DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11, 21-22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. (US 2021/0135734).
Regarding claim 1, Abedini teaches a beam configuration method, performed by a base station (fig. 7, 700), wherein a signal is transmitted between the base station and a terminal at least by a signal relay device (par. 61; fig. 3), and the method comprising: receiving capability information transmitted by the signal relay device (i.e., At step 702, a BS may receive a measurement report and a set of parameters relating to a capability of a repeater, e.g., from the repeater [0092]); determining, based on the capability information, identifiers of reference signals supported on a link on which the signal relay device communicates with the terminal, and information for beams corresponding to the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., the gNB 204 makes the determination for sweeping configuration based on any combination of received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater received at initial connection setup 602, such as, but not limited to codebook information (including number of beams, quasi co-location (QCL) info, number of spatial layers, beam widths, etc.), the architecture of the repeater, the beam switching latency, the synchronization level, and/or the like ([0088]); At step 704, the BS determines a BS sweep configuration indicative of characteristics of SSBs to be used for sweeping based on the measurement report or the set of parameters [0093); and selecting, based on the identifiers of the reference signals and the information for the beams, target reference signal identifiers from the identifiers of the reference signals, and configuring the target reference signal identifiers to the signal relay device for communication of the signal relay device on the link by beams corresponding to the target reference signal identifiers (i.e., For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0087]). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the BS may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0094]). At step 708, the BS transmits to the repeater the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration, e.g., as shown at 612 and 614 in FIG. 6 ([0095])).
It is to be noted that: Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) in 5G NR contain information that acts as a reference signal identifier, specifically to identify the cell and the specific beam.
Regarding claim 2, Abedini further teaches wherein the signal relay device comprises at least one of: a smart repeater, or a reconfigurable intelligent surface (i.e., a UE may act as a repeater for another UE, e.g., to relay downlink signals to the other UE from the BS ([0033]). The UEs 115a-115d are examples of mobile smart phone-type devices accessing network 100 ([0037]); the UE 115g (e.g., smart meter) ([0041]) Repeaters may be configured as stand-alone repeater devices and other devices (such as UEs) may also be labelled as repeaters if these devices are configured to include repeater functionality ([0059])).
Regarding claim 3, Abedini further teaches wherein the information for the beams comprises at least one of: a beam angle range, or a beam frequency ([0032], [0035], [0039], [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Abedini further teaches the identifiers of the reference signals comprise at least one of: a synchronization signal block index, or a channel state information-reference signal port number (i.e., To facilitate communications and synchronization between a such as the next generation node B (gNB) and a UE, the gNB may transmit a sequence of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) including physical synchronization signals and network system information [0004], [0087]). Note: Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) in 5G NR contain information that acts as a reference signal identifier).
Regarding claim 11, Abedini teaches beam determination method, performed by a signal relay device (fig. 7, 700), wherein a signal is transmitted between a base station and a terminal at least by the signal relay device (par. 61; fig. 3), and the method comprising: transmitting capacity information to the base station, wherein the capacity information is configured to indicate identifiers of reference signals supported on a link on which the signal relay device communicates with the terminal, and information for beams corresponding to the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., At step 702, a BS may receive a measurement report and a set of parameters relating to a capability of a repeater, e.g., from the repeater ([0092]); the gNB 204 makes the determination for sweeping configuration based on any combination of received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater received at initial connection setup 602, such as, but not limited to codebook information (including number of beams, quasi co-location (QCL) info, number of spatial layers, beam widths, etc.), the architecture of the repeater, the beam switching latency, the synchronization level, and/or the like ([0088]); At step 704, the BS determines a BS sweep configuration indicative of characteristics of SSBs to be used for sweeping based on the measurement report or the set of parameters [0093]); receiving target reference signal identifiers selected, by the base station based on the identifiers of the reference signals and the information for the beams, from the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0087]). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the BS may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0094]). At step 708, the BS transmits to the repeater the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration, e.g., as shown at 612 and 614 in FIG. 6 ([0095])); and performing, by beams corresponding to the target reference signal identifiers, communication on the link (i.e., the transceiver is configured to transmit, to the repeater, the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration and perform initial beam sweeping with the repeater using the BS sweep configuration [0008], [0009], and [0090]).
It is to be noted that: Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) in 5G NR contain information that acts as a reference signal identifier, specifically to identify the cell and the specific beam.
Regarding claim 21, Abedini teaches a beam configuration device, applied to a base station (fig. 7, 700), wherein a signal is transmitted between the base station and a terminal at least by a signal relay device, and and the device comprises one or more processors configured to perform operations (par. 61; fig. 3) comprising: receiving capability information transmitted by the signal relay device (i.e., At step 702, a BS may receive a measurement report and a set of parameters relating to a capability of a repeater, e.g., from the repeater [0092]); determining, based on the capability information, identifiers of reference signals supported on a link on which the signal relay device communicates with the terminal, and information for beams corresponding to the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., the gNB 204 makes the determination for sweeping configuration based on any combination of received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater received at initial connection setup 602, such as, but not limited to codebook information (including number of beams, quasi co-location (QCL) info, number of spatial layers, beam widths, etc.), the architecture of the repeater, the beam switching latency, the synchronization level, and/or the like ([0088]); At step 704, the BS determines a BS sweep configuration indicative of characteristics of SSBs to be used for sweeping based on the measurement report or the set of parameters [0093); and selecting, based on the identifiers of the reference signals and the information for the beams, target reference signal identifiers from the identifiers of the reference signals, and configuring the target reference signal identifiers to the signal relay device for communication of the signal relay device on the link by beams corresponding to the target reference signal identifiers (i.e., For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0087]). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the BS may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0094]). At step 708, the BS transmits to the repeater the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration, e.g., as shown at 612 and 614 in FIG. 6 ([0095])).
It is to be noted that: Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) in 5G NR contain information that acts as a reference signal identifier, specifically to identify the cell and the specific beam.
Regarding claim 22, Abedini teaches beam determination method, performed by a signal relay device (fig. 7, 700), wherein a signal is transmitted between a base station and a terminal at least by the signal relay device (par. 61; fig. 3), and the method comprising: transmitting capacity information to the base station, wherein the capacity information is configured to indicate identifiers of reference signals supported on a link on which the signal relay device communicates with the terminal, and information for beams corresponding to the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., At step 702, a BS may receive a measurement report and a set of parameters relating to a capability of a repeater, e.g., from the repeater ([0092]); the gNB 204 makes the determination for sweeping configuration based on any combination of received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater received at initial connection setup 602, such as, but not limited to codebook information (including number of beams, quasi co-location (QCL) info, number of spatial layers, beam widths, etc.), the architecture of the repeater, the beam switching latency, the synchronization level, and/or the like ([0088]); At step 704, the BS determines a BS sweep configuration indicative of characteristics of SSBs to be used for sweeping based on the measurement report or the set of parameters [0093]); receiving target reference signal identifiers selected, by the base station based on the identifiers of the reference signals and the information for the beams, from the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0087]). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the BS may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0094]). At step 708, the BS transmits to the repeater the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration, e.g., as shown at 612 and 614 in FIG. 6 ([0095])); and performing, by beams corresponding to the target reference signal identifiers, communication on the link (i.e., the transceiver is configured to transmit, to the repeater, the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration and perform initial beam sweeping with the repeater using the BS sweep configuration [0008], [0009], and [0090]).
It is to be noted that: Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) in 5G NR contain information that acts as a reference signal identifier, specifically to identify the cell and the specific beam.
Regarding claim 24, Abedini teaches a base station, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing computer programs (fig. 5), wherein the computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the beam configuration method: receiving capability information transmitted by the signal relay device (i.e., At step 702, a BS may receive a measurement report and a set of parameters relating to a capability of a repeater, e.g., from the repeater [0092]); determining, based on the capability information, identifiers of reference signals supported on a link on which the signal relay device communicates with the terminal, and information for beams corresponding to the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., the gNB 204 makes the determination for sweeping configuration based on any combination of received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater received at initial connection setup 602, such as, but not limited to codebook information (including number of beams, quasi co-location (QCL) info, number of spatial layers, beam widths, etc.), the architecture of the repeater, the beam switching latency, the synchronization level, and/or the like ([0088]); At step 704, the BS determines a BS sweep configuration indicative of characteristics of SSBs to be used for sweeping based on the measurement report or the set of parameters [0093); and selecting, based on the identifiers of the reference signals and the information for the beams, target reference signal identifiers from the identifiers of the reference signals, and configuring the target reference signal identifiers to the signal relay device for communication of the signal relay device on the link by beams corresponding to the target reference signal identifiers (i.e., For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0087]). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the BS may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0094]). At step 708, the BS transmits to the repeater the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration, e.g., as shown at 612 and 614 in FIG. 6 ([0095])).
It is to be noted that: Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) in 5G NR contain information that acts as a reference signal identifier, specifically to identify the cell and the specific beam.
Regarding claim 25, Abedini teaches a signal relay device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing computer programs and a memory storing computer programs (fig. 4), wherein the computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause to the processor to perform the beam determination method, comprising: transmitting capacity information to the base station, wherein the capacity information is configured to indicate identifiers of reference signals supported on a link on which the signal relay device communicates with the terminal, and information for beams corresponding to the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., At step 702, a BS may receive a measurement report and a set of parameters relating to a capability of a repeater, e.g., from the repeater ([0092]); the gNB 204 makes the determination for sweeping configuration based on any combination of received information on the capabilities or category of the repeater received at initial connection setup 602, such as, but not limited to codebook information (including number of beams, quasi co-location (QCL) info, number of spatial layers, beam widths, etc.), the architecture of the repeater, the beam switching latency, the synchronization level, and/or the like ([0088]); At step 704, the BS determines a BS sweep configuration indicative of characteristics of SSBs to be used for sweeping based on the measurement report or the set of parameters [0093]); receiving target reference signal identifiers selected, by the base station based on the identifiers of the reference signals and the information for the beams, from the identifiers of the reference signals (i.e., For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the gNB 204 may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0087]). For the repeater beam sweep configuration, the BS may further determine for each determine beamforming mode, which SSBs are for the repeater to forward to the UE, what transceiver beams to use for the forwarding, and the transmitter power level to be used to forward the SSBs to the UE ([0094]). At step 708, the BS transmits to the repeater the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration, e.g., as shown at 612 and 614 in FIG. 6 ([0095])); and performing, by beams corresponding to the target reference signal identifiers, communication on the link (i.e., the transceiver is configured to transmit, to the repeater, the BS sweep configuration and the repeater sweep configuration and perform initial beam sweeping with the repeater using the BS sweep configuration [0008], [0009], and [0090]).
It is to be noted that: Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) in 5G NR contain information that acts as a reference signal identifier, specifically to identify the cell and the specific beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 2021/0135734) in view of GAO et al. (US 2020/0028547).
Regarding claim 15, Abedini teaches all the limitations above receiving serial numbers, set by the base station, corresponding to the target reference signal identifiers.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. GAO teaches the reference signal identifier can be an identifier, e.g., a serial number, of the reference signal selected by the terminal in the N.sub.T.sup.BS reference signals transmitted by the base station. The reference signal reception quality can be RSRP or another indicator. The reference signal group identifier is defined as follows: the terminal groups the reference signal into L groups, for example, and the L groups of reference signals can be identified as 1, 2, . . . , L, respectively, so the reported information includes the identifier of the group of reference signals including the selected reference signal ([0141]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of GAO within the system of Abedini in order to provide a method and device for obtaining transmitting beam information, and a method and device for feeding back transmitting beam information so that a terminal and a base station can obtain more accurate beam combination information to better support multi-beam transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643