DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/6/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Conforms with 35 USC § 101
The presently examined claims were evaluated for a 101 Alice type rejection. The conclusion from going through the Alice/Mayo test is that the independent claims are integrated into a practical application (or cannot be performed merely with the human mind) and are therefore patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. See MPEP §2106, subsection III and MPEP §2106.04, subsection II(A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190061740 A1 hereinafter Ohira.
Claim 1, Ohira discloses a parking assistance device comprising: a route setting part that sets a movement route of a vehicle; and
a control part that controls the vehicle by changing an acceleration depending on a distance between a starting position of the vehicle in the movement route and a stopping position of the vehicle in the movement route.
(paragraphs [0059-0092]: "[0059] The route generation unit 404 generates g moving route 501 for guiding the reference position G of the vehicle 1 to the target parking position N. The distance calculation unit 405 calculates a target distance of the moving route 501. In the present embodiment, the parking assistance device 400 performs steering, braking, and acceleration/deceleration control so as to move the vehicle 1 as much as the calculated target distance. In the present embodiment, the brake and acceleration/deceleration control is mainly described, but steering control according to a moved distance of the vehicle 1 is also assumed to be performed ...
[0061] Fig. 6 is an exemplary diagram illustrating a relationship between a target vehicle speed and an elapsed time set by the parking assistance device in the related art. In the example illustrated in Fig. 6 . it is assumed that a target distance is 8 m and a control cycle Ts is 1 second. The target vehicle speed calculation unit 406 calculates the target vehicle speed for each control cvcle Ts (1 second).
[0063] In the example illustrated in Fig. 6, at the time of acceleration of the vehicle, the parking assistance device increases the target vehicle speed in accordance with the set acceleration aplus(0.1 m/sec) for each control cycle Ts (1 second). Thereafter, the parking assistance device sets the maximum vehicle speed Vmaxas the target vehicle speed and moves the vehicle at the target vehicle speed. Thereafter, at the time of deceleration of the vehicle, the parking assistance device reduces the target vehicle speed in accordance with the set deceleration aminus(-0. 1 m/sec) that can be output when the parking assistance is performed for every control cycle Ts (1 second).
[0065] Fig. 8 is an exemplary diagram illustrating a change of the vehicle speed at the time of deceleration of the vehicle. As illustrated in Fig. 8, a movement
distance D from the current vehicle position to the stop position of the vehicle at the time of deceleration of the vehicle is calculated by Equation (1). D = 1 I 2 a minus· Ts 2 n n + 1; figures 5-11").
Claim 2, Ohira discloses wherein the control part performs braking control of the vehicle using a plurality of decelerations set to decrease as the distance between the starting position and the stopping position decreases [Fig. 11].
Claim 3, Ohira discloses wherein the plurality of decelerations are a first deceleration when the distance is equal to or greater than a threshold, and a second deceleration when the distance is less than the threshold, the second deceleration being smaller than the first deceleration [Fig. 13 and related text].
Claim 4, Ohira discloses wherein when the distance is less than the threshold, the control part starts a deceleration operation at a timing earlier than when the distance is equal to or greater than the threshold [Fig. 13].
Claim 5, Ohira discloses comprising a target speed setting part that sets a target speed between the starting position and the stopping position, wherein the control part: increases, when the distance between the starting position and the stopping position is less than a distance threshold, a driving force of the vehicle at a first change rate in starting the vehicle; increases, when the distance is equal to or greater than the distance threshold and the target speed is equal to or greater than a speed threshold, the driving force at a second change rate larger than the first change rate in starting the vehicle; and increases, when the distance is equal to or greater than the distance threshold and the target speed is less than the speed threshold, the driving force at the first change rate [Fig. 13 and Fig. 12 and related text Step 1205 is Fig. 13. Fig. 13 determines the speed with thresholds those are applied based on distance from Fig. 12].
Claim 6, Ohira discloses wherein the control part: reduces, when the distance is less than the distance threshold, a braking force of the vehicle at a third change rate in starting the vehicle; reduces, when the distance is equal to or greater than the distance threshold and the target speed is equal to or greater than the speed threshold, the braking force at a fourth change rate larger than the third change rate in starting the vehicle; and reduces, when the distance is equal to or greater than the distance threshold and the target speed is less than the speed threshold, the braking force at the third change rate [Fig. 13 and Fig. 12 and related text Step 1205 is Fig. 13. Fig. 13 determines the speed with thresholds those are applied based on distance from Fig. 12].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150375740 A1 The parking support device has a calculation unit (17) that calculates the speed pattern that causes a vehicle to travel along a traveling route from a current position of the vehicle to a target parking position. An acceleration recognition unit (13) recognizes the driver-requested acceleration regarding the vehicle based on an accelerator operation performed by the driver of the vehicle. A control unit (19) controls the parking support in the target parking position based on the speed pattern and the traveling route.
US 20180265079 A1 The device (102) has a trajectory plan unit (150) is configured to determine a limit stop position corresponding to a limit position to which an own vehicle travels along a traveling direction indicated by a target trajectory forward over a target stop position included in a target trajectory, when a driver performs a driving operation in a parking operation. A control unit (146,152) is configured to perform acceleration in accordance with the driving operation by the driver under a condition that a distance to the target stop position from a position of the own vehicle when the driving operation is performed is larger than a predetermined distance. The control unit is configured to perform deceleration so that the own vehicle stops in a range to the limit stop position after the acceleration.
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/FREDERICK M BRUSHABER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665