DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18690195 filed 03/07/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2022/074424, International Filing Date: 08/02/2022 claims foreign priority to 20210100618, filed 09/17/2021.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 03/07/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al (US 2020/0145977) in view of Miller et al (US 2019/0078858).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar et al discloses method of wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2):
determining a first configuration that defines a first number of positioning measurement transmission beams, each positioning measurement transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of the UE (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5);
determining a second configuration that defines a second number of positioning discovery transmission beams, each positioning discovery transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of the UE (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7);
transmitting each of the positioning discovery transmission beams (UE reporting (transmitting) positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0052], lines 1-4);
receiving, from at least one other UE, feedback related to at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Location server (UE) receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 1-5);
determining, based on the feedback from the at least one other UE, a subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams to be used for performing positioning measurements (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, 0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 5-8); and
performing the positioning measurements using the subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams (Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, [0095], lines 5-8).
Kumar et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE.
However Miller et al specifically teaches concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE (Laser terminal 200 (UE) includes boresight alignment system integrated into the optical transceiver 202 shown in FIG. 2B allows controlling the point-ahead angle of the transmission beam 250 (and a co-boresight angle between the transmission beam 250 and the received beam 255) in closed-loop by actively measuring and adjusting an offset between the second transmission beam portion 254 and the second received beam portion 259 acquired by the ABS 240, as discussed in more detail below, [0044], lines 11-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Kumar et al with concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE of Miller et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system for active co-boresight measurement used in a laser communication system, (Miller et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 2, Kumar et al discloses method, wherein at least one of (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2):
the second number is less than the first number (The PRS, for example, may be beam formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement. The range of angles of elevation may be greater than or smaller than the range of angles of azimuth, [0050], lines 4-6);
a beam width of the positioning discovery transmission beams is greater than a beam width of the positioning measurement transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7); or
a bandwidth of the positioning discovery transmission beams is less than a bandwidth of the positioning measurement transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein the positioning discovery transmission beams comprise a physical sidelink discovery channel (PSDCH), a sidelink discovery reference signal (SL-DRS), a sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS), or a combination thereof (Referring to FIG. 2A, an example synchronization signal in a 5G NR wireless network is shown. The Synchronization Signal and Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block (SSB/SS Block) may include a primary and a secondary synchronization signals (PSS, SSS), each occupying 1 symbol and 127 subcarriers, and PBCH spanning across 3 OFDM symbols and 240 subcarriers, [0083], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein the positioning measurement transmission beams comprise positioning reference signals (PRSs), sounding reference signals (SRSs), or a combination thereof (Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) are broadcast by base stations and are used by UEs for positioning in Long Term Evolution (LTE) networks, where the UE measures the TOA (Time of Arrival) metric of different cells and reports to the network/server, [0047], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein determining the first configuration comprises determining the first configuration by the UE, receiving the first configuration from a location server, or a combination thereof (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5), and wherein determining the second configuration comprises determining the second configuration by the UE, receiving the second configuration from a location server, or a combination thereof (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 6, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein the second number is equal to the first number divided by a factor N and wherein the positioning discovery transmission beams have a width that is N times wider than a width of the positioning measurement transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 7, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein the positioning discovery transmission beams have a same width as each other (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar et al discloses method, wherein at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams has a different width than another of the positioning discovery transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 9, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein each of the positioning discovery transmission beams includes a unique identifier and wherein the feedback related to at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams identifies at least one positioning discovery transmission beam by its unique identifier (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Location server (UE) receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 1-5)
Regarding claim 10, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein a receive timing of the feedback related to at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams is indicative of the positioning discovery transmission beam to which the feedback relates (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Location server (UE) receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein each of the positioning discovery transmission beams has a beam width that occupies a range of azimuth angles specific to that positioning discovery transmission beam (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7), and wherein determining the subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams to be used for positioning measurements comprises selecting positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy the range of azimuth angles specific to the positioning discovery transmission beam for which the feedback was received (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, 0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 12, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein selecting the positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy the range of azimuth angles specific to the positioning discovery transmission beam for which the feedback was received comprises selecting some or all of the positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy that range (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, 0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 13, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein selecting the subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy that range comprises selecting the subset based on angle measurements of the positioning discovery transmission beams reported by the at least one other UE (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Kumar et al discloses method of wireless positioning performed by a network entity, the method comprising (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2):
determining a first configuration that defines a first number of positioning measurement transmission beams, each positioning measurement transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of a user equipment (UE) (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5);
determining a second configuration that defines a second number of positioning discovery transmission beams, each positioning discovery transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of the UE (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7); and
transmitting the first configuration and the second configuration to at least one UE (UE reporting (transmitting) positioning reference signal transmissions beams and a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration), [0051], lines 1-7, [0052], lines 1-4).
Kumar et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE.
However Miller et al specifically teaches concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE (Laser terminal 200 (UE) includes boresight alignment system integrated into the optical transceiver 202 shown in FIG. 2B allows controlling the point-ahead angle of the transmission beam 250 (and a co-boresight angle between the transmission beam 250 and the received beam 255) in closed-loop by actively measuring and adjusting an offset between the second transmission beam portion 254 and the second received beam portion 259 acquired by the ABS 240, as discussed in more detail below, [0044], lines 11-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Kumar et al with concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE of Miller et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system for active co-boresight measurement used in a laser communication system, (Miller et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 15, Kumar et al discloses method (FIG. 8 shows a procedure which may be used to support UE based position methods using PRS signals formed along specific azimuth and elevation angles across multiple PRS occasions, [0031], lines 1-2), wherein the network entity comprises a location server (Location server receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0095], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 16, Kumar et al discloses user equipment (UE), comprising (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2):
a memory (memory, [0005], line 1);
at least one transceiver (transceiver, [0005], line 1); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to (mobile device according to the disclosure includes a memory, a transceiver, at least one processor operably coupled to the memory and the transceiver and configured to determine beam identification information for one or more radio beams, [0005], lines 1-3):
determine a first configuration that defines a first number of positioning measurement transmission beams, each positioning measurement transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of the UE (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5);
determine a second configuration that defines a second number of positioning discovery transmission beams, each positioning discovery transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of the UE (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7);
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, each of the positioning discovery transmission beams (UE reporting (transmitting) positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0052], lines 1-4);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, from at least one other UE, feedback related to at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Location server (UE) receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 1-5);
determine, based on the feedback from the at least one other UE, a subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams to be used for performing positioning measurements (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, 0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 5-8); and
perform the positioning measurements using the subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams (Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, [0095], lines 5-8).
Kumar et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE.
However Miller et al specifically teaches concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE (Laser terminal 200 (UE) includes boresight alignment system integrated into the optical transceiver 202 shown in FIG. 2B allows controlling the point-ahead angle of the transmission beam 250 (and a co-boresight angle between the transmission beam 250 and the received beam 255) in closed-loop by actively measuring and adjusting an offset between the second transmission beam portion 254 and the second received beam portion 259 acquired by the ABS 240, as discussed in more detail below, [0044], lines 11-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Kumar et al with concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE of Miller et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system for active co-boresight measurement used in a laser communication system, (Miller et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 17, Kumar et al discloses UE, wherein at least one of (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2):
the second number is less than the first number (The PRS, for example, may be beam formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement. The range of angles of elevation may be greater than or smaller than the range of angles of azimuth, [0050], lines 4-6);
a beam width of the positioning discovery transmission beams is greater than a beam width of the positioning measurement transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7);
a bandwidth of the positioning discovery transmission beams is less than a bandwidth of the positioning measurement transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 18, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein the positioning discovery transmission beams comprise a physical sidelink discovery channel (PSDCH), a sidelink discovery reference signal (SL-DRS), a sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS), or a combination thereof (Referring to FIG. 2A, an example synchronization signal in a 5G NR wireless network is shown. The Synchronization Signal and Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) block (SSB/SS Block) may include a primary and a secondary synchronization signals (PSS, SSS), each occupying 1 symbol and 127 subcarriers, and PBCH spanning across 3 OFDM symbols and 240 subcarriers, [0083], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein the positioning measurement transmission beams comprise positioning reference signals (PRSs), sounding reference signals (SRSs), or a combination thereof (Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) are broadcast by base stations and are used by UEs for positioning in Long Term Evolution (LTE) networks, where the UE measures the TOA (Time of Arrival) metric of different cells and reports to the network/server, [0047], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein, to determine the first configuration, the at least one processor is configured to determine the first configuration by the UE, receive the first configuration from a location server, or a combination thereof (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5), and wherein, to determine the second configuration, the at least one processor is configured to determine the second configuration by the UE, receive the second configuration from a location server, or a combination thereof (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 21, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein the second number is equal to the first number divided by a factor N and wherein the positioning discovery transmission beams have a width that is N times wider than a width of the positioning measurement transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 22, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein the positioning discovery transmission beams have a same width as each other (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 23, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams has a different width than another of the positioning discovery transmission beams (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 24, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein each of the positioning discovery transmission beams includes a unique identifier and wherein the feedback related to at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams identifies at least one positioning discovery transmission beam by its unique identifier (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Location server (UE) receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 25, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein a receive timing of the feedback related to at least one of the positioning discovery transmission beams is indicative of the positioning discovery transmission beam to which the feedback relates (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Location server (UE) receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 26, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein each of the positioning discovery transmission beams has a beam width that occupies a range of azimuth angles specific to that positioning discovery transmission beam (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7), and wherein determining the subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams to be used for positioning measurements comprises selecting positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy the range of azimuth angles specific to the positioning discovery transmission beam for which the feedback was received (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, 0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 27, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein, to select the positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy the range of azimuth angles specific to the positioning discovery transmission beam for which the feedback was received, the at least one processor is configured to select some or all of the positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy that range (UE 105 may also include an LCS Client or a SUPL agent that may issue a location request to some positioning capable function within UE 105 and later receive back a location estimate for UE 105. The LCS Client or SUPL Agent within UE 105 may perform location services for the user of UE 105—e.g. provide navigation directions or identify points of interest within the vicinity of UE 105. Measurements across different measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams occasions by the UE 105 with a fixed receive beam (subset) may assist in determining the location of the UE within a certain azimuth or elevation, 0058], lines 5-9, [0095], lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 28, Kumar et al discloses UE (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein, to select the subset of the positioning measurement transmission beams that occupy that range, the at least one processor is configured to select the subset based on angle measurements of the positioning discovery transmission beams reported by the at least one other UE (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 29, Kumar et al discloses network entity, comprising (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2):
a memory (memory, [0005], line 1);
at least one transceiver (transceiver, [0005], line 1); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to (mobile device according to the disclosure includes a memory, a transceiver, at least one processor operably coupled to the memory and the transceiver and configured to determine beam identification information for one or more radio beams, [0005], lines 1-3):
determine a first configuration that defines a first number of positioning measurement transmission beams, each positioning measurement transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of a user equipment (UE) (measuring positioning reference signal transmissions beam (first configuration) formed over a range of angles of elevation and a range of angles of azimuth to assist UE measurement, [0050], lines 1-5);
determine a second configuration that defines a second number of positioning discovery transmission beams, each positioning discovery transmission beam associated with a transmission angle of the UE (determining, using positioning reference signal transmissions beam along specific azimuth and elevation angles, a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration) along elevation and azimuth and the granularity of the width changes supported along elevation and azimuth, [0051], lines 1-7); and
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the first configuration and the second configuration to at least one UE (UE reporting (transmitting) positioning reference signal transmissions beams and a minimum and maximum width of beams (second configuration), [0051], lines 1-7, [0052], lines 1-4).
Kumar et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE.
However Miller et al specifically teaches concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE (Laser terminal 200 (UE) includes boresight alignment system integrated into the optical transceiver 202 shown in FIG. 2B allows controlling the point-ahead angle of the transmission beam 250 (and a co-boresight angle between the transmission beam 250 and the received beam 255) in closed-loop by actively measuring and adjusting an offset between the second transmission beam portion 254 and the second received beam portion 259 acquired by the ABS 240, as discussed in more detail below, [0044], lines 11-14).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Kumar et al with concept of transmission beam associated with boresight transmission angle of the UE of Miller et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system for active co-boresight measurement used in a laser communication system, (Miller et al, [0001], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 30, Kumar et al discloses network entity (FIG. 15 is a flowchart of an example procedure, generally performed on a mobile device, to facilitate positioning of a mobile device, [0039], lines 1-2), wherein the network entity comprises a location server (Location server (UE) receives, from UE 105 measured positioning reference signal transmissions beams, [0095], lines 1-5).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681