DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/07/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uto (US20200363637A1, of record in the IDS dated 03/07/2024).
With respect to Claim 1, Uto discloses a mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) for a head-up display (Fig. 1—element 100, HUD; [0014]), the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) comprising:
a mirror (Fig. 2—element 40, reflecting member; [0014]);
a carrier (Fig. 2—element 50, reflecting-part holder; [0016]) which is arranged on a rear side (Fig. 2—element 50 is arranged on the back of element 40) of the mirror (Fig. 2—element 40, reflecting member; [0014]) and is fixedly connected ([0028]: element 40 is attached to element 50 via adhesive) to the mirror (Fig. 2—element 40, reflecting member; [0014]); and
a bearing unit (Fig. 3—element 1, housing; [0029]) which is separate from the carrier (Fig. 2—element 50, reflecting-part holder; [0016]),
wherein the bearing unit (Fig. 3—element 1, housing; [0029]) is connected to the carrier (Fig. 2—element 50, reflecting-part holder; [0016]) by at least one rotary bearing (Fig. 3—element 52, pair of bearings; [0023]), and
wherein the carrier (Fig. 2—element 50, reflecting-part holder; [0016]) and the bearing unit (Fig. 3—element 1, housing ; [0029]) when coupled by the rotary bearing (Fig. 3—element 52, pair of bearings; [0023]) are rotatable relative to each other ([0023]: 52 for rotatably supporting the pair of rotary shaft parts 51 respectively, and a pair of bearing holders 53 for retaining the pair of bearings 52 in the housing 1),
wherein the rotary bearing (Fig. 3—element 52, pair of bearings; [0023]) comprises at least one bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) and at least one bearing chamber (Fig. 3—element 16, rotary shaft support parts; [0040]) with opposite bearing walls (Fig. 3—element 16b, fixing surfaces; [0040]),
wherein the bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) is arranged between the bearing walls (Fig. 3—element 16b, fixing surfaces; [0040]) of the bearing chamber (Fig. 3—element 16, rotary shaft support parts; [0040]) and engages in bearing journal receptacles (Fig. 3—element 16a, recess; [0040]), which are formed in the bearing walls (Fig. 3—element 16b, fixing surfaces; [0040]), such that the bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) is rotatably mounted on both bearing walls (Fig. 3—element 16b, fixing surfaces; [0040]) and an axis of rotation of the rotary bearing (Fig. 3—element 52, pair of bearings; [0023]) runs through the bearing journal receptacles (Fig. 3—element 16a, recess; [0040]).
With respect to Claim 2, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the bearing journal receptacles (Fig. 3—element 16a, recess; [0040]) are in the form of continuous holes (Fig. 3—element 16a is a through hole in element 16b) in the bearing walls (Fig. 3—element 16b, fixing surfaces; [0040]), with an in each case peripherally closed contour edge (Fig. 3—element 16a is a flat, closed surface).
With respect to Claim 4, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 3, and further discloses
wherein, when viewed in the direction of the axis of rotation, the bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) comprises end-side bearing pins (Fig. 4a—element 51, rotary shaft part and 50A and 50C, bearing holder; [0030]) that extend in the direction of the axis of rotation into the bearing journal receptacle (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]).
With respect to Claim 5, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 4, and further discloses
wherein the bearing pins (Fig. 4a—element 51, rotary shaft part and 50A and 50C, bearing holder; [0030]) are received in the bearing journal receptacles (Fig. 3—element 16a, recess; [0040]) in a form-fitting manner (Figs. 3 and 4a—element 51 is received in element 16a in a form fitting manner via element 53).
With respect to Claim 6, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 4, and further discloses
wherein the bearing pins (Fig. 4a—element 51, rotary shaft part and 50A and 50C, bearing holder; [0030]) are cylindrical and lie with cylinder walls against the contour edges (Figs. 3 and 4a—element 51 lies against element 16a via element 53) of the bearing journal receptacles (Fig. 3—element 16a, recess; [0040]) in a form-fitting manner (Figs. 3 and 4a—element 51 is received in element 16a in a form fitting manner via element 53).
With respect to Claim 7, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 4, and further discloses
wherein at least one bearing pin (Fig. 4a—element 51, rotary shaft part and 50A and 50C, bearing holder; [0030]) is tapered at its outer end (Fig. 4A—element 51b is tapered compared to element 51a).
With respect to Claim 8, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 4, and further discloses,
wherein at least one bearing pin (Fig. 4a—element 51, rotary shaft part and 50A and 50C, bearing holder; [0030]) comprises a stop (Fig. 4A—element 50c, tip end; [0035]) which limits the immersion depth, as measured in the direction of the axis of rotation, (Fig. 4A— element 50c does not allow the rotary shaft to extend further) of the bearing pin (Fig. 4a—element 51, rotary shaft part and 50A and 50C, bearing holder; [0030]) into a bearing journal receptacle (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]).
With respect to Claim 9, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses
wherein a guide device (Fig. 3-- element 12a, positioning hole; [0055]) for guiding the bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) when it is inserted into the bearing chamber (Fig. 3—element 16, rotary shaft support parts; [0040]) is formed on an inside of at least one bearing wall (Fig. 3—element 16b, fixing surfaces; [0040]).
With respect to Claim 10, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 9, and further discloses
wherein the guide device (Fig. 3-- element 12a, positioning hole; [0055]) comprises an end edge which predetermines the end position (Fig. 3—element 12a determines the positioning of element 53a) of the bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) in the bearing chamber (Fig. 3—element 16, rotary shaft support parts; [0040]), wherein, in the end position, the bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) is clipped (Fig. 3—element 54a is fitted into element 12a) into the bearing journal receptacles (Fig. 3—element 16a, recess; [0040]).
With respect to Claim 11, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the bearing journal (Fig. 3—element 53a, bearing mounting part; [0040]) is in the form of a clip-in element which is clipped axially into the bearing journal receptacles (Fig. 3—element 16a, recess; [0040]) (Fig. 3 and 4a—element 53a is positioned in element 16a via fitted pins 55 and 54).
With respect to Claim 13, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) comprises two separate rotary bearings (Fig. 3—element 52, pair of bearings; [0023]), which are arranged spaced apart from each other and are constructed identically, with the axis of rotation running through both rotary bearings (Fig. 3—element 52, pair of bearings; [0023]).
With respect to Claim 14, Uto discloses a head-up display (Fig. 1—element 100, HUD; [0014]) with a mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 1.
With respect to Claim 15, Uto discloses a motor vehicle ([0002]: the HUD may be integrated into a vehicle windshield) with a head-up display (Fig. 1—element 100, HUD; [0014]) as claimed in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uto (US20200363637A1, of record in the IDS dated 03/07/2024) in view of Fujikawa (US20070091489A1, of record in the IDS dated 03/07/2024).
With respect to Claim 3, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses
the bearing walls (Fig. 3—element 16b, fixing surfaces; [0040]). However, Uto does not disclose wherein the bearing walls are elastically deformable in the direction of the axis of rotation.
Uto and Fujikawa are related as both pertaining to the field of mirror devices.
Fujikawa discloses a mirror device (Fig. 1—element 10, mirror mechanism; [0031]) wherein the bearing walls (Fig. 8—element 6, sub-mirror frame; [0045]) are elastically deformable in the direction of the axis of rotation ([0045]: element 6 is elastically deformable in the direction of the axis of rotation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mirror device of Uto with the elastically deformable frame of Fujikawa in order to create a device which may eliminate gaps between parts (Fujikawa, [0045]).
With respect to Claim 12, Uto discloses the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]) as claimed in claim 11, and further discloses
the mirror device (Fig. 2—elements 4, reflecting part and 5, support mechanism; [0014]), the carrier (Fig. 2—element 50, reflecting-part holder; [0016]), and the bearing unit (Fig. 3—element 1, housing; [0029]). However, Uto does not disclose wherein the mirror device comprises a spring which is arranged between the carrier and the bearing unit such that a position between the carrier and the bearing unit is preloaded by the spring.
Uto and Fujikawa are related as both pertaining to the field of mirror devices.
Fujikawa discloses a mirror device (Fig. 1—element 10, mirror mechanism; [0031]) comprising a spring (Fig. 10—element 16, spring; [0046]) which is arranged between the carrier (Fig. 10—element 4, mirror frame; [0046]) and the bearing unit (Fig. 10—element 6, sub-mirror frame; [0046]) such that a position between the carrier (Fig. 10—element 4, mirror frame; [0046]) and the bearing unit (Fig. 10—element 6, sub-mirror frame; [0046]) is preloaded by the spring (Fig. 10—element 16, spring; [0046]) ([0046]: the urging force of the spring determines the position of element 6 relative to element 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to bine the mirror device of Uto with the spring of Fujikawa in order to create a device which may maintain a specific position (Fujikawa, [0046]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ushida (US 20170336632 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0032]-[0035].
Schoch (US 20200326541 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. X and [0045].
Potakowskyj (US 20090086329 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 2 and [0035].
/MACKENZI WADDELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872