Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Submission dated 05/26/2026 amends the specification and claims 1-2 and 5-9. Claims 1-9 are pending.
In view of the amendment to the specification, the previously set forth objections to the specification have been withdrawn, and in view of the amendment to the claims, the previously set forth claim objections and 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Argument
On page 8 of the submission, the applicant states that the system claims have been amended to not invoke the 112(f) interpretation. The examiner points out that adding the phrase “configured to” does not take the respective limitations out of the 112(f) interpretation because the limitations still use a generic place holder, e.g., “unit”, that does not denote any structure (see MPEP 2181(I)).
The examiner suggests, if supported, replacing the generic placeholder with a structural term such as a processor, a circuit, or a circuitry.
On pages 8-10 of the submission, the applicant argues that Shota does not teach or suggest “estimating a coordinate transformation parameter to transform a first coordinate system corresponding to a three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model into a second coordinate system being a two-dimensional coordinate system corresponding to a viewpoint of the imaging device that has captured the two-dimensional photographed image, based on the shape recognized by the identification shape unit and on the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model of the inspection target object.” The examiner disagrees.
First, as discussed before in the previous office action and again in the below rejection, Shota as applied implicitly teaches or at least suggests the quoted limitations because the cited portion of Shota teaches extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified. The internal parameters used in extracting the 2D simulated image corresponds to the claimed coordinate transformation parameters because 3D CAD model is transformed into the 2D simulated image. The examiner notes that the coordinate system of the extracted 2D simulated image corresponds to the claimed second coordinate system because the extracted 2D simulated image since it corresponds to the 2D real image and contains the same reference parts of the inspection object as the real image.
Second, as also discussed before in the previous office action and again in the below rejection, the limitations are also taught by Sakamoto because the cited portion of Sakamoto teaches estimating the relative position and posture of the camera between the selected frame and the reference frame to transform a set of coordinates corresponding to the 3d model into another set of coordinates corresponding to the viewpoint of the camera that has captured the reference frame based on the 3d model and the 3d shape data therein (see, e.g., pars. 156-165 and FIGS. 2 and 5-7 of Sakamoto).
For the aforementioned reasons, the examiner disagrees with the applicant’s arguments and finds the applicant’s arguments unpersuasive.
On page 10 of the submission, the applicant argues that Sakamoto does not teach or suggest “extracting a two-dimensional simulated image corresponding to a two- dimensional photographed image from a three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model after the viewpoint information has been modified, as in independent claim 1.” The examiner disagrees.
First, the examiner points out that the examiner did not rely on Sakamoto to teach the quoted limitation. Instead, the examiner relied on Shota. As such, the applicant’s argument moot.
Second, Shota as applied taches the quoted limitation because it teaches extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6 of Shota).
For the aforementioned reasons, the examiner disagrees with the applicant’s arguments and finds the applicant’s arguments unpersuasive.
Claim Interpretation
The claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is maintained in view of the amendments to the claims for the reasons provided in the item #5 of the Response to Argument section.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“identification shape unit” in claim 1;
“defect detection unit” in claim 1;
“coordinate transformation parameter estimation unit” in claim 1;
“three-dimensional CAD model position change unit” in claim 1;
“two-dimensional simulated image extraction unit” in claim 1;
“depiction unit” in claim 1;
“report creation unit” in claim 6; and
“coordinate transformation parameter correction unit” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP patent application publication no. 2021-021669 to Shota et al. (hereinafter Shota) in view of us patent application publication no. 2024/0193852 to Sakamoto.
For claims 1 and 8, Shota as applied teaches an inspection assistance system comprising:
an identification shape unit configured to recognize a shape of an inspection target object included in a two-dimensional photographed image based on the two-dimensional photographed image obtained by capturing the inspection target object with an imaging device (see, e.g., par. 47 and FIG. 1, which teach identifying a shape of the inspection object in a 2D real image acquired by an image acquisition unit);
a defect detection unit configured to detect a defect of the inspection target object included in the two-dimensional photographed image (see, e.g., par. 56 and FIG. 1, which teach detecting a defect of the object in the 2Dreal image);
a coordinate transformation parameter estimation unit configured to estimate a coordinate transformation parameter to transform a first coordinate system corresponding to a three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model into a second coordinate system corresponding to a viewpoint of the imaging device that has captured the two-dimensional photographed image based on the shape recognized by the identification shape unit and on the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model of the inspection target object (see, e.g., par. 57 and FIG. 1, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified), the second coordinate system being a two-dimensional coordinate system (see, e.g., par. 57 and FIG. 1, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image; the examiner finds the coordinate system of the simulated to be 2D coordinate system);
a three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model position change unit configured to modify a position and a direction of viewpoint information of the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model of the inspection target object by using the coordinate transformation parameter (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified);
a two-dimensional simulated image extraction unit configured to extract a two-dimensional simulated image corresponding to the two-dimensional photographed image from the three- dimensional Computer Aided Design model after the viewpoint information is modified (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified); and
a depiction unit configured to create a defect image by fitting the two-dimensional photographed image including the defect detected by the defect detection unit to the two-dimensional simulated image, and to depict the defect image on the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model (see, e.g., pars. 58-59 and 71 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach creating the adjusted defect image by adjusting the 2D defect image showing the defect detected by the detection unit to fit the 2D simulated image, and depicting the adjusted defect image on the 3D CD model).
Shota teaches extracting, from the 3d CAD model, a simulated image that corresponds to the real image and contains the reference parts of the real image (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6). The examiner believes that the cited portion of Shota may suggest estimating “a coordinate transformation parameter to transform a first coordinate system corresponding to the three-dimensional CAD model into a second coordinate system corresponding to a viewpoint of the imaging device that has captured the two-dimensional photographed image based on the shape recognized by the identification shape unit and on a three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object” and modifying “a position and a direction of viewpoint information of the three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object by using the coordinate transformation parameter.”
However, for the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner relies on Sakamoto in the analogous art that explicitly teaches the quoted limitations. Sakamoto teaches:
a coordinate transformation parameter estimation unit to estimate a coordinate transformation parameter to transform a first coordinate system corresponding to the three-dimensional CAD model into a second coordinate system corresponding to a viewpoint of the imaging device that has captured the two-dimensional photographed image based on the shape recognized by the identification shape unit and on a three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object (see, e.g., pars. 156-165 and FIGS. 2 and 5-7 of Sakamoto, which teach estimating the relative position and posture of the camera between the selected frame and the reference frame to transform a set of coordinates corresponding to the 3d model into another set of coordinates corresponding to the viewpoint of the camera that has captured the reference frame based on the 3d model and the 3d shape data therein);
a three-dimensional CAD model position change unit to modify a position and a direction of viewpoint information of the three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object by using the coordinate transformation parameter (see, e.g., pars. 166-167 and FIG. 2 of Sakamoto, which teach modifying a position and posture of viewpoint information of the 3d model by associating the coordinates of the target image with the 3d model based on the position and posture of the camera that acquired the reference image and the condition, i.e., the internal parameter and the distortion correction parameter, for generating the 3d model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the viewpoint of the 3d CAD model as taught by Sakamoto because doing so would yield predictable results of allowing an accurate estimation of the position of the defect when the viewpoints are modified (see, e.g., par. 166 and MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
For claim 2, Shota as applied teaches that the coordinate transformation parameter estimation unit is configured to specify in advance a plurality of first reference portions of the inspection target object in the two-dimensional photographed image based on the shape recognized by the identification shape unit (see, e.g., pars. 47-51 and FIGS. 1-2, which teach detecting characteristic parts of the inspection object as the reference parts).
Shota does not explicitly teach estimating the coordinate transformation parameter such that a plurality of second reference portions registered in advance in the three-dimensional CAD model coincide with the plurality of first reference portions. Sakamoto in the analogous art teaches estimating the relative positions and postures of the camera with respect to the reference frame such that the points in the 3d model coincide with the points of the reference frame (see, e.g., pars. 164-165 and FIGS. 6-7 of Sakamoto).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shota to use coinciding reference parts as taught by Sakamoto because doing so would yield predictable results of allowing an accurate estimation of the position of the defect when the viewpoints are modified (see, e.g., par. 166 of Sakamoto and MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
For claim 3, while Shota does not explicitly teach, Sakamoto in the analogous art teaches that the coordinate transformation parameter includes an external parameter for defining a position and a posture of the imaging device in the first coordinate system (see, e.g., pars. 156-165 and FIGS. 2 and 5-7 of Sakamoto, which teach estimating the relative position and posture of the camera between the selected frame and the reference frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the viewpoint of the 3d CAD model as taught by Sakamoto because doing so would yield predictable results of allowing an accurate estimation of the position of the defect when the viewpoints are modified (see, e.g., par. 166 of Sakamoto and MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
For claim 4, while Shota does not explicitly teach, Sakamoto in the analogous art teaches that the coordinate transformation parameter further includes an internal parameter relating to the imaging device (see, e.g., pars. 128 and 166-167 and FIG. 2 of Sakamoto, which teach modifying a position and posture of viewpoint information of the 3d model based the condition, i.e., the internal parameter of the camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the viewpoint of the 3d CAD model as taught by Sakamoto because doing so would yield predictable results of allowing an accurate estimation of the position of the defect when the viewpoints are modified (see, e.g., par. 166 of Sakamoto and MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
For claim 5, Shota in view of Sakamoto teaches that the depiction unit adjusts a position and a dimension of the depicted defect image by performing plane transformation of the two-dimensional photographed image including the defect image based on a result of comparing the two-dimensional photographed image with the two-dimensional simulated image (see, e.g., pars. 58-59 and FIG. 1 of Shota, which teach adjusting the position and dimension of the depicted defect image by performing an affine transformation on the defect image included in the 2D real image based on a result of comparing the two-dimensional real image and the 2D simulated image).
For claim 6, Shota in view of Sakamoto teaches:
a report creation unit configured to derive a three-dimensional position and dimension of the defect in the inspection target object based on the defect image projected onto the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model from dimensional data of the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model, and to create a report including a derivation result of the position and the dimension (see, e.g., pars. 59-61 and FIG. 1 of Shota, which teach deriving the three-dimensional position and dimension of the defect in the inspection object based on the defect image depicted on the 3D CAD model from the dimension data of the 3D CAD model, and creating a report including the derivation result of the position and the dimension).
For claim 9, Shota as applied teaches a computer-readable storage medium that stores an inspection assistance program that causes a computer (see, e.g., pars. 33-34, 39, 44, and 92 and FIG. 1) to execute:
recognizing a shape of an inspection target object included in a two-dimensional photographed image based on the two-dimensional photographed image obtained by capturing the inspection target object with an imaging device (see, e.g., par. 47 and FIG. 1, which teach identifying a shape of the inspection object in a 2D real image acquired by an image acquisition unit);
detecting a defect of the inspection target object included in the two-dimensional photographed image (see, e.g., par. 56 and FIG. 1, which teach detecting a defect of the object in the 2Dreal image);
estimating a coordinate transformation parameter to transform a first coordinate system corresponding to a three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model into a second coordinate system corresponding to a viewpoint of the imaging device that has captured the two-dimensional photographed image, based on the shape and the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model of the inspection target object (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified), the second coordinate system being a two-dimensional coordinate system (see, e.g., par. 57 and FIG. 1, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image; the examiner finds the coordinate system of the simulated to be 2D coordinate system);
modifying a position and a direction of viewpoint information of the three- dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object by using the coordinate transformation parameter (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified);
extracting a two-dimensional simulated image corresponding to the two- dimensional photographed image from the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design model after the viewpoint information is modified (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6, which teach extracting a 2D simulated image corresponding to the 2D real image from the 3D CAD model after the part corresponding to the reference parts of the inspection objection in the real image is recognized/identified); and
creating a defect image by fitting the two-dimensional photographed image including the defect to the two-dimensional simulated image, and depicting the defect image on the three-dimensional Computer Aided Design (see, e.g., pars. 58-59 and 71 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach creating the adjusted defect image by adjusting the 2D defect image showing the defect detected by the detection unit to fit the 2D simulated image, and depicting the adjusted defect image on the 3D CD model).
Shota teaches extracting, from the 3d CAD model, a simulated image that corresponds to the real image and contains the reference parts of the real image (see, e.g., pars. 57 and 62-65 and FIGS. 1 and 4-6). The examiner believes that the cited portion of Shota may suggest estimating “a coordinate transformation parameter to transform a first coordinate system corresponding to the three-dimensional CAD model into a second coordinate system corresponding to a viewpoint of the imaging device that has captured the two-dimensional photographed image based on the shape recognized by the identification shape unit and on a three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object” and modifying “a position and a direction of viewpoint information of the three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object by using the coordinate transformation parameter.”
However, for the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner relies on Sakamoto in the analogous art that explicitly teaches the quoted limitations. Sakamoto teaches:
a coordinate transformation parameter estimation unit to estimate a coordinate transformation parameter to transform a first coordinate system corresponding to the three-dimensional CAD model into a second coordinate system corresponding to a viewpoint of the imaging device that has captured the two-dimensional photographed image based on the shape recognized by the identification shape unit and on a three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object (see, e.g., pars. 156-165 and FIGS. 2 and 5-7 of Sakamoto, which teach estimating the relative position and posture of the camera between the selected frame and the reference frame to transform a set of coordinates corresponding to the 3d model into another set of coordinates corresponding to the viewpoint of the camera that has captured the reference frame based on the 3d model and the 3d shape data therein);
a three-dimensional CAD model position change unit to modify a position and a direction of viewpoint information of the three-dimensional CAD model of the inspection target object by using the coordinate transformation parameter (see, e.g., pars. 166-167 and FIG. 2 of Sakamoto, which teach modifying a position and posture of viewpoint information of the 3d model by associating the coordinates of the target image with the 3d model based on the position and posture of the camera that acquired the reference image and the condition, i.e., the internal parameter and the distortion correction parameter, for generating the 3d model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the viewpoint of the 3d CAD model as taught by Sakamoto because doing so would yield predictable results of allowing an accurate estimation of the position of the defect when the viewpoints are modified (see, e.g., par. 166 of Sakamoto and MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shota in view of Sakamoto and further in view of us patent application publication no. 2022/0383456 to Gulati et al. (hereinafter Gulati).
For claim 7, while Shota in view of Sakamoto does not explicitly teach, Gulati in the analogous art teaches correcting the coordinate transformation parameter through noise removal using machine learning (see, e.g., pars. 62-64 of Gulati, which teach performing a denoise function using a deep learning model before performing image transformation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shota in view of Sakamoto to denoise before transforming as taught by Gulati because doing so would yield predictable results of allowing providing a better quality transformed image (see, e.g., par. 63 of Gulati and MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WOO C RHIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2676 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669