DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 03/11/24 via a preliminary amendment, which is considered by the examiner.
Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Claims 21-40 are newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
6. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 03/07/24 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawing
7. The drawings filed on 03/07/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Claims Objections
8. Claims 21-30 & 35 are objected to because of minor informalities:
9. Claim 21, in part, recites, “…memory…” in line 2. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “memory” to “a memory”.
10. Claims 22-30 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claim set forth above.
11. Claim 21, in part, recites, “…memory…” in line 2 & in line 11. For consistency and clarification with “memory” recited in claim 21, line 2, it is suggested to change “memory” in line 2 & in line 11, to “the memory”.
12. Claims 29-30 are also objected for the same reason as claim 21 above.
13. Claims 22-28 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claim set forth above.
14. Claim 25, in part, recites, “…UL/Downlink (DL)…” in line 2. It is suggested to clarify the use of words instead of “/”.
15. Claim 35 is also objected for the same reason as claim 25 above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 21, 25-26, 30-31, 35-36 & 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer et al. (hereinafter referred as Breuer) US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0180406 A1, in view of Sakhnini et al. (hereinafter referred as Sakhnini) US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0369384 A1.
Regarding claims 21 & 31: Breuer discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
receive an indication of one or more reference resource blocks (RBs) (corresponding to radio transmission resources);
receive a dynamic grant associated with transmission of an uplink (UL) signal, wherein the dynamic grant indicates a first set of RBs (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0040-0042; To minimize or to prevent disturbances or interference of the second radio communication system FKS2 with the first radio communication system FKS1, the two radio communication systems FKS1 and FKS2 form by means of a connection or by an exchange of information planning information designated as a priori knowledge in the text which follows for establishing and operating radio links in both radio communication systems FKS1 and FKS2. The priori knowledge contains at least the radio transmission resources of the frequency ranges FB1 and FB2, used or occupied for a radio transmission by the first radio communication system FKS1. In addition, it comprises the radio transmission resources of the third frequency range FB3, required by the second radio communication system FKS2 for establishing and carrying out a connection);
determine a frequency gap (FG) between the first set of RBs indicated by the dynamic grant and at least a first reference RB of the one or more reference RBs (See FIG. 1A & Para. 0052; obtain additional radio transmission resources, for example in the two guard bands GBN1 and GBN2, respectively, resource schedulers of the first radio communication system FKS1 and the second radio communication system FKS2 must have a priori knowledge about the state of the respective other radio communication system for the guard bands GBN1 and GBN2);
adjust one or more transmit (Tx) parameters based on the determined FG (See FIG. 2 & Para. 0062; the use of transmitting power values of between Pmax1 and Pmax2 is dependent on the spacing between the frequencies or subcarriers considered since a system filtering effect is increased with increasing distance and thus the effectiveness of the used transmitting power as disturbance decreases in the receiving case),
wherein when the determined FG between the first set of RBs indicated by the dynamic grant and at least the first reference RB is less than a pre-defined threshold (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0070; Subcarriers SUB1 and SUB2, respectively, used in the frequency ranges FB1 and FB2 are transmitted with a uniform transmitting power P12 while subcarriers SUB3 used in the frequency range FB3 are transmitted with a nonuniform transmitting power PV in order to minimize interference in the two frequency ranges FB1 and FB2.),
the processor and memory are configured to reduce one or more of the Tx parameters including a transmit power (See Para. 0046; lowering the transmitting power, a decrease in the interference can be achieved in the case of critical pairings of radio transmission resources); and
transmit the UL signal using the adjusted one or more Tx parameters (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0070; subcarriers SUB3 used in the frequency range FB3 are transmitted with a nonuniform transmitting power PV in order to minimize interference in the two frequency ranges FB1 and FB2).
Breuer does not explicitly disclose a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor and memory.
However, Sakhnini from the same field of endeavor discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0162; a User Equipment (UE) 1204) comprising: a processor(See FIG. 12 & Para. 0162; a User Equipment (UE) 1204 includes Processor 1206) and memory (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0162; a User Equipment (UE) 1204 includes a memory 1226),
wherein the processor and memory are configured to:
receive an indication of one or more reference resource blocks (RBs) (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0074; reference physical resource block (PRB)),
receive a dynamic grant associated with transmission of an uplink (UL) signal (See Para. 0081; the UE receives a second random message that includes an uplink grant), wherein the dynamic grant indicates a first set of RBs, and
determine a frequency gap (FG) between the first set of RBs indicated by the dynamic grant and at least a first reference RB of the one or more reference RBs (See Para. 0099; The frequency gap may be determined based on respective reference frequencies of the first BWP and the second BWP. For one example, the frequency location gap may be a frequency location gap determined as the frequency gap between the center frequency of the first BWP and the center frequency of the second BWP. For another example, the frequency location gap may be determined as the frequency gap between the upper limit of the first BWP and the upper limit of the second BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor and memory as taught by Sakhnini in the system of Breuer to select a random access channel (RACH) resource and communicate initial access message (See Para. 0005; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 25 & 35: The combination of Breuer and Sakhnini discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method.
Furthermore, Sakhnini discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method, wherein the UL signal is transmitted using one or more symbols, and wherein at least one of the one or more symbols is a mixed UL/downlink (DL) symbol in a bandwidth part (See Para. 00055-0056; the symbols on UL is CP-OFDM symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UL signal is transmitted using one or more symbols, and wherein at least one of the one or more symbols is a mixed UL/downlink (DL) symbol in a bandwidth part as taught by Sakhnini in the system of Breuer to select a random access channel (RACH) resource and communicate initial access message (See Para. 0005; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 26 & 36: The combination of Breuer and Sakhnini discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method.
Furthermore, Breuer discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method, wherein the FG is a difference in frequency between the first set of RBs and the first reference RB (See FIG. 1A & Para. 0052; To be able to obtain additional radio transmission resources, for example in the two guard bands GBN1 and GBN2, respectively, resource schedulers of the first radio communication system FKS1 and the second radio communication system FKS2 must have a priori knowledge about the state of the respective other radio communication system for the guard bands GBN1 and GBN2).
Regarding claims 30 & 40: The combination of Breuer and Sakhnini discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method.
Furthermore, Sakhnini discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to receive an explicit identification of at least one of the one or more reference RBs (See Para. 0081; The RAR may include, for example, an identifier of the random access preamble sent by the UE, a time advance (TA), an uplink grant for the UE to transmit data, cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or other identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the processor and memory are further configured to receive an explicit identification of at least one of the one or more reference RBs as taught by Sakhnini in the system of Breuer to select a random access channel (RACH) resource and communicate initial access message (See Para. 0005; lines 2-3).
18. Claims 27-28 & 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer, in view of Sakhnini, further in view of Nakamori et al. (hereinafter referred as Nakamori) US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0243429 A1.
Regarding claims 27 & 37: The combination of Breuer and Sakhnini discloses wherein the one or more Tx parameters comprises a transmit power (See Breuer; Para. 0046; transmitting power) but fails to disclose the one or more Tx parameters comprises a MCS level.
However, Nakamori from the same field of endeavor discloses a MCS level (See Para. 0252; modulation scheme (i.e., MCS level)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a MCS level as taught by Nakamori in the combined system of Sakhnini and Breuer to appropriately measure a radio quality when multicarrier transmission is performed (See Para. 0025; lines 2-3).
Regarding claims 28 & 38: The combination of Breuer, Sakhnini and Nakamori disclose a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method.
Furthermore, Nakamori discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)/method, wherein the transmit power or the MCS level is adjusted based on multiple thresholds (See Para. 0191 & 0196; the first threshold value may have a value of 5 as an example when 0 to 15 are defined as the MCS level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the transmit power or the MCS level is adjusted based on multiple thresholds as taught by Nakamori in the combined system of Sakhnini and Breuer to appropriately measure a radio quality when multicarrier transmission is performed (See Para. 0025; lines 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
19. Claims 22-24, 29, 32-34 & 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
20. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Elazzouni et al. 2024/0215106 A1 (Title: Sidelink time division multiplex in-device coeexistenec) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Hui et al. 2024/0155574 A1 (Title: Priority indication for multiple consecutive slots transmission) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Chae et al. 2023/0354211 A1 (Title: Power control for sidelink beamforming) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469