DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "106" (see figure 3A) and "108" (see figure 1) have both been used to designate Network.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “106” has been used to designate both server (see figure 1) and network (see figure 3A).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “116” (see page 5 paragraph [0024]).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “635” (see page 24 paragraph [0078]).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation in page 11 paragraph [0041] “manipulateable” seems to be improper because it is improperly constructed; it is suggested to be changed to “manipulatable”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tague (AU 2019246880 A1) in view of Hoppe (US 20190030705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tague discloses a system for wirelessly communicating with a tool with (paragraph [0020], "The instructions selected for processor execution are loaded from a component remote to the tool. If the particular tool is a cordless tool, the instructions are transmitted by a wireless communications link."; Figure 17, blocks 546, 532, 30a), a tool storage system configured to store the tool (Figure 17, blocks 532, "docking station"; paragraph [0221], "in order to facilitate signal exchange the tool is seated in a docking station 532."); a wireless communication device coupled to the tool storage system (Figure 17, blocks 543 and item 546, paragraph [0221], "Docking station 532 has its own transceiver head 534. When the tool 30a is seated in the docking station 532, the two transceiver heads 530 and 534 are positioned close enough together to allow the signal exchange therebetween.", paragraph [0228], "Head 546 also serves as the head through which signals from a wired or wireless device, wireless pendant 548 illustrated, are received.") , the wireless communication device comprising a power source interface configured to selectively electrically couple to a power source a transceiver (implicitly disclosed by the presence of the transceiver 534); an antenna (paragraph [0222], "transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae."); a processor (paragraph [0222], " In these versions of the invention each transceiver head 530 and 534 also includes the appropriate signal modulating and demodulating sub circuits to convert the exchanged signals between electrical and RF states."; paragraph [0223], "This signal exchange ... including such technologies as WiFi, Bluetooth") electrically coupled to the power source, the transceiver, and the antenna, the wireless communication device is configured to establish a first communication link with an external device, receive an indication that communications with the tool are to be carried out (paragraph [0228], "a surgeon enters a command by pressing touch screen buttons presented on pendant 548. These commands are broadcast to head 546. Head 546, in turn, converts these commands into digital signal packets"; paragraph [0249], "Once the surgeon 71 selected operating configuration steps 360 and 362 are executed. Steps 360 and 362 are executed by the remote unit forwarding the surgeon-selected operating configuring data to the docking station transceiver head 534"); and in response to the indication that communications with the tool are to be carried out, establish a wireless second communication link with the tool using the transceiver and antenna (paragraph [0249], "These data are then loaded into the appropriate locations in RAM memory 432 of the control module 40 (memory locations not shown). "; Figure 1A, item 40, Figure 13).
Tague doesn’t specifically disclose a tool storage system configured to store the tool. Hoppe discloses a tool storage system configured to store the tool (abstract, figures 1-83 paragraphs [0003] see also US 2014/0166516 A paragraph [0001] incorporated by reference figures 28-29).
Tague and Hoppe are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Tague tool storage disclosed by Hoppe. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been conveniently store and organize tools and accessories (Hoppe paragraph [0003]). See also KSR. In the KSR case, the Court stated that in certain circumstances what is obvious to try is also obvious, such as where "there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem, and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Regarding hindsight, the Court found that "[r]igid preventive rules that deny fact finders recourse to common sense . . . are neither necessary under our case law nor consistent with it." The Court stated that "familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes," analogizing an obvious invention to the fitting together of pieces to a puzzle. The Court in this regard further stated that the person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, and not "an automaton."
Regarding claim 2, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Hoppe also discloses a tool box including a base defining a volume and a lid (figure 1). Tague also discloses the power source interface, the transceiver, the antenna, and the processor (paragraph [0249], "These data are then loaded into the appropriate locations in RAM memory 432 of the control module 40 (memory locations not shown). "; Figure 1A, item 40, Figure 13)
Regarding claim 3, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 2, Hoppe also discloses a tool box including a base defining a volume and a lid (figure 1). Tague also discloses the antenna is one of a plurality of antennas arranged and the wireless communication device is configured to communicate with the tool using each of the plurality of antennas (paragraph [0222], "transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae" antennae is plural of antenna). See also MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. reversal, duplication, or rearrangement of parts; more tools will need more antennae.
Regarding claim 4, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 3, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art the plurality of antennas are integrated into a mat that is supported by the tool box within the volume (paragraph [0222], "transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae."). See also MPEP 2144.04.VI.B reversal, duplication, or rearrangement of parts. more tools will need more antennae. See also KSR just an option of a limited number of possibilities six sides of the box an. inside or outside where to put the antennae in the box
Regarding claim 5, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 3, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art the antenna is one of a plurality of antennas arranged into a pattern in the tool box, and wherein the wireless communication device is configured to establish the wireless second communication link with the tool using a first antenna of the plurality of antennas and is configured to establish a wireless third communication link with another tool stored in the tool box using a second antenna of the plurality of antennas (Tague paragraph [0222], "transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae"). See also MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. reversal, duplication, or rearrangement of parts is obvious, more tools will need more antennae. See also KSR just an option of a limited number of possibilities six sides of the box an. inside or outside where to put the antennae in the box.
Regarding claim 6, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses an antenna electrically coupled to the tool such that the system provides power to the tool (paragraph [0222], " Alternatively, transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae. In these versions of the invention each transceiver head 530 and 534 also includes the appropriate signal modulating and demodulating sub circuits to convert the exchanged signals between electrical and RF states").
Regarding claim 7, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 6, Tague also discloses a near-field communication (NFC) link (paragraph [0222], "The transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary coils that allow inductive signal transfer").
Regarding claim 8, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses a Bluetooth link, a Wi-Fi link, or a cellular link (paragraph [0223], " his signal exchange by the exchange of light including infra-red pulses, radio waves, including such technologies as WiFi, Bluetooth or G3, or electromagnetic pulses.").
Regarding claim 9, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses establish the first communication link using the antenna (paragraph [0228], "Head 546 also serves as the head through which signals from a wired or wireless device, wireless pendant 548 illustrated, are received ... These commands are broadcast to head 546.")
Regarding claim 10, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses receive, via the second communication link using the transceiver and the antenna, data from the tool; and transmit, via the first communication link, the data to the external device (paragraph [0228], "Head 546 also serves as the head through which signals from a wired or wireless device, wireless pendant 548 illustrated, are received ... These commands are broadcast to head 546.")
Regarding claim 11, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 10, Tague also discloses tool operation data associated with the tool (paragraph [0236] "DSP 170 also provides the remote unit with data indicating the operating speed of tool motor 34")
Regarding claim 12, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses receive data, via the first communication link, from the external device and transmit, via the second communication link using the transceiver and the antenna, the data to the tool ([0228], "Head 546 also serves as the head through which signals from a wired or wireless device, wireless pendant 548 illustrated, are received ... These commands are broadcast to head 546." paragraph [0228], "Head 546 also serves as the head through which signals from a wired or wireless device, wireless pendant 548 illustrated, are received ... These commands are broadcast to head 546.")
Regarding claim 13, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 12, Tague also discloses firmware update or software update to be installed by the tool (paragraph [0249], "These data are then loaded into the appropriate locations in RAM memory 432 of the control module 40 (memory locations not shown). "; Fig. 1A, item 40, Fig. 13).")
Regarding claim 14, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses at least one selected from the group of a battery, a power line, the external device providing power wirelessly, or the tool providing power wirelessly (title paragraph [0004], [0013], [0070] "This tool has a battery that serves as the power source" figure 35 block 34)
Regarding claim 15, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses one or more of a motorized power tool, a non-motorized power tool, or a hand tool (title paragraph [0002]-[0003], [0013], [0070] “In modern surgery, one of the most important instruments available to medical personnel is the powered surgical tool. Often this tool is in the form of a drill unit in which a motor is housed” … "As the name implies, this tool has a battery that serves as the power source for the motor " figure 35 block 34)
Regarding claim 16, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 1, Tague also discloses establish a wireless third communication link with another tool using the transceiver and antenna (paragraph [0222], " Alternatively, transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae. In these versions of the invention each transceiver head 530 and 534 also includes the appropriate signal modulating and demodulating sub circuits to convert the exchanged signals between electrical and RF states.")
Regarding claim 17, Tague discloses establishing, by a wireless communication device coupled to a tool a first communication link with an external device (Figure 17, blocks 543 and item 546, paragraph [0221], "Docking station 532 has its own transceiver head 534. When the tool 30a is seated in the docking station 532, the two transceiver heads 530 and 534 are positioned close enough together to allow the signal exchange therebetween.", paragraph [0228], "Head 546 also serves as the head through which signals from a wired or wireless device, wireless pendant 548 illustrated, are received."); receiving, by the wireless communication device, an indication that communications with the power tool are to be carried out (paragraph [0228], "a surgeon enters a command by pressing touch screen buttons presented on pendant 548. These commands are broadcast to head 546. Head 546, in turn, converts these commands into digital signal packets"; paragraph [0249], "Once the surgeon 71 selected operating configuration steps 360 and 362 are executed. Steps 360 and 362 are executed by the remote unit forwarding the surgeon-selected operating configuring data to the docking station transceiver head 534"); and in response to the indication that communications with the power tool are to be carried out, establishing, by the wireless communication device, a wireless second communication link with the power tool using a transceiver and antenna of the wireless communication device (paragraph [0249], "These data are then loaded into the appropriate locations in RAM memory 432 of the control module 40 (memory locations not shown). "; Figure 1A, item 40, Figure 13). Tague doesn’t specifically disclose a tool storage system configured to store the tool. Hoppe discloses a tool storage system configured to store the tool (abstract, figures 1-83 paragraphs [0003] see also US 2014/0166516 A paragraph [0001] incorporated by reference figures 28-29). Tague and Hoppe are analogous art because they are from the same field of communications. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate in the technique disclosed by Tague tool storage disclosed by Hoppe. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been conveniently store and organize tools and accessories (Hoppe paragraph [0003]). See also KSR above.
Regarding claim 18, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 17, Hoppe also discloses a tool box including a base defining a volume and a lid (figure 1). Tague also discloses receiving and supporting the wireless communication device (paragraph [0249], "These data are then loaded into the appropriate locations in RAM memory 432 of the control module 40 (memory locations not shown). "; Figure 1A, item 40, Figure 13)
Regarding claim 19, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 18, Hoppe also discloses a tool box including a base defining a volume and a lid (figure 1). Tague also discloses the antenna is one of a plurality of antennas arranged and the wireless communication device is configured to communicate with the tool using each of the plurality of antennas (paragraph [0222], "transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae" antennae is plural of antenna). See also MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. reversal, duplication, or rearrangement of parts; more tools will need more antennae.
Regarding claim 20, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 19, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art the plurality of antennas are integrated into a mat that is supported by the tool box within the volume (paragraph [0222], "transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae."). See also MPEP 2144.04.VI.B reversal, duplication, or rearrangement of parts. more tools will need more antennae. See also KSR just an option of a limited number of possibilities six sides of the box an. inside or outside where to put the antennae in the box
Regarding claim 21, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 18, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art the antenna is one of a plurality of antennas arranged into a pattern in the tool box, and wherein the wireless communication device is configured to establish the wireless second communication link with the tool using a first antenna of the plurality of antennas and is configured to establish a wireless third communication link with another tool stored in the tool box using a second antenna of the plurality of antennas (Tague paragraph [0222], "transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae"). See also MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. reversal, duplication, or rearrangement of parts is obvious, more tools will need more antennae. See also KSR just an option of a limited number of possibilities six sides of the box an inside or outside where to put the antennae in the box.
Regarding claim 22, Tague and Hoppe discloses claim 17, Tague also discloses inductively coupling, by the antenna, to an antenna electrically coupled to the tool and providing power, by the wireless communication device, to the tool via the inductive coupling (paragraph [0222], " Alternatively, transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary RF antennae. In these versions of the invention each transceiver head 530 and 534 also includes the appropriate signal modulating and demodulating sub circuits to convert the exchanged signals between electrical and RF states" … "The transceiver heads 530 and 534 are complementary coils that allow inductive signal transfer").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Martinez (US 20140166516 A1) discloses tool storage devices.
Lifshitz (US 20120326406 A1) discloses modular rolling container assembly.
Vetter (US 20210266718 A1) discloses systems and methods for retrofit wireless communications in power tools.
Hoossainy (US 20190043292 A1) discloses power tool with irreversibly lockable compartment.
Hoppe (US 20190225371 A1) discloses tool storage.
Plato (US 20200284425 A1) discloses storage unit with light-emitting components.
Mergener (US 20200147771 A1) discloses power tool communication system.
Wenger (US 20160226278 A1) discloses power tool battery pack and system.
/JUAN A TORRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634