DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 03/07/2024 has been entered. Claims have been cancelled. Claims 1-20 are pending in this Office action
Oath/Declaration
The Oath or Declaration is being considered by examiner and complies with PTO requirements.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/07/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 03/07/2024, 08/01/2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CRR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2023/0421223) hereinafter Li in view of Choi et al (US 2022/0078581) hereinafter Choi.
Regarding claims 1, Li discloses a computer-implemented method, in a first device, comprising: receiving reference signal information as an input to a transmit neural network of the first device (see Abstract, a neural network 220); generating, by the transmit neural network, a first output based on the reference signal information, the first output representing a reference signal (see Abstract, reference signals (CSI-RSs); controlling a radio frequency antenna interface of the first device to transmit a first RF signal representative of the first output for receipt by a second device (see 0005], [0029]); responsive to transmitting the first RF signal, receiving, at a receive neural network of the first device, an input representing one or more RF signals associated with the second device (see [0106], [0107]). Li fails explicitly disclose generating, by the receive neural network, a second output representing a position estimate of the second device based on the input to the receive neural network.
Choi discloses generating, by the receive neural network, a second output representing a position estimate of the second device based on the input to the receive neural network (see Abstract, [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to generate, by the receive neural network, a second output representing a position estimate of the second device based on the input to the receive neural network as taught by Choi into the teachings of Li in order to provide advantages that include improved accuracy in positioning of user equipments (UEs) (e.g., UEs in vehicles).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein receiving the input representing one or more RF signals associated with the second device comprises: receiving a second RF signal from the second device representing signal measurements associated with the first RF signal (see [0005], [0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses wherein the second RF signal received from the second device further represents local sensor data generated at the second device (see [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses wherein the position estimate indicates a location of the second device and an orientation of the second device (see [0044], [0068], [0074], [0085]).
Claim 20 is similar to claim 1. Therefore; claim 20 is rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 2023/0421223) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses computer-implemented method, in a first device, comprising: receiving, at a radio frequency antenna interface of the first device, a first RF signal from a second device, the first RF signal representative of a reference signal (see Abstract, a neural network 220, [0005]); providing a representation of the first RF signal as a first input to a receive neural network of the first device (see [0106], [0107]) ; and generating, by the receive neural network, a first output representing a measurement report at the first device based on the first input to the receive neural network (see [0005], [0052]).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses receiving as an input, at a transmit neural network of the first device, the first output from the receive neural network (see [0005]); generating, by the transmit neural network, a second output representing the measurement report (see Abstract, [0023], [0052]); and controlling the RF antenna interface of the first device to transmit a second RF signal representative of the second output for receipt by the second device(see 0005], [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tokgoz et al (US 2022/0286215) disclose a neural network-based spatial inter-cell interference learning
Ratnam et al (US 2021/0360456) disclose a method and apparatus for base station audit correction in wireless communication networks.
/KHAI TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632
KT
February 2, 2026