DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (NOTE: applicants have not responded to this objection from the previous Office Action)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaul et al. (US 20120071017 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Gaul et al. discloses a connector 4, comprising:
a housing 4a that defines a recess (see annotated drawing below) that is configured to receive a retaining structure 14 of a corresponding connector 2 of a device to mate the connector 4 to the corresponding connector 2;
a release 8, 10, wherein, when the connector 4 is mated with the corresponding connector 2 of the device, operation of the release is configured to displace the retaining structure 14 from the recess; and
electrical contacts 16 that are located on an exterior surface of the housing 4a and are configured for conductive engagement with the corresponding connector 2 of the device when the connector 4 is mated with the corresponding connector 2 of the device.
Regarding claim 30, Gaul et al. discloses when the connector 4 is mated with the corresponding connector 2 of the device, the recess is configured to engage the retaining structure 14 of the corresponding connector 2 of the device to prevent removal of the connector 4 from the corresponding connector 2 of the device.
Regarding claim 31, Gaul et al. discloses the recess extends transverse to an insertion direction in which the connector 4 is inserted into the corresponding connector 2 of the device.
Regarding claim 32, Gaul et al. discloses the housing 4a includes an end surface (see annotated drawing below) that is configured to engage the retaining structure 14 of the corresponding connector 2 of the device to allow insertion of the connector 4 into the corresponding connector 2 of the device.
Regarding claim 33, Gaul et al. discloses the release 8 is a button.
[AltContent: textbox (end surface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (recess)][AltContent: connector]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7, 10, 21-23, 25 are allowed.
Claims 34-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 29-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tdt
9/20/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834