which interfaces with 121b is between 121c and 121s) the connecting region (121c) of the shaft part and the one or more slip rings (51,52) of the slip ring module (50).
Regarding Claim 16, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses wherein the bearing face (Be, 59) encloses the one or more grooves (62g,63g) and the one or more electrically conducting module lines (53,54) in a radially encircling manner (Fig 2) about the axial direction (AA).
Regarding Claim 17, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses
wherein the bearing face (121b) is disposed between the connecting region (121c) and the support element (121s) on the shaft part (121); or wherein the bearing face is disposed on the slip ring module on an end of the slip ring module that faces the connecting region of the shaft part.
Regarding Claim 18, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses
wherein the one or more electrically conducting module lines (53,54) are in each case disposed in an electrically isolating support (61 is plastic overmolding); the one or more supports, proceeding in each case (overmolding will contact 59) from an end face of the base element (59 face) of the slip ring module, extend in the axial direction (AA) toward the connecting region (121c) of the shaft part (121); and the one or more grooves (62,63) are configured to receive the corresponding one or more supports (62, 63 are covered by overmold 61).
Regarding Claim 20, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses
wherein the shaft part (121) has a detent (De whose curvature changes) for an end face (En) of the base element (61) of the slip ring module (50), which is disposed between the connecting region (121c) and the support element (121s); and the one or more grooves (62g, 63g) begin at the detent (De) and terminate in the connecting region (121c).
Regarding Claim 24, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses wherein the support element is configured as a pin which extends in a radial direction away from a detent of the shaft part; and/or wherein the base element (59) of the slip ring module (50) has a cavity (Fig 3) which is configured to receive the support element (121s) of the shaft part (121), in particular in such a manner that an interference fit is formed [Para 0030 discloses “The insulating sleeve 59 is pushed directly onto the rotor shaft 121 and is connected fixedly to the rotor shaft 121 so as to rotate with it"] between the base element of the slip ring module and the support element of the shaft part.
Regarding Claim 25, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses wherein the rotor shaft (12) in the connecting region (121c which is annotated in Fig 2 and Fig 7) of the shaft part comprises a ring (Fig 6 discloses Ri which is ring shape) which runs radially about the shaft part (121) and has one or more contact elements (Co) for connecting the corresponding one or more module lines (53,54).
Regarding Claim 30, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses
wherein the shaft part (121) has exactly two grooves (62,63) disposed opposite one another at an angular spacing of 180 degrees (Fig 7).
Regarding Claim 31, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses
wherein the support element (121s) extends in the axial direction (AA) beyond the bearing face (121b) and reaches up to an end face of the slip ring module(50)(Annotated Fig 2 below in combination with Fig 6 discloses 121 at F2 reaching to an end face F1 of slip ring module) .
Regarding Claim 32, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses
wherein the one or more grooves (62,63) extend from the support element (121s), via a detent (transition from 121s to 121b in Fig 7), via (Fig 2)the bearing face (Be), to the connecting region (121c) , such that the one or more module lines run below the bearing face in a wall of the shaft part (Taking Fig 2, Fig 7 and Para 0033 together shows bus bars 54,53 lying in the groove 62,63 which can be a wall of shaft part 121and below bearing Be,59 in Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 34, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses
wherein the one or more supports each have a shape which complements a corresponding one of the one or more grooves (62,63), such that the one or more grooves are completely filled by the corresponding one or more supports (61 is plastic overmolding which will have a shape that compliments the groove shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21,22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein in view of Beck (US20230043493A1 PCT Filed 12.15.20).
Regarding Claim 19, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 18. Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein one or more sealing elements for sealing the corresponding one or more grooves of the shaft part in a fluid-tight manner are disposed on the end face of the base element of the slip ring module.
Beck discloses (Fig3) wherein one or more sealing elements (42) for sealing the corresponding one or more grooves (18,20) of the shaft part in a fluid-tight manner are disposed on the end face (22) of the base element (12 body) of the slip ring module (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein modified by sealing element of Beck in order to in order to keep oil penetrating into the wire guiding channel.
Regarding Claim 21, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein the base element of the slip ring module has at least one sealing face which radially encircles the base element and is disposed between the one or more slip rings and an end face of the base element that faces the connecting region of the shaft part.
Beck discloses (Fig 1) wherein the base element (12 body) of the slip ring module (12) has at least one sealing face (34 sealing face) which radially encircles the base element (Fig 1) and is disposed between the one or more slip rings (24) and an end face (12ef) of the base element that faces the connecting region (26 region) of the shaft part (shaft in receiving space 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein modified by sealing element of Beck in order to keep oil penetrating into the wire guiding channel.
Regarding Claim 22, Klein in view of Beck discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 21. Klein in view of Beck does not explicitly disclose wherein the rotor shaft has at least one sealing element: which is disposed on the at least one sealing face of the base element of the slip ring module, and which is configured to shield the one or more slip rings in relation to an oil which is disposed on the bearing face of the rotor shaft.
Beck further discloses (Fig 1) wherein the rotor shaft (shaft in receiving space 16) has at least one sealing element (34): which is disposed on the at least one sealing face (34 sealing face) of the base element (Fig 1) of the slip ring module (12), and which is configured to shield the one or more slip rings (24) in relation to an oil which is disposed on the bearing face of the rotor shaft [0010 discloses functioning of seal].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein modified by sealing element of Beck in order to keep oil penetrating into the wire guiding channel.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein in view of Runck (DE102004040590A1 English translation) and Shirai et al (US20180233994A1), hereinafter Shirai.
Regarding Claim 23, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein the support element of the shaft part has a threaded bore on an end face; and the rotor shaft has a screw which is screwed into the threaded bore of the support element of the shaft part and is configured to fix the slip ring module in the axial direction on the support element of the shaft part, whereby the slip ring module is pressed against a detent of the shaft part for an end face of the base element of the slip ring module by the screw.
Runck discloses (Fig 6) [0028 discloses bolt] wherein the support element (16) of the shaft part (16) has a bore (86 is hole for bolt 83) on an end face (16ef); and the rotor shaft and is configured to fix the slip ring module (50,22,24) in the axial direction (AA) on the support element of the shaft part, whereby the slip ring module is pressed against a detent (16d) of the shaft part for an end face (50ef) of the base element (50) of the slip ring module by the screw but does not explicitly disclose a threaded bore and a screw connection(Although Runck discloses bolt 83 going into hole 86 and bolts usually have threaded connection).
Shirai discloses (Figs 10,13) the rotor shaft has a screw (10) which is screwed into the threaded bore (36) of the support element (33) of the shaft part (53)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein modified by fastening of slip ring module with shaft using a connection as taught by Runck in order to have a firm and if necessary dis-assemblable connection and a screw type connection as taught by Shirai in order to have desired type of fastener as per design choice .
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein in view of Schroeder (US20130200757A1).
Regarding Claim 26, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein the rotor shaft comprises a sensor module for detecting an angular position of the rotor shaft, which is fastened to an end face of the support element of the shaft part.
Schroeder discloses (Fig 2) wherein the rotor shaft (9, 13) comprises a sensor module (23) for detecting an angular position of the rotor shaft, which is fastened (23 is fastened to 18 part of 27 which is fastened to 9) to an end face (9s face) of the support element (9s) of the shaft part (9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein modified by sensor module of Schroeder in order to know position of rotor and thereby enable control of rotation.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein in view of Soper (US3512074A).
Regarding Claim 27, Klein discloses a rotor (12) for an electric machine (1), wherein the rotor comprises: a rotor body (12r); and the rotor shaft (12, 121) according to claim 15, which is enclosed by the rotor body (12r), wherein the one or more module lines (53,54) of the slip ring module (50) of the rotor shaft (12) are connected in an electrically conducting manner. Klein does not explicitly disclose rotor having a plurality of salient poles and a plurality of electrically conducting windings about the corresponding plurality of salient poles and slip ring connected to the plurality of windings;
Soper discloses (Figs 1c, 5) rotor (16) having a plurality of salient poles (26) and a plurality of electrically conducting windings (17,18 or 37,38) about the corresponding plurality of salient poles and slip ring (19) connected to the plurality of windings;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein modified by rotor with salient poles and multiple rotor windings of Soper in order to have a configuration required for power transmission systems such as hydroturbine alternators.
Regarding Claim 28, Klein in view of Soper discloses an electric machine (Soper is an electric machine) comprising: the rotor (16) according to claim 27.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein in view of Saval et al (US5325003A), hereinafter Saval.
Regarding Claim 29, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 15. Klein further discloses wherein the shaft part (121) is integrally configured (121 is a single part) but does not explicitly disclose shaft is metallic.
Saval discloses [Col 5, Line 10] wherein shaft is a metallic component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein modified by metallic shaft of Saval in order to have a choice of material of shaft that will have required strength for targeted application.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein in view of Shirai.
Regarding Claim 25, Klein discloses the rotor shaft according to claim 25 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more contact elements are each configured as an electrically conducting fork.
Shirai (Fig4) discloses wherein the one or more contact elements (54) are each configured as an electrically conducting fork.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed rotor shaft of Klein with electrically conducting fork of Shirai in order to have a desired way to connect with the rotor winding.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834