Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for measuring the degree of aggregation of a protein or polypeptide in a liquid sample, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/16/2026
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claim 7-11 in the reply filed on 09/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 12-17 have been newly added.
Specification
The use of the term "ThermoFisher [pg 18, line 24]", which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 7 is being interpreted as a test of a sample and a read out of the test. However, the words “determining” and “comparing” could be construed as an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "contacting the sample with a compound of Formula (I)". This limitation is indefinite since it is unclear with respect to what the fluorescence is actually measured for, the sample or something in the sample contacted with Formula I. The limitation will be interpreted as the sample with fluorophore is illuminated and measured for something in the sample contacted with Formula I (Specification, line 6-11). Claims 8-17 depend on claim 7, thus also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senisterra et al. (US 20050079526 A1), and further in view of non-patent literature 'Azadioxatriangulenium and Diazaoxatriangulenium: Quantum Yields and Fundamental Photophysical Properties' by Bogh et al cited in the IDS filed on 09/16/2026. Senisterra is cited in a previous office action filed on 08/04/2026.
Regarding claim 7, Senisterra teaches contacting the sample with a fluorophore (para 0118), illuminating the sample (para 0033), measuring the fluorescence polarization value of the illuminated sample (para 0114), comparing the measured fluorescence polarization value against a reference to determining the aggregation of the protein or the polypeptide (para 0092, 0019, and 0114), wherein the comparison indicates whether the aggregated analyte is present in the sample (para 0092, 0019, and 0114).
Senisterra does not teach the fluorophore being the compound in Formula (I).
Bogh teaches the photophysical properties of triangulenium dyes which have features that make them useful in various fluorescence-based technology such as bioimaging (pg 193, Abstract). Bogh further teaches a fluorophore diazaoxatriangulenium (DAOTA) (pg 193, Section Introduction, Scheme 1) which is the compound of Formula (I). Thus, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Senisterra with the fluorophore of Formula (I) as taught by Bogh for the benefit of using a fluorophore with a long fluorescence lifetime to enhance sensitivity of detection (pg 193, Section Introduction).
Regarding claim 8, Senisterra in view of Bogh teaches the invention of claim 7.
Senisterra does not teach the derivative is a diazaoxatriangulenium of Formula (III).
Bogh further teaches derivative of diazaoxatriangulenium which include the compound of Formula (III) (‘MeDAOTA’) (pg 194, Section Methods and Materials). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Senisterra with fluorophore is the derivative compound in formula (III) as taught by Bogh for the benefit of using a fluorophore with a radiative rate constant smaller than aryl-substituted derivatives for less background noise (pg 200, Subsection Absorption and Fluorescence Data).
Regarding claim 9, Senisterra in view of Bogh teaches the invention of claim 7.
Senisterra does not teach the derivative is a N-propyl, N’-propyl derivative diazaoxatriangulenium.
Bogh further teaches the derivative is a N-propyl, N’-propyl derivative diazaoxatriangulenium (‘PrDAOTA’) (pg 194, Section Methods and Materials). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Senisterra with the derivative is a N-propyl, N’-propyl derivative diazaoxatriangulenium as taught by Bogh for the benefit of using a derivative with a higher fluorescence quantum yield than a MeDAOTA for improved sensitivity (pg 197, Table 1).
Regarding claim 10, Senisterra in view of Bogh teaches the invention of claim 9.
Senisterra does not teach the derivative is a N-propyl, N’-propyl derivative diazaoxatriangulenium of Formula (II).
Bogh further teaches the derivative is a N-propyl, N’-propyl derivative diazaoxatriangulenium of Formula (II) (‘PrDAOTA’) (pg 194, Section Methods and Materials). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Senisterra with the derivative is a N-propyl, N’-propyl derivative diazaoxatriangulenium of Formula (II) as taught by Bogh for the benefit of using a derivative with a fluorescence lifetime smaller than a MeDAOTA for efficient detection (pg 197, Table 1).
Regarding claim 13, Senisterra in view of Bogh teaches the invention of claim 7. Senisterra further teaches determining a degree of aggregation of the analyte in the sample based on a comparison of the measured fluorescence polarization value to the reference fluorescence polarization value (para 0092, 0019, and 0114).
Regarding claim 14, Senisterra in view of Bogh teaches the invention of claim 13. Senisterra teaches the degree of aggregation comprises comparing the measured fluorescence polarization value to one or more reference fluorescence polarization values corresponding to aggregation standards having known degrees of aggregation (para 0159, 0092, 0019, and 0114).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senisterra et al. (US 20050079526 A1) in view of non-patent literature 'Azadioxatriangulenium and Diazaoxatriangulenium: Quantum Yields and Fundamental Photophysical Properties' by Bogh et al cited in the IDS filed on 09/16/2026 and further in view of Goix et al. (US 20080003685 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Senisterra in view of Bogh teaches the invention of claim 7.
Senisterra in view of Bogh does not teach the analyte is selected from an antibody, an antibody fragment, an enzyme, an amyloid, an Fe fusion protein, an anticoagulant, a blood factor, a bone morphogenetic protein, an engineered protein scaffold, a growth factor, a hormone, an interferon, an interleukin, a thrombolytic, tau, alpha-synuclein, TAR DNA binding protein 43, a C9orf72-related protein, islet amyloid polypeptide, and transthyretin.
Goix teaches a method including contacting the sample with a capture agent and adding fluorescent labels and detecting the emissions (para 0004-0011). Goix further teaches that antibodies can be the analyte that is detected (para 0083). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Senisterra in view of Bogh with the analyte being an antibody as taught by Goix for the benefit of detecting and diagnosis of infectious disease which require testing antibodies (para 0166).
Regarding claim 12, Senisterra in view of Bogh further in view of Goix teaches the
invention of claim 11.
Goix further teaches antibodies such as IgG, IgM, IgE, and IgA are useful for the detection and characterization of antibody immunodeficiency disorders (para 0167). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Senisterra in view of Bogh with antibody is selected from IgG, IgM, IgE, IgD and IgA as taught by Goix for the benefit of detecting and characterizing antibody immunodeficiency disorders (para 0167).
Claims 15, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senisterra et al. (US 20050079526 A1) in view of non-patent literature 'Azadioxatriangulenium and Diazaoxatriangulenium: Quantum Yields and Fundamental Photophysical Properties' by Bogh et al cited in the IDS filed on 09/16/2026 and further in view of non-patent literature “High Throughput Fluorescence Assay to Detect Aggregation During Biologics Formulation Development” by Arora et al.
Regarding claim 15, Senisterra in view of Bogh teaches the invention of claim 7.
Senisterra in view of Bogh does not teach the comparison indicates that the aggregated analyte is present in the sample when a degree of aggregation of the analyte meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold.
Arora teaches a fluorescence-based screening method that to rank order formulations based on extent of aggregation (pg 109, Abstract). Arora further teaches evaluating a fluorescence assay to determine the percentage of aggregates (pg 114, Figure 3). This can be used to obtain a threshold that can be used for comparison. Thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Senisterra in view of Bogh with the comparison indicates that the aggregated analyte is present in the sample when a degree of aggregation of the analyte meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold as taught by Arora for the benefit of evaluating fluorescence method during development screening studies (pg 115, left column).
Regarding claim 16, Senisterra in view of Bogh further in view of Arora teaches the
invention of claim 15.
Additionally, Arora further teaches evaluating a fluorescence assay to determine the percentage of aggregates (pg 114, Figure 3, Figure 1). Thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Senisterra in view of Bogh in view of Arora the reference fluorescence polarization value corresponds to the predetermined threshold as taught by Arora for the benefit of evaluating the physical stability of test protein systems to rank order formulation prototypes (pg 113, left column).
Regarding claim 17, Senisterra in view of Bogh further in view of Arora teaches the
invention of claim 15.
Arora further teaches evaluating a fluorescence assay to determine the percentage of aggregates (pg 115, Figure 3e). Although the predetermined threshold of 5% aggregation of the analyte is not taught, one can adjust the threshold based on the analyte and the corresponding reference value. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine the predetermined threshold of percent aggregated as taught by Arora for the benefit of detecting the presence of analyte based on the aggregation.
Conclusion
/H.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798