DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (12,382,534).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses a communication apparatus (i.e. a UE) (See fig. 4 and col. 23 lines 30-33), comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program; wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, implements operations comprising: sending capability information to a network side device, wherein the capability information is used for indicating a capability of a terminal to perform multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching (See col. 6 line 67 to col. 7 line 37, col. 7 line 58 to col. 8 line 48).
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 20, as method and apparatus.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a capability determination method, performed by a network side device (i.e. the corresponding base station) (See fig. 4 and col. 23 lines 30-33), comprising: receiving capability information sent by a terminal; and determining a capability of the terminal to perform multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching according to the capability information (See col. 6 line 67 to col. 7 line 37, col. 7 line 58 to col. 8 line 48, col. 11 lines 23-34).
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 20, as apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses as cited in claim 1. Chen further discloses the terminal is provided with a plurality of SIMs, and the plurality of SIMs at least comprise a first SIM and a second SIM, and the multi-SIM connection switching comprises switching to the second SIM for communication operation when communication operation is performed through the first SIM (i.e. DSDA mode) (See col. 6 line 67 to col. 7 line 37).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses as cited in claim 2. Chen further discloses the capability of the terminal to perform the multi-SIM connection switching comprises whether the terminal is capable of performing the multi-SIM connection switching in case that a first condition is satisfied, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of: the first SIM leaves a connected state; or the first SIM remains in the connected state (See col. 12 line 59 to col. 13 line 30).
Regarding claims 4-5, Chen discloses as cited in claim 3. Chen further discloses the first SIM leaves the connected state or remains in the connected state based on an access stratum or non-access stratum (i.e. the release of the UE (AS/NAS)) (See co. 16 lines 4-47).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses as cited in claim 1. Chen further discloses the network side device (i.e. a base station) comprises at least one of a new radio (NR) network side device or an evolved UMTS terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN) network side device, wherein the NR network configured with the NR network side device (i.e. the base station), the capability information is inherently carried in UE-NR-Capability signaling; and/or in the evolved UMTS terrestrial radio access network (the E-UTRAN) network configured with the network side device (i.e. the base station), the capability information is inherently carried in UE-EUTRA-Capability signaling (See col. 5 lines 3-45).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses as cited in claim 6. Chen further discloses the network side device comprises the E-UTRAN network side device, and when the first SIM and/or the second SIM of the multi-SIM connection switching perform communication operation based on NR, the capability information is inherently carried in newly added information element of the UE-EUTRA-Capability signaling (i.e. signaling for when multi-SIM switching operation is performed) (See col. 5 lines 3-45).
Regarding claims 8-10, Chen discloses as cited in claim 1. Chen further discloses receiving configuration signaling sent by the network side; determining a configuration for reporting information about the multi-SIM connection switching to the network side device according to the configuration signaling; and reporting, according to the configuration, the information about the multi-SIM connection switching to the network side device when performing the multi-SIM connection switching (See col. 7 line 58 to col. 9 line 8), wherein the configuration comprises at least one of: whether to allow the terminal to report the information about the multi-SIM connection switching (See col. 11 lines 23-34); whether to allow the terminal to report information about multi-SIM connection switching satisfying a second condition; a duration of a blocking timer for the terminal to report the information about the multi- SIM connection switching; a third condition for the terminal to use the blocking timer; or a support capability of the network side device for the terminal to perform the multi- SIM connection switching (See col. 9 lines 51-53).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses as cited in claim 11. Chen further discloses the terminal is provided with a plurality of SIMs, and the plurality of SIMs at least comprise a first SIM and a second SIM, and the multi-SIM connection switching comprises switching to the second SIM for communication operation when communication operation is performed through the first SIM (i.e. DSDA mode) (See col. 6 line 67 to col. 7 line 37).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses as cited in claim 12. Chen further discloses determining the capability of the terminal to perform the multi-SIM connection switching according to the capability information comprises: determining, according to the capability information, whether the terminal is capable of performing the multi-SIM connection switching in case that a first condition is satisfied, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of: the first SIM leaves a connected state; or the first SIM remains in the connected state (See col. 12 line 59 to col. 13 line 30).
Regarding claims 14-15, Chen discloses as cited in claim 13. Chen further discloses the first SIM leaves the connected state or remains in the connected state based on an access stratum or non-access stratum (i.e. the release of the UE (AS/NAS)) (See co. 16 lines 4-47).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses as cited in claim 11. Chen further discloses sending configuration signaling to the terminal, wherein the configuration signaling is used for indicating a configuration for the terminal to report information about the multi- SIM connection switching to the network side device (See col. 7 line 58 to col. 9 line 8).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses as cited in claim 16. Chen further discloses the configuration comprises at least one of: whether to allow the terminal to report the information about the multi-SIM connection switching (See col. 11 lines 23-34); whether to allow the terminal to report information about multi-SIM connection switching satisfying a second condition; a duration of a blocking timer for the terminal to report the information about the multi- SIM connection switching; a third condition for the terminal to use the blocking timer; or a support capability of the network side device for the terminal to perform the multi- SIM connection switching (See col. 9 lines 51-53).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892 for a listing of cited prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/TUAN A TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648