CTNF 18/690,077 CTNF 87779 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This is the first action on the merits and in response to preliminary amendment filed on 03/07/2024 for application 18/690,077. Claims 1-16 are pending; claims 3-6 have been amended; claims 7-16 are added. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2024, 09/23/2024, 09/08/2025 have been considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation The term “portion” does not have definition in the specification. Under BRI, the term “portion” is interpreted as segment or part or piece of a whole structure. The term “connected” does not have definition in the specification. Under BRI, the term “connected” encompasses directly or indirectly (via intermediate elements). Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 3 is o bjected to because of the following informalities: C laim 3, line 4 recites “mounted on the portion” should read – mounted on the portion of the first board portion —to clarify the limitation . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 4, 10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites “ a first board portion connected to the motor and disposed on a radially outer side of the motor ” . It is unclear how the first board portion 50 is disposed on radially outer side of motor 26 as recited. As shown in Fig.3, the first board portion is arranged axially outer side of motor rather than radially outer side of motor. Claims 10, 14 are also rejected due to their dependency from claim 4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ODAIRA (US 20200217379 A1 cited from IDS) in view of FUJIMOTO (US 20200239065 A1) Claim 1: ODAIRA discloses a disk brake (1; Fig.3) comprising: a motor (31); a rotation-linear motion conversion mechanism (116) configured to convert a rotational motion transmitted from an output shaft (32) of the motor (31) into a linear motion to cause a frictional pad (2) to be pressed (¶[0037] , [0063]) a first board portion (74) connected to (via 91, see ¶[0024]) the motor (31) and disposed opposite from an output shaft side of the motor (31) in an axial direction of the output shaft (32); ODAIRA does not disclose a second board portion connected to the first board portion and disposed so as to face the first board portion and be spaced apart from the first board portion by a predetermined distance. FUJIMOTO teaches a motor (20; Fig.3) having a first board portion (27) connected to the motor (20) (see ¶[0043]) and disposed opposite from an output shaft (21) side of the motor (20) in axial direction ( e.g. rotational direction ) of the output shaft (21); and a second board portion (24) connected to (via 23) the first board portion (27) and disposed so as to face the first board portion (27) and be spaced apart from the first board portion (27) by a predetermined distance ( see annotated Fig.9 below ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace control board (74) of ODAIRA with first and second board portion (24,27) and include base body (23) as taught by FUJIMOTO for the purpose of compact, thermal efficiency board arrangement. PNG media_image1.png 758 757 media_image1.png Greyscale Claim 2: ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 1, wherein the frictional pad (2-ODAIRA) is pressed against a disk rotor (D-ODAIRA), and wherein the first board portion (27) is disposed opposite of the second board portion (24) from the disk rotor in an axial direction of the disk rotor ( as the modified device, 27 is far away from rotor disk D in axial direction ). Claim 3 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 1, wherein the first board portion (27) includes a portion (see annotated Fig.9 below) that does not overlap the second board portion (24) in a direction in which the disk rotor (D) is pressed by the frictional pad (2), and a component longer than the predetermined distance ( see annotated Fig.3 below ) is mounted on the portion. PNG media_image2.png 758 854 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 856 700 media_image3.png Greyscale Claim 4 : ODAIRA discloses a disk brake comprising: a motor (31); a rotation-linear motion conversion mechanism (116) configured to convert a rotational motion transmitted from an output shaft (32) of the motor (31) into a linear motion to cause a frictional pad (2) to be pressed (¶[0037] , [0063]); a first board portion (74) connected to (via 91, ¶[0024]) the motor (31) and disposed on a radially outer side ( examiner interpreted as axially outer side of motor ) of the motor (31); and ODAIRA does not disclose a second board portion connected to the first board portion and disposed so as to face the first board portion and be spaced apart from the first board portion by a predetermined distance. FUJIMOTO teaches a motor (20; Fig.3) having a first board portion (27) connected to the motor (20) (see ¶[0043]) and disposed opposite from an output shaft (21) side of the motor (20) in axial direction ( e.g. rotational direction ) of the output shaft (21); and a second board portion (24) connected to (via 23) the first board portion (27) and disposed so as to face the first board portion (27) and be spaced apart from the first board portion (27) by a predetermined distance ( see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 1 above ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace control board (74) of ODAIRA with first and second board portion (24,27) and include base body (23) as taught by FUJIMOTO for the purpose of compact, thermal efficiency board arrangement. Claim 5: ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 1, wherein a heat-generating component (43) is mounted on the first board portion (27). Claim 6 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 1, wherein the first board portion (27) is larger than the second board portion (24) in area ( non-overlapped area, see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 3 .). Claim 7 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 2, wherein the first board portion (27) includes a portion ( see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 3 ) that does not overlap the second board portion (24) in a direction in which the disk rotor (D) is pressed by the frictional pad (2), and a component longer than the predetermined distance ( see annotated Fig.3 below rejection of claim 3 ) is mounted on the portion. Claim 8 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 2, wherein a heat-generating component (43) is mounted on the first board portion (27). Claim 9 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 3, wherein a heat-generating component (43) is mounted on the first board portion (27). Claim 10 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 4, wherein a heat-generating component (43) is mounted on the first board portion (27). Claim 11 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 7, wherein a heat-generating component (43) is mounted on the first board portion (27). Claim 12 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 2, wherein the first board portion (27) is larger than the second board portion (24) in area ( non-overlapped area, see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 3 .). Claim 13 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 3, wherein the first board portion (27) is larger than the second board portion (24) in area ( non-overlapped area, see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 3 .). Claim 14 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 4, wherein the first board portion (27) is larger than the second board portion (24) in area ( non-overlapped area, see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 3 .). Claim 15 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 5, wherein the first board portion (27) is larger than the second board portion (24) in area (non-overlapped area, see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 3.). Claim 16 : ODAIRA as modified by FUJIMOTO discloses the disk brake according to claim 7, wherein the first board portion (27) is larger than the second board portion (24) in area ( non-overlapped area, see annotated Fig.9 below rejection of claim 3 .). Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Goto (US 20220032886 A1) discloses EMB having motor, control board. UEMATSU (US 20190207472 A1) discloses motor with circuit board. MOTODA (US 20130062137 A1) discloses motor with circuit board. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Lillian T Nguyen whose telephone number is (571)270-5404. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:30am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ernesto Suarez can be reached at (571)270-5565. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655 /LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655A Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 2 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 3 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 4 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 5 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 6 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 7 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 8 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 9 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 10 Art Unit: 3655 Application/Control Number: 18/690,077 Page 11 Art Unit: 3655