Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 are under examination on the merits.
Claims 6, 9, 12 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 3, the phrase “ a factor of not less than 2 or not more than 0.5” does not make sense. It is unclear what factor is referred to and if applicant is referring to range in said phrase or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4796967 B2, 10/2011, see also its English translation thereof (attached), which will be used to cite relevant text.
Said Japanese patent teaches biomarkers in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) for Alzheimer’s disease. In paragraph 10 of said translation document it is disclosed that Cystatin C, a cysteine protease inhibitor, is considered to be involved in neurodegeneration and the repair process of the nervous system, and in the different types of dementia, the deposition of the protein along with β-amyloid peptide is found as cerebral amyloid angiopathy (CAA).
In section IX. Paragraph 13, said patent discloses full-length cystatin C is believed to bind to human lysosomal proteases (eg, cathepsins B and L) and inhibit its activity.
In example 3, said patent discloses the following:
M12583.4 peptide has been identified as a truncated cystatin C peptide and has the sequence underlined in SEQ ID NO: 4. This truncated Cys-C, lacking the first 8 N-terminal residues, has a 20-fold lower affinity for cathepsin B, but not for other cathepsins. Cathepsin B plays a key role in AD. Cathepsin B is identified in many early Alzheimer's disease endosomes, but can also be detected in a small percentage of normal brain endosomes, (wherein said endosomes are extracellular vesicles). Said patent also mentions that it has been found that this truncated Cys-C is a biomarker for AD in both CSF and blood. This is the first time this 8aa N-terminal truncated version has been described in CSF or blood (which inherently has plasma therein).
Under Mode of invention, Example 1, discloses that Tau is also a marker for diagnosis of AD patients.
Therefore, given the above teachings, said patent clearly establishes the role of cathepsin B in detection and Alzheimer’s disease and its Tau pathogenic phase.
Therefore, when confronting a candidate AD patient, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to take a blood (or plasma) sample of said patient and look for abnormal levels (lower/higher than normal levels) of cathpesin B therein relative to control. One of ordinary skill in the art will be motivated to measure and compare cathepsin B levels of patient’s sample relative to control because the above shown Japanese patent teaches that in AD patients (including those who are at Tau-pathogenic phase or neurodegenerative phase, truncated Cystatin C hardly allows the binding of Cathepsin B and result in its abnormal levels in blood/plasma endosomes relative to control, rendering this invention obvious.
Finally, one of ordinary skill in the art has a reasonable expectation of success in measuring the amount of cathepsin B accumulation in the endosomes of candidate AD patient and comparing said amount to control because such methods were fully established in the prior art before the effective filing of this application.
With respect to claims 8 and 11, it should be noted that one of ordinary skill in the art reasonably expects that the endosomes of said AD patients will have at least one of said proteins by inherency.
Regarding claim 14, considering the utility of Cathepsin B as a potential biomarker in diagnosis of AD, it is readily motivating to tone of ordinary skill to place said protease in a kit together with its assay reagents, rendering said claim also obvious.
No claim is allowed.
/MARYAM MONSHIPOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651