DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11, 13, 16, 20, 23, 26-27, 30, 33-35, 44-45, and 52 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 35 USC 35 USC 371 National Stage filing of international application No. PCT/US2022/076036 filed on 7 Sep. 2022 and claims benefit under 35 USC 119(e) to US provisional application No. 63/241,262 filed on 7 Sep. 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 8 Apr. 2024, 2 Aug. 2024, 24 Dec. 2025, and 28 May 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11, 13, 16, 20, 23, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cline (The University of Georgia-Dissertation; published 2019; see IDS filed on 8 Apr. 2024).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13, 27, and 30, Cline discloses potassium iodide (KI) nanoparticles and pharmaceutical composition thereof prepared by mixing potassium oleate and 1-octadecene and then oleylamine is added and mixed and iodine is added that the reaction is sealed and mixed overnight. The KI nanoparticles were coated with a PMAO coating using poly(maleic anhydride alt-1-ocadecene) and peg-bis-amine. (pg. 127). Regarding claims 16, 20, and 23, the nanoparticle comprises KI as a targeting moiety that targets the NIS symporter and as an active agent. Regarding claims 5-7, Cline discloses the radiosynthesis and coating of [131I]KI coated nanoparticles (pg. 143).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11, 13, 16, 20, 23, 26-27, 30, 33-35, 44-45, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cline (The University of Georgia-Dissertation; published 2019; see IDS filed on 8 Apr. 2024).
Cline teaches as discussed above.
Cline does not anticipate KI nanoparticles comprising a targeting moiety or active agent other than NaI, optionally wherein the active agent is incorporated into the coating. Cline does not anticipate the claimed method of sensitizing a subject to radiation therapy or treating a subject for cancer comprising sensitizing the subject to radiation therapy, optionally ionizing radiation therapy or a method of treating a subject using a nanoparticle comprising a radioactive isotope wherein the cells express NIS or anticipate the claimed method of imaging a subject in need thereof comprising administering a nanoparticle comprising a radioisotope and detecting the radioisotope.
However, Cline teaches that the KI nanoparticles based radiosensitizer utilize the Na+/I- symporter (NIS) for improved iodide retention and superior radiosensitization. Cline teaches that KI nanoparticles after injection are degraded to release iodide ions, which unlike conventional contrast agents can be taken up by breast cancer cells through NIS (pg. 120). Cline teaches in vitro KI nanoparticle radiosensitization lethality. Cline examined the particles efficacy as a radiosensitizer and characterized various type’s radicals likely in radiosensitization under 50 leV irradiation. Cline concludes that exploitation of the sodium iodide symporter adds an additional mechanism to radiosensitive lethality through lipid bilayer disruption, causing more rapid cellular death as well as conventional DNA damage (pg. 124-125). As iodine is the active component of radiosensitization and this two-delivery method improves retention as well as internalization the exact same therapy could be performed with 131I adding radiative decay in conjunction with external ionizing radiation to the therapeutic mechanism (pg. 127). Cline teaches that 124I is a positron emitting isotope that can be used for PET and 131I has potent therapeutic potential (pg. 140). 124I will later be used in conjunction with PET imaging to evaluate the fate of the radioiodide nanoparticles and radioisotopes in vivo (pg. 142). The surface coating is easily modifiable through amine functionalization and future studies will include active targeting ligands and other surface functionality could be achieved with ease (pg. 122). Cline teaches an estimated drug loading content of 33% (pg. 142). Pegylated castor oil has been used to successfully deliver hydrophobic drugs in the clinic such as Doxorubicin (pg. 152).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the nanoparticles of Cline (([131I])KI nanoparticles optionally PMAO coated and pharmaceutical compositions thereof) by attaching a targeting moiety that targets the NIS or active agent into the coating optionally conjugated to a component of the coating as taught by Cline because the targeting agent/active agent would have been expected to enable improved delivery to the NIS and/or enhanced cancer cell cytotoxicity.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Cline by further sensitizing a subject to radiation therapy comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition and optionally treating a subject cancer by further administering one or more doses of radiation therapy optionally including ionizing radiation as taught by Cline because the sensitizing and radiation therapy would have been expected to advantageously enable enhanced lethality causing more rapid cellular death as well as conventional DNA damage.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Cline by further imaging and/or treating a subject for cancer comprising administering to the subject a diagnostically and/or therapeutically effective amount of the KI nanoparticle pharmaceutical composition wherein the nanoparticle comprises 124I for PET and the subject is imaged by PET or 131I for treating and wherein cancer cells express NIS as taught by Cline because the imaging and/or treating would have been expected to advantageously enable non-invasive in vivo imaging and/or treating NIS associated cancers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11, 13, 16, 20, 23, 26-27, 30, 33-35, 44-45, and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 26, 35, 46, and 61-68 of copending Application No. 17/424,109, in view of Cline (The University of Georgia-Dissertation; published 2019; see IDS filed on 8 Apr. 2024). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-14, 26, 35, 46, and 61-68 of copending Application No. 17/424,109 claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising a plurality of nanoparticles wherein each nanoparticle is a nanocrystal formed from an alkali meta or alkaline earth metal and a halide where each nanoparticle has a hydrophilic coating wherein the alkali metal is sodium or potassium and halide is iodide optionally wherein the nanoparticle comprises sodium iodide and claim a method of treating cancer comprising a pharmaceutical composition of the nanoparticles.
Claims 1-14, 26, 35, 46, and 61-68 of copending Application No. 17/424,109 do not expressly claim a nanoparticle formed from potassium and iodide ions optionally further comprising a radioisotope such as 124I or 131I and wherein the coating comprises poly(maleic anhydride alt1-acotadecene) optionally wherein the nanoparticle further comprises a targeting moiety that targets NIS or an active agent incorporated in the coating or a method of making potassium iodide nanoparticles comprising reacting potassium oleate with I2 in octadecene in the presence of oleyl amine or the claimed method of sensitizing a subject to radiation therapy or the claimed methods for treating a subject for cancer optionally wherein comprising ionizing radiation and wherein the cancer expresses NIS or the claimed method of imaging subject in need thereof.
Cline teaches as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-14, 26, 35, 46, and 61-68 of copending Application No. 17/424,109 so that the nanoparticles are formed from potassium and iodide by reacting potassium oleate with I2 in octadecene in the presence of oleylamine and optionally further comprises 124I or 131I and so that the coating comprises poly(maleic anhydride alt1-acotadecene as taught by Cline because those KI nanoparticles would have been expected to advantageously enable degradation to iodide ions and uptake by cancer cells expressing the NIS and optionally advantageous PET imaging and radiotherapy.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the nanoparticles of claims 1-14, 26, 35, 46, and 61-68 of copending Application No. 17/424,109 by attaching a targeting moiety that targets the NIS or active agent into the coating optionally conjugated to a component of the coating as taught by Cline because the targeting agent/active agent would have been expected to enable improved delivery to the NIS and/or enhance cancer cell cytotoxicity.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-14, 26, 35, 46, and 61-68 of copending Application No. 17/424,109 by further sensitizing a subject to radiation therapy comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of the pharmaceutical composition and optionally treating a subject cancer by further administering one or more doses of radiation therapy optionally including ionizing radiation as taught by Cline because the sensitizing and radiation therapy would have been expected to advantageously enable enhanced lethality causing more rapid cellular death as well as conventional DNA damage.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-14, 26, 35, 46, and 61-68 of copending Application No. 17/424,109 by further imaging and/or treating a subject for cancer comprising administering to the subject a diagnostically and/or therapeutic effective amount of the KI nanoparticle pharmaceutical composition wherein the nanoparticle comprises 124I for PET and the subject is imaged by PET or 131I for treating and wherein cancer cells express NIS as taught by Cline because the imaging and/or treating would have been expected to advantageously enable non-invasive in vivo imaging and/or treating NIS associated cancers.
Conclusion
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615