DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11, 21-23, 25, 26, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2362498 A2.
In regard to claim 1, EP 2362498 A2 discloses a connector 2, comprising:
a housing 4 that defines a recess 6 that is configured to receive a retaining structure 14 of a corresponding connector 11 of a device;
a cover 8 that is configured to obstruct access to the recess 6 and is configured to be displaced by the retaining structure 14 when the connector 2 is mated with the corresponding connector 11 of the device; and
a release 8cb, wherein, when the connector 2 is mated with the corresponding connector 11 of the device, operation of the release 8cb causes movement of the cover 8 to displace the retaining structure 14 from the recess 6.
In regard to claim 2, EP 2362498 A2 discloses when the connector 2 is mated with the corresponding connector 11 of the device, the recess 6 is configured to engage the retaining structure 14 of the corresponding connector 11 of the device to prevent removal of the connector 2 from the corresponding connector 11 of the device.
In regard to claim 3, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the recess 6 extends transverse to an insertion direction in which the connector 2 is inserted into the corresponding connector 11 of the device.
In regard to claim 4, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the housing 4 includes an end surface (see figures 8A-8D) that is configured to engage the retaining structure 14 of the corresponding connector 11 of the device to allow insertion of the connector 2 into the corresponding connector 11 of the device.
In regard to claim 5, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the release 8cb is a button.
In regard to claim 6, EP 2362498 A2 discloses a release mechanism 7 (see figures 4, 8A-8D) that is operable to cause movement of the cover 8 in response to operation of the release 8cb.
In regard to claim 8, EP 2362498 A2 discloses electrical contacts 3 that are configured for conductive engagement with the corresponding connector 11 of the device when the connector 2 is mated with the corresponding connector of the device.
In regard to claim 11, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the electrical contacts 3 are located in the recess.
In regard to claim 21, EP 2362498 A2 discloses a connector 2, comprising:
a housing 4 that includes an engagement member 10 and defines a recess 6 that is configured to receive a retaining structure 14 of a corresponding connector 11 of a device;
electrical contacts 3 that are configured for conductive engagement with the corresponding connector 11 of the device when the connector 2 is mated with the corresponding connector 11 of the device; and
a release 8cb,
wherein, when the connector 2 is mated with the corresponding connector 11 of the device, the recess 6 is configured to engage the retaining structure 14 of the corresponding connector 11 of the device to prevent removal of the connector 2 from the corresponding connector 11 of the device, and
wherein, when the connector 2 is mated with the corresponding connector 11 of the device, the release 8cb is configured to cause movement of the engagement member 10 to displace the retaining structure 14 from the recess 6.
In regard to claim 22, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the recess 6 extends transverse to an insertion direction in which the connector 2 is inserted into the corresponding connector 11 of the device.
In regard to claim 23, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the housing 4 includes an end surface (see figures 8A-8D) that is configured to engage the retaining structure 14 of the corresponding connector 11 of the device to allow insertion of the connector 2 into the corresponding connector 11 of the device.
In regard to claim 25, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the electrical contacts 3 are located in the recess.
In regard to claim 26, EP 2362498 A2 discloses a system, comprising:
an electrical connector 2 having:
a connector housing 4 that includes an engagement member 10 and defines a recess 6,
a release 8cb that is operable to cause movement of the engagement member 10, and electrical contacts 3; and
a receptacle 11 having:
a retaining structure 14 that is configured to engage the recess 6 of the electrical connector 2 to prevent removal of the electrical connector 2 from the receptacle 11 when the electrical connector 2 is mated with the receptacle 11, and
electrical contacts 12 that are configured for conductive engagement with the electrical contacts 3 of the electrical connector 2 when the electrical connector 2 is mated with the receptacle 11,
In regard to claim 28, EP 2362498 A2 discloses the electrical connector 2 includes a cover 8 that is configured to obstruct the recess 6 and is displaced by the retaining structure 14 when the electrical connector 2 is mated with the receptacle 11.
Claim(s) 21-23, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed et al. (US 5915987 A).
In regard to claim 21, Reed et al. discloses a connector 12, comprising:
a housing 30 that includes an engagement member 94 and defines a recess 34 that is configured to receive a retaining structure 28 of a corresponding connector 14 of a device;
electrical contacts that are configured for conductive engagement with the corresponding connector 14 of the device when the connector 12 is mated with the corresponding connector 14 of the device; and
a release 42,
wherein, when the connector 12 is mated with the corresponding connector 14 of the device, the recess 34 is configured to engage the retaining structure 28 of the corresponding connector 14 of the device to prevent removal of the connector 12 from the corresponding connector 14 of the device, and
wherein, when the connector 12 is mated with the corresponding connector 14 of the device, the release 42 is configured to cause movement of the engagement member to displace the retaining structure 28 from the recess 34.
In regard to claim 22, Reed et al. discloses the recess 34 extends transverse to an insertion direction in which the connector 12 is inserted into the corresponding connector 14 of the device.
In regard to claim 23, Reed et al. discloses the housing 30 includes an end surface 96 that is configured to engage the retaining structure 28 of the corresponding connector 14 of the device to allow insertion of the connector 12 into the corresponding connector 14 of the device.
In regard to claim 25, Reed et al. discloses the electrical contacts are located in the recess.
In regard to claim 26, Reed et al. discloses a system, comprising:
an electrical connector 12 having:
a connector housing 30 that includes an engagement member 94 and defines a recess 34,
a release 42 that is operable to cause movement of the engagement member 94, and electrical contacts; and
a receptacle 14 having:
a retaining structure 28 that is configured to engage the recess 34 of the electrical connector 12 to prevent removal of the electrical connector 12 from the receptacle 14 when the electrical connector 12 is mated with the receptacle 14, and
electrical contacts that are configured for conductive engagement with the electrical contacts of the electrical connector 12 when the electrical connector 12 is mated with the receptacle 14,
wherein, when the electrical connector 12 is mated with the receptacle 14, operation of the release 42 causes movement of the engagement member 94 to displace the retaining structure 28 from the recess 34.
In regard to claim 27, Reed et al. discloses
the connector housing 30 includes an end surface 96, and engagement of the end surface 96 of the connector housing 30 with the retaining structure 28 of the receptacle 14 moves the retaining structure 28 from an extended position (fig. 3a) to a retracted position (fig. 3b) to allow insertion of the electrical connector 12 into the receptacle 14,
the retaining structure 28 is biased toward the extended position, and the retaining structure 28 moves from the retracted position (fig. 3b) toward the extended position (fig. 3a) in response to alignment of the retaining structure 28 with the recess 34 of the electrical connector 12 during insertion of the electrical connector 12 into the receptacle 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 10, 12, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
7/2/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834