DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2022/047552 filed on 10/24/2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/273,710 filed on 10/29/2021.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on August 10, 2026 amending claim 1 has been entered. Claims 24, 27 and 29-43 are withdrawn. Claims 2-23 and 25 are canceled. Claims 1, 26 and 28 are currently presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Due to Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the previous rejection under 35 USC 102 (a)(1) is hereby withdrawn.
The previous objection to the claims is withdrawn since the claim set filed on August 10, 2026 begins on a new page.
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Olson's Formula IIa does not specify the location of R8-L3-(CH2)q on the six- member ring of the indole backbone. Applicant argues that R1 is located at a specific position on the claimed compound. Applicant further references Takeda Chemical Industries, Ltd. v. Alphapharm Pty., Ltd., 492 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Applicant argues that a prima facie case of obvious requires the identification of a specific lead compound. Eisai Co. Ltd. v. Dr. Reddy's Labs, Ltd., 533 F.3d 1353, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Applicant argues that the office action does not identify a specific lead compound, and thus a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established.
Applicant further argues that although Formula IIa of Olson allowed for R8-L3-(CH2)q to be at any location on the six-membered ring, Formula IIa-1 of Olson suggests that the position should be position 5 of the indole backbone and not position 4 of the indole backbone as recited in the applicant's claim. Thus Applicant argues that Olson suggests modifying position 5 of an indole backbone and there is no suggestion to change the modified position from position 5 to position 4, and thus, the applicant's claimed compounds are not obvious over Olson. Applicant further references Ex parte Heui Sul Park, 2020 WL 4200046 (Pat. Tr. & App. Bd. 2020) which noted that examiner bore the burden of identifying a specific lead compound and even under the examiner's framing of the issue of one of selecting known equivalents, there was no prima facie case of obviousness when doing so would require trying a number of possible choices without any indication of the prior art identifying the specific choices.
These arguments are found not persuasive since Olson teaches compounds of formula IIa:
wherein R8-L3-(CH2)q can be at any location on the six-membered ring, including the 4 position as in the claimed compounds. Furthermore, even though Olson exemplifies Formula IIa-1, it has been well established that consideration of a reference is not limited to the preferred embodiments or working examples, but extends to the entire disclosure for what it fairly teaches, when viewed in light of the admitted knowledge in the art, to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Boe, 355 F.2d 961,148 USPQ 507, 510 (CCPA 1966); In re Lambedi, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 279,280 (CCPA 1976): In re FracalossL 681 F.2d 792,794, 215 USPQ 569, 570 (CCPA 1982)4 In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 13:4,217 USPQ 1089, 1095 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Furthermore, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or non-preferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ423 (CCPA 1971). “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (The invention was directed to an epoxy impregnated fiber-reinforced printed circuit material. The applied prior art reference taught a printed circuit material similar to that of the claims but impregnated with polyester-imide resin instead of epoxy. The reference, however, disclosed that epoxy was known for this use, but that epoxy impregnated circuit boards have “relatively acceptable dimensional stability” and “some degree of flexibility,” but are inferior to circuit boards impregnated with polyester-imide resins. The court upheld the rejection concluding that applicant’s argument that the reference teaches away from using epoxy was insufficient to overcome the rejection since “Gurley asserted no discovery beyond what was known in the art.” 27 F.3d at 554, 31 USPQ2d at 1132.). Furthermore, “[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Furthermore, Olson specifically teaches a non-hallucinogenic analog of a psychedelic compound of Formula IIa or IIb, and as such an ordinary skilled artisan practicing the invention of Olson would have been motivated to select Formula IIa or IIb as a starting point to produce suitable compounds with a reasonable expectation of similar success [0172]. Thus Formula IIa serves as a reasonable starting point as detailed in the rejection of record. Moreover, as detailed in the rejection of record, the disclosure of Olson provides guidance to select the substituents to arrive at a compound as claimed in the instant claims. Olson teaches compounds of formula IIa wherein R9 and R10 are hydrogen; p is 2; R11 is di(C1-C6 alkyl)amino; R12 is hydrogen; q is 1; L3 is -NHSO2- or -SO2NRb- such as -SO2NH- (wherein the NH is attached to the CH group and R8 is attached to the SO2 group); and R8 is C1-C6 alkyl ([0136], [0138] and claim 16). Olson further specifically teaches that R8 is methyl [0140]. Olson further specifically teaches that R11 is N(CH3)2 [0145]. Thus Olson provides sufficient guidance to arrive at the instant invention.
Moreover, the rejected claims do not fall into the paradigm established by the lead compound analysis. In Takeda, the court applied the lead compound analysis to a claim to a specific compound, not a genus of compounds as in instant claim 1, finding that “in cases involving new chemical compounds, it remains necessary to identify some reason that would have led a chemist to modify a known compound in a particular manner to establish prima facie obviousness of a new claimed compound.” Takeda Chemical Industries, Ltd. v. Alphapharm Pty., Ltd.,492 F.3d 1350, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2007). That is, the Takeda court was not analyzing a claim drawn to numerous compounds, like instant claim 1, but rather was analyzing a claim drawn to a compound with one specific chemical formula. Id. at 1353.
Thus even though Olson discloses alternatives for formula IIa, a prima facie case of obviousness can still be established since picking one of a finite number of known solutions to a known problem is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007). Therefore, the lead compound analysis in rejected in favor of a fact pattern for which the analysis is appropriate. See KSR. Intern. Col. v. Teleflex Inc.,550 US 398, 419 (2007) (“Helpful insights, however, need not become rigid and mandatory formulas . . . when a court transforms the general principle into a rigid rule that limits the obviousness inquiry ... it errs)”
Applicant’s argument that the claimed compounds can only be achieved by picking and choosing from generic structures that encompass many possible species with no obvious reason to do so and no indication in the prior art for identifying the specific choices is acknowledged but found unpersuasive. Unlike Takeda’s claim to an antidiabetic composition, Applicant’s claim 1 does not encompass any particular “pertinent properties” or functional requirements nor is the compound directed to any particular disease. Therefore, even the attempt to apply the lead compound analysis fails because claim 1 lacks one specific activity or function to serve as the target for optimization using a lead compound. See Takeda, 492 F.3d 1353.
The instant facts are more similar to those in Susi, where the CCPA determined that a prior art genus reference Knapp rendered the subgenus claim at issue obvious, finding that “[p]lacing a simple representative of each side by side, it is obvious that the subject matter of appellant’s claim 6 is very nearly within the generic teaching of Knapp.” In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 444 (CCPA 1971). Susi found unpersuasive “the position of one who argues that the selection of a relatively small subgenus from a genus disclosed in the prior art would have been unobvious at the time of his invention to one skilled in the art.” Id. at 445.
In this case, the genus of compounds encompassed by claim 1 represents a subgenus fully disclosed by Olson’s compounds of formula IIa:
wherein R8-L3-(CH2)q can be at any location on the six-membered ring, including the 4 position, and R9 and R10 are hydrogen; p is 2; R11 is di(C1-C6 alkyl)amino; R12 is hydrogen; q is 1; L3 is -NHSO2- or -SO2NRb- such as -SO2NH- (wherein the NH is attached to the CH group and R8 is attached to the SO2 group); and R8 is C1-C6 alkyl ([0136], [0138] and claim 16). Thus, the claimed subgenus is reasonably suggested by the cited prior art. Moreover, Applicant has provided no evidence of secondary considerations.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are found not persuasive and the previous rejection under 35 USC 103 is hereby maintained and reproduced below. This action is FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson WO 2018/064465 A1.
Claims 1, 26 and 28 of the instant application claim a compound having the following formula
wherein R1 is CH2NHSO2CH3, R2 and R3 are both methyl having the following structure
.
Olson teaches non-hallucinogenic analogs of psychedelic compounds for increasing neural plasticity of the neuronal cell, and a method of using thereof for treating a brain disorder (abstract). Olsen teaches a method of using non-hallucinogenic analogs of psychedelic compounds for treatment of a brain disorder [0016]. The brain disorder can be a psychiatric disorder including depression, anxiety, and/or post-traumatic stress disorder [0016]. The brain disorder can be a substance use disorder, and the brain disorder can be a neurodegenerative disorder including Alzheimer’s and/or Parkinson's diseases [0016].
Olsen teaches the non-hallucinogenic analog of a psychedelic compound is a compound of formula IIa:
wherein R9 and R10 are hydrogen; p is 2; R11 is di(C1-C6 alkyl)amino; R12 is hydrogen; q is 1; L3 is -NHSO2- or -SO2NRb- such as -SO2NH- (wherein the NH is attached to the CH group and R8 is attached to the SO2 group); and R8 is C1-C6 alkyl ([0136], [0138] and claim 16). Olsen further specifically teaches that R8 is methyl [0140]. Olsen further specifically teaches that R11 is N(CH3)2 [0145]. Thus, Olsen teaches the following structure:
wherein G3, G4 and G6 are hydrogen, and Ak is methyl.
The prior art does not appear to provide sufficient specificity, i.e., involves too much "picking and choosing" to give rise to anticipation. See Coming Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec., 868 F.2d 1251, 1262 (Fed. Circ. 1989). That being said, it must be remembered that "[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect ....the combination is obvious". KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected the various combinations of features claimed from within the prior art disclosure specifically, a compound of formula IIa:
wherein R9 and R10 are hydrogen; p is 2; R11 is di(C1-C6 alkyl)amino, specifically N(CH3)2; R12 is hydrogen; q is 1; L3 is -NHSO2- or -SO2NRb- such as -SO2NH- (wherein the NH is attached to the CH group and R8 is attached to the SO2 group); and R8 is C1-C6 alkyl specifically methyl, to arrive at the instantly claimed subject matter.
Thus claims 1, 26 and 28 are rendered obvious in view of the cited prior art teachings.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 26 and 28 are rejected. Claims 2-23 and 25 are canceled. Claims 24, 27, 29-43 are withdrawn. No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARA R. MCMILLIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
KRM